DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response with respect to claim objections has been fully considered and is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 70, 88, and 89 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 70-74,76,84-89,90 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG; Li et al. (US 20180205946 A1) in view of LI; Ling et al. (US 20200304780 A1) in view of LEE; Ha Hyun et al. (US 20210297658 A1) in view of ZHAO; Xin et al. (US 20200154100 A1)
Regarding claim 70, Zhang teaches,
A method of processing video data, (¶144 and fig. 1, “video encoder 200”) comprising:
constructing a candidate list (¶144 and fig. 1, video encoder 200, depicted in fig. 1, “configured to construct an intra-prediction candidate list”) for a current block of a video; (¶144, “intra-prediction candidate list for a current chroma block of the video data”) and
performing a conversion (¶144,141, and fig. 1, encoder 200, depicted in fig. 1, configured to “generate a prediction block for the current chroma block” and “output a bitstream”) between the current block (¶144, “current chroma block”) and a bitstream of the video (¶144,147, and 141, generate a prediction block as “encoded video data” (e.g., syntax elements) in an encoded video “bitstream” output including “entropy encoded syntax elements”) based on the candidate list, (¶144, generate a prediction block by using one of the “candidate intra-prediction modes indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list”)
wherein the candidate list (¶144, “intra-prediction candidate list”) is constructed based on a plurality of intra prediction modes, (¶144, intra-prediction candidates indicating “a subset of allowed luminance (luma) candidate intra-prediction modes”) the number of the plurality of intra prediction modes is smaller than a preset value, (¶144,164, and 90, construct an intra-prediction candidate list by adding a “set of one or more angular prediction modes” up until video encoder 200 signals “six most probable modes (MPMs) of an MPM candidate list”) and an intra prediction mode of the current block (¶144 and 164, “intra-prediction modes” for a current block) being derived based on neighbouring samples of the current block, (¶144 and 164, construct the intra-prediction candidate list by adding “intra-prediction modes of one or more neighboring blocks to the current”) or
wherein the candidate list (¶144, “intra-prediction candidate list”) is constructed based on information of a neighbouring block (¶144 and 164, construct the intra-prediction candidate list by adding “intra-prediction modes of one or more neighboring blocks to the current”) and comprises at least one intra prediction mode for the current block, (¶144, intra-prediction candidates indicating a “subset of allowed luminance (luma) candidate intra-prediction modes”)
But does not explicitly teach,
wherein the candidate list is constructed based on information of a neighbouring block and the neighbouring block is not coded with an intra mode, the information of the neighboring block comprises a propagated intra prediction mode of the neighboring block, and in accordance with a determination that the neighboring block is coded with an inter prediction mode, the propagated intra prediction mode is derived from motion information of the neighboring block, and in accordance with a determination that the neighboring block is coded with an intra block copy (IBC) mode, the propagated intra prediction mode of the neighbouring block is derived from block vector information of the neighbouring block.
However, Li teaches additionally,
wherein the candidate list (¶154, “MPM list”) is constructed based on a plurality of intra prediction modes, (¶154, “directional intra prediction mode adjacent to the derived MPM candidate and a predefined default intra prediction mode may be considered as MPM candidates”) the number of the plurality of intra prediction modes is smaller than a preset value, (¶154, “if the number of derived MPM candidates is smaller than the maximum number of candidates”) and an intra prediction mode of the current block being derived based on neighbouring samples of the current block, (¶154,153, and fig. 7, MPM list configured such that the “6 MPM candidates may be the order of the neighboring block (D), the neighboring block (B), the planar intra prediction mode, the DC intra prediction mode, the neighboring block (E), the neighboring block (C), and the neighboring block (A)”)
wherein the candidate list is constructed (¶154, “MPM list” may consider “directional intra prediction mode adjacent to the derived MPM candidate and a predefined intra prediction mode” as “MPM candidates”) based on information of a neighbouring block (¶154, “directional intra prediction mode adjacent to the derived MPM candidate” considered as MPM candidates) and comprises at least one intra prediction mode for the current block, (¶154, directional and predefined “intra prediction mode” considered as MPM candidates) the neighbouring block is not coded with an intra mode, (¶154, “if the neighboring block coded by the inter prediction of the current block knows the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block, the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block may be used to configure the MPM list”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao which uses neighboring blocks coded by inter prediction as MPM list candidates. This allows for considering neighboring blocks that may have generally similar characteristics with high probability the neighbors have the same intra prediction modes.
