DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1, 3-10, 15, 17, 18, and 20, in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that the relevant finding in the Office action on the technical feature of Groups I-III are not germane to the claimed features as amended and that the technical feature of the amended claims makes a contribution over the prior art. This is not found persuasive because Groups I-III do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: Groups I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a polycarbonate diol composition comprising a repeating structural unit represented by general formula (1), further comprising at least one repeating structural unit selected from the group consisting of a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (II), a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (III), and a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (IV), this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Kawai et al. (WO 2019/131617 A1, cited in IDS, made of record on 12/22/2023, EP 3733799 A1 is English language equivalent, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2024, and is used for citation). Kawai teaches polycarbonate diol composition containing a structure represented by the following general formula:
and a polycarbonate structure represented by the following general formula:
, where in the general formula, R11 is a divalent linear, branched or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a plurality of R11s may be the same as or different from each other, n11 is a number of 3 to 70, R21 is a divalent linear, or branched aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, a plurality of R21s may be the same as or different from each other, and n21 is a number of 1 to 50 [0015], wherein the divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group for R11 has 6 to 15 carbon atoms [0068], wherein the divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group for R21 has 6 to 15 carbon atoms [0089], which reads on a polycarbonate diol composition comprising a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I), further comprising one repeating structural unit selected from a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (II), wherein R11 is at least one or more selected from the group consisting of divalent linear and branched aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, and R11 when present in plural are the same as or different from each other, wherein R21 is a divalent linear, branched or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, and R21 when present in plural are the same as or different from each other, and n21 is from 3 to 70.
Kawai does not teach a specific embodiment wherein R11 is at least two or more selected from the group consisting of divalent linear and branched aliphatic hydrocarbon groups having 2 to 15 carbon atoms. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Kawai’s R21 in Kawai’s polycarbonate structure represented by the following general formula:
to be a divalent linear, or branched aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, such that Kawai’s
comprises a plurality of R21s, wherein at least two R21s are different from each other. The proposed modification would read on wherein R11 is at least two or more selected from the group consisting of divalent linear and branched aliphatic hydrocarbon groups having 2 to 15 carbon atoms as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a species of hydrocarbon group that is suitable for Kawai’s R21 in Kawai’s polycarbonate structure represented by the following general formula:
and/or because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Kawai teaches that in the polycarbonate structure represented by the following general formula:
, R21 is a divalent linear, or branched aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, and a plurality of R21s may be the same as or different from each other [0015]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Kawai does not teach a specific embodiment wherein n21 is from 12 to 70. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Kawai’s n11 in Kawai’s structure represented by the following general formula:
to be a number of 12 to 70. The proposed modification would read on wherein n21 is from 12 to 70 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a value of Kawai’s n11 that is suitable for Kawai’s structure represented by the following general formula:
and/or because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Kawai teaches that for the following general formula:
, n11 is a number of 3 to 70 [0015]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
The traversal is on the ground that the applied reference Kawai fails to describe the features that are R11 is recited as at least two or more selected from the group consisting of divalent linear and branched aliphatic hydrocarbon groups having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, and residues in formulas (II), (III), and (IV) were also limited considerably. This is not found persuasive because, as explained above, Kawai renders it obvious wherein R11 is at least two or more selected from the group consisting of divalent linear and branched aliphatic hydrocarbon groups having 2 to 15 carbon atoms as claimed. Also, as explained above, Kawai’s teachings read on the polycarbonate diol composition further comprises one repeating structural unit selected from a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (II), wherein R21 is a divalent linear, branched or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, and R21 when present in plural are the same as or different from each other, and n21 is from 3 to 70. Furthermore, as explained above, Kawai renders it obvious wherein n21 is from 12 to 70 as claimed.
The traversal is also on the ground that the applied reference corresponds to Comparative Example 4 of the instant application. This is not found persuasive because Comparative Example 4 is produced from polycarbonate diol P-2 and polyoxytetramethylene glycol [0205], that polycarbonate diol P-2 is synthesized from 1,6-hexanediol, 1,4-butanediol, and ethylene carbonate [0198], and that the polycarbonate diol composition of Comparative example 4 has a number-average molecular weight of 1996 [0205]. In contrast, Kawai’s polycarbonate diol is not required to be synthesized from 1,6-hexanediol, 1,4-butanediol, ethylene carbonate, and polyoxytetramethylene glycol, and Kawai’s polycarbonate structure is not limited to a number-average molecular weight of 1996. Kawai therefore does not correspond to Comparative Example 4.
The traversal is also on the ground that the applied reference fails to disclose a polycarbonate diol composition that satisfies Expression 1 recited in claim 1 of the present application. This is not found persuasive because Groups I-III do not require the Expression 1 recited in claim 1.
