DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/17/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8 and 17) in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The amendment filed on 10/09/2023 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The incorporation by reference of the international patent application and of the *foreign* patent application “International Patent Application Serial No. PCT/CA2022/050557 filed April 11, 2022 entitled "SYSTEM FOR WELDING MULTIPLE BLANKS INTO A COMPONENT" which claims the benefit of and priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,008, filed April 9, 2021” is ineffective as it was added on the date of entry into the national phase, which is after the filing date of the instant application. The filing date of this national stage application is the filing date of associated PCT, in this case *date*, see MPEP 1893.03(b). Therefore, the specification amendment of *date* to include the incorporation by reference is new matter, per MPEP 608.01(p).
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “welding the first and second components of the at least one of the first and second blanks to one another”. The above claim language is unclear. It is unclear if the claim language refers to “a first component of first blank weld to a second component of the first blank”, “a first component of the first blank weld to a second component of the second blank” or “a second component of the first blank weld to a first component of the second blank”.
Claim 3 recites “the first base”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis regarding this claim limitation. It is unclear if the first base (claim 3 at line 2) is the same or different from a base (claim 3 at line 2). For examining purposes, the first base is the same as a base.
Claim 4 recites “the first sheared surface” and “the first and second sheared surfaces”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis regarding these claim limitations.
Claim 4 recites “an upper surface being substantially planar located adjacent to a region of the first sheared surface”
Claim 5 recites “the first sheared surface” and “the first and second surfaces”. It is unclear if the first sheared surface is the same or different from the first and surface. In addition, there is insufficient antecedent basis regarding these claim limitations.
Claim 7 recites “first and second sheared edges”. It is unclear if “first and second sheared edges” is the same or different from first and second cutting edges in claim 1. In addition, there is insufficient antecedent basis regarding these claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Maeno (US 2011/0240612).
Regarding claim 1, Maeno discloses “a method for welding blanks into a component” (abstract and fig.1, first blank B1, B2 and a second blank B3), comprising:
providing “a first fixture subassembly” (26, 27, 28, 30, 31 and 32) and “a second fixture subassembly” (34, 35 and 36), wherein “at least part of one of the first and second fixture subassemblies is moveable relative to the other of the first and second fixture subassemblies along a plane” (push members 26, 30 and 34 are movable along a plane. Figs.13 and 16 show the example of push member 26, 30 movable by spring members 534 and 536);
positioning “a first blank” (B1 and B2) on “the first fixture subassembly” (26, 27, 28, 30, 31 and 32), and positioning “a second blank” (B3) on “the second fixture subassembly” (34, 35 and 36), wherein “at least one of the first and second blanks includes a first component and a second component” (at least first blank B1 and B2 includes a first component B1 and a second component B2);
“welding the first and second components of the at least one of the first and second blanks to one another while positioned on the one of the first and second fixture subassemblies to form the at least one of the first and second blanks” (fig.6, at the first welding station 4. [0105] When the above process of the first positioning station 2 is completed, the rotary platform 18 is rotated by an angle corresponding to the aforementioned pitch and a welding process is executed at the first welding station 4. At the first welding station 4, a laser beam is emitted from the laser head 72 onto the butted junction of the first and second blanks B1 and B2 fixed on the table 20, as illustrated in FIG. 6, to weld the blanks B1 and B2 to each other. The first and second blanks B1 and B2 thus welded together are referred to herein as a blank assembly);
“fixing the first blank to the first fixture subassembly and fixing the second blank to the second fixture subassembly” (using magnet clamps 28, 32 for first blank and magnet clamp 36 for second blank. [01013], i.e., The first blank B1 is then fixed on the table 20 by the magnet clamps 28. [0104], i.e., The second blanks B2 are then fixed on the table 20 by the magnet clamps 32.);
“cutting adjacent edges of the first blank and the second blank along parallel lines to define a first sheared edge on the first blank and a second sheared edge on the second blank” ([0096] The objective of cutting at the cutting station 6 is to rectify the abutting surfaces B2b of the second blanks B2 which have been welded to the first blank B1 at the first welding station 4. There is a possibility that error is caused between the abutting surfaces B2b of the second blanks B2 welded to the first blank B1 and intended design dimensions due to manufacturing errors of the first and second blanks B1 and B2 or error caused at the time of welding the blanks B1 and B2 together. Thus, the cutting is effected in order to improve butting accuracy between the second and third blanks B2 and B3. [0124], the second blank B2 is welded to the first blank B1 at the first welding station 4. At the cutting station 6, not only the abutting surface B2b of the second blank B2 but an abutting surface B1b of the first blank B1, against which the abutting surface B3a of the third blank B3 is to be butted, are cut into the predetermined shape by the cutting device 74. Examiner noted that [0096] and [0124] suggest that the edge of the first blank B2 and edge of the second blank B3. Fig.3 shows the cutting edge B2b and B3a. [0106] On completion of the process at the first welding station 4, the rotary platform 18 is rotated by an angle corresponding to the aforementioned pitch and a cutting process is carried out at the cutting station 6. At the cutting station 6, a laser beam is emitted from the laser head 84, as illustrated in FIG. 7, and moved along the abutting surfaces B2b of the second blanks B2 welded to the first blank B1, to rectify the abutting surfaces B2b so as to have a predetermined shape);