Lee teaches additionally,
the information of the neighboring block (¶251 and fig. 9, “spatially neighboring block of the current block”) comprises a propagated intra prediction mode (¶251 and fig. 9, “propagated intra prediction mode”) of the neighboring block, (¶251 and fig. 9, propagated intra prediction mode referring to “the spatially neighboring block of the current block”) and in accordance with a determination that the neighboring block is coded with an inter prediction mode, (¶251 and fig. 9, “spatially neighboring block of the current block is in the inter prediction mode and the motion vector of the block references a block of which the prediction mode is also the inter prediction mode”) the propagated intra prediction mode is derived from motion information of the neighboring block. (¶251 and fig. 9, “intra prediction mode” derived using the “motion vectors of the respective reference blocks” where the motion vector of the block references a block when the “neighboring block of the current block is in the inter prediction mode” and the “prediction mode is also the inter prediction mode”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao which propagates an intra prediction mode when the spatially neighboring block is in the inter prediction mode and the motion vector of the block references a block is also the inter prediction mode. This allows for an implementation that can reduce memory consumption and device complexity.
Zhao teaches additionally,
in accordance with a determination that the neighboring block is coded with an intra block copy (IBC) mode, (¶209 and fig. 16, “determining whether a neighboring sample of the current block belongs to a coding block that is coded using intra block copy (IBC) coding (block 1620)” as depicted in fig. 16) the propagated intra prediction mode of the neighbouring block is derived (¶212 and fig. 16, “encoding the current block using intra prediction coding based on the reference sample” as depicted in fig. 16) from block vector information of the neighbouring block. (¶211 and fig. 16, “selecting the neighboring sample as the reference sample (block 1630)” if the neighboring sample of the current block belongs to a coding block that is coded using IBC coding as depicted in fig. 16)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao which determines if intra block copy is applied. Addition of this teaching utilizes reconstructed reference samples for following block without interference in minimizing the error propagation caused by packet loss.
Regarding claim 71, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 70,
Zhang teaches additionally,
constructing the candidate list (¶144 and 90, “construct an intra-prediction candidate list” such as the intra prediction modes of the “six most probable modes (MPMs) of an MPM candidate list”) to be a most probable mode (MPM) list (¶144 and 90, constructed intra-prediction candidate list of “most probable modes (MPMs)” of six intra prediction modes) for the current block. (¶144, construct an intra-prediction candidate list that indicates intra-prediction modes for the “current block”)
Regarding claim 72, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 71,
Li teaches additionally,
constructing the candidate list (¶152 and Table 3, “generate an MPM list”) by using a first construction process, (¶152 and Table 3, generate an MPM list with an “initialized default MPM list” that is pruned for two neighboring intra modes) the first construction process being the same as a process for constructing a MPM list for a block, (¶152 and Table 3, “initialized default MPM list” based on Table 3 which includes “Default 6 MPM modes = {A, Planar (0) or DC (1), Vertical (50), HOR (18), VER − 4 (46), VER + 4 (54)}” pruned for two neighboring intra modes) an intra prediction mode of the block being signaled in a bitstream, (¶152 and Table 3, “MPM list” generated including an “initialized default MPM list” that is pruned for “two neighboring intra modes”) or
constructing the candidate list by using a second construction process, the second construction process being different from a process for constructing a MPM list.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao which uses neighboring blocks coded by inter prediction as MPM list candidates. This allows for considering neighboring blocks that may have generally similar characteristics with high probability the neighbors have the same intra prediction modes.
Regarding claim 73, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 70,
Li teaches additionally,
during generation of a prediction block of the current block (¶183 and 128, “coding and/or signaling information about related intra prediction modes” including “flag information representing whether the PDPC is applied” that is an intra prediction type information”) or derivation of an optimal intra prediction mode from the candidate list, (¶128 and 183, “flag information representing whether the PDPC is applied” when “decoding apparatus” derives intra prediction mode based on “coding unit syntax”) disabling or conditionally applying (¶128, intra prediction type information may include “intra prediction type index information indicating one of the intra prediction types”) at least one coding tool (¶128, “intra prediction type information”) used for intra prediction. (¶128, intra prediction type index information indicating for “intra prediction types”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao which uses neighboring blocks coded by inter prediction as MPM list candidates. This allows for considering neighboring blocks that have generally similar characteristics with high probability the neighbors have the same intra prediction modes.
