Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/29/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mironov et al. (US 20210315279).
Regarding claim 1, Mironov discloses an aerosol generating device (10, fig. 1), comprising:
a heating housing configured to receive an aerosol generating article (by reference sign 90, fig. 1);
a first coil disposed on the heating housing and configured to generate a magnetic field; and a first magnetic sensor configured to detect a change in the magnetic field generated by the first coil [0071-0075].
Regarding claim 2, Mironov discloses wherein the first magnetic sensor is disposed adjacent to the first coil ([0071] and fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3. Mironov discloses wherein the first coil and the first magnetic sensor are arranged to at least partially overlap in one radial direction of the heating housing (by reference sign 51, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Mironov discloses wherein the first coil has an axis in a longitudinal direction of the heating housing (by reference sign 51, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mironov et al. (US 2021315279) in view of Ho et al. (KR 20200038050).
Regarding claim 5, Mironov discloses the device further comprising: a support portion (by reference sign 55, fig. 1 and [0008]) capable of being a shielding portion configured to block electromagnetic waves and arranged to at least partially surround the first magnetic sensor. Since Mironov discloses the need for shielding. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to configure the support portion or add another portion to block electromagnetic waves and arranged to at least partially surround the first magnetic sensor. Since Mironov discloses the need for shielding.
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mironov et al. (US 2021315279) in view of Ho et al. (KR 20200038050 with English translation).
Regarding claim 6, Mironov does not expressly discloses a second coil. Ho discloses a device further comprising: a second coil disposed in a region of the heating housing which is different from a region in which the first coil is disposed, and configured to generate a magnetic field; and a second magnetic sensor configured to detect a change in the magnetic field generated by the second coil (by reference signs 17 and 18 of figs. 3-4 and page 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a second coil and a second magnetic sensor as taught by Ho for better accuracy.
Regarding claim 7, Mironov discloses wherein the second magnetic sensor is disposed opposite to the second coil on the heating housing (see figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 8, Mironov discloses wherein the second coil and the second magnetic sensor are arranged to at least partially overlap in one axis direction of the heating housing (see figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the second coil has an axis in a normal direction of a side surface of the heating housing as an engineering choice. Furthermore, rearrangement of parts are unpatentable (see In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950))
Regarding claim 10, similar to the discussion above for claim 6, the combination of Mironov and Ho taken together as a whole suggests having a shielding portion configured to block electromagnetic waves and arranged to at least partially surround the second magnetic sensor.
Conclusion
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747