DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 09/16/2026 have been fully considered.
Claims 1-5 and 7-14 are pending for examination. Claim 6 is cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: In regard to claim 9, line 1, “(3)” should be deleted. In regard to claim 13, line 2, “1” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims that depend directly or indirectly from claim 11 is/are also rejected due to said dependency.
In regard to claim 11, the claim recites “A method of assembling an early pregnancy testing pen casing of claim 1, comprising: arranging an early pregnancy testing strip in an accommodating space, arranging a water absorption piece in the accommodating space, wherein the accommodating space is formed between a first casing body and a functional section of a second casing body when the first casing body and the second casing body are buckled together, the second casing body further comprising a handheld section, and wherein, when arranged, one end of the water absorption piece is connected to the early pregnancy testing strip and the other end of the water absorption piece extends out from the functional section of the second casing body”. It is unclear whether “an early pregnancy testing strip”, “an accommodating space”; “a water absorption piece”, “a first casing body”, “a functional section of a second casing body”, and “a handheld section” refer to the same elements recited in claim 1 above or they are additional elements. Clarification is requested by amendments. If they are the same, it is suggested that “the testing strip”, “the accommodating space”, “the water absorption piece”…etc. should be set forth accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN206876717U – applicant cited and the machine-translated document is attached) in view of Laverack et al. (USPGPUB 2020/0114348 – cited in previous action). In regard to claim 1, Zhao discloses an early pregnancy testing pen casing (Figs. 1-6 and associated descriptions; hCG testing pen, pages 1-2 of the translation), comprising a first casing body (element(s) 300, Figs. 3-6 and associated descriptions) and a second casing body (element(s) 100, Figs. 1 and 4-6 and associated descriptions), wherein the second casing body is divided into a functional section (section to the left of the curved line near number 110, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; similar line can be found in Fig. 4) and a handheld section (section of element 104, Figs.1 and 4 and associated descriptions) arranged in a length direction of the second casing body (Figs. 1 and 4 and associated descriptions); the first casing body is opposite to the functional section so that an accommodating space for accommodating a test strip (space between elements 100 and 300 when assembled, Figs. 1 and 3-6 and associated descriptions; test strips fixing structures, pages 2-5 of the translation) is formed between the first casing body and the functional section (Figs. 1 and 3-6 and associated descriptions); the handheld section configured to be held by a user (element 104, Figs.1 and 4 and associated descriptions); and the handheld section does not overlap the first casing body (Figs. 3-6 and associated descriptions) wherein the first casing body and the second casing body are each an integrally formed piece (Fig. 3-4 and associated descriptions).
Zhao does not specifically discloses the accommodating space has an opening for a water absorption piece located in the accommodating space to extend out of the early pregnancy testing pen casing through the opening and the first casing body and the second casing body are each an integrally formed plastic piece.
Laverack teaches an early pregnancy testing pen casing (Figs. 1-10 and associated descriptions), comprising a first casing body (element 33, Figs. 5-6 and associated descriptions) and a second casing body (element 34, Figs. 1-6 and associated descriptions); the first casing body is opposite to the second casing body so that an accommodating space for accommodating a test strip (space associated with elements 29 and 55 for holding test strip 7 and absorbent wick 55, Figs. 2-4, 7A, 9E, and 10 and associated descriptions); the accommodating space has an opening for a water absorption piece located in the accommodating space to extend out of the early pregnancy testing pen casing through the opening (absorbent wick 55 extended through the opening formed between elements 33d and 34d, Figs. 3-4 and 7-8 and associated descriptions; [0166]) and the first casing body and the second casing body are each an integrally formed plastic piece ([0084]; plastic material and the upper and lower parts are manufactured separately using an injection moulding technique and have complementary inner surface features which permit the assemblage thereof to form the main body, [0163]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the liquid receiving structure(s) and associated configurations/ elements and casing body manufacturing methods (Zhao) with the liquid receiving structure(s) and associated configurations/ elements and casing body manufacturing methods as taught by Laverack to yield predictable results, since both configurations and manufacturing methods are alternative equivalent configurations for receiving and providing liquid sample to the test strips and equivalent methods to from casing bodies. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
In regard to claims 2-4, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses the second casing body has a casing plate (element 104, Figs. 1 and 4 and associated descriptions of Zhao; element 9, Figs. 1-10 and associated descriptions of Laverack), and a plate surface of the casing plate located at the handheld section is provided with gripping elements arranged in patterns (surface with patterns, Figs. 1 and 4 and associated descriptions; skid-proof veins and pit, 10th paragraph on page 6 of the translation of Zhao; surfaces 16 and/or 18 and elements 15 and/or 19, Figs. 3-8 and associated descriptions; [0126]; wherein the ridges 15 and gripping elements 19 could be exchanged with one or more concave features such as indentations or the like ([0126] of Laverack) but does not specifically disclose the plate surface of the casing plate located at the handheld section is provided with at least one through hole running through up and down; there are a plurality of through holes that are arranged in the length direction of the second casing body; the through hole extends in a width direction of the second casing body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that through holes provide similar gripping functions, reduce the weight and/or material of the handle and provide heat dissipation (e.g. Wen et al., USPGPUB 2007/0101588). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the gripping configurations with through holes in similar patterns to yield predictable results, since through holes are alternative equivalent gripping configurations. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
In regard to claim 7, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses the first casing body is a lower casing, and the second casing body is an upper casing; or the first casing body is an upper casing, and the second casing body is a lower casing (Figs. 3-5 and associated descriptions of Zhao; it is also noted that upper or lower can be defined according to relative position/ orientation of the pen).
