DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Talbot et al. (US 2017/0297372 A1; hereinafter “Talbot”).
Regarding claim 1, Talbot discloses a non-pneumatic tire 100 comprising: an outer annular portion 210; an inner annular portion 512; and a load bearing ring (comprised of shear band 300, connecting web 500 and connecting web 600 as shown in Fig. 1) positioned between the outer annular portion and the inner annular portion (Fig. 1); wherein the load bearing ring comprises at least one reinforcing layer (woven layers 460 and 470 of the three dimensional fabric structure 400 that reinforces the circumferential connecting web 600 as shown in Figs. 3A; paragraphs [0038] and [0050]) extending circumferentially around the tire; and wherein each of the at least one reinforcing layers comprises one or more strips (at 462, 464) of multi angle tension control reinforcement (MATCR) material (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 2, Talbot further discloses the MATCR material comprises a woven construction including a warp wire 464 and a weft wire 462 (Fig. 3A; paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Talbot further discloses the warp wire provides circumferential strength to the composite (evident from Fig. 3A which shows the warp wire 464 extending in the circumferential direction).
Regarding claim 4, Talbot further discloses the weft wire deforms the warp wire radially, providing tension support and shear modulus in both the radial and lateral directions (evident from Fig. 3A and paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Talbot further discloses the weft wire provides lateral stiffness (evident from Fig. 3A which shows the weft wire 462 extending in the axial or lateral direction).
Regarding claim 7, Talbot further discloses the weft wire alternates between going over and under each consecutive warp wire (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 11, Talbot further discloses the warp wire and weft wire independently include a material selected from the group consisting of cotton, nylon, polyester, aramid, rayon, steel or other strengthening materials, composites, and combinations thereof (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Talbot further discloses the at least one reinforcing layer is coated with rubber, other polymer composite materials, or a combination thereof (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Talbot further discloses the at least one reinforcing layer comprises between 2 and 10 reinforcing layers 460, 470 (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 14, Talbot further discloses the load bearing ring further comprises an outer matrix material 300 between the at least one reinforcing layer and the outer annular portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Talbot further discloses the load bearing ring further comprises an inner matrix material 600 between the at least one reinforcing layer and the inner annular portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Talbot further discloses the outer annular portion includes a tread pattern (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 17, Talbot further discloses the outer annular portion includes one or more sub-surface layers (layer of tread rubber 210 and/or layers 310, 320 of shear band 300 as shown in Fig. 1) radially positioned beneath the tread pattern (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Talbot further discloses the inner annular portion is in direct contact with a wheel hub.
Regarding claim 19, Talbot further discloses the tire includes an inner sidewall (inward extending portion of 200 on the inboard side of the tire as shown in Fig. 1) and an outer sidewall (inward extending portion of 200 on the outboard side of the tire as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Talbot further discloses the tire further comprises spokes 510 between the load bearing ring at 300 and the inner annular portion (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talbot in view of Sherhag et al. (US 2019/0263181 A1; hereinafter “Sherhag”).
Regarding claim 6, Talbot fails to expressly disclose the tensile strength of the warp wire and the weft wire.
Sherhag, however, teaches a tire the includes at least one reinforcing layer formed of a woven multi angle tension control reinforcement (MATCR) material that includes a warp wire and a weft wire (Fig. 1) that independently have a tensile strength of between 0.1 and 50,000 Newtons (at least 350 N per paragraphs [0040] and [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-pneumatic tire of Talbot so that the warp wire and weft wire of the MATCR material each have a tensile strength of between 0.1 and 50,000 Newtons, such as taught by Sherhag, with a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring the tire has sufficient durability and shock absorption for its intended use.
Regarding claim 8, Talbot fails to disclose the weft wire alternates between going over and under every two consecutive warp wires. Instead, as noted above with respect to claim 7, Talbot, in Fig. 3A, discloses the weft wire alternates between going over and under each consecutive warp wire.
Sherhag, however, teaches various weaving patterns for the MATCR material of the tire including where the weft wire can alternate between going over and under every two consecutive warp wires (paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-pneumatic tire of Talbot so that the weft wire alternates between going over and under every two consecutive warp wires, such as taught by Sherhag, as a well-known alternative weaving pattern that would have a reasonable expectation of success in achieving higher strength, increased load-bearing capacity, and greater flexibility.
Regarding claim 9, Talbot fails to disclose the weft wire passes through twisted warp wires.
Sherhag, however, teaches that the weft wire may pass through twisted warp wires (paragraph [0044]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-pneumatic tire of Talbot so that the weft wire passes through twisted warp wires, such as taught by Sherhag, with a reasonable expectation of success in enhancing the sturdiness and stability of the woven layer by preventing the wires from shifting.
Regarding claim 10, Talbot fails to expressly disclose the warp wire and weft wire independently include up to 40 ends per inch.
Sherhag, however, teaches the warp wire and weft wire can independently include up to 40 ends per inch (“spacing between the steel warp cords is about 0.3 to about 4 mm” per paragraph [0038] and “spacing between the steel weft cords is about 0.3 to about 4 mm” per paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the non-pneumatic tire of Talbot so that the
the warp wire and weft wire independently include up to 40 ends per inch, such as taught by Sherhag, with a reasonable expectation of success in providing the MATCR with a desired stability and stiffness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Talbot does not disclose the claimed at least one reinforcing layer extending circumferentially around the tire because “the fabric structure 400 of Talbot cited in the Office Action forms part of the spokes 510”, the Examiner notes that the load bearing ring of Talbot comprises a circumferential connecting web 600 with at least one reinforcing layer (woven layers 460 and 470 of the three dimensional fabric structure 400 that reinforces the circumferential connecting web 600 as shown in Figs. 3A; described in paragraphs [0038] and [0050]) extending circumferentially around the tire.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615