DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed, 26 June 2026, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 05 October 2023 in which claims 1, 19 have been amended and claims 8, 26 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-21, 23-25, 27-29, 31-36 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-21, 23-25, 27-29, 31-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (hereinafter “Kim”, 2022/0232496).
As per Claim 1, Kim discloses a method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
receiving a first transmission having a frequency component that carries synchronization signal information and that corresponds to a sync-raster value of a plurality of values of a sync raster (at least paragraph 34, 91-100; UE receives an SS/PBCH block with a center frequency of 5155.68 MHz, which is the synchronization raster defined for a 5150 to 5170 MHz band, the UE may obtain ‘offset X’, which is a frequency offset between the SS/PBCH block and CORESET #0, from the PBCH payload of the corresponding SS/PBCH block);
determining one or more parameters (at least paragraph 91-100, 136; the UE may obtain ‘offset X’, which is a frequency offset; Resource Block RB; based on detection of the SSB in an unlicensed band, (1) a difference between a synchronization raster in the unlicensed band and the center frequency of the SSB may be limited to a multiple of 30 kHz, and/or (2) the subcarrier offset may indicate only a multiple of 30 kHz based on the 15 kHz-granularity-based offset information) based on:
(i) the sync-raster value being associated with a partition of a plurality of partitions of the sync raster (at least paragraph 91-100; synchronization raster defined for a 5150 to 5170 MHz band (partition)), wherein the partition is based on an initial sync-raster value and a step function applied to the plurality of sync-raster values (at least paragraph 131-134, 91-100, 124-126; synchronization raster may coincide with the center frequency of 20 PRBs occupied by an SS/PBCH block. Some of synchronization raster values with a spacing of 1.44 MHz (defined in NR) may be defined as the synchronization raster for NR-U, which may be defined in the 5 and/or 6 GHz band. Specifically, one synchronization raster value may be defined for each 20 MHz; a region corresponding to 5150 to 5170 MHz shown in FIG. 12, the synchronization raster value may be defined as 5155.68 MHz (corresponding to GSCN=8996 of Table 8) so that the synchronization raster value belongs to existing synchronization raster candidates of NR; a synchronization raster for the licensed band and a synchronization raster for the unlicensed band may be separately defined in specifications, and the interval with the channel/synchronization raster may be predefined for each carrier (type) in specifications); and
(ii) the partition being indicative of a mode of operation (at least paragraph 6, 134; Based on detection of the SSB in an unlicensed band, (1) a difference between a synchronization raster in the unlicensed band and a center frequency of the SSB may be limited to a multiple of 30 kHz, and (2) the subcarrier offset may indicate only a multiple of 30 kHz based on the 15 kHz-granularity-based offset information; Licensed and unlicensed carriers may be identified according to the frequency of the carrier in which the SS/PBCH block is detected, and the interval with the channel/synchronization raster may be predefined for each carrier (type) in specifications. Alternatively, even when the same frequency is used, the carrier type (licensed or unlicensed carrier) may vary depending on regions. In this case, the licensed and unlicensed carriers may be identified by different PBCH payloads or CRC values. To identify the carrier type at the corresponding frequency, a synchronization raster for the licensed band and a synchronization raster for the unlicensed band may be separately defined in specifications. The UE may perform PDCCH monitoring by finding the location of CORESET #0 based on the value of k.sub.SSB.); and
receiving a second transmission using the one or more parameters, wherein the second transmission comprises control channel information (at least paragraph 47-49, 37, 134; UE may obtain DCI transmitted over a PDCCH by decoding (blind decoding) a set of PDCCH candidates. The set of PDCCH candidates decoded by the UE is defined as a PDCCH search space set. A search space set may be a common search space (CSS) or a UE-specific search space (USS). The UE may obtain DCI by monitoring PDCCH candidates in one or more search space sets configured by an MIB or higher layer signaling; UE may perform PDCCH monitoring by finding the location of CORESET #0 based on the value of k.sub.SSB).
As per Claim 2. The method of claim 1, comprising: transmitting an uplink transmission without performing a listen-before-talk operation based on the mode of operation being a first mode of operation (at least paragraph 56-58; licensed band L-band mode no LBT).
As per Claim 3. The method of claim 1, comprising: performing a listen-before-talk operation based on the mode of operation being a second mode of operation; and transmitting an uplink transmission following an outcome of the listen-before-talk operation indicating a channel is available (at least paragraph 58; unlicensed using LBT).
