DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Bommel et al. (US 2022/0299171 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 11,047,532 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Van Bommel et al. teaches an LED filament arrangement (10; figure 1a) providing LED filament arrangement light, comprising:
a first LED filament (30, figure 1a; see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed) adapted to emit first LED filament light (30); and
a second LED filament (second filament 30; see at least figure 1a; see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed) adapted to emit second LED filament light,
wherein the first LED filament (30; see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed) and the second LED filament (30; see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed) are parallel (see figure 1a where the two LED filaments are arranged parallel to each other),
wherein the first LED filament and the second LED filament (see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed) are separated by a gap (see figure 1a where filaments 30 are separated by a gap) and mechanically connected to each other by a plurality of spacers (through holes 41 in optical structure 10/20; figure 1a, 1b) arranged between the first LED filament and the second LED filament (see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed),
wherein the plurality of spacers (through holes 41) includes at least three spacers (see figure 1b where multiple holes are positioned in optical structure 10), the plurality of spacers maintain a substantially constant separation distance between the first LED filament and the second LED filament (see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed ) along the helix or spiral configuration (see shape of LED filaments 30 in figure 1a), the plurality of spacers (41) divide the gap into a plurality of openings extending along the length of the LED filament arrangement (see plurality of openings provided by the divided gap in at least figure 1a), and the substantially constant separation distance and the plurality of openings (see figure 1a where filaments 30 are separated at constant distance) are configured such that optical mixing of the first LED filament light and the second LED filament (see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed) light occurs externally of the first and second LED filaments (see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed) while the first and second LED filaments (see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed; figure 1a) remain visually distinguishable,
wherein the first LED filament (see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed; figure 1a) comprises a first carrier, the second LED filament (see paragraph [0052] where two LED filaments 30 are disclosed; figure 1a) comprises a second carrier, and the plurality of spacers (41) are integrally formed with the first carrier and the second carrier from a single carrier sheet(see figure 1b).
Van Bommel et al. does not explicitly teach the second LED filament light being a different color and/or color temperature than the first LED filament light and the [first LED filament] and [second LED filament] are arranged to extend in parallel side-by-side in a helix or spiral configuration, and wherein the [first LED filament] and [second LED filament] are separated by a gap such that the first LED filament does not directly contact the second LED filament and a [plurality of spacers] physically located between the [first LED filament] and the [second LED filament] as the first LED filament and the second LED filament extend in parallel side-by-side in the helix or spiral configuration.
Chen et al. teaches an LED flexible filament strip and lamp comprising a first and second LED filament light that are different colors (see claim 6 of Chen et al. and at least figure 5) and further teaches and the first LED filament (3’; figure 5 and 5B; see column 6, lines 60-67 where two LED flexible filaments strips 3’ are disclosed) and second LED filament (3’; figure 5 and 5B; see column 6, lines 60-67 where two LED flexible filaments strips 3’ are disclosed) are arranged to extend in parallel side-by-side in a helix or spiral configuration (see figure 5 where first and second LED filaments 3’ are in a spiral configuration), and wherein the first LED filament (3’;figure 5B) and second LED filament (3’; figure 5B) are separated by a gap (see figure 5B where a gap separates filaments 3’) such that the first LED filament does not directly contact the second LED filament (see figure 5B where 3’ top and bottom don’t directly contact each other) and a plurality of spacers (4’; figure 5 and 5B) physically located between the first LED filament (3’ top; see figure 5B) and the second LED filament (3’ bottom; see figure 5B) as the first LED filament and the second LED filament extend in parallel side-by-side in the helix or spiral configuration (see figure 5 and 5B where filaments 3’ extend parallel to each other in a spiral configuration).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Van Bommel et al. to include a second filament light being a different color that the first LED filament and the first and second LED filaments arranged to extend in parallel side-by-side and separated by a gap as taught by Chen et al. because filaments of different colors are arranged in different filament strips respectively to provide richer luminous effects and avoid interference between filaments of different colors (see column 6, lines 55-59 of Chen et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Van Bommel et al. further teaches an LED filament arrangement according to claim 1, wherein said plurality of spacers (41) are uniformly distributed along the length of the LED filament arrangement (two filaments 30; see figure 1a).
Regarding claim 3, Van Bommel et al. further teaches the LED filament arrangement according to claim 1, wherein said plurality of spacers (41) are arranged away from the ends of the LED filament arrangement (two filaments 30; see figure 1a).
Regarding claim 4, Van Bommel et al. further teaches the LED filament arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the first LED filament (One of the two filaments 30; see figure 1a) and the second LED filament (one of the two filaments 30; see figure 1a) are mechanically and/or electrically connected to each other by other means (paragraph [0054] where electric contacts/electrodes 90 are disclosed to provide electrical contact) than said plurality of spacers (41) at one end or both of the LED filament arrangement (two filaments 30; see figure 1a).
Regarding claim 5, Van Bommel et al. further teaches the LED filament arrangement according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of openings of the gap having a length Lopening in the length direction of the LED filament arrangement (two filaments 30; see figure 1a), wherein a width Wspacer of each spacer of the plurality of spacers in the length direction of the LED filament arrangement is smaller than the length Lopening (see at least figure 1a where the spacers 41 combined and the two filaments 30 are positioned).
Regarding claim 7, Van Bommel et al. further teaches the LED filament arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of spacers (41; figure 1b) includes at least one spacer per turn of the helix or spiral configuration (see figure 1a, 1b ), and/or wherein the helix or spiral configuration has at least three neighboring turns (see filaments 30 in figure 1a), each of the at least three neighboring turns comprising at least one spacer of the plurality of spacers (41).
