DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed August 12, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrieu (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0007476 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 105679330 B, hereinafter "Jiang").
Regarding Claim 1, Durrieu teaches a method of signal processing an audio signal in a hearing device to determine whether the signal is tonal (method of determining a signal is tonal in a hearing device, Fig. 3, Paras. [0090]-[0096]), the method comprising:
converting the signal at each of a series of successive time windows into samples in the frequency domain across multiple subbands (the time domain input audio signal xn from a microphone 321 or another input source is passed through an analysis filter bank 301 where the input audio signal xn is decomposed into a plurality K of time-frequency input signals Xm(k), where m is the frame number and k is the frequency channel number, fig. 3, Para. [0090]);
comparing a metric resulting from said calculating to a predetermined threshold to provide a measure of whether the signal is tonal (measure of mismatch Pm(k) [a metric] is compared to a pre-set threshold (i.e. when above or below the pre-set threshold) to determine whether a tonal signal component is present in the time-frequency input signal Xm(k), Fig. 3, Para. [0093]);
wherein the signal is considered to be tonal in the frequency of the subband when the metric is greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold and the signal is considered to be not tonal in the frequency of the subband when the metric is less than the predetermined threshold (a noise signal (noise generator 318) can be added to the time-frequency processed signal in dependence of the measure of mismatch, wherein no noise signal is generated or added (adder 319) if the measure of mismatch Pm(k) is below a pre-set threshold, Fig. 3, Para. [0095]).
Durrieu fails to explicitly teach calculating for at least one of the subbands a normalized cross-correlation between two different samples of the signal in the same subband.
However, Jiang teaches calculating for at least one of the subbands a normalized cross-correlation between two different samples of the signal in the same subband (a 6th-order IIR decomposition filter bank is used to decompose the original signal into 16 subbands. Then, the cross-correlation function of the signals of two adjacent frames in each subband are calculated, Figs. 1 and 2, Para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio signal processing method (as taught by Durrieu) to include the calculation of a normalized cross correlation between samples of the same subband (as taught by Jiang). Doing so results in better background noise suppression and reduces hearing fatigue for hearing aid users (Jiang Abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, Durrieu in view of Jiang teach wherein said calculating and comparing are performed for each of a plurality of the multiple subbands (Jiang, the cross-correlation function of the signals of two adjacent frames in each subband are calculated, Figs. 1 and 2, Para. [0047]; Durrieu, shown in the block diagram in Fig. 3 is the processing performed for one of the plurality of time-frequency input signals Xm(k). The other K−1 time-frequency input signals Xm(k) may be processed in essentially the same manner, Para. [0090]).
Regarding Claim 3, it is similarly rejected as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 8, Durrieu in view of Jiang teaches wherein when a signal is considered to be tonal, said method further comprises:
providing the tonal signal to a feedback cancellation system configured to determine whether the tonal signal is feedback (Durrieu, if a tonal signal component is present, the modified time-frequency processed audio signal is applied to the feedback estimation filter Ĥ(m)(k) 313, Fig. 3, Para. [0093]; actual feedback cancellation takes place by applying the time-frequency processed audio signal Ym(k) to a further feedback estimation filter Ĥ(m)(k) 315 having the same filter coefficients that are determined for the feedback estimation filter 313, the output of which is the estimated feedback signal, which is then subtracted (adder 316) from the time-frequency input signal Xm(k) to provide a second modified time-frequency input signal, which is essentially free of feedback, Fig 3, Para. [0094]).
