DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgdorf (US 5362140).
Re claim 1, Burgdorf teaches a hydraulic actuation system for a hydraulic braking system, comprising: at least one hydraulic circuit (I, II) having at least one hydraulic consumer in the form of a hydraulically actuated wheel brake (31-34), and at least a first pressure generating device comprising a pump (66), in the at least one hydraulic circuit wherein the pressure-generating device is arranged to be selectively connected to or disconnected from a reservoir (20) by means of at least a first controlled 3/2-way valve (67). (Fig. 4)
Burgdorf does not teach wherein the pressure generating device comprises a piston pump. Burgdurf teaches in Column 2, 2nd paragraph that “this invention will work no matter what kind of device – e.g., pumps or pistons – is used to effect a pressure build-up or to reduce the pressure …” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to use a piston pump in the invention as taught by Burgdorf since it is a well known device for increasing or decreasing pressure in a brake system.
Re claim 15, Burgdorf as modified teaches wherein the pressure generating device is enabled to (66) can draw hydraulic medium into at least one working chamber from the reservoir (20) via at least one suction valve. See unnumbered valve between outlet of valve 67 and inlet of pump 66.
Re claim 18, Burgdorf as modified teaches a brake system (Fig. 4) including the hydraulic actuation system of claim 1, wherein each of the at least one hydraulic circuit (I, II) is coupled to at least one hydraulically acting wheel brake (31, 32).
4. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgdorf (US 5362140) in view of Lieber (US 2020/0114894 A1).
Re claim 16, Burgdorf does not teach wherein the piston pump comprises a double-stroke piston wherein a pressure or a piston position is able to be adjusted or set by means of the double-stroke piston both in the forward stroke and in the return stroke. Lieber teaches wherein a piston pump (DE) comprises a double-stroke piston (1) wherein a pressure or a piston position is able to be adjusted or set by means of the double-stroke piston both in the forward stroke and in the return stroke. ([0140]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the adjustable pump as taught by Lieber to provide additional pressure control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pueschel teaches a hydraulic actuation system for a hydraulic braking system, comprising: at least one hydraulic circuit having at least one hydraulic consumer in the form of a hydraulically actuated wheel brake, and at least a first pressure generating device comprising a pump, in the at least one hydraulic circuit wherein the pressure-generating device is arranged to be selectively connected to or disconnected from a reservoir by means of at least a first controlled 3/2-way valve. Schmitt et al. and Solleder teach similar devices.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTW
March 27, 2026