“moving at least part of one of the first and second fixture subassemblies along the plane toward the other of the first and second fixture subassemblies until the first and second sheared edges of the first and second blanks abut one another” ([0107] When the cutting process of the cutting station 6 is completed, the rotary platform 18 is rotated by an angle corresponding to the aforementioned pitch and a positioning process is executed at the second positioning station 8. At the second positioning station 8, the base 90 is elevated by the lifting actuators 88 as shown in FIG. 8, and then the third blank B3 is pushed by the third push members 34 driven by the third push actuator 92 so that the abutting surface B3a of the third blank B3 may abut against the abutting surfaces B2b of the second blanks B2. Simultaneously, the third blank B3 is positioned widthwise by the third guide members 35 driven by actuators, not shown, whereupon the positioning of the third blank B3 is completed. The third blank B3 is then fixed on the table 20 by the magnet clamps 36. The blank assembly and the third blank B3 thus positioned relative to the blank assembly form a blank aggregate.); and
“welding the first and second blanks to one another along the abutting first and second sheared edges” ([0108] After the positioning process of the second positioning station 8 is completed, the rotary platform 18 is rotated by an angle corresponding to the aforementioned pitch and a welding process is performed at the second welding station 10. At the second welding station 10, a laser beam is emitted from the laser head 104 onto the butted junctions between the second blanks B2 and the third blank B3, as illustrated in FIG. 9, to weld the blanks B2 and B3 together. This completes the butt welding of the blanks B1, B2 and B3.
[0109] When the welding process of the second welding station 10 is completed, the rotary platform 18 is rotated by an angle corresponding to the aforementioned pitch and an unloading process is executed at the unloading station 12. At the unloading station 12, the blanks B1, B2 and B3 are released from the fixing force exerted by the magnet clamps 28, 32 and 36. Then, as shown in FIG. 1, the unloading robot 118 attracts the finished article C on which the butt welding has been performed, and transfers the article C to the finished article stockyard 116).
Regarding claim 6, Maeno discloses “cutting edges of the first blank and the second blank includes laser cutting the edges of the first blank and the second blank” (Maeno, the edge of first blank B2 and the second blank B3. [0096] The objective of cutting at the cutting station 6 is to rectify the abutting surfaces B2b of the second blanks B2. [0124], the second blank B2 is welded to the first blank B1 at the first welding station 4. At the cutting station 6, not only the abutting surface B2b of the second blank B2 but an abutting surface B1b of the first blank B1, against which the abutting surface B3a of the third blank B3 is to be butted).
Regarding claim 7, Maeno discloses “welding the first and second blanks to one another along the abutting first and second sheared edges includes laser welding the first and second sheared edges to one another” ([0108] After the positioning process of the second positioning station 8 is completed, the rotary platform 18 is rotated by an angle corresponding to the aforementioned pitch and a welding process is performed at the second welding station 10. At the second welding station 10, a laser beam is emitted from the laser head 104 onto the butted junctions between the second blanks B2 and the third blank B3, as illustrated in FIG. 9, to weld the blanks B2 and B3 together).
Regarding claim 8, Maeno discloses “a shearing device” ([0095] The cutting station 6 is equipped with a laser cutting device 74) for the step of cutting, and “a welding device” ([0099] The second welding station 10 is equipped with a laser welding device 94) “for the step of welding are located on a single robot arm” (examiner interprets the laser head 104 is on a robot arm (hence, slider 102)), and “wherein movement of the cutting and welding devices with the robot arm is trackable relative to the fixture assembly” ([0094], i.e., . The laser head 72 is supported by the slider 70 in such a manner that the laser head 72 is vertically movable and is also movable in directions perpendicular to the moving direction of the slider 70. [0099] The second welding station 10 is equipped with a laser welding device 94. The laser welding device 94, which is substantially identical in construction with the aforementioned laser welding device 62, includes an outer post 96 set up at the welding station 10 and located radially outward of the rotary platform 18, an inner post 98 set up in the central space radially inward of the rotary platform 18, a guide member 100, or a rail, extending between the outer and inner posts 96 and 98, a slider 102 movable along the guide member 100, and a laser head 104 supported on the slider 102 and capable of emitting a laser beam. The laser head 104 is supported by the slider 102 in such a manner that the laser head 104 is vertically movable and is also movable in directions perpendicular to the moving direction of the slider 102. The positioning of the slider 102 relative to the guide member 100 and the positioning of the laser head 104 relative to the slider 102 are controlled by a controller, not shown, in accordance with the blank welding position. Examiner noted that fig.11 shows 94 includes 104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeno (US 2011/0240612) in view of Yamagishi (US 20190009833).
