DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suenaga et al. (2019/0191601) in view of Bhargava (6436206).
Suenaga et al. discloses a differential signal transmission cable comprising an insulating layer (5) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the cable; a pair of signal lines (3a, 3b) that extend in the longitudinal direction and are embedded in the insulating layer; and a shield layer (7) that covers an outer peripheral surface of the insulating layer, wherein the shield layer includes a plating first sublayer and a plating second sublayer ([0075], the shield layer is configured with a plurality of stacked thin films), the plating first sublayer containing copper and an alloy element ([0075], copper alloy) (re-claim 1).
It has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, electroless plating, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Suenaga et al. does not disclose the type and content of the alloy element being selected such that a tensile stress acts on the shield layer (re-claim 1). Specifically, in the shield layer, the content of copper is greater than or equal to 90% by mass (wt%), and the alloy element is nickel, wherein the content of nickel is greater than or equal to 0.10 wt% and less than or equal to 0.29 wt% (re-claim 2).
Bhargava discloses a copper alloy having mechanical strength, formability, thermal and electrical conductivities, and stress relaxation properties (col. 2, lines 14-17), wherein the content of copper is greater than or equal to 90 wt%, wherein the alloy element is nickel, and wherein the content of nickel is greater than or equal to 0.10 wt% and less than or equal to 0.29 wt% (Example 1, col. 5, lines 56-57).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the copper alloy as taught by Bhargava for the plating first sublayer of Suenaga et al. since such material has excellent mechanical and electrical properties.
Re-claim 4, Suenaga et al. discloses the cable further comprising a catalyst particle between the insulating layer and the shield layer, wherein the catalyst particle contains palladium ([0089] and [0100]-[0103]).
Re-claim 5, Suenaga et al. discloses the cable further comprising an intermediate layer (the catalyst particle layer) that covers the outer peripheral surface of the insulating layer, wherein the shield layer covers an outer peripheral surface of the intermediate layer.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suenaga et al. in view of Ouyang (2022/0253181) and Ioannou (2017/0043569).
Suenaga et al. discloses a differential signal transmission cable comprising an insulating layer (5) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the cable; a pair of signal lines (3a, 3b) that extend in the longitudinal direction and are embedded in the insulating layer; and a shield layer (7) that covers an outer peripheral surface of the insulation layer (re-claim 6).
Suenaga et al. does not disclose the insulating layer having a hardness of greater than or equal to 0.052 GPa, and the shield layer having a hardness of less or equal to 4.0 GPa (re-claim 6).
Ouyang discloses an insulating layer ([0179]) having a hardness of greater than or equal to 0.052 GPa (10 MPa to 200 MPa = 0.01 GPa to 0.20 GPa). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the insulating layer having the hardness as taught by Ouyang for the insulating layer of Suenaga et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable.
Ioannou discloses a copper alloy ([0026]), material used for the shield layer in Suenaga, having a hardness of less or equal to 4.0 GPa ([0026], 400 HV = 3.923 GPa). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the copper alloy having a hardness of less or equal to 4.0 GPa as taught by Ioannou for the shield layer of Suenaga et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable.
Re-claim 7, in the modified cable of Suenaga, a value obtained by diving the hardness of the shield layer by the hardness of the insulating layer is greater than or equal to 20 and less than or equal to 100, see rejection of claim 6 above, 3.923 GPa ÷ 0.06 GPa = 65.38.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suenaga et al. in view of Ezura et al. (2014/0291156).
Suenaga et al. discloses a differential signal transmission cable comprising an insulating layer (5) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the cable; a pair of signal lines (3a, 3b) that extend in the longitudinal direction and are embedded in the insulating layer; and a shield layer (7) that covers an outer peripheral surface of the insulating layer, wherein the shield layer contains copper ([0075]). Suenaga et al. does not disclose a crystallite size of copper in the shield layer being between 20 nm and 60 nm. Ezura et al. discloses a copper foil, wherein a crystallite size of copper is between 20 nm and 60 nm ([0080]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the material containing copper with a crystallite size of copper between 20 nm and 60 nm, as taught by Ezura et al., for the shield layer of Suenaga et al. since such material has high mechanical strength (see abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 5, and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12451270 in view of Bhargava.