Regarding claim 74, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 73,
Li teaches additionally,
the coding tool (¶128, “intra prediction type index information”) comprises at least one of the following:
an X-tap interpolation filter,
a position dependent intra prediction combination (PDPC), (¶128, intra prediction type index information as a “flag information representing whether the PDPC is applied”)
a gradient PDPC, or
a mode dependent intra smoothing (MDIS).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao which indicates an intra prediction type. Indication of this information allows for improving subjective/objective image quality and can improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 76, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 70,
Zhang teaches additionally,
candidate list excludes an intra prediction mode which is not derived based on coded information of at least one neighbouring block, or
wherein the candidate list excludes an intra prediction mode derived based on gradient information of at least one neighbouring sample, or
wherein the candidate list (¶144, “intra-prediction candidate list”) is a subset of a most probable mode (MPM) list for the current block. (¶144 and 90, signaled “one flag (MPM flag)” indicate intra-prediction modes are from “a subset” of “candidate intra-prediction modes” for the current block “is from the MPM candidate list”)
Regarding claim 84, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 70,
Zhang teaches additionally,
deriving an optimal intra prediction mode (¶144, “determine cost values” for “candidate intra-prediction modes”) from the candidate list; (¶144 and 129, “determine cost values for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list” such that mode selection unit 202 calculates “sum of absolute transform difference (SATD) values for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes in the intra-prediction candidate list”) and performing the conversion (¶144, “generate a prediction block”) based on the optimal intra prediction mode. (¶144 and 129, “generate a prediction block for” the current block using the candidate intra-prediction mode indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list “according to the cost values” such that mode selection unit 202 indicates “intra-prediction mode having the lowest SATD value” to cause “intra-prediction unit 226 to generate a prediction block”)
Regarding claim 85, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 70,
Zhang teaches additionally,
coding, into or from a bitstream, (¶52 and 128-129, “Video encoder 200” encodes and “video decoder 300” derives “intra-prediction mode using other information of the bitstream”) information about processing video data (¶52 and 128-129, video encoder 200 encodes and video decoder 300 derives “other information” used to signal an “indication of the intra-prediction mode” for the block) associated with the candidate list. (¶52 and 128-129, derive intra-prediction mode using other information of the bitstream used to “construct an intra-prediction candidate list”)
Li teaches additionally,
pruning the candidate list (Table 3, “pruning is used” during 6 MPM list generation process so that “only unique modes can be included into the MPM list”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao which uses neighboring blocks coded by inter prediction as MPM list candidates. This allows for considering neighboring blocks that may have generally similar characteristics with high probability the neighbors have the same intra prediction modes.
Regarding claim 86, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 70,
Zhang teaches additionally,
encoding the current block into the bitstream (¶141 and 144, “video encoder 200” outputs encoded “bitstream” of generated prediction block for a current block using “one of the candidate intra-prediction modes”) based on the candidate list. (¶144, “candidate intra-prediction modes indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list”)
Regarding claim 87, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 70,
Zhang teaches additionally,
decoding the current block from the bitstream (¶128-129, “video decoder 300, will derive the intra-prediction mode” for the block “using other information of the bitstream”) based on the candidate list. (¶128-129, “other information of the bitstream” used to “construct an intra-prediction candidate list” for the block that provides indication for the intra-prediction mode used to “generate a prediction flock” for the block)
Regarding claim 88, it is the apparatus claim of method claim 70.
Zhang teaches additionally,
An apparatus for processing video data, (¶43 and fig. 1, “Video encoder 200” implemented as encoder circuitry) comprising:
a processing unit; (¶43 and fig. 1, encoder 200 implemented as “one or more microprocessors”) and
a memory (¶43 and fig. 1, “non-transitory computer-readable medium”) coupled to the processing unit (¶43 and fig. 1, microprocessors such as “one or more processors”) and having instructions stored thereon which, (¶43 and fig. 1, techniques implemented in “software” stored in a suitable “non-transitory computer-readable medium”) when executed by the processing unit, (¶43 and fig. 1, techniques that “execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors”) cause the electronic device to perform a method (¶43 and fig. 1, “execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the technique”)
Refer to claim 70 to teach the additional limitations of claim 88.
Regarding claim 89, it is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim of method claim 70.
Zhang teaches additionally,
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (¶43 and fig. 1, “non-transitory computer-readable medium”) storing instructions (¶43 and fig. 1, software stored in a suitable “non-transitory computer-readable medium”) that cause a processor to perform a method (¶43 and fig. 1, “execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques”)
Refer to claim 70 to teach the additional limitations of claim 89.