Regarding claim 2, Maeno discloses each of the first and second blanks, the first blanks includes first and second components.
However, Maeno is silent regarding each of the first and second blanks includes one of the first component and one of the second component, and wherein welding the first and second components of the at least one of the first and second blanks to one another includes welding the first and second components of the first blank to one another, and welding the first and second components of the second blank to one another.
Yamagishi teaches “each of the first and second blanks includes one of the first component and one of the second component” (fig.10 shows a first blank includes first component 45 and a second component 65, and a second blank includes a first component 77 and 68), and wherein “welding the first and second components of the at least one of the first and second blanks to one another includes welding the first and second components of the first blank to one another, and welding the first and second components of the second blank to one another” (at weld region 92 for first and second components of first blank and at another weld region 96 for first and second components of the second blank). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Maeno with Yamagishi, by modifying Maeno’s first and second blank components configuration according to Yamagishi’s first and second blank components configuration, to provide desired design specifications for forming vehicle parts.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeno (US 2011/0240612) in view of Evans et al. (US 20160001427).
Regarding claim 4, Maeno discloses “the first fixture assembly” (26, 27, 28, 30, 31 and 32) includes “a first using magnet clamps 28, 32) having an upper surface being substantially planar located adjacent to “a region of the first sheared surface” (refers to one of the cutting surfaces. [0096] The objective of cutting at the cutting station 6 is to rectify the abutting surfaces B2b of the second blanks B2 … the cutting is effected in order to improve butting accuracy between the second and third blanks B2 and B3.), wherein “securing the first blank to the first fixture assembly” (B1 and B2 via magnet clamps 28, 32) includes overlying “the first blank” (B1 and B2) over “the upper surface of the first fixture assembly” (magnet clamps 28, 32) and “using the first the first blank B1 and B2 is toward the upper surface of the magnet clamps 28, 32 to secure and movement of the first blank); wherein “the second fixture assembly” (34, 35 and 36) and includes a second electromagnet” (magnet clamp 36) having “an upper surface” (36 has an upper surface) being substantially planar located adjacent to “a region of the second sheared surface” (refers to another one of the cutting surfaces. [0111] the abutting surfaces B2b of the second blanks B2, against which the third blank B is to be abutted, are cut into the predetermined shape); wherein “securing the second blank to the second fixture assembly includes overlying the second blank over the upper surface of the second fixture assembly” (securing the second blank B3 via the second fixture assembly 34, 35 and 36) and magnet clamp 36) such that “the second blank” (B3) is drawn toward “the upper surface of the second magnet clamp 36) to prevent “the second blank” (B3) from moving “during cutting of the second sheared surface and welding of the first and second sheared surfaces” ([0111] the abutting surfaces B2b of the second blanks B2, against which the third blank B is to be abutted, are cut into the predetermined shape … satisfactory butt welding can be performed on the second and third blanks B2 and B3, so that the weld quality improves. Examiner noted that the abutting surfaces B2b (i.e., between a portion of first blank B2 and a portion of second blank B3 is butt welded).
Maeno is silent regarding activating the first electromagnet and activating second electromagnet.
Evans et al. teaches “activating the first electromagnet and activating second electromagnet” ([0057], i.e., Upon activation of electromagnet 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Maeno with Evans et al., by replacing Maeno’s magnets with Evans et al.’s electromagnet devices, to allow user to turn on and off electromagnets for grip or release metal object at a safe distance.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeno (US 2011/0240612) in view of Nelson et al. (US 20150314363).
Regarding claim 17, Maeno discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for the first and second blanks are components of a door ring of an automobile.
Nelson et al. teaches “the first and second blanks are components of a door ring of an automobile” (abstract, i.e., A method of forming a vehicle body structure includes pre-welding a patch blank to a base blank with a series of resistance spot welds to form a pre-welded blank assembly. After pre-welding, the pre-welded blank assembly is deformed into the vehicle body structure. [0002] The skeleton of a vehicle is comprised of several integrated vehicle body structures. In an automotive vehicle, for instance, the vehicle body structures commonly include underbody cross-members, roof frames, A- and B- and C-pillars, and side members. When secured together, those structures support a wide range of automotive parts including the doors, hood, trunk lid, and quarter panels. The aforementioned vehicle body structures may include a base blank that is reinforced with a patch blank to provide additional structural supported at targeted locations, with each blank conventionally being made of steel. Examiner noted that “a door ring” is a known term and refers to a structural frame which includes pillars). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Maeno with Nelson et al., by utilizing Nelson et al.’s blankets for Maeno’s manufacturing, to provide enhanced structural safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 3, the combination of references above fails to teach the features of “the method further includes positioning the first component of the second blank on the moveable blank support of the second fixture assembly, positioning the second component of the second blank on the stationary blank support of the second fixture assembly, and moving the moveable blank support of the second fixture assembly toward the stationary blank support of the second fixture assembly such that edges of the first and second components of the second blank abut one another”.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761