DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to amended application filed on 12/19/2025.
Claims 2, and 10-15 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3-9, and 16-23 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 8, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Double Patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection(s) of claims under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments, see Remarks pgs. 9-12, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1-9 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Publication No. 2009/0014868 A1 issued to Barth et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2019/0329500 A1 issued to Tobia et al in view of US Patent No. 7, 058,466 B2 issued to Manuel et al and further in view of US Publication No. 2009/0014868 A1 issued to Barth et al.
1. Tobia et al discloses a method comprising:
obtaining a first three-dimensional (3D) model of a first portion of a component to be fabricated by a 3D fabrication system, the first 3D model (See: [0022] The value may be a first value and the obtaining device may be further configured to obtain a second value associated with the characteristic of the 3D object prior to processing the 3D object at the given processing stage. The controller may be further configured to generate the alert or signal the malfunction based on the first value and the second value. The alert generated or the malfunction signaled may be based on the first value, the second value, and an expected value; [0028] The obtaining device may be further configured to obtain the second value by measuring the 3D object prior to processing of the 3D object at the given processing stage. The obtaining device may be a contact or non-contact measuring device, or a combination thereof, and the obtaining device may be further configured to obtain the second value from (i) a 3D object model employed by the printing stage, (ii) the 3D object prior to processing of the 3D object at the given processing stage, (iii) the processed object, or (iv) a combination thereof);
obtaining a second 3D model of a second portion of the component, the second 3D model (See: [0022] The value may be a first value and the obtaining device may be further configured to obtain a second value associated with the characteristic of the 3D object prior to processing the 3D object at the given processing stage. The controller may be further configured to generate the alert or signal the malfunction based on the first value and the second value. The alert generated or the malfunction signaled may be based on the first value, the second value, and an expected value; [0028] The obtaining device may be further configured to obtain the second value by measuring the 3D object prior to processing of the 3D object at the given processing stage. The obtaining device may be a contact or non-contact measuring device, or a combination thereof, and the obtaining device may be further configured to obtain the second value from (i) a 3D object model employed by the printing stage, (ii) the 3D object prior to processing of the 3D object at the given processing stage, (iii) the processed object, or (iv) a combination thereof), wherein the second portion is to be joined with the first portion to form the component (See: [0076] As such, the material compositions of the 3D printed object 346, the support structure(s) 354, and the interface layer 356 may facilitate providing structural support to the printed 3D object 346 through the physical and material property changes that occur during fabrication, debinding, and sintering, while facilitating removal of the support structure(s) 354 from the printed 3D object 346 with a reduced likelihood of damage and/or deformation to the final part);
modifying the first 3D model to include a first digital rib along a segment, the first digital rib including holes (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0097] The at least one value 236 may be at least one first value and the obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain at least one second value associated with the at least one characteristic of the object prior to processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value and the at least one second value. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value, the at least one second value, and at least one expected value. The obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain the at least one second value by measuring the 3D object 224 prior to the processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226; [0099] The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the at least one parameter by determining at least one difference between the at least one first value and the at least one second value and adjusting the at least one parameter based on the at least one difference determined); and
modifying the second 3D model to include a second digital rib along a segment, the second digital rib including protrusions that are to be aligned with the holes (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0097] The at least one value 236 may be at least one first value and the obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain at least one second value associated with the at least one characteristic of the object prior to processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value and the at least one second value. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value, the at least one second value, and at least one expected value. The obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain the at least one second value by measuring the 3D object 224 prior to the processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226; [0099] The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the at least one parameter by determining at least one difference between the at least one first value and the at least one second value and adjusting the at least one parameter based on the at least one difference determined).
