DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Final in response to the communication filed on 12/03/2025. Claims 1 and 3—15 are currently pending.
Priority
The Applicant’s claim for benefit of WIPO Patent Application PCT/EP22/58683 filed on 3/31/2022, which claims priority to Foreign Patent Application DE10 2021 108 677.9, filed in the Federal Republic of Germany on 04/07/2021, has been received and acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3—12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Response argues that “Creighton does not disclose a housing cover whose inside is formed as a bearing element for bearing the pipe connection element,” (Response, pg. 6). However, it is clear from the figures of Creighton that cylinder head 34 functions as an absolute upper physical boundary from which the piston assembly cannot protrude. Furthermore, as depicted in FIG. 1, the piston chamber 16 can expand unimpeded (e.g., by pumping an increasing amount of fluid into piston chamber 16) until the tapered portion of skirt/extension 13 aligns with seal ring 15 (e.g., at which point the sealing aspect would being to disengage such that the components of piston 10 would no longer be functional with piston chamber 16); however, before the tapered portion of skirt/extension 13 would be aligned with seal ring 15, the threaded portion 33 of cap 32 would already be in physical contact with the inner surface of cylinder head 34 (e.g., bearing the extension related pressure supplied by the expansion of piston chamber 16). As such, whether or not Creighton explicitly states the same functionality as recited in the claims, the apparatus of Creighton is configured to perform the same functionality as recited in the claims. Examiner notes that, in comparing the figures of the instant application with those of Creighton, there are some structural features which, if drafted in the appropriate manner, would distinguish the instant application from Creighton. However, the amendments provided thus far have not added any additional physical elements, structures, or configurations which are claimed in a manner that is not anticipated by Creighton. For the foregoing reasons, the rejection of claim 1 and 3—12 is maintained as modified below in accordance with the new amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14 and 15 both depend from claim 1 and recite the limitation “the bearing sleeve,” without a previous recitation of the limitation “a bearing sleeve.” As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for inadequate antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3—15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent to Creighton (US 2786532 A).
Regarding claim 1, Creighton discloses [a] wellhead connection device (the apparatus of FIG. 1) for the top-side connection of a pipe (casing string “C” as depicted in FIG. 1) run of a deep well, having a housing (vertical cylinder 6 and adapter 7 of FIG 1), which comprises a through opening (vertical cylinder 6 includes a space defined by the inner cylinder wall creating an opening therethrough in which multiple components including piston 10, casing C, and tubing T, are disposed as depicted in FIG. 1. For example, at the upper boundary, the opening includes chamber 35), and a pipe connection element (piston 10 including cap 32 and threaded connection 33; see Response to arguments provided above) arranged inside the through opening in the housing, wherein the pipe connection element is arranged to be axially displaceable in the housing (“[i]n the present apparatus, the expansible chamber 16 is filled with a fluid maintained under suitable pressure to urge piston 10 upwardly, with such force as to properly tension the casing.” (Col. 2, Lines, 45—49). Examiner notes that piston 10 allows the casing string to be moved within the cavity formed within vertical cylinder 6 and adapter 7.) in order to compensate for axial stresses during normal operation (the apparatus presented in FIG. 1 can perform the intended function in the claimed scenario as well as other scenarios), wherein a fluid space (expansible chamber 16, which is disposed within vertical cylinder 6 and is bounded by adapter 7) is provided in the housing, functionally interacting with the pipe connection element (the expansible chamber 16 is bounded by piston 10 on at least one side and functionally interacts with it insofar as the pressure in the expansible chamber impacts the movement of piston 10), and is arranged such that the axial position of the pipe connection element during normal operation stands in functional connection with the fluid quantity and/or the fluid pressure in the fluid space (expansible chamber 16, please see FIG. 1. As noted above, expansible chamber 16 is filled with fluid to control the tension in the casing by adjusting the location of the piston) wherein a housing cover (stuffing box 39 and cylinder head 34) is arranged at one axial end of the housing (FIG. 1 depicts stuffing box 39 and cylinder head 34 attached to the up-hole portion of vertical cylinder 6), wherein the housing cover is connected to the housing of the wellhead connection device (FIG. 1 depicts cylinder head 34/41 with a flanged connection to vertical cylinder 6; as stated above, cylinder head 34 is depicted in FIG. 1 as a physical upper boundary of chamber 35 where the volume of chamber 35 is defined by vertical cylinder 6, cylinder head 34, and piston 10 and where the movement of piston 10 cannot extend past cylinder head 34. The claim limitations do not inherently carry any special meaning or definition which warrants an interpretation beyond what is disclosed by Creighton.) at a top side of the through opening (cylinder head 34 forms a containment boundary for chamber 35) in a gas-tight and position-fixed manner (as depicted in FIGs. 1 and 2, cylinder head 34/41 is securely attached, by bolts, to vertical cylinder 6. Furthermore an unlabeled sealing element/gasket is depicted between cylinder head 34/41 and vertical cylinder 6 where it is understood that the gasket would form a gas-tight seal. Examiner further notes that stuffing boxes are understood to create a seal around a tubular), wherein an inside of the housing cover (the inner surface of cylinder head 34 where the housing cover was identified as stuffing box 39 and cylinder head 34) is formed as a bearing element for bearing the pipe connection element (the inner surface of cylinder head 34 functions as a bearing surface against which threaded section 33 and cap 32 of piston 10 can push/bear against in the most extended position; for example, the maximum extent to which piston chamber 16 may be pressurized/filled results in threaded section 33 of cap 32 being pressed up against the inside of cylinder head 34 – see response to arguments provided above in view of FIG. 1 of Creighton), and wherein, in this position, the housing cover is configured to restriction an axial displacement path of the pipe connection element such that the pipe connection element does not protrude out of the housing cover at an upper end of the axial path (neither of threads 33 nor cap 32 can extend beyond the upper boundary created by cylinder head 34).
