DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suenaga et al. (2019/0191601) in view of Futatasuka et al. (5024814).
Suenaga et al. discloses a differential signal transmission cable comprising an insulating layer (5) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the cable; a pair of signal lines (3a, 3b) that extend in the longitudinal direction and are embedded in the insulating layer; and a shield layer (7) that covers an outer peripheral surface of the insulating layer, wherein the shield layer includes a plating first sublayer and a plating second sublayer ([0075], the shield layer is configured with a plurality of stacked thin films), the plating first sublayer containing copper and an alloy element ([0075], copper alloy) (re-claim 1).
It has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, electroless plating, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Suenaga et al. does not disclose the type and content of the alloy element being selected such that a tensile stress acts on the shield layer (re-claim 1). Specifically, in the shield layer, the content of copper is greater than or equal to 90% by mass (wt%), and the alloy element is nickel, wherein the content of nickel is greater than or equal to 0.10 wt% and less than or equal to 3.0 wt% (re-claim 2).
Futatasuka et al. discloses a copper alloy having high strength and excellent adhesion strength of a plated surface thereof (col. 1, lines 9-12), wherein the content of copper is greater than or equal to 90 wt%, wherein the alloy element is nickel, and wherein the content of nickel is greater than or equal to 0.10 wt% and less than or equal to 3.0 wt% (col. 1, lines 52-56).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the copper alloy as taught by Futatasuka et al. for the plating first sublayer of Suenaga et al. since such material has high strength and excellent adhesion strength of a plated surface thereof.
Re-claim 4, Suenaga et al. discloses the cable further comprising a catalyst particle between the insulating layer and the shield layer, wherein the catalyst particle contains palladium ([0089] and [0100]-[0103]).
Re-claim 5, Suenaga et al. discloses the cable further comprising an intermediate layer (the catalyst particle layer) that covers the outer peripheral surface of the insulating layer, wherein the shield layer covers an outer peripheral surface of the intermediate layer.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suenaga et al. in view of Ouyang (2022/0253181) and Ioannou (2017/0043569).
Suenaga et al. discloses a differential signal transmission cable comprising an insulating layer (5) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the cable; a pair of signal lines (3a, 3b) that extend in the longitudinal direction and are embedded in the insulating layer; and a shield layer (7) that covers an outer peripheral surface of the insulation layer (re-claim 6).
Suenaga et al. does not disclose the insulating layer having a hardness of greater than or equal to 0.052 GPa, and the shield layer having a hardness of less or equal to 4.0 GPa (re-claim 6).
Ouyang discloses an insulating layer ([0179]) having a hardness of greater than or equal to 0.052 GPa (10 MPa to 200 MPa = 0.01 GPa to 0.20 GPa). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the insulating layer having the hardness as taught by Ouyang for the insulating layer of Suenaga et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable.
Ioannou discloses a copper alloy ([0026]), material used for the shield layer in Suenaga, having a hardness of less or equal to 4.0 GPa ([0026], 400 HV = 3.923 GPa). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the copper alloy having a hardness of less or equal to 4.0 GPa as taught by Ioannou for the shield layer of Suenaga et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable.
Re-claim 7, in the modified cable of Suenaga, a value obtained by diving the hardness of the shield layer by the hardness of the insulating layer is greater than or equal to 20 and less than or equal to 100, see rejection of claim 6 above, 3.923 GPa ÷ 0.06 GPa = 65.38.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suenaga et al. in view of Ezura et al. (2014/0291156).
Suenaga et al. discloses a differential signal transmission cable comprising an insulating layer (5) that extends in a longitudinal direction of the cable; a pair of signal lines (3a, 3b) that extend in the longitudinal direction and are embedded in the insulating layer; and a shield layer (7) that covers an outer peripheral surface of the insulating layer, wherein the shield layer contains copper ([0075]). Suenaga et al. does not disclose a crystallite size of copper in the shield layer being between 20 nm and 60 nm. Ezura et al. discloses a copper foil, wherein a crystallite size of copper is between 20 nm and 60 nm ([0080]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the material containing copper with a crystallite size of copper between 20 nm and 60 nm, as taught by Ezura et al., for the shield layer of Suenaga et al. since such material has high mechanical strength (see abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 5, and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12451270 in view of Futatasuka.
Claims 2, 5, and 24 of said patent disclose the invention substantially as claimed including the shield layer comprising a plating first sublayer and a plating second sublayer (see claim 24). Claims 2, 5, and 24 of said patent do not disclose the type and content of the alloy element being selected such that a tensile stress acts on the shield layer (re-claim 1). Specifically, in the shield layer, the content of copper is greater than or equal to 90% by mass (wt%), and the alloy element is nickel, wherein the content of nickel is greater than or equal to 0.10 wt% and less than or equal to 3.0 wt% (re-claim 2). Futatasuka et al. discloses a copper alloy having high strength and excellent adhesion strength of a plated surface thereof (col. 1, lines 9-12), wherein the content of copper is greater than or equal to 90 wt%, wherein the alloy element is nickel, and wherein the content of nickel is greater than or equal to 0.10 wt% and less than or equal to 3.0 wt% (col. 1, lines 52-56). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the copper alloy as taught by Futatasuka et al. for the shield layer of said patent since such material has high strength and excellent adhesion strength of a plated surface thereof.
It has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, electroless plating, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Claims 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28 and 29 of U.S. Patent No. 12451270 in view of Hoffman et al. (2019/0348249).
Claims 28 and 29 of said patent disclose the invention substantially as claimed except for the shield having a hardness of 4.0 GPa or less. Hoffman et al. discloses a shield layer (11) having a hardness of 4.0 GPa or less ([0056]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the shield layer of said patent with a hardness of 4.0 GPa or less as taught by Hoffman et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable. In the modified cable of said patent, a value obtained by diving the hardness of the shield layer by the hardness of the insulating layer is greater than or equal to 20 and less than or equal to 100, etc. 4.0 GPa ÷ 0.1 GPa = 40.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12451270 in view of Ezura et al.
Claim 1 of said patent discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the shield layer containing copper, wherein a crystallite size of copper in the shield layer is between 20 nm and 60 nm. Ezura et al. discloses a copper foil, wherein a crystallite size of copper is between 20 nm and 60 nm ([0080]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the material containing copper with a crystallite size of copper between 20 nm and 60 nm, as taught by Ezura et al., for the shield layer of said patent since such material has high mechanical strength (see abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841