Tobia et al does not disclose a first digital attachment edge corresponding to a first attachment edge on the first portion and second digital attachment edge corresponding to a second attachment edge on the second portion. Manuel et al discloses disclose a first digital attachment edge corresponding to a first attachment edge on the first portion and second digital attachment edge corresponding to a second attachment edge on the second portion (See: Col. 5 line53 through Col. 6 line 15, Particularly, edges 58, 60 of the tool partition 51 respectively correspond to, (e.g., are used to construct in the following manner), in this example, edges 62 and 64 of section 66. Each edge 62, 64 is made to have a substantially identical height or "z-direction value" equal. That is, various points 70 are defined by the model creator and processor 12 along the edge 60. Similarly, various points 72 are defined along the edge 58. Each point 72 uniquely corresponds with or to (e.g., is substantially co-linear to) one of the points 70. The height or the "z-dimension" value for each pair of corresponding points 70, 72 is compared and the point 70, 72 having the lowest height is "modified" by having its height increased to equal the height of the other point 70, 72. In this manner, each pair of corresponding points 70, 72 has a substantially identical height which is equal to the largest height associated with or provided by the points 70, 72, and these modified points 70, 72 cooperatively define modified edges 58, 60. In one non-limiting embodiment, there is substantially no space between points 70 and substantially no space between points 72. The points 70, 72 are then respectively used to define the height of edges 64, 62. That is, the two modified edges 58, 60 (e.g., the modified points 70, 72) are overlayed to form a two dimensional edge and edges 64, 62 are made to be substantially similar to this two dimensional edge. In some alternate embodiment, the foregoing procedure is modified by causing the opposing edges 62, 64, at each pair of corresponding points 72, 70, to have a height which is substantially identical to the greatest height of any surface or portion of the model which resides between these pairs of corresponding points).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine forming tool as taught by Manuel et al to additive manufacturing method of Tobia et al would be to selectively and efficiently creating a tool by the use of a mathematical and/or computer generated model of the tool and the creation of sections which are later operatively bound (Manuel et al, Field of The Invention).
Neither Tobia et al nor Manuel et al discloses but Barth et al discloses the second portion to be detachably joined with the first portion to form the component after the first and second portions have been fabricated by a 3D fabrication system (See: [0006] fabricating a first portion of the IC chip, the first portion including a structure from a selected level of back-end-of-line (BEOL) processing up to an end of the BEOL processing, the first portion providing a specific functionality when combined with a second portion of the IC chip, fabricating the second portion of the IC chip, the second portion including structure from a device level of the IC chip up to the selected level of the BEOL processing, the second portion having a structure providing generic IC chip functionality; and combining the first portion and the second portion to form the IC chip; par [0017] As shown in FIG. 1, first portion 100 and second portion 110 may be fabricated at a single first location 130. Alternatively, first portion 100 may fabricated at first location 130 and second portion 110 may be fabricated at a second, different location 132); when the first and second portions are joined together to form the component; and causing the 3D fabrication system to fabricate the first and second portions independently from one other such that the first and second portions are not joined together during fabrication, the first and second portions respectively fabricated in accordance with the modified first and second 3D models (See: par [0006] fabricating a first portion of the IC chip, the first portion including a structure from a selected level of back-end-of-line (BEOL) processing up to an end of the BEOL processing, the first portion providing a specific functionality when combined with a second portion of the IC chip, fabricating the second portion of the IC chip, the second portion including structure from a device level of the IC chip up to the selected level of the BEOL processing, the second portion having a structure providing generic IC chip functionality; and combining the first portion and the second portion to form the IC chip), wherein after having been fabricated, the first and second portions are detachably joinable together to form the component, via the protrusions fitting into the holes (See: par [0006] A first aspect of the disclosure provides a method of manufacturing an integrated circuit (IC) chip, the method comprising: fabricating a first portion of the IC chip, the first portion including a structure from a selected level of back-end-of-line (BEOL) processing up to an end of the BEOL processing, the first portion providing a specific functionality when combined with a second portion of the IC chip, fabricating the second portion of the IC chip, the second portion including structure from a device level of the IC chip up to the selected level of the BEOL processing, the second portion having a structure providing generic IC chip functionality; and combining the first portion and the second portion to form the IC chip; par [0016] First portion 110 also includes a plurality of connectors (140 as shown in FIG. 1) adapted to couple to the plurality of dielectric layers to the base (second) portion 110 in such a manner to form a complete IC chip 120. Base (second) portion 110 includes complementary connectors (142 as shown in FIG. 1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine manufacturing an IC chip in portions as taught by Barth et al to additive manufacturing method of Tobia et al would be to have a structure providing generic IC chip functionality and combine the first portion and the second portion to form the IC chip (Barth et al, par [0006]).
