DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment Acknowledgment
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 10/05/2023 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 13 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0321371).
Regarding claim 1. Anderson teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network (Anderson, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving a message for suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection related to a first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [113], [115]; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: a UE in RRC connection suspended state with a cell covered by eNB1);
determining that a current location of the UE is in a different coverage area from the first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[116]: the UE determines its location is outside of the cell covered by the eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection); and
releasing the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]: the UE releases the suspended RRC connection based on current location with eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection).
Regarding claim 13. Anderson teaches a method performed by a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network (Anderson, the Abstract), the method comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a message for suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection related to a first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [113], [115]; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: a UE in RRC connection suspended state with a cell covered by eNB1);
receiving, from the UE, a first message initiating a procedure for releasing the suspended RRC connection based on a current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[116]: the UE determines its location is outside of the cell covered by the eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection); and
transmitting, to the UE, a second message releasing the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]: the UE releases the suspended RRC connection based on current location with eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection).
Regarding claim 23. Anderson teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network (Anderson, the Abstract), the UE comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Anderson, pp [45], [107]-[108]); and
at least one processor (Anderson, pp [45], [107]-[108]) configured to process the instructions to:
receive a message for suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection related to a first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [113], [115]; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: a UE in RRC connection suspended state with a cell covered by eNB1);
determine that a current location of the UE is in a different coverage area from the first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[116]: the UE determines its location is outside of the cell covered by the eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection); and
release the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]: the UE releases the suspended RRC connection based on current location with eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection).
Regarding claim 24. Anderson teaches a network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network (Anderson, the Abstract), the network node comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Anderson, pp [45], [107]-[108]); and at least one processor (Anderson, pp [45], [107]-[108]) configured to process the instructions to:
transmit, to the UE, a message for suspending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection related to a first coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [113], [115]; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: a UE in RRC connection suspended state with a cell covered by eNB1);
receive, from the UE, a message initiating a procedure for releasing the suspended RRC connection based on a current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[116]: the UE determines its location is outside of the cell covered by the eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [126]-[133]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection); and
transmit, to the UE, a message releasing the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]: the UE releases the suspended RRC connection based on current location with eNB1; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]: the UE determines by its travelling location to a new cell under eNB2 and releases the suspended RRC connection).
Regarding claim 3. Anderson teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining second information relating to a border of the different coverage area, wherein the determining is performed based on the second information (Anderson, Fig. 13, pp [153], [190]).
Regarding claim 4. Anderson teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving third information indicating that the UE is allowed to release the suspended RRC connection based on the current location of the UE (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]).
Regarding claim 5. Anderson teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the third information is included in an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message (Anderson, Fig. 4, pp [52], [70]).
Regarding claim 6. Anderson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the releasing the suspended RRC connection includes sending, to a network node, fourth information indicating at least one of:
the UE is requesting RRC connection release (Anderson, Fig. 9, pp [115]-[117], [121]; Fig. 10, pp [133]-[137]); and a preferred RRC state (Anderson, pp [76]-[79], [165]).
Regarding claim 7. Anderson teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the fourth information is included in an RRC message (Anderson, pp [70], [125]).
Regarding claim 8. Anderson teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the fourth information includes a cause value indicating a reason for releasing the suspended RRC connection (Anderson, pp [121]-[122], [166]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0321371) and further in view of Xu et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0224406).
Regarding claim 2. Anderson does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining first information identifying at least one a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and/or a Mobile Country Code (MCC) relating to the different coverage area, wherein the determining is performed based on the first information.
Xu teaches “obtaining first information identifying at least one a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and/or a Mobile Country Code (MCC) relating to the different coverage area, wherein the determining is performed based on the first information.” (Xu, Fig. 1, pp [48]-[50], [69]-[70]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson by incorporating teachings of Xu, method and system for configuring a satellite-based non-terrestrial network with multiple uplink resources (PURs) for a user equipment (UE), wherein the PURs may be configured one PUR per beam, one PUR per cell, or one PUR for multiple cells. A serving cell of the UE and one or more cells adjacent to the serving cell may each have an associated PUR. The UE selects one of the multiple PURs and sends a transmission using the selected PUR without the UE have a connection to the network. The satellite-based non-terrestrial network also comprises NTN gateways, satellite nodeBs for supporting the roaming UEs from regions to regions including different countries where multiple PLMNs are located for further providing and facilitating roaming communication for UEs by exchanging and providing prompt and sufficient information between the roaming UEs and the multiple coverage cells over multiple countries and geolocated regions thus improving the robust and seamless communication for wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 9. Anderson teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
setting up another RRC connection via a cell serving the different coverage area (Anderson, Fig. 11, pp [134]-[138]); and
Anderson does not teach “selecting a PLMN and/or a core network node for mobility management associated with the different coverage area based on a list of PLMNs and corresponding coverage areas held by the UE.”
