DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 1-14, 19, 34, 63, and 117 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Changzhou Andi Sanitary Products Technology Co. ltd. CN 111548384B (Changzhou) and Wuhan Kangmat Biotechnology Co. ltd. Huazhong Agricultural University CN111135184A (Wuhan). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 19, 34, and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changzhou Andi Sanitary Products Technology Co. ltd. CN 111548384B (Changzhou).
Claims 1-2, 5-9, and 19 are drawn to a method of treating or preventing a Coronaviridae, Bunyaviridae, or Togaviridae infection, comprising administering a treatment or preventative amount of a compound of Formula (A) to a patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof.
Claim 34 is drawn to a method for treating or preventing a Coronaviridae, Bunyaviridae, or Togaviridae infection, comprising administering a treatment or preventative amount of a compound of Formula (A) to a patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof.
Claim 63 is drawn to a method for treating or preventing a Coronaviridae, Bunyaviridae, or Togaviridae infection, comprising administering a treatment or preventative amount of a compound of Formula (A) or Formula (A1) to a patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof.
Changzhou relates to N4-hydroxycytidine derivatives having substitution, prodrugs and pharmaceutical compositions containing the same, and methods of using the compositions for treating viral infections (Technical Field). In particular, the invention relates to methods and compounds for treating infections by viruses of the Paramyxoviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, Coronaviridae and Filoviridae families, and pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The invention particularly relates to a method and a compound for treating the infection of novel coronavirus (COVID-19 or SARS-Cov-2) and influenza virus and a medicinal composition thereof.
Changzhou teaches that the compounds have the following structural formula (I) or are stereoisomers, prodrugs, active metabolites or pharmaceutically acceptable salts, solvates or crystalline forms thereof:
.
See [0014]. Changzhou explicitly teaches compound
.
See [0089]. Changzhou further discloses its anti-beta-coronavirus COVID-19 activity. See Example 15.
Changzhou teaches that the compounds and compositions of the invention are also used in combination with other active ingredients for the treatment of viral infections, in particular infections with one or more of the virus families paramyxoviridae, orthomyxoviridae, coronaviridae. Preferably, the further active therapeutic agent is active against infection by a virus of the family Paramyxoviridae, Orthomyxoviridae, Coronaviridae. Non-limiting examples of these other active therapeutic agents are: corticosteroids, anti-inflammatory signal transduction modulators, beta 2-adrenoceptor agonists bronchodilators, anticholinergics, mucolytics, or mixtures thereof. Wherein the at least one other therapeutic agent of the composition is ribavirin, palivizumab, mevizumab, RSV-IGIV, MEDI-557, A-60444, MDT-637 or BMS-433771, formoterol, salmeterol, an anticholinergic, or a mixture thereof.
Changzhou is limited to in vitro data. Thus, Changzhou differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Changzhou does not explicitly teach the administration of
to an instant patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof; however, this deficiency would have been obvious.
In determining the differences between the prior art and the claims, the question under 35 U.S.C. 103 is not whether the differences themselves would have been obvious, but whether the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious. Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530, 218 USPQ 871 (Fed. Cir. 1983); Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In the instant case, although not explicitly disclosed, Changzhou teaches or reasonably suggests the administration of
to an instant patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof. See Example 15. Thus, claims 1-2, 5-9, 19, 34, and 63 would have been obvious based on the preponderance of evidence.
Claim(s) 63 and 117 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuhan Kangmat Biotechnology Co. ltd. Huazhong Agricultural University CN111135184A (Wuhan).
Claim 63 is drawn to a method for treating or preventing a Coronaviridae, Bunyaviridae, or Togaviridae infection, comprising administering a treatment or preventative amount of a compound of Formula (A) or Formula (A1) to a patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof.
Claim 117 is drawn to a method for treating or preventing a Coronaviridae, Bunyaviridae, or Togaviridae infection, comprising administering a treatment or preventative amount of a compound of one of the following formulas to a patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof:
.
Wuhan discloses application of GS-441524 in preparation of a novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 inhibitor (Abstract). The results of in vitro cell experiments show that: GS-441524 can remarkably inhibit SARS-CoV-2 from infecting normal cells, has an inhibitory effect on novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 at a cell level, can remarkably reduce the virus price in the cells, and inhibits the proliferation of the virus in the cells, and has dose dependence. Therefore, GS-441524 can be used as a novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 inhibitor, and has the potential of treating COVID-19 pneumonia caused by human being infected by the virus, or other diseases caused by animal infection.
(GS-441524)
Wuhan is limited to in vitro results. Thus, Wuhan differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Wuhan does not explicitly teach the administration of GS-441524 to an instant patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof; however, this deficiency would have been obvious.
In determining the differences between the prior art and the claims, the question under 35 U.S.C. 103 is not whether the differences themselves would have been obvious, but whether the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious. Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530, 218 USPQ 871 (Fed. Cir. 1983); Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In the instant case, although not explicitly disclosed, Wuhan teaches or reasonably suggests the administration of
to an instant patient in need of treatment or prevention thereof. See Abstract. Thus, claims 63 and 117 would have been obvious based on the preponderance of evidence.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14, 19, 34, 63, 73, 80, 91, 102, 111, and 117 are pending. Claims 1-2, 5-9, 19, 34, 63, and 117 are rejected. Claims 3-4 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 73, 80, 91, 102, and 111 are allowed.
Contacts
/PATRICK T LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/PL/