DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10, and 14-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “engaging element” in claim 1.
The following 3-Prong Test is used to detail the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) pertaining to the aforementioned limitation:
The generic place holder, “element,” is identified as a replacement for the generic “means for,” and is not indicative of any specific known, limiting feature.
“element” is modified by the functional language “engaging.” The generic placeholder is set forth by the function it performs.
A lack of sufficient structure for achieving the claimed function follows the aforementioned limitation.
Thus, claim 1 and dependent claims 3-8, 10, and 14-15 (by virtue of dependency) are given the broadest reasonable interpretation set forth by the specifications to mean: “a screw thread or a snap fit arrangement,” as stated on p. 3 ll. 22-23 of Applicant’s Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman (US 8,267,610) in view of Ki (KR 10-1242196).
Regarding claim 1, Goodman discloses a dispenser (dispensing apparatus 100) comprising: a reservoir (reservoir container 110) which contains a gel (cleansing solution 105 which refers to a liquid, gel or vapor, col. 1 ll. 65-67) comprising water (it is common in the art to dilute cleaning solutions with water or solvent), wherein the gel is suitable for application to a sheet of paper (dispensing onto tissue, col. 2 ll. 35-37); and an applicator (dispersion component 130 and pump assembly 120) configured to apply the gel to the sheet of paper (col. 2 ll. 35-37), wherein the applicator comprises: a pump (pumping assembly 120), an actuator (dispersion component 130), and an application surface (concave depression 135) which is oriented perpendicular to an axis of elongation of the applicator (perpendicular to line A, fig. 1) and has a plurality of apertures (holes 140); wherein, when the pump is fed with the gel, actuation of the actuator causes the pump to move the gel through the apertures (col. 2 ll. 48-52) so that the gel is dispensed simultaneously through each of the apertures (facilitated by channels 190); wherein the reservoir is removably engageable with the applicator (col. 5 ll. 14-16); wherein the applicator comprises an engaging element (screw-on cap 120) configured to removably engage the applicator with the reservoir such that (col. 5 ll. 9-11), when engaged, the pump of the applicator draws the gel from the reservoir when the actuator is actuated; and wherein the applicator is elongate (refer to fig. 5).
Goodman does not expressly disclose, (1) “wherein lateral movement of a user pushing the actuator is converted into a vertical movement which drives the pump;” and (2) “wherein the applicator is elongate and the actuator is provided on a side of the applicator and is actuatable in a direction which is perpendicular to an axis of elongation of the applicator.” However, Ki teaches a side button (side button 40; [0010], [0025], [0032]) having cooperating inclined surfaces (inclined surface 132 and pressure included surface 222; [0014], [0027]) between the horizontal pumping pressure member and the vertical moving unit that convert lateral movement (side button and horizontal mumping pressure member; [0010], [0025], [0032]) into vertical movement (vertical moving unit 100; [0027], [0033], [0034]) for actuating the pump. The advantage of Ki’s side actuator is to convert the side button’s lateral movement into vertical pump movement, thereby allowing the contents to be dispensed in a desired metered amount without reducing pumping performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dispenser of Goodman, to incorporate the side actuator mechanism taught by Ki, in order to convert lateral movement of the actuator into vertical movement for actuating the pump, thereby providing the advantages taught by Ki while retaining the dispensing features of Goodman.
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser further teaches wherein the application surface is circular (Goodman: refer to the shape of 135 in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser further teaches a gel conduit (Goodman: channels 190) between the pump and the apertures which comprises a splitter section (Goodman: circular rib 137) configured to split a flow of gel into equal parts and to direct those equal parts to corresponding apertures (Goodman: refer to fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser further teaches wherein the application surface is concave (Goodman: concave depression 135, col. 2 para. 6).
Regarding claim 10, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser further teaches a reclosable lid (Goodman: multifunctional cap 160 and lid 150), wherein a tab (Goodman: lid 150) on the lid covers the actuator when the lid is closed (Goodman: refer to fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 16, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Goodman as modified above by Ki is silent regarding, “wherein the conversion of the lateral movement of the user pushing the actuator into the vertical movement is provided by a ramp member which is engaged with the pump.” However, Ki further teaches, wherein the conversion of the lateral movement of the user pushing the actuator into the vertical movement is provided by a ramp member (vertical moving unit 100; [0027], [0033], [0034]) which is engaged with the pump (pressurized pumping device; [0020], [0023], [0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the ramp member taught by Ki in the dispenser of Goodman in order to convert lateral movement into vertical movement for actuating the pump while providing the advantages taught by Ki.
