Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Lebby (US 2018/0013053).
Regarding claims 1-3; Lebby teaches a joined body (two YBCO films joined together; abstract) comprising a first superconductor layer (fig. 2, #220; para. 0032), a barrier layer arranged on the first layer (fig. 2, #210; para. 0032), and a second superconducting layer arranged on the barrier layer (fig. 2, #220 (top); para. 0032), the first, second, and barrier layer formed of RECO (para. 0020-0023), a leak current from the first and second layer blocked by the barrier layer (PBCO substantially similar to the barrier layer of the invention would necessarily block leak current; para. 0023).
Regarding claim 8, Lebby teaches that the substrate is STO (para. 0024).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Jin (US 2017/0011823).
Jin teaches a method for producing a joined body (abstract) comprising forming a first layer on a first substrate (para. 0008, 0031), forming a second superconducting layer on a second substrate (para. 0008, 0031), forming a fine crystal layer on any one of the first and second superconducting layer (polycrystalline bulk body; para. 0008, 0021), heating the first and second substrate in a state where the fine crystal is sandwiched between the first and second superconductor layer (para. 0016; fig. 4(g); para. 0060), the first second superconducting layer are formed from REBCO (para. 0031), the fine crystal layer is formed of polycrystal REBCO (para. 0008).
Regarding claim 12, Jin teaches that during the heating the fine crystal layer forms a liquid phase (para. 0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lebby.
Lebby teaches a product as described above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Lebby teaches that the barrier layer is epitaxially formed (para. 0032). While Lebby does not specifically teach the barrier layer is epitaxially grown from the first and the second layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide growing a barrier layer from both the first and second superconducting as Lebby teaches the barrier is epitaxially grown from the superconductor layer and both the first and second superconductor layer are similar.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lebby in view of JP 2012-230868.
Lebby teaches a product as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach that the substrate is metal and the intermediate layer is disposed on the metal substrate and the first superconducting layer is disposed on the intermediate layer.
868, however, teaches a superconductor film (claim 1) comprising a metal substrate and an intermediate layer of STO (para. 0013, 0030) prior to depositing YBCO film (para. 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a metal substrate and an intermediate layer of STO as the underlayer in Lebby in order to provide a configuration known in the art prior to depositing YBCO film as taught by 868.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lebby in view of Matsumoto (US 2006/0258539).
Lebby teaches a product as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach that the c-axis direction of the REBCO first layer is along a direction of a main surface of the substrate on a side of the first superconducting layer or along a direction of a normal line of the main surface.
Matsumoto, however, teaches a superconducting film (abstract) wherein the YBCO is deposited in a c-axis oriented state comprises the c-axis parallel (along) to the normal line of the substrate surface (para. 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the YBCO of Lebby deposited in a c-axis oriented state comprises the c-axis parallel (along) to the normal line of the substrate surface in order to provide a configuration known in the art as taught by Matsumoto.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the c-axis of the first and second barrier layer have the same c-axis orientation and different a-axis orientation.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735