The traversal is also on the ground that the applied reference does not satisfy the range of 4.0 mL or more and 9.5 mL or less recited in claim 2 of the present application. This is not found persuasive because Groups I-III do not require the range of 4.0 mL or more and 9.5 mL or less recited in claim 2.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2, 11-14, 16, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “xy ≥ 3.7 × α (α = 22.4 × Mn-0.41)” in line 28, which is indefinite because the “α = 22.4 × Mn-0.41” is enclosed within parentheses, which makes it unclear if it is a limitation, a reference character, or an abbreviation because reference characters should be enclosed within parentheses (MPEP 608.01(m)). For further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “xy ≥ 3.7 × α, wherein α = 22.4 × Mn-0.41)”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation ”(% by mass)” in lines 29 and 30, which is indefinite because the “% by mass” is enclosed within parentheses, which makes it unclear if it is a limitation, a reference character, or an abbreviation because reference characters should be enclosed within parentheses (MPEP 608.01(m)). For further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as ”, in % by mass,”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “(mL)” in line 32, which is indefinite because the “mL” is enclosed within parentheses, which makes it unclear if it is a limitation, a reference character, or an abbreviation because reference characters should be enclosed within parentheses (MPEP 608.01(m)). For further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “, in mL,”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al. (WO 2019/131617 A1, cited in IDS, made of record on 12/22/2023, EP 3733799 A1 is English language equivalent, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2024, and is used for citation).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 10, Kawai teaches polycarbonate diol composition containing a structure represented by the following general formula:
and a polycarbonate structure represented by the following general formula:
, where in the general formula, R11 is a divalent linear, branched or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a plurality of R11s may be the same as or different from each other, n11 is a number of 3 to 70, R21 is a divalent linear, or branched aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, a plurality of R21s may be the same as or different from each other, and n21 is a number of 1 to 50 [0015], wherein the divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group for R11 has 6 to 15 carbon atoms [0068], wherein the divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group for R21 has 6 to 15 carbon atoms [0089], which reads on a polycarbonate diol composition comprising a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I), further comprising one repeating structural unit selected from a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (II), wherein R11 is at least one or more selected from the group consisting of divalent linear and branched aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, and R11 when present in plural are the same as or different from each other, wherein R21 is a divalent linear, branched or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, and R21 when present in plural are the same as or different from each other, and n21 is from 3 to 70, and the polycarbonate diol composition according to claim 1, comprising at least a repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (II) among the repeating structural units represented by the general formulas (II) to (IV).
Kawai does not teach a specific embodiment wherein R11 is at least two or more selected from the group consisting of divalent linear and branched aliphatic hydrocarbon groups having 2 to 15 carbon atoms. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Kawai’s R21 in Kawai’s polycarbonate structure represented by the following general formula:
to be a divalent linear, or branched aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, such that Kawai’s
comprises a plurality of R21s, wherein at least two R21s are different from each other. The proposed modification would read on wherein R11 is at least two or more selected from the group consisting of divalent linear and branched aliphatic hydrocarbon groups having 2 to 15 carbon atoms as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a species of hydrocarbon group that is suitable for Kawai’s R21 in Kawai’s polycarbonate structure represented by the following general formula:
and/or because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Kawai teaches that in the polycarbonate structure represented by the following general formula:
, R21 is a divalent linear, or branched aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 2 to 15 carbon atoms, and a plurality of R21s may be the same as or different from each other [0015]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Kawai does not teach a specific embodiment wherein n21 is from 12 to 70. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Kawai’s n11 in Kawai’s structure represented by the following general formula:
to be a number of 12 to 70. The proposed modification would read on wherein n21 is from 12 to 70 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a value of Kawai’s n11 that is suitable for Kawai’s structure represented by the following general formula:
and/or because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Kawai teaches that for the following general formula:
, n11 is a number of 3 to 70 [0015]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
The Office recognizes that all the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by Kawai, namely that the polycarbonate diol composition satisfies the following expression (Expression 1): xy ≥ 3.7 × α (α = 22.4 × Mn-0.41) … (Expression 1) wherein x is a proportion of the content (% by mass) of the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I) based on the total mass (% by mass) of the repeating structural units represented by the general formula (I) to (IV), y is an amount of the polycarbonate diol composition titrated (mL) in a cloud point titration method, and Mn is a number-average molecular weight of polycarbonate diol composition. However, Kawai renders obvious all the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions of the polycarbonate diol composition as explained above. Furthermore, the specification of the instant application recites that a content of the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I) is 40% by mass or more [0010], that a content of the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I) is 5% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less [0011], that a content of the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I) is 40% by mass or more and 90% by mass or less [0011], that the content of repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I) is 40% by mass or more based on the total mass of the repeating structural units represented by the general formulas (I) to (IV) [0015], that in this cloud point titration, the solubility in a solvent is evaluated, and differences appear depending on the type, molecular weight, and structure of the polyol [0065], that generally, the smaller the molecular weight, the higher the solubility in a solvent [0065], that the solubility differs depending on the functional group contained [0065], that accordingly, as for polyols, a case in which two or more polyols are blended and a case in which two or more polyols are reacted to thereby result in a change in the structure are different in the solubility [0065], that in cloud point titration, a compound having a smaller molecular weight generally has higher solubility in a solvent, and thus the amount of a poor solvent titrated tends to increase [0072], that polycarbonate diols generally have low solubility in a solvent [0073], that thus when x becomes larger, y tends to be smaller [0073], that when the repeating structural units represented by the general formulas (I) to (IV) and the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I) are present more randomly, the amount titrated in cloud point titration is presumed to increase [0073], that the content of the structural unit (I) is preferably 5% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less, more preferably 20% by mass or more and 90% by mass or less, further preferably 40% by mass or more and 90% by mass or less, based on the total mass of the structural units (I) to (IV) [0074], that the number-average molecular weight of the polycarbonate diol composition of the present embodiment is preferably 250 or higher and 10000 or lower [0075], that the number-average molecular weight of the polycarbonate diol (I-1) for use in the production of the polycarbonate diol composition of the present embodiment is not particularly limited and is preferably 500 or higher and 5000 or lower [0123], and that the number-average molecular weight of the polycaprolactone diol (III-1) is not particularly limited and is preferably 400 or higher and 3000 or lower [0129]. Also, Kawai teaches that the polycarbonate structure has a number-average molecular weight of 300 or more and 10,000 or less [0015], that the structure represented by the general formula
is contained in an amount of 5% by mass or more and 50% by mass or less [0015, 0046, 0056], and that the polycarbonate structure is contained in an amount of 50% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less [0015, 0079]. Therefore, the claimed physical properties would naturally arise from the polycarbonate diol composition that is rendered obvious by Kawai. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties (MPEP 2112.01(II)). If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (MPEP 2112.01(II)). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product (MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Kawai teaches that with respect to a total mass of the structure represented by the general formula
and the polycarbonate structure represented by the general formula
, the structure represented by the general formula
is contained in an amount of 5% by mass or more and 50% by mass or less, and the polycarbonate structure represented by the general formula
is contained in an amount of 50% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less [0015], which reads on wherein based on the total mass of the repeating structural units represented by the general formulas (I) to (IV), a content of the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (I) is 50% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less as claimed in claim 3, and which reads on the claimed content in claim 4.
Regarding claims 5, 17, and 18, the specification of the instant application recites that examples of a method for controlling the acid value of the polycarbonate diol composition in the range include, but are not limited to, a method of adjusting the starting material acid value at the time of production of the polycarbonate diol composition and a method of appropriately selecting catalyst poison addition to deactivate the catalyst [0079], that when the reaction temperature is equal to or lower than the upper limit value described above, the acid value of the resulting polycarbonate diol composition tends to be able to be controlled in a specific range [0137], and that the temperature during the reaction is not particularly limited and is preferably 120°C or higher and 200°C or lower, more preferably 140°C or higher and 180°C or lower [0136]. Kawai teaches that the polycarbonate diol composition can be obtained by performing a transesterification reaction using an ether diol and a polycarbonate diol [0094], that in the production of the polycarbonate diol as raw material, a transesterification reaction catalyst can be used [0109], that examples of the transesterification reaction catalyst include alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, alcoholates thereof, hydrides thereof, oxytoxides thereof, hydroxides thereof, salts thereof, the like [0110], that examples of the salt of the alkali metal and alkaline earth metal include carbonates, nitrogen-containing borates, and basic salts with organic acids [0111], and that the temperature of the transesterification reaction is preferably 120 °C to 200 °C [0137]. Kawai’s teachings therefore read on wherein an acid value is 0.001 mg-KOH/g or more and 0.8 mg-KOH/g or less as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, the specification of the instant application recites that examples of a method for controlling the peroxide value of the polycarbonate diol composition in the range include, but are not particularly limited to, a method of allowing the reaction temperature to be 200°C or lower in order to reduce oxidative cleavage due to pyrolysis, a method of allowing the oxygen concentration to be 0.5% or lower at the time of production of the polycarbonate diol composition, and a method of allowing the nitrogen flow rate at the time of production to be 0.1 L/min or more and 50 L/min or less, and that the methods described above may be combined [0082]. Kawai teaches that the polycarbonate diol composition can be obtained by performing a transesterification reaction using an ether diol and a polycarbonate diol [0094], and that the temperature of the transesterification reaction is preferably 120 °C to 200 °C [0137]. Also, Kawai does not teach that oxygen or nitrogen is present during production of the polycarbonate diol composition, and Kawai does not teach that peroxide is present in the polycarbonate diol composition. Additionally, the production of Kawai’s polycarbonate diol composition would not inherently comprise oxygen or nitrogen, and Kawai’s polycarbonate diol composition would not inherently comprise peroxide. Kawai’s teachings therefore read on wherein a peroxide content is 10 meq/kg or less as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, the Office recognizes that all the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by Kawai, namely that a Hazen color number value (APHA value) in accordance with JIS K0071-1 (2017) is 100 or less. However, Kawai renders obvious all the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions of the polycarbonate diol composition according to claim 1 as explained above. Furthermore, the specification of the instant application recites that the polycarbonate diol composition of the present invention has excellent stability of quality, is less colored [0011], that when the acid value is equal to or less than the upper limit value described above, reduction in occurrence of coloring tends to be enabled [0078], that when the peroxide value of the polycarbonate diol composition of the present embodiment is 10 meq/kg or less, coloring tends to be suppressed [0081], that when the reaction temperature is equal to or lower than the upper limit value described above, the acid value of the resulting polycarbonate diol composition tends to be able to be controlled in a specific range, and coloring tends to be able to be more effectively prevented [0137], and that when the oxygen concentration is allowed to be 0.5% or lower, generation of peroxides tends to be suppressed, and coloring of the resulting polycarbonate diol composition tends to be able to be prevented [0138]. Also, Kawai teaches that the polycarbonate diol composition can be obtained by performing a transesterification reaction using an ether diol and a polycarbonate diol [0094], and that the temperature of the transesterification reaction is preferably 120 °C to 200 °C [0137]. Therefore, the claimed physical properties would naturally arise from the polycarbonate diol composition that is rendered obvious by Kawai. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties (MPEP 2112.01(II)). If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (MPEP 2112.01(II)). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product (MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 8, Kawai teaches that in the structure represented by the following general formula:
, n11 is a number of 3 to 70 [0015], which reads on wherein among the repeating structural units represented by the general formulas (II) to (IV), an average value of the number of repeats of the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (II), represented by n21, is 3 to 70.
Kawai does not teach a specific embodiment wherein among the repeating structural units represented by the general formulas (II) to (IV), an average value of the number of repeats of the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (II), represented by n21, is 15 to 50. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Kawai’s n11 in Kawai’s structure represented by the following general formula:
to be a number of 15 to 50 The proposed modification would read on wherein among the repeating structural units represented by the general formulas (II) to (IV), an average value of the number of repeats of the repeating structural unit represented by the general formula (II), represented by n21, is 15 to 50 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a value of Kawai’s n11 that is suitable for Kawai’s structure represented by the following general formula:
and/or because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Kawai teaches that for the following general formula:
, n11 is a number of 3 to 70 [0015], that n11 in the general formula may be a number of 6 to 50 [0022], that n11 is a number of 7 to 70 [0027], and that n11 is a number of 3 to 70 [0045]. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 15, Kawai teaches that with respect to a total mass of the structure represented by the general formula
and the polycarbonate structure represented by the general formula
, the structure represented by the general formula
is contained in an amount of 5% by mass or more and 50% by mass or less, and the polycarbonate structure represented by the general formula
is contained in an amount of 50% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less [0015], which reads on wherein based on the total mass of the repeating structural units represented by the general formulas (I) to (IV), a content of the repeating unit represented by the general formula (I) is 50% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less, which reads on the claimed content.
Regarding claim 20, the specification of the instant application recites that examples of a method for controlling the acid value of the polycarbonate diol composition in the range include, but are not limited to, a method of adjusting the starting material acid value at the time of production of the polycarbonate diol composition and a method of appropriately selecting catalyst poison addition to deactivate the catalyst [0079], that when the reaction temperature is equal to or lower than the upper limit value described above, the acid value of the resulting polycarbonate diol composition tends to be able to be controlled in a specific range [0137], and that the temperature during the reaction is not particularly limited and is preferably 120°C or higher and 200°C or lower, more preferably 140°C or higher and 180°C or lower [0136]. Kawai teaches that the polycarbonate diol composition can be obtained by performing a transesterification reaction using an ether diol and a polycarbonate diol [0094], that in the production of the polycarbonate diol as raw material, a transesterification reaction catalyst can be used [0109], that examples of the transesterification reaction catalyst include alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, alcoholates thereof, hydrides thereof, oxytoxides thereof, hydroxides thereof, salts thereof, the like [0110], that examples of the salt of the alkali metal and alkaline earth metal include carbonates, nitrogen-containing borates, and basic salts with organic acids [0111], and that the temperature of the transesterification reaction is preferably 120 °C to 200 °C [0137]. Kawai’s teachings therefore read on wherein an acid value is 0.001 mg-KOH/g or more and 0.8 mg-KOH/g or less as claimed.
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767