DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 9 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aizaki (US 2020/0022314).
Regarding claim 1, Aizali discloses an apparatus for cultivation of a beet plant from a beet seedling, the apparatus comprising a formative structure with a cavity for receiving and containing the beet seedling during growth of the beet seedling in to the beet plant (mold 120, fig. 1), wherein the formative structure is designed such that an outer shape of a beet root of the beet plant is at least partially affected by walls of the cavity during the growth of the beet seedling into the beet plant (para. 0028 and 0031), wherein the formative structure comprises a base element (first half of mold 120, para. 0029, fig. 1) providing the cavity (sidewalls 126 form a hollow cavity within mold 120, para. 0032, fig. 4), wherein the base element comprises a cuboid inner contour (first half of mold 120 has a cuboid inner contour, fig. 4) but is silent on wherein a width or maximum extension of the cuboid inner contour perpendicular to a vertical axis of the apparatus is 250 to 350 millimeters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a width or maximum extension perpendicular to a vertical axis of apparatus being 250 to 350 millimeters, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Regarding “for cultivation of a beet plant”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Regarding claim 2, Aizali discloses wherein the cavity is designed for containing only one single beet plant (para. 0019, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Aizali discloses wherein the inner contour is shaped with rounded edges so that the outer shape of the beet root results in an al least partially cuboid shaped outer form with rounded edges (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Aizali discloses the invention substantially as claimed but is silent on wherein the base element (first half of mold 120) is rigid or semi rigid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a rigid or semi rigid base element, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obviousness. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 5, Aizali discloses wherein the base element (first half and second half of mold 120) comprises one or more liquid-permeable areas or wherein the base element is made of a liquid-permeable and porous and/or perforated material (para. open top122, para. 0030).
Regarding claim 8, Aizali discloses wherein the base element comprises a separation area for separating the base element into at least two parts (coupling mechanisms, para. 0034) or an ejection device for removal of the beet out of the cavity, the ejection device being, an openable flap.
Regarding claim 9, Aizali discloses wherein the base element comprises an illumination aperture through which a head and leaves of the beet plant can grow out of the cavity (open top surface 122, para. 029, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28, Aizali discloses wherein the apparatus comprises a fluid inlet for supplying water and/or a nutrient solution into the cavity (open top surface 122, para. 029, fig. 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aizali in view of Mori (US 4612726).
Regarding claim 10, Aizali teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the apparatus comprises a light source or a light-emitting diode irradiating at least the illumination aperture. However, Mori teaches a light source (light source 50, col. 6, ll. 41-45). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Aizali’s system with a light source as taught by Mori to generate an artificial environment to ensure a plant receives a correct amount of light for proper growth.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aizali in view of Chandrakanthan (US 2021/0315174).
Regarding claim 13, Aizali teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the apparatus comprises at least one sensor configured to detect mechanical contact and/or pressure between the beet plant and at least one surface wall of the cavity. However, Chandrakanthan teaches sensor detecting mechanical contact and/or pressure between the beet plant and at least one surface wall of the cavity (para. 0098). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Aizali’s system with sensors as taught by Chandrakanthan to allow a user to obtain information on a plants growth rate.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aizali in view of Mulford (US 2930162).
Regarding claim 26, Aizali teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the cavity is filled with a liquid, gaseous, and/or vaporous nutrition solution for soilless aeroponics or hydroponic cultivation of the beet plant. However, Mulford teaches cavity filled with a liquid, gaseous, and/or vaporous nutrition solution for soilless aeroponics or hydroponic cultivation of a plant (addition of water, col. 3, ll.55-56 and 61-64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Aizali’s planter with water as taught by Mulford to supply nutrients to the plant.
Regarding claim 27, Aizali teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the apparatus comprises a seedling holder that holds the beet seedling close to a top of the cavity so that the beet seedling grows top-down inside of the cavity in a direction towards a bottom of the cavity. However, Mulford teaches a seeding holder (positioning means/studs 14, col. 2, ll. 53-62). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Aizali’s planter with a positioning means as taught by Mulford to allow a user to position a seedling above the bottom surface to prevent water logging that can affect the health and growth of the plant.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aizali in view of WO 2021/055257.
Regarding claim 31, Aizali teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the apparatus comprises a cutting device for cutting off a head or leaves of the beet plant before removal of the beet plant from the cavity. However, WO2021/055257 teaches a cutter (harvester machine includes cutters, para. 00113). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Aizali’s system with a cutter as taught by WO2021/055257 so that the seedlings or plants can be easily removed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 11, 12, 29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONY E EVANS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647