DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/27/2026 has been fully considered and made of record. As such, the objections to the abstract and claims, as outlined in the Office action mailed on 04/23/2026, have been withdrawn. Claims 1-10 are currently presented for examination, of which claims 8-10 were previously withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the straight line section parallel to the lower surface and the upper surface of the rotation jig and parallel to a virtual straight line crossing the winding axis; and wherein the plurality of straight line sections parallel to the lower surface and the upper surface of the rotation jig and parallel to one of virtual straight lines crossing the winding axis must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: WA1, WA2, VSL1, VSL2 and VSL3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In addition, it appears that WA1 and WA2 are directed to winding axis. However, it is unclear how many winding axis the winding apparatus has to be depicted by two WA1 and WA2 reference numbers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1, as originally filed recited the limitation of “configured to guide the metal wire wound by the rotation jig to be wound on the same plane.” The originally filed specification provides support for this limitation on paragraphs [0005] and [0038]. However, claim 1 has been amended to recites “configured to guide the metal wire wound by the rotation jig to be wound on a single plane” which is considered as New Matter with no support in the originally filed disclosure (emphasis added).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, lines 1-3 recites the limitation “wherein the straight line section is a section which is parallel to the lower surface and the upper surface of the rotation jig and parallel to a virtual straight line crossing the winding axis.” Claim 4, which claim 5 immediately depends from, recites that the cut surface which appears to be on a peripheral side surface of the cylindrical shape jig extends from the upper surface to the lower surface of the shape makes the straight line section. As such, the straight line section is the surface of the cut surface and by definition has to be orthogonal to the lower and upper surfaces. However, claim 5 recites that the straight line section is parallel to the lower and upper surfaces which is contradictory to what claim 4 recites. Therefore, it is unclear what exactly the straight line section is and how could it be both orthogonal and parallel to the lower and upper surfaces at the same time.
Claim 7 poses similar issues that need to be further clarified.
For examination purposes, the shaded rectangular surface depicted above is both the cut surface and straight line section which is orthogonal to the lower and upper surfaces of the cylindrical shape rotation jig.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being Hashimoto et al. (JP2014209834A, hereinafter “Hashimoto”).
As applied to claim 1, Hashimoto teaches a winding apparatus comprising a jig driven rotatably (50) and configured to wind a metal wire (intended use limitation but see wires metal such as copper and aluminum wire 22, Fig. 6), wherein the jig includes a rotation jig formed in a cylindrical shape (54, see Fig. 6) having a lower surface (bottom surface, Fig. 6), an upper surface (top surface, Fig. 6), and a side surface formed with a cut surface (peripheral surface of 54 with a flat cut on the sides, Fig. 6) and configured to rotate about a winding axis orthogonal to the lower surface and the upper surface to wind the metal wire (intended use limitation but the winding axis extended left to right in Fig. 7); and a support plate (52, Fig. 6) disposed in contact with the lower surface of the rotation jig (Annotated Figure 6 below) and configured to guide the metal wire wound by the rotation jig to be wound on a single plane (intended use limitation, Annotated Figure 6 below, English Machine Translation, abstract, Figs. 1-6).
The above claim limitations in bold text are considered as intended use limitations. Although the recitations have been fully considered, it carries limited patentable weight. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the apparatus of Hashimoto meets all of the structural limitations, as claimed, and is capable of performing the limitations above.
As applied to claim 2, Hashimoto teaches the invention cited including wherein the metal wire is wound around the side surface of the rotation jig multiple times to form a loop-shaped flat coil having one or more straight line sections (method limitation but Hashimoto’s apparatus is capable of performing the winding step, see a loop-shaped flat coil with one or more straight line sections (see Annotated Figure 6 above).
As applied to claim 3, Hashimoto teaches the invention cited including wherein the cut surface (a surface of slot 312) is orthogonal to the lower surface and the upper surface (see Annotated Figure 6 above).
As applied to claim 4, Hashimoto teaches the invention cited including wherein the rotation jig (54) has a straight line section formed by the cut surface (straight lines shown in Annotated Figure 6 above).
As applied to claim 5, Hashimoto teaches the invention cited including wherein the straight line section is a section that lower and upper edges which parallel to the lower surface and the upper surface of the rotation jig and parallel to a virtual straight line crossing the winding axis (see Annotated Figure 6 above).
As applied to claim 6, Hashimoto teaches the invention cited including wherein the rotation jig is formed with a plurality of cut surfaces to have a plurality of straight line sections (see Annotated Figure 6 above).
As applied to claim 7, Hashimoto teaches the invention cited including wherein the plurality of straight line sections are sections which are parallel to the lower surface and the upper surface of the rotation jig and parallel to one of virtual straight lines passing the winding axis (see Annotated Figure 6 above), and the plurality of straight line sections are parallel to different virtual straight lines (the plurality of sections can be parallel to any imaginary and virtual straight lines that can be selected from an infinite number of virtual straight lines).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 08/16/2026