Status of the Application
Claims 1-7, 9-11, and 21-22 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and Remarks" filed on 12/22/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 22, the limitation “an output valve” appears to be a double inclusion not supported by the specification. A correction may include “the output valve”.
As per claim 7, the limitation “an indent” appears to be a double inclusion not supported by the specification. A correction may include “the indent”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3474843 to Maris in view of US 9919910 to Gibson.
As per claims 1 and 21-22, Maris discloses a container for dispensinq a beverage comprising:
a top face includinq an aperture (14) configured to receive a lid (12) and the lid closing the aperture to facilitate storage and transportation of contents in the container (Fig. 2-3); and contents being unloaded from the container by pneumatic or other means (Col. 3, Ln. 1-4).
a bottom face comprisinq an indent (14’) for receivinq a spout (14; Fig. 2);
sidewalls extendinq between the top face and the bottom face (Fig. 1), and
wherein the top face comprises one or more recesses (21) and the bottom face of the container comprises one or more downwardly extendinq feet (13), the or each foot beinq confiqured to be received by a respective recess in the top face of a like container upon which it is stacked (Fig. 2).
Maris does not disclose: particular structure of the “pneumatic or other means” comprising the lid for closing the aperture and allowing gas to be introduced into the container through an input valve in the lid; an output valve for dispensing the beverage from the container, the output valve attachable to a tube positionable in the container; milk stored in the container can be dispensed under pressure by the gas introduced into the container; a “fitting” such that the lid is adapted to allow milk to be extracted from the container through the lid via the fitting.
Gibson teaches a container for dispensing a beverage comprising: a lid (12, 42, 50) for closing an aperture and allowing gas to be introduced into the container through an input valve (20) in the lid (Fig. 10); an output valve (88, Fig. 10-depiction of common faucet like also disclosed in US 5794823 and US 7178699) for dispensing the beverage from the container, the output valve attachable to a tube (76) positionable in the container (Fig. 8), wherein the lid comprises the input valve and the output valve and wherein the lid and tube constitute a “fitting” as claimed. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed, in view of the aforementioned silence of Maris, to modify Maris according to the aforementioned teachings from Gibson to provide the pneumatic means for unloading the contents from the container.
The Maris-Gibson combination does not explicitly disclose milk stored in the container can be dispensed under pressure. However, it has been held that: a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art; and, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP §2114(II). Further, expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. See MPEP §2115. In addition, functional claim language that is not limited to a specific structure covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. Therefore, if the prior art discloses a device that can inherently perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 may be appropriate. See MPEP §2114(IV). Furthermore, when the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP §2112.01(I). The Maris-Gibson combination discloses the claimed structure and is capable of being using to dispense milk from the container, under pressure.
As per claims 2-4, Maris discloses the claimed structure except for the particular size of the container. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have formed the container according to the claimed parameters since it has been generally held that where the structural limitations of a claim have been disclosed, the mere change in shape and/or size is considered to be routine to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04. Furthermore it would have been an obvious matter of design choice well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to form the container according the claimed parameters, depending on variables such as the capacity of the container and a desired fit between the container and adjacent structure (i.e. cabinet). Moreover, there is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed parameters present a novel or unexpected result (see MPEP §2144.05(III)). More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art. In re Dreyfus, 22 CCPA (Patents) 830, 73 F.2d 931, 24 USPQ 52; In re Waite et al., 35 CCPA (Patents) 1117, 168 F.2d 104, 77 USPQ 586. Such ranges are termed "critical" ranges, and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality. In re Swenson et al., 30 CCPA (Patents) 809, 132 F.2d 1020, 56 USPQ 372; In re Scherl, 33 CCPA (Patents) 1193, 156 F.2d 72, 70 USPQ 204. However, even though applicant's modification results in great improvement and utility over the prior art, it may still not be patentable if the modification was within the capabilities of one skilled in the art. In re Sola, 22 CCPA (Patents) 1313, 77 F.2d 627, 25 USPQ 433; In re Normann et al., 32 CCPA (Patents) 1248, 150 F.2d 627, 66 USPQ 308; In re Irmscher, 32 CCPA (Patents) 1259, 150 F.2d 705, 66 USPQ 314.
