DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-15 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1 and 2, filed 8/17/26, with respect to the rejections to claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, and 5 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections to claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, and 5 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, have been withdrawn.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 8/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 2 and 3 of the response in essence that: The Office's combination of Jun and Lee does not disclose or suggest the feature of configuring an MPM list used for signaling the second (angular) intra prediction mode so as to exclude non-angular modes such that the list contains only angular modes.
Jun discloses that the MPM list includes one MPM candidate mode (paragraph 281). Jun further discloses that a template may be generated using an intra-prediction mode having directionality (angular prediction mode) in the MPM list (paragraph 505). A MPM list that includes one MPM candidate mode that is angular would exclude non-angular modes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al. US Publication 2020/0366900 (hereafter “Jun”) and Lee et al. US Publication 2022/0109835 (hereafter “Lee”).
Referring to claim 1, Jun discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus. the image decoding method comprising:
reconstructing information indicating whether prediction based on two or more intra prediction modes is performed on a current block (paragraph 273, In step S1010, an intra-prediction mode of a current block may be derived);
wherein, based on the information indicating that prediction based on the two or more intra prediction modes is performed on the current block, the image decoding method further comprises:
generating a first prediction sample for the current block based on a first intra prediction mode (paragraph 9, generating a first intra-prediction block corresponding to the first intra-prediction mode);
generating a plurality of second prediction samples for the current block based on a plurality of second intra prediction modes (paragraph 13, the deriving of the second intra-prediction mode may include generating candidate intra-prediction blocks corresponding to the candidate modes, calculating a matching degree between each of the candidate intra-prediction blocks and the first intra-prediction block, and deriving a candidate mode for a candidate intra-prediction block having the highest matching degree among the candidate intra-prediction blocks, as the second intra-prediction mode); and
generating a prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples (paragraph 9, generating a final intra-prediction block by using a weighted sum of the first intra-prediction block and the second intra-prediction block); and
wherein the prediction block is generated by respectively applying a first weight and second weights to the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples (paragraph 9, generating a final intra-prediction block by using a weighted sum of the first intra-prediction block and the second intra-prediction block),
wherein the first intra prediction mode is a non-angular mode (paragraph 197, An intra-prediction mode may be a non-angular mode or an angular mode),
wherein the second intra prediction mode is an angular mode (paragraph 197, An intra-prediction mode may be a non-angular mode or an angular mode),
wherein the non-angular mode is a planar mode (paragraph 77, For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3A, the plurality of intra prediction modes may include 2 non-directional modes including a Planar mode), and
wherein the second intra prediction mode is determined based on a most probable mode (MPM) list (paragraph 281, In order to derive the intra-prediction mode of the current block, it is possible to construct one or more most probable mode (MPM) lists), wherein the MPM list excludes a planar mode and a DC mode such that the MPM list includes only angular modes (paragraph 281, the MPM list includes one MPM candidate mode) (paragraph 505, a template may be generated using an intra-prediction mode having directionality (angular prediction mode) in the MPM list).
While Jun discloses wherein the first intra prediction mode is a non-angular mode, Jun does not disclose expressly wherein the non-angular mode is determined based on majority or wherein the bitstream includes an MPM index for the MPM list.
Lee discloses wherein the first intra prediction mode is a non-angular mode that is determined based on majority among the intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block (paragraph 581, An intra prediction mode of a current block may be set as an intra prediction mode with the highest frequency among intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks adjacent to a current block), and
wherein the bitstream includes an MPM index for the MPM list (paragraph 476, Index information for specifying one of MPM candidates may be signaled in a bitstream).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine an intra prediction mode based on majority and include an MPM index in a bitstream. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the appearance of the image by selecting a mode likely to result in a pleasing image, and to reduce the processing required to compile a MPM list by the decoding apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Jun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Referring to claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the majority is determined from a mode list arranged according to a priority order based on a frequency of use of prediction modes (paragraph 581, An intra prediction mode of a current block may be set as an intra prediction mode with the highest frequency among intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks adjacent to a current block).
Referring to claim 3, Jun discloses wherein the MPM list comprises an angular mode derived by a neighboring block of the current block (paragraph 280, whether or not the intra-prediction mode of the neighbor block is angular mode may be considered) and an angular mode obtained by adding or subtracting 4n (n being a positive integer) to or from the derived angular mode (paragraph 286, an intra-prediction mode in which a predetermined offset is added and/or subtracted to/from the intra-prediction mode having directionality among intra-prediction modes included in the MPM list may be additionally included in the MPM list).
Referring to claim 5, Jun discloses wherein the first weight or the second weights are determined in a block unit based on at least one of the second intra prediction modes or a size of the current block (paragraph 566, the weights may vary depending on at least one of the intra prediction mode of the current block, the size/shape of the current block, and the position of the prediction target sample).
Referring to claim 6, Jun discloses wherein the first weight or the second weights are determined differently for each sample position in the current block based on the second intra prediction modes (paragraph 566, the weights may vary depending on at least one of the intra prediction mode of the current block, the size/shape of the current block, and the position of the prediction target sample).
