DETAILED ACTION Pending Claims Claims 1-8 are pending. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim Objections Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the period midway through claim 7 should be moved to the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Interpretation Claim 5 further limits claim 1 with the following: “ wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane resin has a hard segment concentration of 8% by mass or more and 55% by mass or less.” Turning to the specification, Applicant states: [0080] The hard segment of the thermoplastic polyurethane resin refers to a hard segment formed by reaction of the polyisocyanate component with the low molecular weight polyol . The hard segment concentration can be calculated by a known method, for example, based on the blending amount (preparation) of each component. [0081] More specifically, the hard segment concentration can be calculated, for example, when the prepolymer method is employed, based on the blending formulation (preparation) of each component, using the following formula. [Chain extender (g) + (chain extender (g)/molecular weight (g/mol) of chain extender) x average molecular weight (g/mol) of polyisocyanate component] / (polyisocyanate component (g) + total mass (g) of polyol component) x 100. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2 nd paragraph (b) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5 , the claim further limits claim 1 with the following: “ wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane resin has a hard segment concentration of 8% by mass or more and 55% by mass or less.” As discussed above , Applicant states that the “ hard segment” refers to a “hard segment” formed by reaction of the polyisocyanate component with “the low molecular weight polyol” . Accordingly, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 1 is silent regarding a “hard segment” and a “low molecular weight polyol” . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanayama et al. (US 2018/0208708 A1) . Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)( 2 ) as being anticipated by Kanayama et al. (US 2018/0208708 A1) . Regarding claims 1-3 and 8 , Kanayama et al. disclose: (1) a fiber-reinforced resin sheet comprising a fiber assembly comprising a reinforcing fiber and a thermoplastic polyurethane resin impregnated in at least one surface of the fiber assembly ( Example 28 in Table 5; paragraph 0248; see also paragraphs 0177-0189 ) , wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane resin comprises a reaction product of a polyol component ( Example 28 in Table 5; paragraphs 0235 & 0288 ) and a polyisocyanate component comprising a monocyclic alicyclic polyisocyanate ( Example 28 in Table 5; paragraphs 0227-0 2 28 & 0282 ); (2) wherein the monocyclic alicyclic polyisocyanate comprises 1,4-bis(isocyanatomethyl)cyclohexane and/or 1,3-bis(isocyanatomethyl)cyclohexane ; (3) wherein the 1,4-bis(isocyanatomethyl)cyclohexane and/or the 1,3-bis(isocyanatomethyl)cyclohexane contain(s) a trans isomer in a proportion of 80% by mol or more ( Example 28 in Table 5; paragraphs 0227-0 2 28 & 0282 ); and ( 8) wherein the reinforcing fiber comprises carbon fiber and/or aramid fiber ( Example 28 in Table 5; paragraphs 0248 & 0293 ; see also paragraph 0181 ). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kanayama et al. (US 2018/0208708 A1) . Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)( 2 ) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kanayama et al. (US 2018/0208708 A1) . Regarding claims 6 and 7 , the teaching s of Kanayama et al. are as set forth above and incorporated herein. They fail to explicitly disclose: (6) wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane resin has a urethane group concentration of 1.7 mmol/g or more and 4.5 mmol/g or less ; and (7) wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane resin satisfies the following formula (1) : Formula (1): 0 < [Calorific value (mJ/mg) at recrystallization peak of urethane group/exothermic section (°C)] < 0.85 . However, the skill artisan would have expected the exemplary embodiment of Kanayama et al. to satisfy these properties because it satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention. At the very least, the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Kanayama et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying these properties because the teachings of Kanayama et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention. Therefore if not anticipated by Kanayama et al., the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Kanayama et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying the instantly claimed properties because the teachings of Kanayama et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanayama et al. (US 2018/0208708 A1) . Regarding claim 4 , the teachings of Kanayama et al. are as set forth above and incorporated herein. The embodiment of Example 28 is formulated with a diol having a Mn of 280. Accordingly, it fails to disclose: (4) wherein the polyol component has a number average molecular weight of 400 or more and 3000 or less . However, the general teachings of Kanayama et al. contemplate a number average molecular weight of up to 500 (see paragraph 0074; see also paragraphs 0231-023 3 & 0284-0286). In light of this, it has been found that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists – see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the exemplary embodiment of Kanayama et al. with the instantly claimed polyol ( ha ving a number average molecular weight of 400 or more and 3000 or less ) because: (a) t he embodiment of Example 28 in Kanayama et al. is formulated with a diol having a Mn of 280 ; (b) the general teachings