Regarding claim 17, in addition to the limitations of claim 16, Goodman as modified above by Ki is silent regarding, “wherein the actuator comprises an actuator ramp which interacts with a ramp member ramp of the ramp member that is engaged with the pump.” However, Ki further teaches, wherein the actuator comprises an actuator ramp (pressurized inclined surfaces 222; [0014], [0027]) which interacts with a ramp member ramp (inclined surface 132; [0014], [0027]) of the ramp member (vertical moving unit 100; [0027], [0033], [0034]) that is engaged with the pump (pressurized pumping device, [0020], [0023], [0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the interacting actuator ramp and ramp member ramp taught by Ki in the dispenser of Goodman in order to convert lateral movement into vertical movement for actuating the pump while providing the advantages taught by Ki.
Regarding claim 18, in addition to the limitations of claim 16, Goodman as modified above by Ki is silent regarding, “wherein the ramp member which is engaged with the pump sits behind the actuator.” However, Ki further teaches, wherein the ramp member which is engaged with the pump sits behind the actuator (side button 40 and horizontal pumping pressure member 200; [0025], [0032]; Figs. 2-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the ramp member as taught by Ki in the dispenser of Goodman, in order to convert lateral movement into vertical movement for actuating the pump while providing the advantages taught by Ki.
Claims 2-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman (US 8,267,610) in view of Ki (KR 10-1242196), and further in view of Tapocik (US 2021/0078019).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser remains silent to wherein the apertures are sized so that in use equal volumes of gel are dispensed through each of the apertures. However, Tapocik teaches wherein the apertures are sized so that in use equal volumes of gel are dispensed through each of the apertures, since apertures (120A-120F) have equal surface area (p. 3 para. 0044), defined in part by diameter, Dp, and receive equal initial pressure, the volumetric flow rate is equivalent between apertures). It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art modify the apertures size and number. In doing so, one skilled in the art can increase the efficiency of the spray (Tapocik: p. 3 para. 0044).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser remains silent to wherein the applicator comprises between 3-9 apertures or 6 apertures. Tapocik teaches wherein the applicator comprises between 3-9 apertures or 6 apertures (p. 3 para. 0044 specifically teaches 6 apertures (outer holes 120A-120E and inner hole 120F)). It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art modify the apertures size and number. In doing so, one skilled in the art can increase the efficiency of the spray and ensure that spraying will occur upon actuation of the pump (Tapocik: p. 3 para. 0044).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser remains silent to wherein the apertures are arranged symmetrically on the application surface of the applicator. However, Tapocik teaches wherein the apertures are arranged symmetrically on the application surface of the applicator (due to the dimensional relationships taught in fig. 6 and para. 0044, the exists symmetry at least from Dp along D2 to Dc). It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art modify the apertures size and number. In doing so, one skilled in the art can increase the efficiency of the spray (Tapocik: p. 3 para. 0044).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Goodman and Ki remain silent to the largest distance between the apertures is between 25-35mm or 28mm. Instead, Tapocik teaches wherein the largest distance between the apertures is a function of D1 and D2 (referring to fig. 6). The Federal Circuit has held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) (discussing Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goodman and Ki in view of Tapocik by causing the largest distance between apertures to be between 25-35mm or 28mm. Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on any particular range (See Specification wherein the largest distance is preferably between 25-35mm and is more preferably 28-30mm, or 28mm, p. 2 para. 8) and it appears the device of Goodman and Ki in view of Tapocik would work appropriately if made within the claimed range of distance (Tapocik only requires that the distances be equal, para. 0044).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman (US 8,267,610) in view of Ki (KR 10-1242196), and further in view of Kennedy et al (US 2009/0014474).
Regarding claim 14, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser discloses the apertures and pump but remain silent to their arrangement to dispense between 0.1 -1 ml or 0.25-0.35 ml of gel per actuation of the actuator. Kennedy teaches the apertures and pump are arranged to dispense at least 0.3 ml of gel per actuation of the actuator (p.5 para. 0062). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the volume dispensed of Kennedy to be between 0.25-0.35 ml as Applicant has appeared to place no criticality on the claimed range (See p. 4 para. 6 of Applicant’s Specification here “The apertures and pump may be arranged to dispense between 0.1-1 ml, preferably 0.25-0.35 ml and more preferably 0.3 ml or 0.5 ml, of gel per actuation of the actuator”). Since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman (US 8,267,610) in view of Ki (KR 10-1242196), and further in view of Borod (US 5,335,855).
Regarding claim 15, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the already modified dispenser discloses the gel, however, remains silent to the gel comprises an extract of an aloe plant. Borod teaches the gel comprises an extract of an aloe plant (col. 2 ll. 47-51). It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gel. In doing so, the dispenser of Goodman in view of Ki, which is already capable of dispensing gel, can be utilized for therapeutic applications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID ANGWIN whose telephone number is (571) 270-3735. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:00 - 5:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754