2. Canceled.
3. Tobia et al discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: modifying the first 3D model to cause the first digital rib to include a first chamfer (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0097] The at least one value 236 may be at least one first value and the obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain at least one second value associated with the at least one characteristic of the object prior to processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value and the at least one second value. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value, the at least one second value, and at least one expected value. The obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain the at least one second value by measuring the 3D object 224 prior to the processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226; [0099] The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the at least one parameter by determining at least one difference between the at least one first value and the at least one second value and adjusting the at least one parameter based on the at least one difference determined); and
modifying the second 3D model to cause the second digital rib to include a second chamfer, wherein the second chamfer is complementary to the first chamfer (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0097] The at least one value 236 may be at least one first value and the obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain at least one second value associated with the at least one characteristic of the object prior to processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value and the at least one second value. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value, the at least one second value, and at least one expected value. The obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain the at least one second value by measuring the 3D object 224 prior to the processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226; [0099] The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the at least one parameter by determining at least one difference between the at least one first value and the at least one second value and adjusting the at least one parameter based on the at least one difference determined).
4. Tobia et al discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: modifying the first 3D model to cause the first digital rib to have a first height (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0097] The at least one value 236 may be at least one first value and the obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain at least one second value associated with the at least one characteristic of the object prior to processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value and the at least one second value. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value, the at least one second value, and at least one expected value. The obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain the at least one second value by measuring the 3D object 224 prior to the processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226; [0099] The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the at least one parameter by determining at least one difference between the at least one first value and the at least one second value and adjusting the at least one parameter based on the at least one difference determined; par [0114] For example, the 3D model may represent a 3D object that includes an array of cubes with different heights and ceramic interface pattern. The 3D object may be attached to a shrink raft, and an example embodiment may measure shrinkage versus height that may have an unexpected value due to creep effects and curvature due to pinning. Such measurements may be employed to adjust parameters in the 3D model to overcome such processing effects by determining the printed geometry needed to give the desired final dimension); and modifying the second 3D model to cause the second digital rib to have a second height, wherein the second height differs from the first height (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0097] The at least one value 236 may be at least one first value and the obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain at least one second value associated with the at least one characteristic of the object prior to processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value and the at least one second value. The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the at least one first value, the at least one second value, and at least one expected value. The obtaining device 234 may be configured to obtain the at least one second value by measuring the 3D object 224 prior to the processing of the 3D object 224 at the given processing stage 226; [0099] The controller 238 may be configured to adjust the at least one parameter by determining at least one difference between the at least one first value and the at least one second value and adjusting the at least one parameter based on the at least one difference determined; par [0114] For example, the 3D model may represent a 3D object that includes an array of cubes with different heights and ceramic interface pattern. The 3D object may be attached to a shrink raft, and an example embodiment may measure shrinkage versus height that may have an unexpected value due to creep effects and curvature due to pinning. Such measurements may be employed to adjust parameters in the 3D model to overcome such processing effects by determining the printed geometry needed to give the desired final dimension.
5. Tobia et al discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: modifying the first 3D model to cause the first digital rib to include a section having a U-shape, wherein the second rib corresponding to the second digital rib is to be inserted within the U-shape of a first rib corresponding to the first digital rib (See: [0073] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 300 of an example embodiment of a printed assembly 350. The printed assembly 350 includes a printed 3D object 346 with a shape corresponding to a desired shape of a desired object, and corresponding support structures residing atop a build plate 348 (e.g., a bed of a 3D printer) to support the shape of the printed 3D object 346 during processing).
6. Tobia et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the component comprises a screen of a molded fiber tool, and wherein the method comprises: obtaining a 3D model of a mold of the molded fiber tool (See: [0119] The following discloses various embodiments within which an example embodiment disclosed above may be implemented. The following disclosure emphasizes 3D printing using metal as a build material for forming a three-dimensional object. A variety of commercially available compositions have been engineered for metal injection molding (“MIM”)); and modifying the 3D model of the molded fiber tool to include a digital channel, wherein a first rib corresponding to the first digital rib and a second rib corresponding to the second digital rib are to be inserted into a channel on the mold corresponding to the digital channel when the first portion and the second portion are joined and mounted on the mold (See: [0102] According to an example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter a digital representation of the 3D object (i.e., 3D model), such as a stereolithography (STL) file. According to another example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter slicing parameter(s) of the 3D object, such as slicer parameter(s) of a software slicing tool that cuts the digital representation into layers and generates toolpath commands based on same. According to yet another example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter the toothpath command(s) themselves, such as by altering g-code commands generated by the software slicing tool. Further, adjusting the 3D fabrication may alter a combination of at least two of the digital representation of the 3D object, slicing parameter(s), and toolpath command(s)).
