DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot and not persuasive for the following reasons.
With respect to the arguments that reference Anderson fails to teach, suggest the newly amended limitations from claim 1, i.e., “moving into an RRC inactive state, … sending a RRCResumeRequest message to request a RRC connection release”, the examiner respectfully disagrees because: first of all, the new amended limitations are moot and it necessitates a new ground of rejection; secondly, the arguments regarding to the new limitations to claim 1 are not persuasive because:
Anderson teaches “moving into an RRC inactive state” (Anderson, pp [68]-[69]: teachings when suspending the RRC connection, a UE moves to an inactive time period or inactive state for a period of time due to no data transfer).
Anderson however does not specifically say “sending a RRCResumeRequest message to request a RRC connection release”.
Tseng teaches and discloses this limitation “sending a RRCResumeRequest message to request a RRC connection release” (Tseng, Fig. 4A-4D, pp [79], [100]: the UE transmits UL message, e.g., RRCResumeRequest message for requesting RRC Connection Release), as shown in the following new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 13 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0321371) and further in view of Tseng et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0344508).
Regarding claim 1. (Currently Amended) Anderson teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network (Anderson, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving a message for suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection related to a first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [113], [115]; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: a UE in RRC connection suspended state with a cell covered by eNB1);
moving into an RRC inactive state (Anderson, pp [68]-[69]: teachings when suspending the RRC connection, a UE moves to an inactive time period or inactive state for a period of time due to no data transfer);
determining that a current location of the UE is in a different coverage area from the first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[116]: the UE determines its location is outside of the cell covered by the eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection);
releasing the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]: the UE releases the suspended RRC connection based on current location with eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection).
Anderson does not teach “sending a RRCResumeRequest message to request a RRC connection release”.
Tseng teaches and discloses this limitation “sending a RRCResumeRequest message to request a RRC connection release” (Tseng, Fig. 4A-4D, pp [79], [100]: the UE transmits UL message, e.g., RRCResumeRequest message for requesting RRC Connection Release).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson by incorporating teachings of Tseng, a method of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) assistance information update procedure for a user equipment (UE), wherein the method includes receiving, by the UE roams from cell to cell and needs assistance information updates from the network to support the effective and sufficient communication between the UE and the network by making usages of the downlinks and uplinks RRC signaling messaging such as RRC Connection Release message, RRCSetupRequest message, RRCResumeRequest message, RRCReestablishmentRequest, thus the system provides the better reliable and quick communication for the UE while roaming in different cells in the wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 13. (Currently Amended) Anderson teaches a method performed by a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network (Anderson, the Abstract), the method comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a message for suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection related to a first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [113], [115]; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: a UE in RRC connection suspended state with a cell covered by eNB1), wherein the UE moves into an RRC inactive state (Anderson, pp [68]-[69]: teachings when suspending the RRC connection, a UE moves to an inactive time period or inactive state for a period of time due to no data transfer);
receiving, from the UE, a first message initiating a procedure for releasing the suspended RRC connection based on a current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[116]: the UE determines its location is outside of the cell covered by the eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection); and
transmitting, to the UE, a second message releasing the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]: the UE releases the suspended RRC connection based on current location with eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection).
Anderson does not teach “wherein the first message is a RRCResumeRequest message that requests a RRC connection release”.
Tseng teaches and discloses this limitation “wherein the first message is a RRCResumeRequest message that requests a RRC connection release” (Tseng, Fig. 4A-4D, pp [79], [100]: the UE transmits UL message, e.g., RRCResumeRequest message for requesting RRC Connection Release).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson by incorporating teachings of Tseng, a method of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) assistance information update procedure for a user equipment (UE), wherein the method includes receiving, by the UE roams from cell to cell and needs assistance information updates from the network to support the effective and sufficient communication between the UE and the network by making usages of the downlinks and uplinks RRC signaling messaging such as RRC Connection Release message, RRCSetupRequest message, RRCResumeRequest message, RRCReestablishmentRequest, thus the system provides the better reliable and quick communication for the UE while roaming in different cells in the wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 23. (Currently Amended) Anderson teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network (Anderson, the Abstract), the UE comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Anderson, pp [45], [107]-[108]); and
at least one processor (Anderson, pp [45], [107]-[108]) configured to process the instructions to:
receive a message for suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection related to a first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [113], [115]; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: a UE in RRC connection suspended state with a cell covered by eNB1);
moving into an RRC inactive state (Anderson, pp [68]-[69]: teachings when suspending the RRC connection, a UE moves to an inactive time period or inactive state for a period of time due to no data transfer);
determine that a current location of the UE is in a different coverage area from the first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[116]: the UE determines its location is outside of the cell covered by the eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection);
release the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]: the UE releases the suspended RRC connection based on current location with eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection).