Regarding claim 3, Creighton discloses the pipe connection element (piston 10 including cap 32 and threaded connection 33) comprises at least one guide section formed radially on the outside (the outer profile of piston 10 as depicted in FIG. 1 is a guide section) and the at least one guide section is surrounded by a bearing element on the outside (expansible seal ring 15 is disposed around the outside of the outer profile of piston 10, wherein it bears the pressure of bore 14 in a fluid tight seal. Creighton discloses “[a] piston structure 10 is slidable in cylinder 6, having a head 11 sealed in fluid tight relation with cylinder wall by an expansible seal ring 12 and a reduced skirt or extension 13, passing through bore 14 in fluid tight relation. The piston structure 10 and the cylinder 6 thus co-operate to form expansible chamber 16.” (Col 2. Lines, 14—21).).
Creighton discloses the limitations of claim 4 insofar as the outer profile of piston 10 includes both radially protruding and radially recessed outer surfaces which function within the spaced defined within vertical cylinder 6. Please see figure provided below with respect to claim 5.
Creighton discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed in the figure provided below. The depiction also applies to the rejection cited above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Creighton discloses at least one bearing sleeve (internally protruding profile of adapter 7 as identified in the figure below) serving as a bearing element (an inner portion of adapter 7 which includes seal ring 15 sealingly engages with piston 10 to maintain the pressure within expansion chamber 16 and is therefore a bearing element which maintains pressure) is arranged in the housing and/or in the housing cover and fixed to the housing (the inner profile of adapter 7 which includes seal ring 15 is arranged and disposed within the housing identified as vertical cylinder 6 and adapter 7).
Regarding claim 7, Creighton discloses a one-piece or multi-piece bearing sleeve (inner profile of adapter 7 including seal 15) arranged in the housing according to claim 6 (please see rejection detailed above), characterized in that the position of the bearing sleeve in the housing is dictated in the axial direction by landing bolts (see figure below) and/or by retaining screws (34).
Regarding claim 9, Creighton discloses [a] method for reducing axial stresses in the pipe run which is connected to the pipe connection element of the wellhead connection device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 detailed above) characterized by the following: positioning of the pipe connection element (piston 10) in the housing (vertical cylinder 6 and adapter 7) such that the pipe connection element is situated in a middle position (as depicted in FIG. 1, the piston, casing, and tubing appear to be centered in accord with the longitudinal axis of vertical cylinder 6 and adapter 7) and the fluid pressure is within a target region (Col. 2, Lines 67—69; “relief valve 31 of known type for automatically releasing fluid when the pressure in the cylinder exceeds a predetermined amount.”; As best understood by the Examiner, a pressure below the predetermined amount would be considered to be “within a target region.”); at least periodic measuring of the hydrostatic pressure of the fluid (Col. 2, Lines 54—65 describe how pressure/location measurement equipment including pressure gauge 26, pressure tank 27, and gauge class 28 function. Except for situations where the equipment is disconnected from fluidic communication with expansion chamber 16, which is not discussed by Creighton, the measuring equipment is always providing a measurement result and is therefore also providing a periodic measurement result); and as soon as the pressure leaves the target region or reaches a margin region (please see description above related to the operation of relief valve 31 which automatically releases pressure once a threshold is exceeded thereby meeting the requirement of the claim limitations), increasing or reducing the quantity of fluid present in fluid space in order to maintain the hydrostatic pressure within the target region or to bring the hydrostatic pressure back to the targe region by axial displacement of the pipe connection element (releasing pressure through relief valve 31 results in a pressure reduction in expansion chamber 16 which impacts the tension or lack thereof in the casing string insofar as it impacts the location of piston 10. Additionally, pressure may be added to expansion chamber 16 in order to place the casing string in tension up to a given threshold as defined by the relief valve 31. Please see Col 2, Lines 42—49 and Col 2, Lines 54—69).
