DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on page 2 of the response in essence that: Jun does not disclose or suggest “generating a plurality of second prediction samples for the current block based on a plurality of second intra prediction modes; and generating a prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples, and wherein the prediction block is generated by respectively applying a first weight and second weights to the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples”, as recited in amended claim 1.
Jun discloses that the deriving of the second intra-prediction mode may include generating candidate intra-prediction blocks corresponding to the candidate modes, calculating a matching degree between each of the candidate intra-prediction blocks and the first intra-prediction block, and deriving a candidate mode for a candidate intra-prediction block having the highest matching degree among the candidate intra-prediction blocks, as the second intra-prediction mode (paragraph 13).
Claim Objections
Claims 5-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 5, line 2 should be replaced with “or the second weights are determined in a block unit based on at least one of”.
For claim 6, line 2 should be replaced with “or the second weights are determined differently for each sample position in the”.
For claim 7, line 3 should be replaced with “wherein the first weight or the second weights are determined differently”.
For claim 8, line 2 should be replaced with “or the second weights are determined differently based on a distance between a”.
For claim 9, line 3 should be replaced with “wherein the first weight or the second weights are determined differently”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jun et al. US Publication 2020/0366900 (hereafter “Jun”).
Referring to claim 1, Jun discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus. the image decoding method comprising:
reconstructing information indicating whether prediction based on two or more intra prediction modes is performed on a current block (paragraph 273, In step S1010, an intra-prediction mode of a current block may be derived);
wherein, based on the information indicating that prediction based on the two or more intra prediction modes is performed on the current block, the image decoding method further comprises:
generating a first prediction sample for the current block based on a first intra prediction mode (paragraph 9, generating a first intra-prediction block corresponding to the first intra-prediction mode);
generating a plurality of second prediction samples for the current block based on a plurality of second intra prediction modes (paragraph 13, the deriving of the second intra-prediction mode may include generating candidate intra-prediction blocks corresponding to the candidate modes, calculating a matching degree between each of the candidate intra-prediction blocks and the first intra-prediction block, and deriving a candidate mode for a candidate intra-prediction block having the highest matching degree among the candidate intra-prediction blocks, as the second intra-prediction mode); and
generating a prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples (paragraph 9, generating a final intra-prediction block by using a weighted sum of the first intra-prediction block and the second intra-prediction block); and
wherein the prediction block is generated by respectively applying a first weight and second weights to the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples (paragraph 9, generating a final intra-prediction block by using a weighted sum of the first intra-prediction block and the second intra-prediction block).
Referring to claim 2, Jun discloses wherein the first intra prediction mode is determined to be a predetermined mode (paragraph 345, when the intra prediction mode is a predetermined mode, the indicator mrl index may be signaled) and the second intra prediction modes are signaled in a bitstream (paragraph 136, A coding parameter may include a prediction mode (intra prediction or inter prediction)).
Referring to claim 3, Jun discloses wherein the second intra prediction modes are determined based on a most probable mode (MPM) list (paragraph 281, In order to derive the intra-prediction mode of the current block, it is possible to construct one or more most probable mode (MPM) lists), and
wherein the MPM list comprises an angular mode derived by a neighboring block of the current block (paragraph 280, whether or not the intra-prediction mode of the neighbor block is angular mode may be considered) and an angular mode obtained by adding or subtracting 4n (n being a positive integer) to or from the derived angular mode (paragraph 286, an intra-prediction mode in which a predetermined offset is added and/or subtracted to/from the intra-prediction mode having directionality among intra-prediction modes included in the MPM list may be additionally included in the MPM list).
Referring to claim 4, Jun discloses wherein the second intra prediction modes are an angular mode and the first intra prediction mode is a non-angular mode (paragraph 197, An intra-prediction mode may be a non-angular mode or an angular mode).
Referring to claim 5, Jun discloses wherein the first weight or the second weights is determined in a block unit based on at least one of the second intra prediction modes or a size of the current block (paragraph 566, the weights may vary depending on at least one of the intra prediction mode of the current block, the size/shape of the current block, and the position of the prediction target sample).