Anderson does not teach “sending a RRCResumeRequest message to request a RRC connection release”.
Tseng teaches and discloses this limitation “sending a RRCResumeRequest message to request a RRC connection release” (Tseng, Fig. 4A-4D, pp [79], [100]: the UE transmits UL message, e.g., RRCResumeRequest message for requesting RRC Connection Release).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson by incorporating teachings of Tseng, a method of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) assistance information update procedure for a user equipment (UE), wherein the method includes receiving, by the UE roams from cell to cell and needs assistance information updates from the network to support the effective and sufficient communication between the UE and the network by making usages of the downlinks and uplinks RRC signaling messaging such as RRC Connection Release message, RRCSetupRequest message, RRCResumeRequest message, RRCReestablishmentRequest, thus the system provides the better reliable and quick communication for the UE while roaming in different cells in the wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 24. (Currently Amended) Anderson teaches a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network (Anderson, the Abstract), the network node comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Anderson, pp [45], [107]-[108]); and at least one processor (Anderson, pp [45], [107]-[108]) configured to process the instructions to:
transmit, to the UE, a message for suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection related to a first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [113], [115]; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: a UE in RRC connection suspended state with a cell covered by eNB1), wherein the UE moves into an RRC inactive state (Anderson, pp [68]-[69]: teachings when suspending the RRC connection, a UE moves to an inactive time period or inactive state for a period of time due to no data transfer);
receive, from the UE, a first message initiating a procedure for releasing the suspended RRC connection based on a current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[116]: the UE determines its location is outside of the cell covered by the eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection);
transmit, to the UE, a message releasing the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]: the UE releases the suspended RRC connection based on current location with eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection).
Anderson does not teach “wherein the first message is a RRCResumeRequest message that requests a RRC connection release”.
Tseng teaches and discloses this limitation “wherein the first message is a RRCResumeRequest message that requests a RRC connection release” (Tseng, Fig. 4A-4D, pp [79], [100]: the UE transmits UL message, e.g., RRCResumeRequest message for requesting RRC Connection Release).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson by incorporating teachings of Tseng, a method of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) assistance information update procedure for a user equipment (UE), wherein the method includes receiving, by the UE roams from cell to cell and needs assistance information updates from the network to support the effective and sufficient communication between the UE and the network by making usages of the downlinks and uplinks RRC signaling messaging such as RRC Connection Release message, RRCSetupRequest message, RRCResumeRequest message, RRCReestablishmentRequest, thus the system provides the better reliable and quick communication for the UE while roaming in different cells in the wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 3. (Currently Amended) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining second information relating to a border of the different coverage area, wherein the determining is performed based on the second information (Anderson, Fig. 13, pp [153], [190]).
Regarding claim 4. (Previously Presented) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving third information indicating that the UE is allowed to release the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]).
Regarding claim 5. (Original) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the third information is included in an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message (Anderson, Fig. 4, pp [52], [70]).
Regarding claim 6. (Currently Amended) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the releasing the suspended RRC connection includes sending, to a network node, fourth information indicating at least one of:
the UE is requesting RRC connection release (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]); and a preferred RRC state (Anderson, pp [76]-[79], [165]).
Regarding claim 7. (Original) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the fourth information is included in an RRC message (Anderson, pp [70], [125]).
Regarding claim 8. (Previously Presented) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the fourth information includes a cause value indicating a reason for releasing the suspended RRC connection (Anderson, pp [121]-[122], [166]).
Claim(s) 2 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0321371) and furthers in views of Tseng et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0344508) and Xu et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0224406).
Regarding claim 2. (Currently Amended) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining first information identifying at least one a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and/or a Mobile Country Code (MCC) relating to the different coverage area, wherein the determining is performed based on the first information.
Xu teaches “obtaining first information identifying at least one a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and/or a Mobile Country Code (MCC) relating to the different coverage area, wherein the determining is performed based on the first information.” (Xu, Fig. 1, pp [48]-[50], [69]-[70]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson and Tseng by incorporating teachings of Xu, method and system for configuring a satellite-based non-terrestrial network with multiple uplink resources (PURs) for a user equipment (UE), wherein the PURs may be configured one PUR per beam, one PUR per cell, or one PUR for multiple cells. A serving cell of the UE and one or more cells adjacent to the serving cell may each have an associated PUR. The UE selects one of the multiple PURs and sends a transmission using the selected PUR without the UE have a connection to the network. The satellite-based non-terrestrial network also comprises NTN gateways, satellite nodeBs for supporting the roaming UEs from regions to regions including different countries where multiple PLMNs are located for further providing and facilitating roaming communication for UEs by exchanging and providing prompt and sufficient information between the roaming UEs and the multiple coverage cells over multiple countries and geolocated regions thus improving the robust and seamless communication for wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 9. (Currently Amended) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
setting up another RRC connection via a cell serving the different coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 11, pp [134]-[138]); and
Anderson, as modified by Tseng, does not teach “selecting a PLMN and/or a core network node for mobility management associated with the different coverage area based on a list of PLMNs and corresponding coverage areas held by the UE.”