7. Tobia et al discloses the method of claim 6, comprising: modifying the 3D model of the molded fiber tool to cause the digital channel to include digital gripping members, wherein gripping members in the mold corresponding to the digital gripping members are to grip the first rib and the second rib when the first portion and the second portion are joined and mounted on the mold (See: [0102] According to an example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter a digital representation of the 3D object (i.e., 3D model), such as a stereolithography (STL) file. According to another example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter slicing parameter(s) of the 3D object, such as slicer parameter(s) of a software slicing tool that cuts the digital representation into layers and generates toolpath commands based on same. According to yet another example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter the toothpath command(s) themselves, such as by altering g-code commands generated by the software slicing tool. Further, adjusting the 3D fabrication may alter a combination of at least two of the digital representation of the 3D object, slicing parameter(s), and toolpath command(s)).
8. Tobia et al discloses the method of claim 6, comprising: modifying the first 3D model to cause the first digital rib to include a tab (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0073] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 300 of an example embodiment of a printed assembly 350. The printed assembly 350 includes a printed 3D object 346 with a shape corresponding to a desired shape of a desired object, and corresponding support structures residing atop a build plate 348 (e.g., a bed of a 3D printer) to support the shape of the printed 3D object 346 during processing; [0102] According to an example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter a digital representation of the 3D object (i.e., 3D model), such as a stereolithography (STL) file. According to another example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter slicing parameter(s) of the 3D object, such as slicer parameter(s) of a software slicing tool that cuts the digital representation into layers and generates toolpath commands based on same. According to yet another example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter the toothpath command(s) themselves, such as by altering g-code commands generated by the software slicing tool. Further, adjusting the 3D fabrication may alter a combination of at least two of the digital representation of the 3D object, slicing parameter(s), and toolpath command(s)); and modifying the 3D model of the mold to cause the digital channel to include a groove, wherein the groove is complementary to the tab (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0073] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 300 of an example embodiment of a printed assembly 350. The printed assembly 350 includes a printed 3D object 346 with a shape corresponding to a desired shape of a desired object, and corresponding support structures residing atop a build plate 348 (e.g., a bed of a 3D printer) to support the shape of the printed 3D object 346 during processing; [0102] According to an example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter a digital representation of the 3D object (i.e., 3D model), such as a stereolithography (STL) file. According to another example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter slicing parameter(s) of the 3D object, such as slicer parameter(s) of a software slicing tool that cuts the digital representation into layers and generates toolpath commands based on same. According to yet another example embodiment, adjusting the 3D fabrication parameter may alter the toothpath command(s) themselves, such as by altering g-code commands generated by the software slicing tool. Further, adjusting the 3D fabrication may alter a combination of at least two of the digital representation of the 3D object, slicing parameter(s), and toolpath command(s)).
9. Tobia et al discloses the method of claim 6, comprising: modifying the first 3D model to cause the first digital rib to have a bowed shaped (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0073] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 300 of an example embodiment of a printed assembly 350. The printed assembly 350 includes a printed 3D object 346 with a shape corresponding to a desired shape of a desired object, and corresponding support structures residing atop a build plate 348 (e.g., a bed of a 3D printer) to support the shape of the printed 3D object 346 during processing); and
modifying the second 3D model to cause the second digital rib to have the bowed shape (See: [0027] The controller may be further configured to adjust the parameter as a function of the first value, and second value, and an expected value; [0073] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 300 of an example embodiment of a printed assembly 350. The printed assembly 350 includes a printed 3D object 346 with a shape corresponding to a desired shape of a desired object, and corresponding support structures residing atop a build plate 348 (e.g., a bed of a 3D printer) to support the shape of the printed 3D object 346 during processing).
10-15. Canceled.
As per Claims 16-23: The instant claims recite substantially same limitation as the above rejected claims 1, and 3-9, and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KIBROM K. GEBRESILASSIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2189
/KIBROM K GEBRESILASSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2189 02/17/2026