Claims 2, 5, and 24 of said patent disclose the invention substantially as claimed including the shield layer comprising a plating first sublayer and a plating second sublayer (see claim 24). Claims 2, 5, and 24 of said patent do not disclose the type and content of the alloy element being selected such that a tensile stress acts on the shield layer (re-claim 1). Specifically, in the shield layer, the content of copper is greater than or equal to 90% by mass (wt%), and the alloy element is nickel, wherein the content of nickel is greater than or equal to 0.10 wt% and less than or equal to 0.29 wt% (re-claim 2). Bhargava discloses a copper alloy having mechanical strength, formability, thermal and electrical conductivities, and stress relaxation properties (col. 2, lines 14-17), wherein the content of copper is greater than or equal to 90 wt%, wherein the alloy element is nickel, and wherein the content of nickel is greater than or equal to 0.10 wt% and less than or equal to 0.29 wt% (Example 1, col. 5, lines 56-57).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the copper alloy as taught by Bhargava for the shield layer of said patent since such material has excellent mechanical and electrical properties.
It has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, electroless plating, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Claims 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28 and 29 of U.S. Patent No. 12451270 in view of Hoffman et al. (2019/0348249).
Claims 28 and 29 of said patent disclose the invention substantially as claimed except for the shield having a hardness of 4.0 GPa or less. Hoffman et al. discloses a shield layer (11) having a hardness of 4.0 GPa or less ([0056]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the shield layer of said patent with a hardness of 4.0 GPa or less as taught by Hoffman et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable. In the modified cable of said patent, a value obtained by diving the hardness of the shield layer by the hardness of the insulating layer is greater than or equal to 20 and less than or equal to 100, etc. 4.0 GPa ÷ 0.1 GPa = 40.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12451270 in view of Ezura et al.
Claim 1 of said patent discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the shield layer containing copper, wherein a crystallite size of copper in the shield layer is between 20 nm and 60 nm. Ezura et al. discloses a copper foil, wherein a crystallite size of copper is between 20 nm and 60 nm ([0080]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the material containing copper with a crystallite size of copper between 20 nm and 60 nm, as taught by Ezura et al., for the shield layer of said patent since such material has high mechanical strength (see abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Regarding claim 6, applicant argues that Ouyang and Ioannou are both non-analogous art. Examiner would disagree. Ouyang discloses a cable, [0176], insulating layer disposed on the wires 22. Ioannou does not disclose a cable, but concerns with providing an electroless plating layer containing a copper alloy having improved mechanical properties and a desired hardness, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, such that it used without additional protection layer ([0026]). It has been held that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Regarding claim 9, applicant quotes MPEP 2144.05(III)(A) and argues that claim 9 range is critical to the claimed invention. If the crystallite size falls outside of the claim 9 range, at least one drawback arises, such as poor transmission characteristics. Applicant points to Samples 5-4 and 5-5 which demonstrate that the crystallite sizes of 75 nm and 15 nm respectively result in poor transmission characteristics. In contrast, Samples 5-1 to 5-3, each having crystallite sizes with the claim 9 range, between 20 nm and 60 nm, are indicated as “OK.”
Examiner would disagree. MPEP 2144.05(I) states that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Ezura discloses a range of 5 nm to 50 nm, overlapping claimed range of 20 nm to 60 nm. Ezura does teach a crystallite size of 20, 30, 40, or 50 nm (5 nm to 50 nm). Therefore, the modified cable of Suenaga would achieve the unexpected results as indicated by the applicant, and transmission characteristic in the modified cable of Suenaga are “OK.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841