DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,3-4,7-11 are under examination
Response to Applicants Arguments/Amendments
The amendments have modified the claimed invention. Therefore, the former prior art rejections are withdrawn and a new rejection is put forward. Because amendments were made to claims 4 and 7, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-4,7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 20220340864) in view of Ng “Chlorella vulgaris Extract as a Serum Replacement that Enhances Mammalian Cell Growth and Protein Expression” Frontiers of Bioengineering and Biotechnology, September 2020, Volume 8.
Shimizu discloses culturing separated cells by using a composition comprising chlorella extract (Page 9, Examples 3 and 4, and Figures 7-8). Shimizu discloses that the cell is a bovine-derived muscle cell (Page 9, Examples 3 and 4) as in instant claim 1.
Shimizu does not specifically teach the concentration of chlorella extract recited in the claims. However, Ng teaches that mammalian cells can be cultured in a chlorella extract that is 23.0 g/L or less (Page 9, Figure 7, and the description of Figure 7). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have used the chlorella extract concentration taught by Ng in the culture process discussed in Shimizu. An artisan would have been motivated to have used the chlorella extract concentration taught by Ng because Ng teaches that it can successfully culture mammalian cells and promote their growth (Page 9, Figure 7, and the description of Figure 7 of Ng). There would have been a high expectation for success because Ng teaches that the claimed range of chlorella extract in the claims can successfully be used to culture mammalian cells (Page 9, Figure 7, and the description of Figure 7) as in instant Claims 1 and 3.
Dependent Claims taught by Shimizu
Shimizu discloses that the chlorella is Chlorella vulgaris (Page, Examples 3 and 4) as in instant Claim 4. Shimizu discloses that the culture medium comprises FBS serum (Page 9; Examples 3-4 and Figures 7-8) as in instant Claims 7-8. Shimizu disclose wherein the serum is comprised in an amount of 0.5 parts by volume to 15 parts by volume based on 100 parts by volume of total volume of the composition (Figure 7-8) as in instant Claim 9. Shimizu discloses wherein the serum is comprised at a weight ratio of 1000:1 to 1:1 relative to the chlorella extract (serum: chlorella extract) (Figure 7-8) as in instant Claim 10. The muscle cells cultured that are mentioned in Examples 3-4 and Figures 7-8 of Shimizu would be considered a type of meat as in instant Claim 11.
Dependent Claims taught by Ng
Ng discloses that the chlorella extract is obtained from Chlorella vulgaris (Abstract of Ng) as in instant Claim 4. Ng discloses wherein the composition comprises serum (Page 9, Figure 7 of Ng) as in instant Claim 7. Ng discloses wherein the serum is FBS (fetal bovine serum) (Page 9, Figure 7 of Ng) as in instant Claim 8. Ng discloses wherein the serum is comprised in an amount of .5 part by volume to 15 parts by volume based on 100 parts by volume of a total volume of the composition (Page 9, Figure 7 of Ng) as in instant Claim 9. Ng discloses wherein the serum is comprised at a weight of 1000:1 to 1:1 relative to the chlorella extract (serum: chlorella extract) (Page 9, Figure 7) as in instant Claim 10.
Shimizu teaches that bovine muscle cells can be successfully cultured in a culture medium containing Chlorella vulgaris extract. Shimizu does not teach the claimed concentration of Chlorella vulgaris extract that can be used; however, Ng teaches that when culturing mammalian cells, it is preferred to use culture medium with an amount of Chlorella vulgaris extract of 23 g/L or less (Figure 7 of Ng). In fact the viability graft of Ng is very similar to Figure 2 (viability graft) of applicants specification. An artisan would have been persuaded to have used desirable concentrations shown in Ng because Ng shows what concentrations of Chlorella vulgaris are desirable and produce the highest cell viability when culturing mammalian cells. Thus, an artisan would have been motivated to have used the concentrations of Chlorella vulgaris shown in Figure 7, Page 9 of Ng that produced the highest viability with the bovine muscle culture medium taught by Shimizu. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicant’s invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All the claimed elements were know in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations would have yielded predicable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSR International Col. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature and have the practical experience in cell culture. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in the art is high.
Conclusion
All claims stand rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAUREN K. VAN BUREN
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638