Regarding claim 90, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 70,
Zhang teaches additionally,
storing the bitstream (¶34, “bitstream including encoded video data”) in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. (¶34,41,36, and fig. 1, “computer-readable medium 110”, such as “storage device 112”, capable of transporting the encoded video data, receiving the output “encoded video data”)
Claim(s) 75 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG; Li et al. (US 20180205946 A1) in view of LI; Ling et al. (US 20200304780 A1) in view of LEE; Ha Hyun et al. (US 20210297658 A1) in view of ZHAO; Xin et al. (US 20200154100 A1) in view of LIN; Yongbing (US 20150382011 A1)
Regarding claim 75, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 72,
Zhang teaches additionally,
the third construction process (¶164, “add at least one direct intra-prediction mode to the intra-prediction candidate list, and add an intra-prediction mode of a neighboring block”) being different from the second construction process. (¶164, add at least one direct intra-prediction mode to the intra-prediction candidate list, and add an intra-prediction mode of a neighboring block, which is different from adding “one or more default intra-prediction modes to the intra-prediction candidate list” and adding “a first set of one or more angular intra-prediction modes” combined with adding “second set of one or more angular intra-prediction modes to the intra-prediction candidate list”)
But does not explicitly teach,
constructing a further candidate list for a further block in the video unit by using a third construction process,
However, Lin teaches additionally,
constructing a further candidate list (¶109, “list constructing system”) for a further block in the video unit (¶109, of multiple “sub blocks of the current prediction block”) by using a third construction process, (¶109, updates the “candidate list by using one sub motion information candidate of at least one available sub motion information candidate of the sub motion information candidates of the multiple sub blocks”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao with list construction of Lin which updates the candidate list with based on multiple sub blocks. This allows for updating the candidate list that reduces the complexity of constructing the list of the current block.
Claim(s) 77 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG; Li et al. (US 20180205946 A1) in view of LI; Ling et al. (US 20200304780 A1) in view of LEE; Ha Hyun et al. (US 20210297658 A1) in view of ZHAO; Xin et al. (US 20200154100 A1) in view of Zhang; Li et al. (US 20140294061 A1)(Zhang2)
Regarding claim 77, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 70,
Zhang teaches additionally,
derivation of an optimal intra prediction mode from the candidate list (¶144 and 129, “determine cost values for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list” such that mode selection unit 202 calculates “sum of absolute transform difference (SATD) values for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes in the intra-prediction candidate list”)
Li teaches additionally,
constructing the candidate list for the current block (¶135, “MPM list may include candidates which are derived based on the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block” of the current block) based on a first number of neighbouring blocks, (¶135, MPM list may include “5 MPM candidates”) the first number being different from a second number of neighbouring blocks (¶135, MPM list may include “6 MPM candidates”) used for constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list, (¶135, “MPM list may include 3 MPM candidates, 5 candidates, or 6 MPM candidates”)
wherein performing the conversion (¶96 and fig. 2, “filter 260” applying filtering to “reconstructed signal” depicted in fig. 2) comprises: during generation of a prediction block of the current block (¶89,96, and fig. 2, “intra predictor 222 may predict the current block by referring to the samples in the current picture” using reconstructed signal after “applying filtering” depicted in fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao which uses neighboring blocks coded by inter prediction as MPM list candidates. This allows for considering neighboring blocks that may have generally similar characteristics with high probability the neighbors have the same intra prediction modes.
wherein performing the conversion comprises: during generation of a prediction block of the current block, performing at least one of the following:
disabling or conditionally applying reference sample filtering;
disabling or conditionally applying reference sample smoothing;
filtering reference samples for intra prediction by using a predefined rule; or
filtering all the reference samples for intra prediction, or
wherein performing the conversion comprises:
during generation of a prediction block of the current block or derivation of an optimal intra prediction mode from the candidate list, no reference sample for intra prediction being filtered.
