DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iyer et al (US 2020/0327199).
Regarding Claim 1, Iyer teaches a message distribution system ([0040], Fig. 3, Method 300 may be carried out by an RMS (e.g., RMS 108) to enable an RCS text message to be translated and delivered from an RCS-compatible sender device to an RCS-compatible recipient device) comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor ([0035-0036], Fig. 2, RMS 208) configured to execute the instructions to:
receive a distribution request including a reception message body and a distribution destination telephone number including a country code ([0041], Fig. 3, in block 302, an RMS (e.g., RMS 108) may receive, from an RCS-compatible sender device (e.g., sender device 102), an invite message to request an RCS session for delivery of an RCS text message to an RCS-compatible recipient device (e.g., recipient device 104) in accordance with the SIP standard);
translate the reception message body into a language corresponding to the country code ([0044], Fig. 3, in block 310, RMS 108 may obtain a language preference value of the recipient device 104 based upon the language preference configuration parameter. The language preference value may be unique to a particular language, and may be in any suitable representation (e.g., bit representation, ASCII representation, country code representation, etc.)), to thereby generate a first translation message body ([0045], Fig. 3, in block 312, RMS 108 may generate a translation of the RCS text message from the original-language RCS text message sent from the sender device 102 to the preferred language in accordance with the language preference value of the recipient device 104);
generate a distribution message including the first translation message body; and distribute the distribution message to a mobile terminal corresponding to the distribution destination telephone number by means of an SMS ([0046], As shown in block 314, RMS 108 may transmit the translated RCS message to the recipient device 104. Such transmission may occur via the network 106).
Regarding Claim 7, Iyer teaches a message distribution method ([0040], Fig. 3, Method 300 may be carried out by an RMS (e.g., RMS 108) to enable an RCS text message to be translated and delivered from an RCS-compatible sender device to an RCS-compatible recipient device) comprising:
a distribution request reception step of receiving a distribution request including a reception message body and a distribution destination telephone number including a country code ([0041], Fig. 3, in block 302, an RMS (e.g., RMS 108) may receive, from an RCS-compatible sender device (e.g., sender device 102), an invite message to request an RCS session for delivery of an RCS text message to an RCS-compatible recipient device (e.g., recipient device 104) in accordance with the SIP standard);
a translation step of translating the reception message body into a language corresponding to the country code ([0044], Fig. 3, in block 310, RMS 108 may obtain a language preference value of the recipient device 104 based upon the language preference configuration parameter. The language preference value may be unique to a particular language, and may be in any suitable representation (e.g., bit representation, ASCII representation, country code representation, etc.)), to thereby generate a first translation message body ([0045], Fig. 3, in block 312, RMS 108 may generate a translation of the RCS text message from the original-language RCS text message sent from the sender device 102 to the preferred language in accordance with the language preference value of the recipient device 104);
a distribution message generation step of generating a distribution message including the first translation message body; and a distribution step of distributing the distribution message to a mobile terminal corresponding to the distribution destination telephone number by means of an SMS ([0046], As shown in block 314, RMS 108 may transmit the translated RCS message to the recipient device 104. Such transmission may occur via the network 106).
Regarding Claim 8, Iyer teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program ([0040], Fig. 3, Method 300 may be carried out by an RMS (e.g., RMS 108) to enable an RCS text message to be translated and delivered from an RCS-compatible sender device to an RCS-compatible recipient device, [0035-0036], Fig. 2, RMS 208) for causing a computer to execute:
a distribution request reception step of receiving a distribution request including a reception message body and a distribution destination telephone number including a country code ([0041], Fig. 3, in block 302, an RMS (e.g., RMS 108) may receive, from an RCS-compatible sender device (e.g., sender device 102), an invite message to request an RCS session for delivery of an RCS text message to an RCS-compatible recipient device (e.g., recipient device 104) in accordance with the SIP standard);
a translation step of translating the reception message body into a language corresponding to the country code ([0044], Fig. 3, in block 310, RMS 108 may obtain a language preference value of the recipient device 104 based upon the language preference configuration parameter. The language preference value may be unique to a particular language, and may be in any suitable representation (e.g., bit representation, ASCII representation, country code representation, etc.)), to thereby generate a first translation message body ([0045], Fig. 3, in block 312, RMS 108 may generate a translation of the RCS text message from the original-language RCS text message sent from the sender device 102 to the preferred language in accordance with the language preference value of the recipient device 104);
a distribution message generation step of generating a distribution message including the first translation message body; and a distribution step of distributing the distribution message to a mobile terminal corresponding to the distribution destination telephone number by means of an SMS ([0046], As shown in block 314, RMS 108 may transmit the translated RCS message to the recipient device 104. Such transmission may occur via the network 106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al (US 2020/0327199), in view of Zhang et al (US 2021/0110120).
Regarding Claim 2, Iyer teaches the message distribution system according to claim 1, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to generate a distribution message including the first translation message body and a URL character string for accessing the message distribution system, wherein the URL character string includes a query character string for specifying the distribution request ([0104-105], 1004, displaying in the conversation interface a translation language prompt control, which carries an identification of a first language and an identification of a second language and is used to prompt a purpose of translation of the first language into the second language, 1006, if an original message input by first user in the first language in the conversation interface is received, obtaining a translation message of the second language corresponding to the original message and displaying the translation message in the conversation interface), and
the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive a retranslation request including a designated translation language from the mobile terminal; translate the reception message body or the first translation message body corresponding to the distribution request specified by the query character string into the designated translation language, to thereby generate a second translation message body; and provide the second translation message body to the mobile terminal ([0107-0109], 1008, displaying a translation language selection interface in the conversation interface in response to a translation language switching operation triggered by the first user to the translation language prompt control, 1010, updating the identification of the second language in the translation language prompt control to an identification of a third language according to a selection operation of the third language performed by the first user in the translation language selection interface, 1012, if the translation language switching operation is triggered in the input process of an original message, replacing the translation message displayed in the conversation interface and corresponding to the second language with a translation message corresponding to a third language).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the providing of a link for access to translation control such that retranslation may be requested, as taught in Zhang, in the system of Iyer, in order to provide more efficient indication of and translation of messages into the user’s preferred language.