As per claim 5, Maris further discloses a spout (14) extending upwardly from a top face of the container (Fig. 1), the spout comprising said aperture.
As per claim 6, Maris further discloses the spout comprises a circumferentially extending lip (6 threads). Maris does not explicitly disclose the lip configured to releasably engage a closure in a snap-fitting manner to close the aperture. However, it has been held that: a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art; and, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP §2114(II). In addition, functional claim language that is not limited to a specific structure covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. Therefore, if the prior art discloses a device that can inherently perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 may be appropriate. See MPEP §2114(IV). Furthermore, when the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP §2112.01(I). Maris discloses the claimed lip and is capable of being used to releasably engage the lip with a closure in a snap-fitting manner to close the aperture.
As per claim 7, and as the examiner can understand the claim, Maris further discloses a bottom of the container comprises an indent configured to receive a spout of a like container upon which it is stacked (Fig. 2).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3474843 to Maris in view of US 9919910 to Gibson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 3905522 to Johnston.
As per claim 9, Maris further discloses each downwardly extending foot defines a well in a bottom interior surface of the container in which contents can collect (Fig. 4a-5), and from which contents can be extracted. Maris does not disclose contents being extracted from each well via the tube. Johnston teaches a distal end of the tube arranged in a recess formed in a bottom interior surface of a container (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the Maris-Gibson combination set forth with regard to claim 1 according to the aforementioned teachings from Johnston to extract contents collected in the wells of Maris for reasons including to prevent waste.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3474843 to Maris in view of US 9919910 to Gibson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 10099822 to Slattery.
As per claim 10, the Maris-Gibson combination discloses the claimed invention except for internal surface of the container being sloped towards the aperture. Slattery teaches a container comprising an internal surface slope towards the aperture to facility drainage (Col. 6 , ln. 4-7). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Maris-Gibson combination according to the aforementioned teachings from Slattery to similarly facilitate drainage through the aperture. The Maris-Gibson-Slattery combination does not explicitly disclose the sloped internal surface functioning to “facilitate cleaning of the container through the aperture”. However, it has been held that: a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art; and, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP §2114(II). In addition, functional claim language that is not limited to a specific structure covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. Therefore, if the prior art discloses a device that can inherently perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 may be appropriate. See MPEP §2114(IV). Furthermore, when the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP §2112.01(I). The Maris-Gibson-Slattery combination discloses the claimed structure and is capable of being used as claimed, i.e. such that the sloped internal surface functions to “facilitate cleaning of the container through the aperture”.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3474843 to Maris in view of US 9919910 to Gibson as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of US 3076576 to Cornelius.
As per claim 11, the Maris-Gibson combination discloses the claimed invention except for the aperture being elliptical. Cornelius teaches a container comprising a spout having an elliptical aperture and a handle operated lid closure (Col. 2, ¶ 3) having an elliptical shape complementing the aperture (Col. 2, ¶ 1-2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Maris-Gibson combination according to the aforementioned teachings from Cornelius for reasons including to provide a handle operated lid closure.
Response To Arguments
In regards to the drawing objections and claim rejections under 35 USC § 112 issued in the office action dated 07/21/25, the amendment filed 12/22/25 appropriately addresses all and they are withdrawn. The claim rejections under 35 USC § 112 contained in this office action are necessitated by the amendment filed 12/22/25.
In regards to the claim rejections under prior art, the remarks have been fully considered but are moot, except for the arguments below, because they do not pertain to the grounds of rejections contained in this office action.
Maris does not disclose a bottom face comprising an indent for receiving a spout.
In response to (A), and as set forth herein, Maris discloses inter alia a bottom face comprisinq an indent (14’) for receivinq a spout (14; Fig. 2);
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record in FORM PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Paul Durand, can be reached at (571) 272-4459.
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Data Portal (PDP). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PDP) system. For more information about the PDP system, see https://opsg-portal.uspto.gov/OPSGPortal/. Should you have questions on access to the PDP system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/RG/
Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/FREDERICK C NICOLAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754