Referring to claim 7, Jun discloses wherein the first weight or the second weights are determined differently based on a comparison between the second intra prediction modes and a predetermined threshold mode (paragraph 359, For example, a reference sample may be constructed based on at least one of a determination of whether the values of two successive reconstructed samples differ by more than a threshold value and a determination of whether the values of successive reconstructed samples change continuously or discontinuously. For example, when the values of a rec[−1, −1] and a rec[−2, −1] differ by more than a threshold value, the value of the ref[−1, −1] is determined as having the value of the rec[−1, −1], or a value corresponding to a weighted average obtained by applying a predetermined weight to the value of the rec[−1, −1]).
Referring to claim 8, Jun discloses wherein the first weight or the second weights are determined differently based on a distance between a reference region of intra prediction determined according to the second intra prediction modes and a sample position in the current block (paragraph 566, the weights may vary depending on at least one of the intra prediction mode of the current block, the size/shape of the current block, and the position of the prediction target sample).
Referring to claim 9, Jun discloses determining a dividing line dividing the current block into two or more regions,
wherein the first weight or the second weights are determined differently based on the dividing line (paragraph 225, For example, one CTU may be recursively divided into a plurality of CUs using a quad tree structure. A prediction method (intra-prediction or inter-prediction) to be applied in units of one CU may be determined).
Referring to claim 10, Jun discloses wherein the dividing line is determined based on the second intra prediction modes (paragraph 244, The current block is divided into at least one symmetric and/or asymmetric sub-blocks, and intra-prediction and/or inter-prediction information different from each other may be derived for each sub-block)
Referring to claim 11, Jun discloses, wherein the dividing line is determined based on division information obtained from the bitstream (paragraph 248, When the current block is divided into at least one symmetric and/or asymmetric sub-block, a flag indicating whether the sub-block is divided or not in units of a block (for example, CU) and/or index information on a division type of the sub-block may be signaled and variably derived on the basis of the encoding parameters of the current block).
Referring to claim 13, Jun discloses wherein, based on the current block being a chroma block, the first weight and the second weights are determined based on a first weight and a second weights for a luma block at a position corresponding to a position of the current block (paragraph 313, when the current block is a chroma block, an intra prediction mode of a luma block corresponding to the chroma block can be used to derive an intra prediction mode of the chroma block).
Referring to claim 14, Jun discloses an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising:
determining and encoding information indicating whether prediction based on two or more intra prediction modes is performed on a current block (paragraph 273, In step S1010, an intra-prediction mode of a current block may be derived),
wherein, based on the information indicating that prediction based on the two or more intra prediction modes is performed on the current block, the image encoding method further comprises:
generating a first prediction sample for the current block based on a first intra prediction mode (paragraph 9, generating a first intra-prediction block corresponding to the first intra-prediction mode);
generating a plurality of second prediction samples for the current block based on a plurality of second intra prediction modes (paragraph 13, the deriving of the second intra-prediction mode may include generating candidate intra-prediction blocks corresponding to the candidate modes, calculating a matching degree between each of the candidate intra-prediction blocks and the first intra-prediction block, and deriving a candidate mode for a candidate intra-prediction block having the highest matching degree among the candidate intra-prediction blocks, as the second intra-prediction mode); and
generating a prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples (paragraph 9, generating a final intra-prediction block by using a weighted sum of the first intra-prediction block and the second intra-prediction block); and
wherein the prediction block is generated by respectively applying a first weight and a second weights to the first prediction sample and the second prediction samples (paragraph 9, generating a final intra-prediction block by using a weighted sum of the first intra-prediction block and the second intra-prediction block),
wherein the first intra prediction mode is a non-angular mode (paragraph 197, An intra-prediction mode may be a non-angular mode or an angular mode),
wherein the second intra prediction mode is an angular mode (paragraph 197, An intra-prediction mode may be a non-angular mode or an angular mode),
wherein the non-angular mode is a planar mode (paragraph 77, For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3A, the plurality of intra prediction modes may include 2 non-directional modes including a Planar mode), and
wherein the second intra prediction mode is determined based on a most probable mode (MPM) list (paragraph 281, In order to derive the intra-prediction mode of the current block, it is possible to construct one or more most probable mode (MPM) lists), wherein the MPM list excludes a planar mode and a DC mode such that the MPM list includes only angular modes (paragraph 281, the MPM list includes one MPM candidate mode) (paragraph 505, a template may be generated using an intra-prediction mode having directionality (angular prediction mode) in the MPM list).
While Jun discloses wherein the first intra prediction mode is a non-angular mode, Jun does not disclose expressly wherein the non-angular mode is determined based on majority or wherein the bitstream includes an MPM index for the MPM list.
Lee discloses wherein the first intra prediction mode is a non-angular mode that is determined based on majority among the intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block (paragraph 581, An intra prediction mode of a current block may be set as an intra prediction mode with the highest frequency among intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks adjacent to a current block), and
wherein the bitstream includes an MPM index for the MPM list (paragraph 476, Index information for specifying one of MPM candidates may be signaled in a bitstream).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine an intra prediction mode based on majority and include an MPM index in a bitstream. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the appearance of the image by selecting a mode likely to result in a pleasing image, and to reduce the processing required to compile a MPM list by the decoding apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Jun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Referring to claim 15, Jun discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream generated by the image encoding method of claim 14 (paragraph 124, In addition, encoding apparatus 100 may generate a bitstream including encoded information through encoding the input image, and output the generated bitstream).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682