DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“While Lee indeed discloses adjusting the speed of movement through a virtual environment based on user intensity, the claimed invention provides a more advanced and distinct inventive concept: the dynamic adaptation of the visual elements of the virtual training world itself, beyond merely changing the speed of traversal. Lee focuses on adjusting the speed at which a user moves through a pre-defined virtual environment, including moving faster or slower up or down fixed virtual slopes. However, Lee does not teach the dynamic alteration of the visual characteristics of the environment, itself.
According to the claimed invention, the visual rendering of the terrain's inclination is dynamically adapted based on the user's intensity. For example, the present application states:
"Further when moving through the virtual training world it is also possible to update the visual impression to indicate inclination whereby instead of creating the visual impression of just moving straight through the virtual training world the impression can be that the participant is moving through with an upwards inclination. This inclination is also determined based on the intensity input..." (Application as filed, page 3, paragraph 3)…Lee does not teach that the visual representation of a slope itself changes in response to intensity, only that movement speed is adjusted when traversing fixed slopes.
Also, according to the claimed invention, the visual elements within the virtual world, such as objects, are dynamically modified or generated. For example, the present application states:
"Alternative ways of illustrating an intensity change could be changing the appearance of objects being passed or maybe even adding objects based on the detected intensity."
(Application as filed, page 8, paragraph 6).
Lee is silent on any dynamic alteration of object appearance or the addition of objects based on user intensity.
In summary, Lee's disclosure does not provide any teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to dynamically adapt and generate the visual impression of inclination, change the appearance of objects, or add objects in the virtual training world based on received intensity data”
Examiner initially notes that the amended claims now set forth that the visual representation is updated in one of three different manners (in the alternative) and therefore the prior art need only read on one of these three manners.
Lee discloses:
“The calculated rotation speed is used to determine the moving speed of the bicycle in the virtual reality content…Subsequently, the step of generating virtual reality content associated with the indoor exercise device and reflecting the rotational speed of the device is performed (S30). The virtual reality content according to an embodiment is a virtual driving content in which a user drives a virtual bicycle course, and is configured to view surrounding background objects (roads, trees, animals, plants, etc.) while following the course from a first-person view of riding a bicycle…the speed of a bicycle running in virtual reality may be determined based on the calculated rotational speed of the device (pedal/wheel), that is, the faster the user presses the pedal of a fixed bicycle, which is an indoor exercise device, the virtual reality content The speed of the bike is also increased, and if the user presses the pedal slowly, the bike in the virtual reality moves slowly, so that real-time linkage between the exercise equipment and the virtual reality can be implemented”
Accordingly, it is Examiner’s position that, by generating virtual reality content reflecting the rotational speed of the device, the device and method of Lee discloses at minimum that the appearance of objects are changed and objects are added. For instance, as the user drives through the course, background objects are added/generated to create the virtual environment, giving the user the feeling of driving a bicycle in the real world. Furthermore, by speeding up the virtual environment the appearance of the objects change as the rider approaches and passes each of the background objects (e.g. the size of the objects appear larger as the virtual rider gets closer to them and may appear faster and with more of a blur/distortion if riding at high speeds).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 102161646; citations below are in reference to the provided translation of this document).
1. Lee discloses a computer-implemented method for providing an interactive training environment for athletic activities performed by a participant on an exercise machine the method comprising the steps of,
- receiving intensity data describing an intensity of an athletic activity being performed on said exercise machine (Speed: Page 4, Paragraphs 9-10);
- generating, using a computer, a virtual training world and displaying a visual representation of the virtual training world, the visual representation representing a participant position in the virtual training world (Page 5, Paragraphs 5-6)
- continuously updating, using the computer, the visual representation of the virtual training world based on said received intensity input, creating a visual impression that said participant is moving into the virtual training world with a speed or inclination corresponding to the received intensity input (Page 6, Paragraph 5), the visual representation of the virtual training world being continuously updated by changing the visual impression of the inclination, changing appearance of objects being pass or adding objects (it is Examiner’s position that, by generating virtual reality content reflecting the rotational speed of the device, the device and method of Lee discloses at minimum that the appearance of objects are changed and objects are added. For instance, as the user drives through the course, background objects are added/generated to create the virtual environment, giving the user the feeling of driving a bicycle in the real world. Furthermore, by speeding up the virtual environment the appearance of the objects change as the rider approaches and passes each of the background objects (e.g. the size of the objects appear larger as the virtual rider gets closer to them and may appear faster and with more of a blur/distortion if riding at high speeds).
2. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein intensity input comprises intensity data measured on the exercise machine (Page 7, Paragraph 7).
3. Lee discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein intensity data measured on the exercise machine comprises data such as exercise speed or exercise resistance (Page 7, Paragraph 7).
4. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein intensity input comprises intensity data measured on the participant (Page 7, Paragraph 7).
5. Lee discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the intensity data measured on the participant comprises physiological data such as heart rate and oxygen consumption (Page 7, Paragraph 7).
6. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein said intensity data is received by a computer performing said computer implemented method via wireless communication means (Fig 1).
7. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a combination of intensity data being exercise speed and exercise resistance determines the speed at which the participant is moving into the virtual training world and the inclination in which the participant is moving into the virtual training world (Page 6, Paragraph 5 and Page 7, Paragraphs 3-5).
8. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein any change in intensity data result in a corresponding change in at least intensity or inclination in which the participant moves into the virtual training world (Page 6, Paragraph 5 and Page 7, Paragraphs 3-5).
9. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein predefined intervals of intensity are each linked to a specific speed or inclination with which the participant moves into the virtual training world (Page 6, Paragraph 5 and Page 7, Paragraphs 3-5).
10. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the virtual training world illustrates a training surface (“terrain”) on which the participant moves into the virtual training world.
11. Lee discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the training surface is at least partially color-coded or pattern-coded to match a corresponding specific speed or inclination (Page 8, Paragraphs 3 and 8-10).
12. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein the method besides representing a visual representation of the virtual training world also visually represents feedback indicia including at least one of total training time, time in interval, time remaining in workout, target intensity, exercise position, resistance level of the exercise device, actual participant RPM, actual participant heart rate, and actual participant wattage (Page 7, Paragraph 7).
13. Lee discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein the method further interprets said intensity data and associates it with a plurality of virtual training world features (Page 8, Paragraph 8).
14. Lee discloses a system for providing an interactive training environment for athletic activities performed by a participant on an exercise machine, such as a bike trainer, treadmill or a step machine, the system comprising:
a memory (40; Page 8, Paragraph 5); and
at least one processor, coupled to the memory (Page 8, Paragraph 5), operative to perform the steps of:
- receiving intensity data describing an intensity of an athletic activity being performed on said exercise machine (Speed: Page 4, Paragraphs 9-10);
- generating a virtual training world and displaying a visual representation of the virtual training world, the visual representation representing a participant position in the virtual training world (Page 5, Paragraphs 5-6);
- continuously updating the generated virtual training world based on said received intensity input, creating a visual impression that said participant is moving into the virtual training world with a speed and inclination which is corresponding to the received intensity input (Page 6, Paragraph 5), the visual representation of the virtual training world being continuously updated by changing the visual impression of the inclination, changing appearance of objects being passed or adding objects (it is Examiner’s position that, by generating virtual reality content reflecting the rotational speed of the device, the device and method of Lee discloses at minimum that the appearance of objects are changed and objects are added. For instance, as the user drives through the course, background objects are added/generated to create the virtual environment, giving the user the feeling of driving a bicycle in the real world. Furthermore, by speeding up the virtual environment the appearance of the objects change as the rider approaches and passes each of the background objects (e.g. the size of the objects appear larger as the virtual rider gets closer to them and may appear faster and with more of a blur/distortion if riding at high speeds)).
15. Lee discloses a machine readable storage medium containing one or more programs for performing a method of providing an interactive training environment for athletic activities according to claim 1 (Page 5, Paragraph 5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA T KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 12/18/2025