Xu teaches “selecting a PLMN and/or a core network node for mobility management associated with the different coverage area based on a list of PLMNs and corresponding coverage areas held by the UE.” (Xu, Fig. 2, pp [74]; Fig. 6, pp [93]: multiple PLMNs support for mobility management of UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson by incorporating teachings of Xu, method and system for configuring a satellite-based non-terrestrial network with multiple uplink resources (PURs) for a user equipment (UE), wherein the PURs may be configured one PUR per beam, one PUR per cell, or one PUR for multiple cells. A serving cell of the UE and one or more cells adjacent to the serving cell may each have an associated PUR. The UE selects one of the multiple PURs and sends a transmission using the selected PUR without the UE have a connection to the network. The satellite-based non-terrestrial network also comprises NTN gateways, satellite nodeBs for supporting the roaming UEs from regions to regions including different countries where multiple PLMNs are located for further providing and facilitating roaming communication for UEs by exchanging and providing prompt and sufficient information between the roaming UEs and the multiple coverage cells over multiple countries and geolocated regions thus improving the robust and seamless communication for wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 10. Anderson does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving fifth information for redirecting the UE to a PLMN and/or a core network node for mobility management associated with the current location of the UE; and setting up another RRC connection via a cell serving the different coverage area based on the fifth information.
Xu teaches “receiving fifth information for redirecting the UE to a PLMN and/or a core network node for mobility management associated with the current location of the UE (Xu, pp [69]-[70]; Fig. 3, pp [82]-[84]); and setting up another RRC connection via a cell serving the different coverage area based on the fifth information.” (Xu, Fig. 3, pp [82]-[84]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson by incorporating teachings of Xu, method and system for configuring a satellite-based non-terrestrial network with multiple uplink resources (PURs) for a user equipment (UE), wherein the PURs may be configured one PUR per beam, one PUR per cell, or one PUR for multiple cells. A serving cell of the UE and one or more cells adjacent to the serving cell may each have an associated PUR. The UE selects one of the multiple PURs and sends a transmission using the selected PUR without the UE have a connection to the network. The satellite-based non-terrestrial network also comprises NTN gateways, satellite nodeBs for supporting the roaming UEs from regions to regions including different countries where multiple PLMNs are located for further providing and facilitating roaming communication for UEs by exchanging and providing prompt and sufficient information between the roaming UEs and the multiple coverage cells over multiple countries and geolocated regions thus improving the robust and seamless communication for wireless communication devices.
Regarding claim 11. Anderson, as modified by Xu, teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the fifth information is included in an RRCRelease message or an RRCReject message (Anderson, pp [69], [166]-[167]; Xu, pp [124]).
Regarding claim 12. Anderson does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining that the current location of the UE is in the different coverage area to from the first coverage area is based on at least one of: a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) based location; and a MCC associated with the UE.
Xu teaches “the current location of the UE is in the different coverage area to from the first coverage area is based on at least one of: a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) based location (Xu, pp [49], [55], [62], [93]); and a MCC associated with the UE.” (Xu, pp [49], [55], [62], [93]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Anderson by incorporating teachings of Xu, method and system for configuring a satellite-based non-terrestrial network with multiple uplink resources (PURs) for a user equipment (UE), wherein the PURs may be configured one PUR per beam, one PUR per cell, or one PUR for multiple cells. A serving cell of the UE and one or more cells adjacent to the serving cell may each have an associated PUR. The UE selects one of the multiple PURs and sends a transmission using the selected PUR without the UE have a connection to the network. The satellite-based non-terrestrial network also comprises NTN gateways, satellite nodeBs for supporting the roaming UEs from regions to regions including different countries via the location aids such as GNSS, GLONASS, Galileo or Beidou or some other local or regional SPS, such as Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System (IRNSS), European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service (EGNOS), or Wide Area Augmentation System (WAAS), all of which are sometimes referred to herein as GNSS. Thus the system provides the best communication for roaming communication devices over wide areas and over multiple countries effectively and sufficiently.
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644