Referring to claim 6, Jun discloses wherein the first weight or the second weights is determined differently for each sample position in the current block based on the second intra prediction modes (paragraph 566, the weights may vary depending on at least one of the intra prediction mode of the current block, the size/shape of the current block, and the position of the prediction target sample).
Referring to claim 7, Jun discloses wherein the first weight or the second weights is determined differently based on a comparison between the second intra prediction modes and a predetermined threshold mode (paragraph 359, For example, a reference sample may be constructed based on at least one of a determination of whether the values of two successive reconstructed samples differ by more than a threshold value and a determination of whether the values of successive reconstructed samples change continuously or discontinuously. For example, when the values of a rec[−1, −1] and a rec[−2, −1] differ by more than a threshold value, the value of the ref[−1, −1] is determined as having the value of the rec[−1, −1], or a value corresponding to a weighted average obtained by applying a predetermined weight to the value of the rec[−1, −1]).
Referring to claim 8, Jun discloses wherein the first weight or the second weights is determined differently based on a distance between a reference region of intra prediction determined according to the second intra prediction modes and a sample position in the current block (paragraph 566, the weights may vary depending on at least one of the intra prediction mode of the current block, the size/shape of the current block, and the position of the prediction target sample).
Referring to claim 9, Jun discloses determining a dividing line dividing the current block into two or more regions, wherein the first weight or the second weights is determined differently based on the dividing line (paragraph 225, For example, one CTU may be recursively divided into a plurality of CUs using a quad tree structure. A prediction method (intra-prediction or inter-prediction) to be applied in units of one CU may be determined).
Referring to claim 10, Jun discloses wherein the dividing line is determined based on the second intra prediction modes (paragraph 244, The current block is divided into at least one symmetric and/or asymmetric sub-blocks, and intra-prediction and/or inter-prediction information different from each other may be derived for each sub-block)
Referring to claim 11, Jun discloses, wherein the dividing line is determined based on division information obtained from the bitstream (paragraph 248, When the current block is divided into at least one symmetric and/or asymmetric sub-block, a flag indicating whether the sub-block is divided or not in units of a block (for example, CU) and/or index information on a division type of the sub-block may be signaled and variably derived on the basis of the encoding parameters of the current block).
Referring to claim 12, Jun discloses wherein signaling of the second intra prediction modes comprises only an MPM index for the MPM list (paragraph 281, In order to derive the intra-prediction mode of the current block, it is possible to construct one or more most probable mode (MPM) lists).
Referring to claim 13, Jun discloses wherein, based on the current block being a chroma block, the first weight and the second weights are determined based on a first weight and a second weights for a luma block at a position corresponding to a position of the current block (paragraph 313, when the current block is a chroma block, an intra prediction mode of a luma block corresponding to the chroma block can be used to derive an intra prediction mode of the chroma block).
Referring to claim 14, Jun discloses an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising:
determining and encoding information indicating whether prediction based on two or more intra prediction modes is performed on a current block (paragraph 273, In step S1010, an intra-prediction mode of a current block may be derived),
wherein, based on the information indicating that prediction based on the two or more intra prediction modes is performed on the current block, the image encoding method further comprises:
generating a first prediction sample for the current block based on a first intra prediction mode (paragraph 9, generating a first intra-prediction block corresponding to the first intra-prediction mode);
generating a plurality of second prediction samples for the current block based on a plurality of second intra prediction modes (paragraph 13, the deriving of the second intra-prediction mode may include generating candidate intra-prediction blocks corresponding to the candidate modes, calculating a matching degree between each of the candidate intra-prediction blocks and the first intra-prediction block, and deriving a candidate mode for a candidate intra-prediction block having the highest matching degree among the candidate intra-prediction blocks, as the second intra-prediction mode); and
generating a prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples (paragraph 9, generating a final intra-prediction block by using a weighted sum of the first intra-prediction block and the second intra-prediction block); and
wherein the prediction block is generated by respectively applying a first weight and a second weights to the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples (paragraph 9, generating a final intra-prediction block by using a weighted sum of the first intra-prediction block and the second intra-prediction block).
Referring to claim 15, Jun discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream generated by the image encoding method of claim 14 (paragraph 124, In addition, encoding apparatus 100 may generate a bitstream including encoded information through encoding the input image, and output the generated bitstream).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682