DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (# US 2014/0370248) in view of Goto et al. (# US 2016/0122563).
Hall et al. discloses:
1. An inkjet ink (see Abstract) comprising:
a radiation-curable material, wherein the radiation curable material comprises polyethylene glycol (600) diacrylate ([0073]);
4-hydroxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidin-1-oxyl (OHTEMPO: 4-Hydroxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethyl-piperidinooxy ex Specbiochem ; see Table: 1); and
one or more photoinitiators (see Abstract)
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that "Hall et al. does address a radiation curable material, photoinitiator, polymerizable compound, monomers antioxidant, inhibitors and surfactant, it teaches a laundry list of possible radiation curable material, photoinitiator, polymerizable compound, monomers antioxidant, inhibitors and surfactant. The format in which Hall et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Hall et al. to present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the radiation curable material, photoinitiator, polymerizable compound, monomers antioxidant, inhibitors and surfactant from the list and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
6. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ink comprises 0.01 to 2.5% by weight of 4-hydroxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidin-1-oxyl, based on the total weight of the ink (0.1 to 0.5%; see Table 1; OHTEMPO).
7. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radiation-curable material comprises a radiation-curable monomer, preferably present in 60.0 to 95.0% by weight, based on the total weight of the ink ([0068]; [0087]).
8. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radiation-curable material further comprises one or more of a monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer (mono or multifunctional (meth)acrylate monomer; [0087]), and an N-vinyl amide monomer ([0076]-[0188]).
9. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radiation-curable material comprises N-vinyl caprolactam ([0072]), based on the total weight of the ink.
10. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the polyethylene glycol (600) diacrylate ([0073]), preferably present in 1.0 to 30.0% by weight, based on the total weight of the ink (1 to 20%; [0074]).
11. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radiation-curable material comprises (2-methyl-2-ethyl-1,3-dioxolane-4-yl)methyl acrylate and/or isopropylidene glycerol acrylate (see Examples).
12. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radiation-curable material comprises cyclic TMP formal acrylate (see Examples).
13. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radiation-curable material comprises: N-vinyl caprolactam ([0072]); polyethylene glycol (600) diacrylate ([0073]); cyclic TMP formal acrylate; and (2-methyl-2-ethyl-1,3-dioxolane-4-yl) methyl acrylate and/or isopropylidene glycerol acrylate (see Examples).
14. A method of inkjet printing comprising inkjet printing the inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1 onto a substrate and curing the inkjet ink by exposing the inkjet ink to a curing source (see claims 12-14).
15. A substrate having the inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1 printed thereon (see Examples).
Hall et al. explicitly did not discloses:
1. The photoinitiators selected from ethyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl) phenyl phosphinate, ethyl(3-benzoyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)(phenyl) phosphinate, a polymeric phosphine oxide photoinitiator and mixtures thereof.
2. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the polymeric phosphine oxide photoinitiator is
3. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inkjet ink comprises ethyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl) phenyl phosphinate, based on the total weight of the ink (0.1 to 12%; [0191]).
4. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inkjet ink comprises ethyl(3-benzoyl-2,4,6-tri methylbenzoyl)(phenyl) phosphinate, based on the total weight of the ink (0.1 to 12%; [0191]-[0198]).
5. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1 wherein the inkjet ink comprises a polymeric phosphine oxide photoinitiator, based on the total weight of the ink (0.1 to 12%; [0191]-[0198]).
Goto et al. teaches to have etch resistance print image,
1. The ink composition ([0198]) comprises , photoinitiator are selected from Lucirin TPO-L (2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl phenylethoxyphoephine oxide) available from BASF Corporation and Lucirin TPO (2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl diphenylphosphine oxide), which are same as applicant discloses in their own specification in ([0113]-[0114]) of US publication (# US 2024/0368417).to have
3. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inkjet ink comprises ethyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl) phenyl phosphinate, based on the total weight of the ink ([0191]-[0198]).
4. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inkjet ink comprises ethyl(3-benzoyl-2,4,6-tri methylbenzoyl)(phenyl) phosphinate, based on the total weight of the ink ([0191]-[0198]).
5. The inkjet ink as claimed in claim 1 wherein the inkjet ink comprises a polymeric phosphine oxide photoinitiator, based on the total weight of the ink (0.1 to 12%; [0191]-[0198]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Hall et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Goto et al. in order to have the etch resistance high quality printed image.
With respect to claim 2, However, Goto et al. teaches in ([0198]), photoinitiator are selected from Lucirin TPO-L (2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl phenylethoxyphoephine oxide) available from BASF Corporation and Lucirin TPO (2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl diphenylphosphine oxide), which are same as applicant discloses in their own specification in ([0113]-[0114]) of US publication (# US 2024/0368417). The structure formula is constant to material. Therefore the Lucirin TPO-L (2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl phenylethoxyphoephine oxide) discloses by Goto et al. obviously have the structure formula:
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853