Regarding claim 8, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. further teaches the LED filament arrangement according to claim 1, but Van Bommel et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second LED filaments have a closest distance CD measured perpendicular to the length of the LED filament arrangement and farthest distance FD corresponding to a major groove of the helix or spiral configuration, and wherein FD>2CD.
Chen et al. further teaches wherein the first and second LED filaments (see plurality of LED flexible filament strips 3’ in figure 5) have a closest distance CD measured perpendicular to the length of the LED filament arrangement (see at least figure 5B where distance between the plurality of LED filament strips 3’ is shown) and farthest distance FD corresponding to a major groove of the helix or spiral configuration, and wherein FD>2CD (see arrangement of plurality of filaments 3’ in at least figure 5 where the farthest distance between the LED filaments corresponds to the grooves of the spiral configuration.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Van Bommel et al. to space the first and second LED filaments where FD>2CD is met as taught by Chen et al. since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 ((CPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Van Bommel et al. further teaches an LED filament lamp, comprising:
at least one LED filament arrangement (filament 30) according to claim 1; a light transmissive envelope (61) at least partly surrounding the at least one LED filament arrangement (filament 30); and
a connector (base 80; see figure 1a) for electrically and mechanically connecting the LED filament lamp to a socket (see paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. teaches the LED filament arrangement according to claim 5, and Van Bommel et al. further teaches wherein Lopening > 5Wspacer (see at least figure 1b where 41is interpreted as spacers).
Regarding claim 15, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. teaches the LED filament arrangement of claim 1, wherein the plurality of spacers (41) are arranged away from opposite longitudinal ends of the LED filament arrangement (two filaments 30 in at least figure 1a).
Regarding claim 16, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. teaches the LED filament arrangement of claim 1, wherein the plurality of spacers (41) are integrally formed with the first carrier and the second carrier (see figure 1b) by perforation or punching of the single carrier sheet (see figure 1b).
Regarding claim 17, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. teaches the LED filament arrangement of claim 1, and Van Bommel et al. teaches wherein the first carrier, the second carrier, and the plurality of spacers form a monolithic structure from the single carrier sheet prior to formation of the helix or spiral configuration (see figure 1a and 1b where the first, second carrier and the plurality of spacers 41 from a monolithic structure).
Regarding claim 18, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. teaches the LED filament arrangement of claim 1, wherein the plurality of integral spacer structures (41) are arranged at substantially equal pitch intervals along a longitudinal axis of the single carrier sheet (10/20) prior to winding such that the first carrier portion and the second carrier portion (see figure 1a) maintain a uniform separation distance when the single carrier sheet (10) is formed into the helical or spiral configuration (see figure 1b).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Bommel et al. (US 2022/0299171 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 11,047,532 B1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ge et al. (US 2015/0036241 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. teaches an LED filament arrangement according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first LED filament comprises white LEDs having a first color temperature, and wherein the second LED filament comprises RGB LEDs or white LEDs having a second color temperature different from said first color temperature.
Ge et al. teaches a LED light comprising a plurality of filaments comprising LED chips (11) that emit white light and RGB LEDs having a color temperature different from a first color temperature (see at least paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the LED filament arrangement of Van Bommel et al. to include white light emitting LEDs and RGB LEDs having a color temperature different from each other as taught by Ge et al. as an alternative way of obtaining a desired color temperature and desired color rendering index (see at least paragraph [0069] of Ge et al.).
Regarding claim 11, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. teaches an LED filament arrangement according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a third LED filament adapted to emit third LED filament light.
Ge et al. teaches a plurality of LED filaments (23; paragraph [0090] and at least figure 7 where 3 filaments are shown).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the LED filament arrangement of Van Bommel et al. to include a third LED filament as taught by Ge et al. as an obvious and alternative way of obtaining a desired illumination output..
Regarding claim 12, Van Bommel et al. modified by Chen et al. and Ge et al. teaches an LED filament arrangement according to claim 10, but Van Bommel et al. doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the second LED filament comprises RGB LEDs having a second color temperature different from said first color temperature.
Ge et al. further teaches wherein the second LED filament comprises RGB LEDs (see at least paragraph [0069], and wherein the third LED filament comprises white LEDs (see at least paragraph [0069]; see figure 7) having a second color temperature different from said first color temperature (see paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the LED filament arrangement of On et al. to include white light emitting LEDs and RGB LEDs having a color temperate different from each other as taught by Ge et al. as an alternative way of obtaining a desired color temperature and desired color rendering index (see at least paragraph [0069]).
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Regarding claim objection of claim 8, applicant amended the claim to overcome the objection. Therefore the objection of claim 8 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8 and 10-13 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment of independent claim 1.
Applicant amended claim 1 to include the limitation, “the plurality of spacers maintain a substantially constant separation distance between the first LED filament and the second LED filament along the helix or spiral configuration, the plurality of spacers divide the gap into a plurality of openings extending along the length of the LED filament arrangement, and the substantially constant separation distance and the plurality of openings are configured such that optical mixing of the first LED filament light and the second LED filament light occurs externally of the first and second LED filaments while the first and second LED filaments remain visually distinguishable”. A new reference, Van Bommel et al. (US 2022/0299171 A1), teaches the newly recited limitation. Claim 1 is now rejected as being unpatentable over Van Bommel et al. (US 2022/0299171 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 11,047,532 B1).
Dependent claims 1-5, 7, 8 and 10-18 remain rejected based on dependency a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875