Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a first area that discharges the paint in a predetermined first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit and a second area that is displaced from the first area in the first direction and discharges the paint in a second discharge amount less than the first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit” in claims 2 and 5 and “the coated body is a current collector of a secondary battery, and the paint is an electrode slurry of the secondary battery” in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification uses the phrase “ absence of the first slit”. Clarification is suggested: “opening of the first slit”. The specification should be reviewed for improper grammar and non-idiomatic English and be revised accordingly.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “rotating body” in claim 1 and “supply device” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “forming” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “bordering or providing a limit on one side” while the accepted meaning is “shaping” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims 2-6 are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
The term “long circumferential portion ” and “short circumferential portion ” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long circumferential portion ” and “short circumferential portion ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of prosecution, Examiner is interpreting these terms as follows: first circumferential portion, second circumferential portion, where the first circumferential portion has a circumference which has a greater value than a circumference of the second circumferential portion.
Claims 2-6 are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claims 2 and 5 recite:
” a first area that discharges the paint in a predetermined first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit and a second area that is displaced from the first area in the first direction and discharges the paint in a second discharge amount less than the first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit”. This claim language lacks clarity.
A suggested revision is as follows:
” a first area that discharges the paint in a predetermined first discharge amount in the opening of the first slit and a second area that is displaced from the first area in the first direction and discharges the paint in a second discharge amount less than the first discharge amount in the opening of the first slit”. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2017109151 A to Endo Koichiro (hereinafter Koichiro) in view of JP 2020022928 A to Kitsuta Hirotaka (hereinafter Hirotaka).
Regarding claim 1, Koichiro teaches a coating die (1) that applies a paint to a coated body (SB), comprising: a manifold (2) that temporarily stores the paint; a discharge port (61) that discharges the paint in the manifold toward the coated body; and a rotating body (50) rotatably accommodated in the manifold and having an outer surface that faces an inner surface of the manifold, a gap (42)between the inner surface and the outer surface being capable of forming a first slit through which the paint directed toward the discharge port passes, wherein the manifold, the discharge port, and the rotating body are elongated in a first direction (direction into the page in Fig. 1) intersecting a discharge direction of the paint from the discharge port (61), and the rotating body is rotatable about a rotational axis extending in the first direction. ( See Koichiro, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, and MT page 2, paragraphs 5-6, page 5, paragraphs 5-6.)
Regarding claim 1, Koichiro does not explicitly teach the rotating body a long circumferential portion having a predetermined first length in a circumferential direction of the rotational axis at a predetermined position in the outer surface, and has a short circumferential portion having a second length shorter than the first length in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis at a position in the outer surface displaced from the long circumferential portion in the first direction, the long circumferential portion forming the first slit longer than the first slit formed by the short circumferential portion.
Hirotaka is directed to a die coater.
Hirotaka teaches the rotating body a long circumferential portion (31’, 37’) having a predetermined first length in a circumferential direction of the rotational axis at a predetermined position in the outer surface, and has a short circumferential portion ( 35’, 33’ ) having a second length shorter than the first length in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis at a position in the outer surface displaced from the long circumferential portion in the first direction, the long circumferential portion forming the first slit longer than the first slit formed by the short circumferential portion. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the rotating body a long circumferential portion having a predetermined first length in a circumferential direction of the rotational axis at a predetermined position in the outer surface, and has a short circumferential portion having a second length shorter than the first length in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis at a position in the outer surface displaced from the long circumferential portion in the first direction, the long circumferential portion forming the first slit longer than the first slit formed by the short circumferential portion, because Hirotaka teaches this would suppress stagnation in the manifold and form a coating film having a more uniform thickness on the object to be coated. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
Regarding claim 2, Koichiro does not explicitly teach the coating die includes a first area that discharges the paint in a predetermined first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit and a second area that is displaced from the first area in the first direction and discharges the paint in a second discharge amount less than the first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit, and the rotating body has the long circumferential portion in a portion in the outer surface included in the first area and has the short circumferential portion in a portion in the outer surface included in the second area.
