DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 5/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koenig et al. (US 2016/0348318; “Koenig”) in view of Lohnas et al. (US 3,060,044; “Lohnas”).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-5, Koenig teaches a container for fluid material (para [0002] [0086], [0093], Koenig teaches its paper substrate is suitable for making various articles, including container for fluid material), including an outer shell made of paper material (para [0002] [0086]) comprising a base substrate having the following formulation (para [0002] [0020], the paper base substrate, Fig. 1 and Fig. 3):
- a mixture of cellulose fibres, cotton fibres and synthetic fibres (para [0004] [0026], Koenig teaches its paper base substrate is of the mixture of cellulose fibres, cotton fibres and synthetic fibres, meeting the claimed limitations), in the suitable amount of at least about 70% (para [0093]), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of between 50% and 80% by weight;
- at least one polymeric substance (para [0036] [0037], [0091], of which the suitable polymeric substance/the sizing agent includes rosin, i.e., which is resins based on colophony, and includes alkyl ketene dimer, meeting the claimed material limitations of instant claim 4), in the suitable amount of 0.2% to about 1.5% (para [0094]), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of between 1% and 10% by weight;
- at least one inorganic filler (para [0034], [0096], suitable fillers include mineral filler, and calcium carbonate, talc, and mixtures thereof, meeting the claimed material limitations of instant claim 5), in the suitable amount of from about 1 to about 50 parts, per 100 parts of the surface sizing starches, which amount if calculated as % by weight is about 0.99% to 33.3% by weight (para [0096]), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of between 10% and 50% by weight;
- at least one polyol and/or acrylic polymer and/or starch (para [0095] [0101], starch, i.e., surface sizing starch, meeting the claimed limitations), and that the starch is present in at least an outer surface of said outer shell (para [0002] [0086] [0095]), in the suitable amount of from about 1 to about 6 lbs/3 msf (i.e., MSF = thousand square feet, para [0095] and Table 1, basis weight of 165 lbs/3000 ft2), which amount if calculated is about 0.6% to 3.6 % (i.e., 1/165 * 100, to 6/165 *100), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of between 1% and 10% by weight.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Koenig does not specifically teach the inclusion of aluminum salts in the specific manner as instantly claimed, i.e., of between 1% and 30% by weight, and wherein said aluminum salts and said at least one polyol and/or acrylic polymer and/or starch is present in at least an outer surface of said outer shell, as instantly claimed in claim 1.
Lohnas teaches a coating composition as surface sizing for paper and paperboard that is suitable for food packaging applications (col. 1, lines 10-13, col. 4, lines 43-50). Lohnas teaches its coating composition is a starch-based coating that includes modified starch, carboxymethylcellulose, and aluminum salts/hydrated aluminum sulfate in the desired amount (col. 1, lines 55-67). Lohnas teaches its coating composition provides improved grease barrier and moisture resistance (col. 4, lines 43-50). Lohnas teaches that the suitable amount of aluminum salts/hydrated aluminum sulfate is about 2½% by weight (col. 4, lines 56-66), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of between 1% and 30% by weight of claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the container for fluid material of Koenig in view the teachings of Lohnas, to include the coating composition of Lohnas to the outer surfaces of the container shell of Koenig, which coating is a starch-based coating that includes aluminum salts/hydrated aluminum sulfate (col. 1, lines 55-67), and which coating composition is taught by Lohnas as suitable surface sizing for paper and paperboard that is suitable for food packaging applications (col. 1, lines 10-13, col. 4, lines 43-50), to provide a container with improved grease barrier and moisture resistance as taught by Lohnas (col. 4, lines 43-50), which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory container that is the same as instantly claimed, in claims 1 and 4-5.
Regarding claim 3, Koenig teaches the mixture of fibres including cellulose fibres, cotton fibres and synthetic fibres (para [0004] [0026]). Koenig teaches the suitable content of various fibers in the fiber mixtures is a result effective variable and can be adjusted as desired and Koenig teaches the suitable content of synthetic fibres is about 2 to 8% (para [0093]). Koenig does not specifically teach a content of cotton fibres and synthetic fibres is in the specific proportion as instantly claimed, varying between 1% and 10% by weight.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the content amount of the cotton fibres in the mixture of fibres and adjust the content amount of synthetic fibres in the mixture of fibres through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired properties (strength, barrier performance, etc.) of the paper base substrate of the container once produced, which would have arrived at a workable amount of cotton fibres and a workable amount of synthetic fibres, of which the calculated proportion ratio would fall within the broad range as instantly claimed, i.e., between 1% and 10% by weight. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Koenig teaches the suitable grammage of the paper material is about 105 to 300 lbs/ 3000 ft2 (3 msf) (see para [0046], Table 1), of which the grammage if calculated, is about 171 to 488 g/sqm (para [0046], 1 lb = 453 grams, 1 ft2 = 0.09 m2, 453/278 is about 1.627), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of between 50 g/sqm and 900 sqm. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koenig in view of Lohnas as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Tripier et al. (US 9,580,628; “Tripier”).
The limitations of claim 1 are taught by Koenig and Lohnas as discussed above.
Regarding claim 2, Koenig teaches the mixture of fibres including cellulose fibres, cotton fibres and synthetic fibres (para [0004] [0026]). Koenig does not specifically teach the fiber length of cellulose fibres as instantly claimed.
Tripier teaches a fibrous paper material suitable for packaging applications (col. 2, lines 49-59, col. 4, lines 55-67). Tripier teaches its fibrous paper material includes mixtures of cellulose fibres, cotton fiber and synthetic fibres (col. 4, lines 60-65). Tripier teaches the length of the fiber including the cellulose fibres is a result effective variable that affects the material’s air permeability and barrier performance (col. 5, lines 29-40), and teaches that the suitable length of the cellulose fibres is about 0.1 mm to 30 mm (col. 5, lines 11-15), which range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.2 mm and 5.0 mm. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the container for fluid material of Koenig in view the teachings of Tripier, to select and include suitable cellulose fibres with suitable fiber length as taught by Tripier (i.e., which fiber length overlaps with the instantly claimed range, as discussed above), to provide a container with desired barrier performance (col. 5, lines 11-40), which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory container that is the same as instantly claimed. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koenig in view of Lohnas as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Myerscough (US 2017/0240334).
The limitations of claim 1 are taught by Koenig and Lohnas as discussed above.
Regarding claim 7, Koenig does not specifically teach the inclusion of an inner plastic shell as instantly claimed.
Myerscough teaches a container for fluid material that includes an inner plastic shell for containing the fluid material and an outer shell of paperboard (para [0058]), wherein the inner plastic shell is coupled to the outer shell, which in turn acts as a substrate for the inner plastic shell (para [0058] [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the container for fluid material of Koenig in view the teachings of Myerscough, to include to the paperboard container of Koenig with an inner plastic shell coupled to the paperboard/outer shell as taught by Myerscough for the obvious benefit of containing and holding the fluid material therein (para [0058]), which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory container that is the same as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/YAN LAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782