As per Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of partitions is indicative of a respective plurality of modes of operation, and wherein the partition is any one of the plurality of partitions (at least paragraph 134; Licensed and unlicensed carriers may be identified according to the frequency of the carrier in which the SS/PBCH block is detected, and the interval with the channel/synchronization raster may be predefined for each carrier (type) in specifications. Alternatively, even when the same frequency is used, the carrier type (licensed or unlicensed carrier) may vary depending on regions. In this case, the licensed and unlicensed carriers may be identified by different PBCH payloads or CRC values. To identify the carrier type at the corresponding frequency, a synchronization raster for the licensed band and a synchronization raster for the unlicensed band may be separately defined in specifications).
As per Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the partition is based on a function applied to the plurality of sync-raster values (at least paragraph 131-134, 91-100, 124-126).
As per Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of partitions is based on a corresponding function applied to the plurality of sync- raster values (at least paragraph 131-134, 91-100, 124-126).
As per Claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of partitions is based on an initial sync-raster value and a step function applied to the plurality of sync-raster values (at least paragraph 131-134, 91-100, 124-126).
As per Claim 10. The method of claim 2, wherein the first mode of operation corresponds to licensed band operation (at least paragraph 134).
As per Claim 11. The method of claim 3, wherein the second mode of operation corresponds to unlicensed band operation (at least paragraph 134).
As per Claim 13. The method of claim 1, wherein the control channel information comprises physical downlink control channel information (at least paragraph 47-49, 37, 134; UE may obtain DCI transmitted over a PDCCH by decoding (blind decoding) a set of PDCCH candidates. The set of PDCCH candidates decoded by the UE is defined as a PDCCH search space set. A search space set may be a common search space (CSS) or a UE-specific search space (USS). The UE may obtain DCI by monitoring PDCCH candidates in one or more search space sets configured by an MIB or higher layer signaling; UE may perform PDCCH monitoring by finding the location of CORESET #0 based on the value of k.sub.SSB).
As per Claim 14. The method of claim 1, wherein the frequency component is any of a subcarrier and a subchannel (at least paragraph 89-96; subcarrier).
As per Claim 15. The method of claim 1, comprising transmitting information indicating one or more of the one or more parameters (at least paragraph 114-119).
As per Claim 16. The method of claim 15, wherein the information indicating one or more of the parameters is a report (at least paragraph 114-119).
As per Claim 17. The method of claim 1, wherein the sync raster is associated with frequency positions of a synchronization block (at least paragraph 91-100; synchronization raster defined for a 5150 to 5170 MHz band).
As per Claim 18. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise any of: one or more resource blocks, a number of resource blocks, one or more symbols, a number of symbols, a frequency offset, and a multiplexing pattern associated with a second transmission (at least paragraph 91-100; the UE may obtain ‘offset X’, which is a frequency offset; Resource Block RB).
Claims 20-21, 23-25, 27-29, 31-36 do not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-18 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons, supra.
As per Claim 19, Kim discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), comprising:
circuitry, including any of a processor, memory, transmitter and receiver (at least paragraph 191), the circuitry configured to:
receive a first transmission having a frequency component that carries synchronization signal information and that corresponds to a sync-raster value of a plurality of values of a sync raster (at least paragraph 34, 91-100; UE receives an SS/PBCH block with a center frequency of 5155.68 MHz, which is the synchronization raster defined for a 5150 to 5170 MHz band, the UE may obtain ‘offset X’, which is a frequency offset between the SS/PBCH block and CORESET #0, from the PBCH payload of the corresponding SS/PBCH block);
determine one or more parameters (at least paragraph 91-100; the UE may obtain ‘offset X’, which is a frequency offset; Resource Block RB) based on:
the sync-raster value being associated with a partition of a plurality of partitions of the sync raster (at least paragraph 91-100; synchronization raster defined for a 5150 to 5170 MHz band (partition)), wherein the partition is based on an initial sync-raster value and a step function applied to the plurality of sync-raster values (at least paragraph 131-134, 91-100, 124-126); and
the partition being indicative of a mode of operation (at least paragraph 6, 134; Based on detection of the SSB in an unlicensed band, (1) a difference between a synchronization raster in the unlicensed band and a center frequency of the SSB may be limited to a multiple of 30 kHz, and (2) the subcarrier offset may indicate only a multiple of 30 kHz based on the 15 kHz-granularity-based offset information; Licensed and unlicensed carriers may be identified according to the frequency of the carrier in which the SS/PBCH block is detected, and the interval with the channel/synchronization raster may be predefined for each carrier (type) in specifications. Alternatively, even when the same frequency is used, the carrier type (licensed or unlicensed carrier) may vary depending on regions. In this case, the licensed and unlicensed carriers may be identified by different PBCH payloads or CRC values. To identify the carrier type at the corresponding frequency, a synchronization raster for the licensed band and a synchronization raster for the unlicensed band may be separately defined in specifications. The UE may perform PDCCH monitoring by finding the location of CORESET #0 based on the value of k.sub.SSB.); and
receive a second transmission using the one or more parameters, wherein the second transmission comprises control channel information (at least paragraph 47-49, 37, 134; UE may obtain DCI transmitted over a PDCCH by decoding (blind decoding) a set of PDCCH candidates. The set of PDCCH candidates decoded by the UE is defined as a PDCCH search space set. A search space set may be a common search space (CSS) or a UE-specific search space (USS). The UE may obtain DCI by monitoring PDCCH candidates in one or more search space sets configured by an MIB or higher layer signaling; UE may perform PDCCH monitoring by finding the location of CORESET #0 based on the value of k.sub.SSB).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose
determining one or more parameters based on:
the sync-raster value being associated with a partition of a plurality of partitions of the sync raster, wherein the partition is based on an initial sync-raster value and a step function applied to the plurality of sync-raster values; and
the partition being indicative of a mode of operation.
