DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloey at el. (US20180237501A1) hereinafter Sloey.
Regarding claims 1-20, Sloey is drawn to formulations of PCSK9-binding polypeptides that comprise N-acetyl arginine and have reduced viscosities when compared to formulations lacking N-acetyl arginine. Provided herein are also methods of formulating such compositions that are advantageous in that they conserve certain components. Such formulations comprising PCSK9-binding polypeptides can be administered to patients to treat and/or prevent PCSK9-related diseases, conditions, and disorders (abstract).
Sloey discloses there is a need in the art to reduce the viscosity of evolocumab- and other PCSK9-binding polypeptides-containing formulations with compounds that are more efficient than arginine [0007]. Sloey discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising a PCSK9-binding polypeptide that selected from a monoclonal antibody [0009] and N-acetyl arginine [0021]. Sloey discloses pharmaceutical formulations include liquid, e.g., aqueous, solutions that can be directly administered, and lyophilized powders which can be reconstituted into solutions by adding a diluent before administration [0329]. Sloey discloses a derivative of arginine, N-acetyl arginine (NAR), efficiently reduces the viscosity of pharmaceutical compositions comprising high concentrations (greater than 100 mg/mL, such as 140 mg/mL and greater) of evolocumab more so than unacetylated arginine [0273].
Sloey discloses a method of preparing a PCSK9-binding polypeptide pharmaceutical composition comprising at least 140 mg/mL of PCSK9-binding polypeptide, comprising adding to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the PCSK9-binding polypeptide an effective amount of N-acetyl arginine, such that the viscosity of the pharmaceutical composition is reduced when compared to the pharmaceutical composition lacking the N-acetyl arginine [0137].
Sloey does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sloey, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Sloey discloses all the required components and Sloey discloses N-acetyl arginine, efficiently reduces the viscosity of pharmaceutical compositions comprising high concentrations of evolocumab more so than unacetylated arginine [0273]. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615