Regarding Claim 9, Durrieu in view of Jiang teaches wherein the hearing device is a hearing aid (Durrieu, hearing aid, Para. [0019] and Claim 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Durrieu teaches a hearing device (hearing device, Fig. 3, Para. [0090]), comprising:
a microphone (microphone 321, Fig. 3, Para. [0090]; see also Claim 10);
a receiver (loudspeaker 322, Fig. 3, Para. [0092]; see also Claim 10); and
a processor connected to said microphone and said receiver, said processor configured to receive an audio signal from said microphone and process the audio signal and said receiver configured to provide an output signal to a user (a signal processing unit structured and configured to process the input audio signal and to produce a processed audio signal; and an output transducer structured and configured to output an output audio signal based on the processed audio signal, Claim 10), the processor further configured to:
convert the audio signal at each of a series of successive time windows into samples in the frequency domain across multiple subbands (the time domain input audio signal xn from a microphone 321 or another input source is passed through an analysis filter bank 301 where the input audio signal xn is decomposed into a plurality K of time-frequency input signals Xm(k), where m is the frame number and k is the frequency channel number, fig. 3, Para. [0090]);
compare a metric resulting from the calculation of the normalized cross-correlation to a predetermined threshold to provide a measure of whether the signal is tonal (measure of mismatch Pm(k) [a metric] is compared to a pre-set threshold (i.e. when above or below the pre-set threshold) to determine whether a tonal signal component is present in the time-frequency input signal Xm(k), Fig. 3, Para. [0093]);
wherein the signal is considered to be tonal in the frequency of the subband when the metric is greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold and the signal is considered to be not tonal in the frequency of the subband when the metric is less than the predetermined threshold (a noise signal (noise generator 318) can be added to the time-frequency processed signal in dependence of the measure of mismatch, wherein no noise signal is generated or added (adder 319) if the measure of mismatch Pm(k) is below a pre-set threshold, Fig. 3, Para. [0095]).
Durrieu fails to explicitly teach calculate for at least one of the subbands a normalized cross-correlation between two different samples of the audio signal in the same subband.
However, Jiang teaches calculate for at least one of the subbands a normalized cross-correlation between two different samples of the audio signal in the same subband (a 6th-order IIR decomposition filter bank is used to decompose the original signal into 16 subbands. Then, the cross-correlation function of the signals of two adjacent frames in each subband are calculated, Figs. 1 and 2, Para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio signal processing method (as taught by Durrieu) to include the calculation of a normalized cross correlation between samples of the same subband (as taught by Jiang). Doing so results in better background noise suppression and reduces hearing fatigue for hearing aid users (Jiang Abstract).
Regarding Claim 15, it is similarly rejected as Claim 8. The hearing device is found in Durrieu (Fig. 3, Para. [0090]).
Regarding Claim 16, it is similarly rejected as Claim 2. The hearing device is found in Durrieu (Fig. 3, Para. [0090]).
Regarding Claim 17, it is similarly rejected as Claim 2. The hearing device is found in Durrieu (Fig. 3, Para. [0090]).
Regarding Claim 20, it is similarly rejected as Claim 11.
4. Claim(s) 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrieu (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0007476 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 105679330 B, hereinafter "Jiang"), and further in view of Chu et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 5,774,847 A, hereinafter "Chu").
Regarding Claim 4, Durrieu in view of Jiang teach wherein said calculating step is iterated for successive samples (Jiang, the cross-correlation function of the signals of two adjacent frames in each subband are calculated, Figs. 1 and 2, Para. [0047]).
Durrieu in view of Jiang fail to explicitly teach wherein said comparing step is performed relative to an average of the results from the iterated calculation steps.
However, Chu teaches wherein said comparing step is performed relative to an average of the results from the iterated calculation steps (second processing on the correlation value sequence to obtain an average correlation coefficient of the audio to be detected, wherein the average correlation coefficient is used for indicating the correlation between multiple correlation values in the correlation value sequence; and determining whether the tone quality of the audio to be detected meets the tone quality standard based on the average correlation coefficient and a preset standard threshold value, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio signal processing method (as taught by Durrieu in view of Jiang) to include the comparing step performed relative to an average of the iterated calculation (as taught by Chu). Doing so improves the accuracy of the tone detection (Chu Abstract).
Regarding Claim 18, it is similarly rejected as Claim 4. The hearing device is found in Durrieu (Fig. 3, Para. [0090]).
5. Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrieu (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0007476 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 105679330 B, hereinafter "Jiang"), and further in view of Jensen et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 5450490 A, hereinafter "Jensen").
Regarding Claim 5, Durrieu in view of Jiang fail to explicitly teach wherein there is no time overlap corresponding to the two different samples in the frequency or joint time-frequency domain.
However, Jensen teaches wherein there is no time overlap corresponding to the two different samples in the frequency or joint time-frequency domain (audio signal undergoes frequency range separation which can be carried out as a fast fourier transform without temporal overlap, Fig. 3, Col. 13, Lns. 9-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio signal processing method (as taught by Durrieu in view of Jiang) to include no time overlap of audio samples transformed into frequency sub-bands (as taught by Jensen). Doing so, produces successive frequency bands having a predetermined frequency width and to mask out tonal signals making them inaudible (Jensen Col. 13, Lns. 9-34).
6. Claim(s) 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrieu (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0007476 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 105679330 B, hereinafter "Jiang"), and further in view of Pralea ("Fixed-point Implementation of a Coherence-based Double-talk Detector for Line Echo Cancelers" - August 29, 2017).
Regarding Claim 6, Durrieu in view of Jiang fail to explicitly teach comprising improving processing efficiency of said calculating step by using at least one of count sign bits (CSB), count leading bits (CLB) or log2 approximation of absolute value.
However, Pralea teaches using count leading bits (for FFT outputs at the same frequency, normalization across windows is applied (different scaling factors per different FFT bins) by implementing scaling loops using Count Leading Bits CLB instruction that counts the leading zeros or ones according to bit 39 of source data register, relative to bit 31, Pg. 1, Col. 2, Sec. II thru Pg. 3, Col. 1, Para. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio signal processing method (as taught by Durrieu in view of Jiang) to include applying a count leading bits instructions (as taught by Pralea). Doing so increases the computational speed and efficiency leading to reduced load and lowering power consumption.
Regarding Claim 19, it is similarly rejected as Claim 6. The hearing device is found in Durrieu (Fig. 3, Para. [0090]).
7. Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrieu (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0007476 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 105679330 B, hereinafter "Jiang"), and further in view of Kates (U.S. Pat. No. 4,852,175 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Durrieu in view of Jiang fail to explicitly teach wherein when a signal is considered to be tonal, said method further comprises: reducing a gain of the signal in the subband where the tonal signal is considered to be.
However, Kates teaches wherein when a signal is considered to be tonal, said method further comprises: reducing a gain of the signal in the subband where the tonal signal is considered to be (in Example 2, the noise level in band 4 is more than 3 dB louder than the noise in band 5 and will therefore cause masking in band 5. Accordingly, the audio gain applied to signals in frequency band 4 is reduced, Col. 7, Lns. 10-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio signal processing method (as taught by Durrieu in view of Jiang) to include reducing a gain of the signal in the subband with tonal signal (as taught by Kates). Doing so improves the intelligibility of noise-contaminated speech (Kates Col. 7, Lns. 40-43).
Regarding Claim 14, it is similarly rejected as Claim 7. The hearing device is found in Durrieu (Fig. 3, Para. [0090]).
8. Claim(s) 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrieu (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0007476 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 105679330 B, hereinafter "Jiang"), and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0311091 A1, hereinafter "Nakagawa").
Regarding Claim 10, Durrieu in view of Jiang fails to explicitly teach wherein the hearing aid is a completely-in-the-canal (CIC) hearing aid.
However, Nakagawa teaches wherein the hearing aid is a completely-in-the-canal (CIC) hearing aid (hearing devices, such as hearing aids, including completely-in-the-canal (CIC) type hearing aids, Para. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio signal processing method (as taught by Durrieu in view of Jiang) to include the completely-in-the-canal (CIC) hearing aid (as taught by Nakagawa). Doing so improves sound quality for tonal inputs (Nakagawa Para. [0018]).
Regarding Claim 13, it is similarly rejected as Claim 10. The hearing device is found in Durrieu (Fig. 3, Para. [0090]).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691