Applicant argues on p. 7 that the above is not taught as Kim fails to teach this specific structure for creating a partition. And again on p. 8 that Kim is not generating a plurality of partitions. However, the claims are not reciting ‘creating’ or ‘generating’ a partition’ and it is not clear what is being argued from the claim language. Claim 1 recites in the broadest reasonable interpretation, receiving a first transmission and determining a (one or more) parameter based on a sync-raster value being associated with a partition. If the parameter being determined is the partition being created, this is not evident from the claim terminology and determining is not equivalent to creating or generating.
Regarding the amendment that wherein the partition is based on an initial sync-raster value and a step function applied to the plurality of sync-raster values; Kim clearly teaches each partition (eg. 5150-5170 MHz) having an initial sync raster value (eg. 5155.68 MHz), such being defined for each partition with spacing (step function) of 1.44 MHz (at least paragraph 91-93).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., partitioning a single, unified raster; a specific structure where all possible sync-raster values of a sync raster are subdivided into at least two partitions) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the overall sync raster to be divided into multiple subsets/partitions”; “partitioning a single sync raster”; “common sync raster”; “creating partitions by applying a mathematical step function”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues a single sync raster for a single band as in Kim is not a partition of multiple partitions as claimed. However, as par. 100 begins, “As an example, as shown in FIG. 13, when the UE receives an SS/PBCH block with a center frequency of 5155.68 MHz, which is the synchronization raster defined for a 5150 to 5170 MHz band”. The 5155.68 MHz is an example one sync raster for that partition/band, wherein the raster has a granularity of 30kHz and thus another sync raster value of 5175.84 MHz (see par. 86, Table 8 for formula), for example for the next / higher partition, would also be a sync raster.
Regarding mode of operation, the specification outlines in par. 122 for example, that “For example, a sync raster set for mode 1 (i.e., licensed communication mode) may be constrained to lie within a predefined range and a sync raster set for mode 2 (i.e., unlicensed communication mode) may be constrained to lie outside the predefined range”. Kim teaches in par. 134 ‘To identify the carrier type at the corresponding frequency, a synchronization raster for the licensed band and a synchronization raster for the unlicensed band may be separately defined in specifications’. Thus, if a sync raster received is one value the licensed band mode of operation is selected, and vice versa. And Kim thus teaches if the sync raster value for the partition is 5155.68MHz and that corresponds to a licensed mode, then a licensed mode of operation is selected according to the sync raster value received.
Finally, Applicant argues Kim not teach determining parameters ‘based on’ the mode of operation. Par. 85 outlines “the parameters may be, include and/or correspond to any of one or more (e.g., consecutive) resource blocks, a number of (e.g., consecutive) resource blocks, one or more (e.g., consecutive) symbols, a number of (e.g., consecutive) symbols, a frequency offset, and a multiplexing pattern for/associated with a second transmission (e.g., associated with CORESET and/or a search space)”.
Kim teaches in paragraph 91-100 that the UE may obtain ‘offset X’, which is a frequency offset, as well as Resource Block RB being configured (determined). Further, Kim teaches in par. 136 “based on detection of the SSB in an unlicensed band, (1) a difference between a synchronization raster in the unlicensed band and the center frequency of the SSB may be limited to a multiple of 30 kHz, and/or (2) the subcarrier offset may indicate only a multiple of 30 kHz based on the 15 kHz-granularity-based offset information.’ Thus, Kim clearly teaches determining at least RBs and frequency offsets based on mode of operation (unlicensed band).
Conclusion
/GREGORY TODD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443