However, Zhang2 teaches additionally,
wherein performing the conversion (¶211-212, “filtering of neighboring reference samples” during the intra prediction sample generation) comprises: during generation of a prediction block of the current block, (¶211-212, filtering of neighboring reference samples “during the intra prediction sample generation”) performing at least one of the following:
disabling or conditionally applying reference sample filtering; (¶211-212, “filtering of neighboring reference samples during the intra prediction sample generation may further be disabled” for the SDC mode)
disabling or conditionally applying reference sample smoothing;
filtering reference samples for intra prediction by using a predefined rule; or
filtering all the reference samples for intra prediction, (¶194, “neighboring reference samples used for intra prediction sample” generation are “filtered before the generation process at the encoder”)
wherein performing the conversion (¶211-212, “filtering of neighboring reference samples” during the intra prediction sample generation) comprises:
during generation of a prediction block of the current block (¶211-212, filtering of neighboring reference samples “during the intra prediction sample generation”) or derivation of an optimal intra prediction mode from the candidate list, no reference sample for intra prediction being filtered. (¶211-212, neighboring “reference samples may not be filtered during generation of the intra prediction samples”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao with the reference sample filtering of Zhang2 which teaches processes which can filter and disable filtering of reference samples. The technique allows for reducing the parsing burden/complexity of a decoder.
Claim(s) 79,82-83 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG; Li et al. (US 20180205946 A1) in view of LI; Ling et al. (US 20200304780 A1) in view of LEE; Ha Hyun et al. (US 20210297658 A1) in view of ZHAO; Xin et al. (US 20200154100 A1) in view of Poirier; Tangi et al. (US 20210400269 A1)
Regarding claim 79, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teach the limitations of claim 78,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 79,
However, Poirier teaches additionally,
propagated intra prediction mode is derived (¶119-125, “add intra direction in the list of predictors is to propagate the intra direction from the neighboring blocks”) by using at least one of the following:
a left-top position of the neighbour block, (¶119-125 and fig. 22, predictors is to propagate the intra direction from the neighboring blocks by using “top-left directional prediction for TR2BL (Top Right to Bottom Left) PU shape” depicted in fig. 22) or
a center position of the neighbouring block. (¶119-125 and fig. 22, predictors is to propagate the intra direction from the neighboring blocks by using “DC, Planar may be added for all partitions” depicted in fig. 22)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao with the propagated intra direction of Poirier which can add intra directions based on an intra direction from the neighboring block. This allows for a technique that can simplify the pipeline.
Regarding claim 82, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 80,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 82,
However, Poirier teaches additionally,
adding the propagated intra prediction mode (¶120, “add intra direction in the list of predictors is to implicitly add one or more intra direction to the list of predictors depending on the PU shape”) of the neighbouring block into the candidate list (¶120, “add intra direction in the list of predictors”) in an order based on coded information. (¶120, add one or more intra direction to “list of predictors depending on the PU shape”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao with the propagated intra direction of Poirier which can add intra directions based on an intra direction from the neighboring block. This allows for a technique that can simplify the pipeline.
Regarding claim 83, Zhang with Li with Lee with Zhao with Poirier teaches the limitations of claim 82,
Poirier teaches additionally,
adding the propagated intra prediction mode (¶119, “add intra direction in the list of predictors to propagate the intra direction from the neighboring blocks”) into the candidate list (¶119, “list of predictors”) based on the coded information (¶119, intra direction added as “multiple shapes prediction mode” to final predictor list) comprises at least one of the following:
adding the propagated intra prediction mode of the neighbouring block according to a same order as an intra prediction mode of a further neighbouring block coded with an intra mode;
adding the propagated intra prediction mode (¶119, “add intra direction in the list of predictors to propagate the intra direction from the neighboring blocks”) of the neighbouring block (¶119, “the neighboring blocks”) before or after adding the intra prediction mode (¶119, “add intra direction in the list of predictors” to the “final predictor list” instead of discarding a neighboring intra coded block) of the further neighbouring block (¶119, “added” propagated “neighboring block” intra direction into the candidate list) coded with an intra mode; (¶119, “intra modes from neighboring blocks”)
adding the propagated intra prediction mode of the neighbouring block before or after adding the intra prediction mode of the further neighbouring block coded with an intra mode according to a predefined rule; or
if the propagated intra prediction mode of the neighbouring block is derived from a left or above neighbouring block and the intra prediction mode of the further neighbouring block is derived from a left-bottom, right-above or left-above neighbouring block, adding the propagated intra prediction mode of the neighbouring block before or after adding the intra prediction mode of the further neighbouring block.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video data coding of Zhang with the intra prediction of Li with the intra prediction mode of Lee with the intra prediction determination of Zhao with the propagated intra direction of Poirier which can add intra directions based on an intra direction from the neighboring block. This allows for a technique that can simplify the pipeline.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH G USTARIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2483
/JIMMY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2483