of Kanayama et al. contemplate a number average molecular weight of up to 500 ; and (c) it has been found that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Claim s 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroiwa et al. (WO 2021/065783 A1) in view of Kanayama et al. (US 2018/0208708 A1) . Regarding claims 1-4 and 8 , Kuroiwa et al. disclose: (1) a thermoplastic polyurethane resin (paragraphs 0007-0014) compris ing a reaction product of a polyol component ( paragraphs 0039-0071; Examples 1-5 in Table 1; see also “b-1”, “b-2”, “b-3”, “b-4” and “b-5” in paragraph 0170 ) and a polyisocyanate component comprising a monocyclic alicyclic polyisocyanate ( paragraphs 0015-0038; Examples 1-5 in Table 1; see also “a” in paragraph 0170 ); (2) wherein the monocyclic alicyclic polyisocyanate comprises 1,4-bis(isocyanatomethyl)cyclohexane and/or 1,3-bis(isocyanatomethyl)cyclohexane ; (3) wherein the 1,4-bis(isocyanatomethyl)cyclohexane and/or the 1,3-bis(isocyanatomethyl)cyclohexane contain(s) a trans isomer in a proportion of 80% by mol or more ( paragraphs 0016-0019; Examples 1-5 in Table 1; see also “a” in paragraph 0170 ); and (4) wherein the polyol component has a number average molecular weight of 400 or more and 3000 or less ( paragraph 0055; Examples 1-5 in Table 1; see also “b-1”, “b-2”, “b-3”, “b-4” and “b-5” in paragraph 0170 ) . Kuroiwa et al. disclose that their composition is suitable for many uses (see paragraphs 0163-0169). Th e s e include fiber-reinforced materials of carbon fiber (see paragraph 0169). However, t hey fail to explicitly disclose: (1 -4 & 8 ) a fiber-reinforced resin sheet comprising a fiber assembly comprising a reinforcing fiber; and a thermoplastic polyurethane resin impregnated in at least one surface of the fiber assembly . The teachings of Kanayama et al. are as set forth above and incorporated herein. The teachings of Kanayama et al. demonstrate that fiber-reinforced polyurethane resin sheets would have obviously embraced the instantly claimed structural limitations of a reinforcing fiber assembly and the polyurethane resin impregnated in at least one surface of the fiber assembly (see paragraphs 0177-0198 & 0248). Therefore, the skilled artisan would have obviously envisaged the instantly claimed structural limitations (a reinforcing fiber assembly and the polyurethane resin impregnated in at least one surface of the fiber assembly ) in the fiber-reinforced materials of Kuroiwa et al. because: (a) Kuroiwa et al. disclose that their composition is suitable for many uses , including fiber-reinforced materials of carbon fiber ; and (b) t he teachings of Kanayama et al. demonstrate that fiber-reinforced polyurethane resin sheets would have obviously embraced the instantly claimed structural limitations of a reinforcing fiber assembly and the polyurethane resin impregnated in at least one surface of the fiber assembly . Regarding claim 5 , the combined teachings of { Kuroiwa et al. & Kanayama et al. } are as set forth above and incorporated herein. The exemplary embodiments of Kuroiwa et al. fail to explicitly disclose: (5) wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane resin has a hard segment concentration of 8% by mass or more and 55% by mass or less . However, the general teachings of Kuroiwa et al. disclose that the hard segment concentration can vary from 5% to 30% by mass (see paragraph 0140). In light of this, it has been found that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists – see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the thermoplastic polyurethane resin in the fiber-reinforced resin sheet resulting from the combined teachings of {Kuroiwa et al. & Kanayama et al.} with the instantly claimed hard segment content (8% to 55% by mass) because: (a) the general teachings of Kuroiwa et al. disclose that the hard segment concentration can vary from 5% to 30% by mass ; and (b) it has been found that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists . Regarding claims 6 and 7 , the combined teachings of {Kuroiwa et al. & Kanayama et al.} are as set forth above and incorporated herein. They fail to explicitly disclose: (6) wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane resin has a urethane group concentration of 1.7 mmol/g or more and 4.5 mmol/g or less ; and (7) wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane resin satisfies the following formula (1) : Formula (1): 0 < [Calorific value (mJ/mg) at recrystallization peak of urethane group/exothermic section (°C)] < 0.85 . However, the skill artisan would have expected the exemplary thermoplastic polyurethane resins of Kuroiwa et al. to satisfy these properties because the exemplary thermoplastic polyurethane resins of Kuro i wa et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the instantly claimed resin . At the very least, the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Kuro i wa et al. to obviously embrace thermoplastic polyurethane resins capable of satisfying these properties because the thermoplastic polyurethane resins of Kuro i wa et al. satisfy all of the material/chemical limitations of the instantly claimed resin. International Search Report The international search report cited three X-references. All three references have been considered, and one has been applied as prior art. Communication Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MICHAEL J FEELY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1086 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8am-5pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Randy Gulakowski can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1302 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL J FEELY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766 April 1, 2026