Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michael et al (US 9,504,212, submitted as IDS on 11/05/2025).
As to claim 7, Michael et al disclose an Agricultural field sprayer for spreading comprising:
A storage container (125)
A spraying boom (105)
First and second spreading device (110), which are connected to the storage container in fluid conducting manner and arranged along the boom
The system is capable to be programmed to operate in open/closed loop control to adjust the first and second operating parameter with control module (155).
As to claim 8, Michael et al disclose an Agricultural field sprayer for spreading comprising:
A storage container (125)
A spraying boom (105)
First and second spreading device (110), which are connected to the storage container in fluid conducting manner and arranged along the boom
The system is capable to be programmed to operate in open/closed loop control to adjust the first and second operating parameter with control module (155)
The system can also be controlled to perform the method of:
Determining first and second operating parameters
Ascertaining the differences between the parameters
Adjusting the parameters
Selecting the best control strategies (col. 3, lines 5 – col. 5, line 52).
As to claim 1, Michael et al disclose a method for spreading a spraying liquid onto an arable agricultural land by spreading devices comprising the steps of:
Determining first and second operating parameter associated with first and second spreading devices (110) (col. 3, lines 10-20)
Ascertain a difference between said operating parameters (col. 3, lines 50-55)
Adjusting the operating parameters if the difference is outside a defined acceptance range (col. 4, lines 21-33)
Selecting a control strategy to execute spraying (col. 42-55).
As to claim 3, one control strategy is on the basis of ambient condition detected (col. 5, lines 44-52).
As to claim 4, the control system is getting information based on the operating parameters.
As to claim 9, sensors are used to detect ambient conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael et al (US 9,504,212).
As to claim 2, Michael et al disclose the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly disclose one of the control strategies. However, since Michael et al is concerned with making adjustments to the system based on the data received, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to set the control system based on the differences of the operating parameters.
As to claim 5, Michael et al disclose the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly disclose controlling in a pulse width manner. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have any monitoring procedure that is most optimal, since it is within the design expediency.
As to claim 6, Michael et al disclose the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly disclose detecting at least one spreading device in which a determined operating parameter is at least nearly not reached by the adjusted operating parameter. However, since Michael et al disclose monitoring and detecting the operating manner, it is within the user and design expediency to monitor prior to reaching or reaching the operating parameter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 7, applicant argues that Michael et al. does not teach or suggest an open-loop and/or closed-loop control system that is configured to adjust and/or correct a first and/or second operating parameter when a predetermined maximum difference between a first and second operating parameters is reached or exceeded. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Since this is an apparatus claim, and wherein Michael et al. disclose the controller system to control based on the operating parameters, then it is capable of operating at closed or open loop based on the predetermined value. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
As to claim 1, applicant argues that Michael et al. do not teach or suggest ascertaining and/or detecting a difference between said operating parameters. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Michael et al. disclose controllers that generates with valves and sensors. The system 100 of Michael et al. is to regulate and control. It is inherent that when a system is regulate/control, it is based on the differences of the intended target value. Similarly to applicant’s invention, “adjusting first and/or second parameter,” Michael et al. is adjusting based on the desired target. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Inquiry
/LEN TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763