Xu teaches “selecting a PLMN and/or a core network node for mobility management associated with the different coverage area based on a list of PLMNs and corresponding coverage areas held by the UE.” (Xu, Fig. 2, pp [74]; Fig. 6, pp [93]: multiple PLMNs support for mobility management of UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson and Tseng by incorporating teachings of Xu, method and system for configuring a satellite-based non-terrestrial network with multiple uplink resources (PURs) for a user equipment (UE), wherein the PURs may be configured one PUR per beam, one PUR per cell, or one PUR for multiple cells. A serving cell of the UE and one or more cells adjacent to the serving cell may each have an associated PUR. The UE selects one of the multiple PURs and sends a transmission using the selected PUR without the UE have a connection to the network. The satellite-based non-terrestrial network also comprises NTN gateways, satellite nodeBs for supporting the roaming UEs from regions to regions including different countries where multiple PLMNs are located for further providing and facilitating roaming communication for UEs by exchanging and providing prompt and sufficient information between the roaming UEs and the multiple coverage cells over multiple countries and geolocated regions thus improving the robust and seamless communication for wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 10. (Currently Amended) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving fifth information for redirecting the UE to a PLMN and/or a core network node for mobility management associated with the current location of the UE; and setting up another RRC connection via a cell serving the different coverage area based on the fifth information.
Xu teaches “receiving fifth information for redirecting the UE to a PLMN and/or a core network node for mobility management associated with the current location of the UE (Xu, pp [69]-[70]; Fig. 3, pp [82]-[84]); and setting up another RRC connection via a cell serving the different coverage area based on the fifth information.” (Xu, Fig. 3, pp [82]-[84]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson and Tseng by incorporating teachings of Xu, method and system for configuring a satellite-based non-terrestrial network with multiple uplink resources (PURs) for a user equipment (UE), wherein the PURs may be configured one PUR per beam, one PUR per cell, or one PUR for multiple cells. A serving cell of the UE and one or more cells adjacent to the serving cell may each have an associated PUR. The UE selects one of the multiple PURs and sends a transmission using the selected PUR without the UE have a connection to the network. The satellite-based non-terrestrial network also comprises NTN gateways, satellite nodeBs for supporting the roaming UEs from regions to regions including different countries where multiple PLMNs are located for further providing and facilitating roaming communication for UEs by exchanging and providing prompt and sufficient information between the roaming UEs and the multiple coverage cells over multiple countries and geolocated regions thus improving the robust and seamless communication for wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 11. (Currently Amended) Anderson, as modified by Tseng and Xu, teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the fifth information is included in an RRCRelease message or an RRCReject message (Anderson, pp [69], [166]-[167]; Xu, pp [124]).
Regarding claim 12. (Currently Amended) Anderson, as modified by Tseng, does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining that the current location of the UE is in the different coverage area from the first coverage area is based on at least one of: a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) based location; and a MCC associated with the UE.
Xu teaches “the current location of the UE is in the different coverage area to from the first coverage area is based on at least one of: a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) based location (Xu, pp [49], [55], [62], [93]); and a MCC associated with the UE.” (Xu, pp [49], [55], [62], [93]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson and Tseng by incorporating teachings of Xu, method and system for configuring a satellite-based non-terrestrial network with multiple uplink resources (PURs) for a user equipment (UE), wherein the PURs may be configured one PUR per beam, one PUR per cell, or one PUR for multiple cells. A serving cell of the UE and one or more cells adjacent to the serving cell may each have an associated PUR. The UE selects one of the multiple PURs and sends a transmission using the selected PUR without the UE have a connection to the network. The satellite-based non-terrestrial network also comprises NTN gateways, satellite nodeBs for supporting the roaming UEs from regions to regions including different countries via the location aids such as GNSS, GLONASS, Galileo or Beidou or some other local or regional SPS, such as Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System (IRNSS), European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service (EGNOS), or Wide Area Augmentation System (WAAS), all of which are sometimes referred to herein as GNSS. Thus the system provides the best communication for roaming communication devices over wide areas and over multiple countries effectively and sufficiently.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644