Regarding claim 8, Creighton discloses [t]he method according to claim 9, further characterized by the following: a) measuring the hydrostatic pressure in the fluid space (pressure gauge 26); b) detecting the axial position of the pipe connection element within the housing (Col. 2, Lines 59—65, “the amount of liquid in tank 27 will be a function of the position of piston 10 in the cylinder 6; as the piston goes down, the liquid level in the take 27 will rise and vice versa. Accordingly, by observing the liquid level in the gauge glass 28, the position of piston 10 can be ascertained.”); and/or c) passive dampening of the pipe connection element displacement (relief valve 31; (Col. 2, Lines 67—69), “a relief valve of known type for automatically releasing fluid when the pressure in the cylinder exceeds a predetermined amount.”).
Regarding claim 10, Creighton discloses wherein the pipe connection element (36) is enclosed within the housing (12) and the housing cover (56) (Cylinder head 34 is depicted in FIG. 1 as a physical upper boundary of chamber 35 where the volume of chamber 35 is defined by vertical cylinder 6, cylinder head 34, and piston 10 and where the movement of piston 10 cannot extend past cylinder head 34. Cylinder head 34 and vertical cylinder 6 enclose piston 10, and the associated components, within a clearly delimited, confined space as depicted in FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Creighton discloses wherein the fluid space (46) is fluidically connected to a pump (source of fluid pressure 24, See Col. 2, Lines 45—53; additionally the drain valve 30 and relief valve 31) and a pressure sensor (pressure gauge 26, Col 2, Lines 54—65), wherein the pump is operable to adjust the fluid quantity in the fluid space (46) based on pressure measurements from the pressure sensor, in order to maintain a target fluid pressure corresponding to a target axial stress in the pipe run (Col 1, Lines 34—44; the apparatus is used to maintain a certain amount of tension within the casing where the pump may adjust the pressure in the pressure chamber to achieve the desired tension).
Regarding claim 12, Creighton discloses wherein the fluid space (46) is configured to be actively filled (see above citation to the source of fluid pressure 24 as described in Col. 2, Lines 45—53) with a pump, such that the axial position of the pipe connection element (36) is actively adjusted to compensate for axial stresses during normal operation (the active adjustment as recited in claim 12 is the purpose of the apparatus of Creighton as set forth in Col 1, Lines 34—44.).
Regarding claim 13, Creighton discloses wherein a bearing sleeve (internally protruding profile of adapter 7 as identified in the figure provided below) is arranged within the housing cover (the internally protruding profile of adapter 7 is disposed within the housing as detailed in the figure provided below) and the pipe connection element (piston 10, cap 32, threads 33) is received in the bearing sleeve during its axial displacement (an inner portion of adapter 7 which includes seal ring 15 sealingly engages with piston 10 where piston 10 is received within the internally protruding profile of adapter 7).
Regarding claim 14, Creighton discloses wherein the bearing sleeve arranged in the housing cover (internally protruding profile of adapter 7 as identified in the figure provided above with respect to claim 13) defines an uppermost axial limit that prevents the pipe connection element from protruding out of the housing cover (the piston 10 cannot protrude in the axial direction which is horizontal to the ground (e.g., radial axis) because it is held in the housing configuration which is flanged together at adapter 7. Examiner notes that the term “an uppermost axial limit,” does not carry any inherent meaning as claimed because the claim has not distinguished up from down and/or top from bottom. Moreover, the claim does not specify which axial direction to consider. As such, piston 10 cannot protrude in the radial axial direction beyond the upper most limit formed by the housing and the adapter 7).
Regarding claim 15, Creighton discloses wherein sealing rings (expansible seal ring 15) are arranged between the pipe connection element and the bearing sleeve in the housing cover (see figure provided for claim 13 above. The seals 15 are disposed within the protruding profile of adapter 7 such that a portion of the profile is disposed radially outward from the seal and the seal 15 is disposed between extension 13 of piston 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Issued US Patent Application to Drouin (US 3741297 A) which is directed to a retensioning wellhead assembly including fluid injection pump which counteracts situations which place the casing/tubulars in compression and allows the placement to be adjusted such that they are maintained in tension;
Issued US Patent Application to Hubby (US 3166125 A) which is directed to an adjustable casing head which is capable of adjusting the tension in the casing/tubulars;
Issued US Patent Application to McClinton et al. (US 8443898 B1) which is directed to coatings used on the interior of for casing devices (e.g., wear protectors) used in wellheads;
Issued US Patent Application to Winzer (US 6470965 B1) which is directed to an apparatus for injecting fluid into a wellhead;
Issued US Patent Application to Betchan et al. (US 5388639 A) which is directed to a wellhead tubing rotator including packing elements which engage with the tubing as depicted in FIGs. 1 and 2;
Issued US Patent Application to Bullen (US 4241786 A) which is directed to a well tree saver as depicted in FIG. 2 and 3 which includes a piston; and
Issued US Patent Application to Howard et al. (US 1983854 A) which is directed to a wellhead including a piston assembly which controls the location of a tubing section.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/U.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676