Regarding Claim 3, Iyer, as modified by Zhang, teaches the message distribution system according to claim 2, Iyer further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: associate the designated translation language with the distribution destination telephone number and store them ([0024], HSS may assign such language preferences to Bob and Charlie using their account numbers, phone numbers, or other suitable identifiers. Similarly, if Bob (recipient) would prefer to receive text messages from Alice (sender) in Spanish yet receive text messages from Charlie (sender) in English, Bob may login to his account hosted by the HSS to specify appropriate language preferences of incoming texts from Alice and Charlie); and associate the designated translation language with the distribution destination telephone number corresponding to the query character string and registers them in the at least one memory ([0055-0056], in block 708, RMS 108 may transmit a language request to HSS 112 of FIG. 1 via communication link 116 for accessing an account associated with the sender device 102 or the recipient device 104. As shown in block 708, after the HSS responds to RMS 108, RMS 108 may identify a language preference configuration parameter to determine the preferred language of the recipient device 104, i.e., the language into which the RCS text message should be translated).
Regarding Claim 4, Iyer, as modified by Zhang, teaches the message distribution system according to claim 3, Iyer further teaches wherein when the distribution destination telephone number has been registered in the at least one memory ([0056], in block 710, RMS 108 may obtain a language preference value of the recipient device 104 based upon the language preference configuration parameter. The language preference value may be unique to a particular language, and may be in any suitable representation (e.g., bit representation, ASCII representation, country code representation, etc.)), the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to translate the reception message body into the designated translation language corresponding to the distribution destination telephone number, to thereby generate the first translation message body ([0057], in block 712, RMS 108 may generate a translation of the RCS text message from the original-language RCS text message sent from the sender device 102 to the preferred language in accordance with the language preference value of the recipient device 104. RMS 108 may include a translation module to handle the translation services, or communicate with an external translation service via an API, for example).
Regarding Claim 5, Iyer, as modified by Zhang, teaches the message distribution system according to claim 4, Iyer further teaches wherein when the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to translate the reception message body into the designated translation language corresponding to the distribution destination telephone number, to thereby generate the first translation message body, the distribution message does not include the URL character string ([0044], Fig. 3, in block 310, RMS 108 may obtain a language preference value of the recipient device 104 based upon the language preference configuration parameter. The language preference value may be unique to a particular language, and may be in any suitable representation (e.g., bit representation, ASCII representation, country code representation, etc.), [0045], Fig. 3, in block 312, RMS 108 may generate a translation of the RCS text message from the original-language RCS text message sent from the sender device 102 to the preferred language in accordance with the language preference value of the recipient device 104).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al (US 2020/0327199), in view of Bellrose et al (US 2020/0387273).
Regarding Claim 6, Iyer teaches the message distribution system according to claim 1, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Bellrose teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: reverse-translate the first translation message body into a language of the reception message body, to thereby generate a third translation message body; transmit the third translation message body and a translation approval request to a distribution request source; receive a translation approval from the distribution request source; and distribute the distribution message to the mobile terminal corresponding to the distribution destination telephone number by means of an SMS when receiving the translation approval ([0035-0038], step 280 may include presenting the first user a set of substitute first messages. A substitute first message may be a first message whose wording has been modified such that the modified wording is less likely to include a translation-generated additional meaning, step 280 may include prompting the first user to either select or provide a substitute first message. Once that substitute first message is obtained, the detection system may repeat steps 240 through 260 to translate the substitute first message to a second language and determine whether a translation-generated additional meaning is present in the translated substitute first message, step 280 may include the detection system providing the translated first message and/or the translated substitute first message to a second user, such as an intended recipient, and obtaining an evaluation, similar to that discussed above, from the second user. Based on one or more evaluations obtained by the detection system, the detection system may implement machine learning techniques to improve its detection of translation-generated additional meanings and/or improve a set of substitute first messages presented to the first user during subsequent uses of the detection system, If a translation-generated additional meaning has not been detected, then in step 270, the detection system may allow the first message to be transmitted to the intended recipient. In some embodiments, this may entail the detection system transmitting the first message).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate presenting to the user a selection of translated messages for approval for transmission, as taught in Bellrose, in the system of Iyer, in order to ensure a more reliable translation without unintended changes in meaning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Burvall et al (US 2010/0185434) discloses The language translation server controller 230 may select French as the target language for generating the translated signal according to an indication provided by the second communication terminal 100b and/or a geographic location of the second communication terminal 100b, for example, as determined from a country code ([0053]);
Dayan et al (US 2015/0163260) discloses the rule may include instructions to "send this message to all connected devices." In other example implementations, mass messages may be filtered or customized at the server based on the rule; for example: "only send this message to devices associated with cellular carrier XYZ." In other example implementations, messages may be customized at the server based on destination information included in the rule routing instructions. For example, messages destined for certain regions or countries may be translated at the server into the destination language prior to being delivered. In another example implementation, the rule may include pre-translated messages for appropriate selection and dissemination to the various destinations ([0014]).
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641