Hirotaka teaches the coating die includes a first area that discharges the paint in a predetermined first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit and a second area that is displaced from the first area in the first direction and discharges the paint in a second discharge amount less than the first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit, and the rotating body has the long circumferential portion in a portion in the outer surface included in the first area and has the short circumferential portion in a portion in the outer surface included in the second area. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the rotating body a long circumferential portion having a predetermined first length in a circumferential direction of the rotational axis at a predetermined position in the outer surface, and has a short circumferential portion having a second length shorter than the first length in the circumferential direction of the rotational axis at a position in the outer surface displaced from the long circumferential portion in the first direction, the long circumferential portion forming the first slit longer than the first slit formed by the short circumferential portion, because Hirotaka teaches this would suppress stagnation in the manifold and form a coating film having a more uniform thickness on the object to be coated. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
Regarding claim 3, Koichiro teaches a supply port (30) that supplies the paint to the manifold from outside. ( See Koichiro, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, and MT page 2, paragraphs 5-6.)
Koichioro does not explicitly teach a position of the long circumferential portion in the first direction overlaps a position of the supply port in the first direction.
Hirotaka teaches a position of the long circumferential portion in the first direction overlaps a position of the supply port in the first direction. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a position of the long circumferential portion in the first direction overlaps a position of the supply port in the first direction, because Hirotaka teaches this would suppress stagnation in the manifold and form a coating film having a more uniform thickness on the object to be coated. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
Regarding claim 4, Koichiro does not explicitly teach the long circumferential portion is disposed in a central portion of the rotating body in the first direction.
Hirotaka teaches a position of the long circumferential portion in the first direction overlaps a position of the supply port in the first direction. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a position of the long circumferential portion in the first direction overlaps a position of the supply port in the first direction, because Hirotaka teaches this would suppress stagnation in the manifold and form a coating film having a more uniform thickness on the object to be coated. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
Regarding claim 5, Koichiro does not explicitly teach wherein the coating die includes a first area that discharges the paint in a predetermined first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit and a second area that is displaced from the first area in the first direction and discharges the paint in a second discharge amount less than the first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit, the coating die also has a second slit through which the paint directed from the manifold toward the discharge port passes, and the second slit has a small resistance portion that corresponds to the first area and generates a predetermined first flow resistance in the paint and a large resistance portion that corresponds to the second area and generates a second flow resistance larger than the first flow resistance in the paint.
Hirotaka teaches the coating die includes a first area that discharges the paint in a predetermined first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit and a second area that is displaced from the first area in the first direction and discharges the paint in a second discharge amount less than the first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit, the coating die also has a second slit through which the paint directed from the manifold toward the discharge port passes, and the second slit has a small resistance portion that corresponds to the first area and generates a predetermined first flow resistance in the paint and a large resistance portion that corresponds to the second area and generates a second flow resistance larger than the first flow resistance in the paint. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the coating die includes a first area that discharges the paint in a predetermined first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit and a second area that is displaced from the first area in the first direction and discharges the paint in a second discharge amount less than the first discharge amount in the absence of the first slit, the coating die also has a second slit through which the paint directed from the manifold toward the discharge port passes, and the second slit has a small resistance portion that corresponds to the first area and generates a predetermined first flow resistance in the paint and a large resistance portion that corresponds to the second area and generates a second flow resistance larger than the first flow resistance in the paint, because Hirotaka teaches this would suppress stagnation in the manifold and form a coating film having a more uniform thickness on the object to be coated. (See Hirotaka, Fig. 5, page 8, third paragraph to page 9, fourth paragraph, page 10, paragraphs 1-3.)
Regarding claim 6, Koichiro teaches the coated body is a current collector of a secondary battery, and the paint is an electrode slurry of the secondary battery.
Hirotaka teaches the coated body is a current collector of a secondary battery, and the paint is an electrode slurry of the secondary battery. (See Hirotaka, page 6, MT third paragraph.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the coated body is a current collector of a secondary battery, and the paint is an electrode slurry of the secondary battery, because Hirotaka teaches this enable the substrate to be used to produce a lithium secondary battery. (See Hirotaka, page 6, MT third paragraph.)
Regarding claim 7, Koichiro teaches the coating die (1) that applies a paint to a coated body (SB) according to; and a supply device (T) that supplies the paint to the coating die (1). ( See Koichiro, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, and MT page 2, paragraphs 5-6.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pat. Num. 5,750,159 to Delmore et al teaches dies for extruding one or more fluid streams. US Pat. Num. 5,516,273 to Delmore and Maier et al teaches dies for extruding a fluid stream.
/KARL KURPLE/
Art Unit 1717
Primary Examiner