In regard to claim 8, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses the first casing body and the second casing body are fixed together through at least locating holes and locating pillars in pairs (holes and associated pillars, Figs. 3-4 and associated descriptions).
In regard to claim 9, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses an early pregnancy testing pen (referring to claim 1 above), including the test strip (referring to claim 1 above), the water absorption piece (referring to claim 1 above) and the early pregnancy testing pen casing according to claim 1 (referring to claim 1 above)), wherein the test strip is arranged in the accommodating space (referring to claim 1 above); a part of the water absorption piece is located in the accommodating space (referring to claim 1 above), and the water absorption piece extends out of the early pregnancy testing pen casing through an opening of the accommodating space (referring to claim 1 above); and the water absorption piece is connected to the test strip (referring to claim 1 above; [0166] of Laverack).
In regard to claim 10, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses a method of testing a urine sample, comprising applying the urine sample to the water absorption piece of the early pregnancy testing pen of claim 1 (referring to claim 1 above; urine, third paragraph in page 8 of the translation of Zhao; urine, [0005] and [0007] of Laverack).
In regard to claim 11, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses a method of assembling an early pregnancy testing pen casing of claim 1 (referring to claim 1 above), comprising: arranging a water absorption piece in the accommodating space (referring to claims 1 and 9 above), wherein the accommodating space is formed between a first casing body and a functional section of a second casing body (referring to claim 1 above) when the first casing body and the second casing body are buckled together (referring to claim 1 above; Figs. 3-5 and associated descriptions of Zhao), the second casing body further comprising a handheld section (referring to claim 1 above), and wherein, when arranged, one end of the water absorption piece is connected to the early pregnancy testing strip and the other end of the water absorption piece extends out from the functional section of the second casing body (referring to claims 1 and 9 above).
In regard to claim 12, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses the first casing body and the second casing body are buckled together through at least locating holes on the first casing body and locating pillars on the second casing body (referring to claims 1 and 8 above).
In regard to claim 13, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses the first casing body 1 and the second casing body are buckled together through at least locating holes on the second casing body and locating pillars on the first casing body (holes 112 and pillars 305, Figs. 1 and 3-5 and associated descriptions of Zhao).
In regard to claim 14, Zhao as modified by Laverack discloses a method of testing a urine sample, comprising applying the urine sample to the water absorption piece of the early pregnancy testing pen assembled according to claim 11 (referring to claims 1 and 10 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Zhao further discloses reinforcing ribs (element 302, Fig. 3 and “Further, the side surface of the second shell 300 to the middle clapboard is provided with a reinforcing rib 302, such that the second shell 300 structure more stable” on page 5 of the translation). The prior art of record does not teach or suggest “reinforcing ribs in one-to-one correspondence to the through holes are further arranged in the handheld section, the reinforcing ribs are arranged on the casing plate; the reinforcing ribs are each arranged outside a boundary of the corresponding through hole away from the functional section, or outside a boundary of the corresponding through hole facing the functional section; and the reinforcing ribs extend in the width direction of the second casing body, and the reinforcing ribs and the first casing body are located on a same side of the plate surface of the casing plate” in combination with the other claimed elements/ steps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of Remarks, filed on 09/16/2026, with respect to claims 1-9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment and argument with respect to claims 1 and new claims 10-14 filed on 09/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed to be moot in views of the new grounds of rejection. It is noted that the applicant alleged that the prior art of Laverack comprises a separate cap element. According to MPEP 2111.03, the claims recite transitional phrase “comprising” which is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. The claims of present application do not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHU CHUAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791