DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 and 3-12) in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2 and 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Accordingly, claims 1 and 3-12 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 2/12/2024 has been considered. A signed copy is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamann (US 2004/0091557 A1, May 13, 2004, hereafter as “Hamann” in view of Silberstein et al. (WO 2017/191629 A1, Nov. 9, 2017, hereafter as “Silberstein”) and Liu (CN 111450023 A, Jul. 28, 2020, machine translation, hereafter as “Liu”).
The claimed invention is drawn to an elastomeric article (10) comprising: a substrate body (11) defining an inner surface (12) proximal to skin of a user and an outer surface (13) distal to the skin of the user, the substrate body (11) comprises an elastomer; an intermediate coating (15) overlying at least a portion of the inner surface (12), the intermediate coating (15) comprises a therapeutic agent; and an inner coating (14) overlying at least a portion of the intermediate coating (15), wherein the inner coating (14) comprises an extract of soapnuts for preserving the therapeutic agent.
Regarding instant claims 1, 3, 4 and 12, Hamman teaches elastomeric articles such as gloves having multiple layers (Abstract; [0010]; Figures 4, 6 and 22). In a particular embodiment, Hamman teaches an elastomeric glove having an elastomeric substrate layer, an intermediary layer on the substrate comprising a botanical extract, preferably Aloe vera, and a coating surface layer on the intermediary layer containing a non-Aloe vera material ([0156]; Fig. 9). It is noted that a glove is a substrate that has an inner surface proximal to the skin of a user and an outer surface distal to the skin of the user. Hamman also teaches that typically a 5% to 20% solution (water and/or ethanol) of the non-Aloe vera botanical extract is applied, but may range from 1% to 50% solution (based on a 100:1 powder of non-Aloe vera botanical extract) ([0148]).
Hamman is silent to an extract of soapnuts (instant claim 1) as well as a preservative (instant claim 6).
Silberstein teaches anti-bacterial compositions comprising saponins, which act as a preservative (page 2). The saponins include those derived from Sapindus mukorossi (Indian soapberry; Examples 7 and 9). Silberstein teaches that the compositions can contain between 0.01 and 2 wt% saponin (page 4, 4th paragraph). Silberstein teaches said compositions are suitable for application to the skin (page 17, 5th paragraph).
Liu teaches a bath composition having skin care properties, comprising soapberry extract and Aloe vera extract in a ratio of 1:1 (Embodiment/Example 2).
The references are all drawn to compositions for application to the skin, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an extract of soapnuts, a known preservative, in the non-Aloe vera coating surface layer of Hamman, as suggested by Silberstein and Liu, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because the prior art teaches that saponins derived from Indian soapberry have antibacterial and preservative properties and the combination of Aloe vera and soapnut extracts has been demonstrated as an effective skin care composition.
Regarding instant claim 10, The references teach the elements discussed above. Hamman teaches that typically a 5% to 20% solution (water and/or ethanol) of the non-Aloe vera botanical extract is applied, but may range from 1% to 50% solution (based on a 100:1 powder of non-Aloe vera botanical extract) ([0148]). Silberstein teaches that the compositions can contain between 0.01 and 2 wt% saponin (page 4, 4th paragraph).
While the references do not explicitly teaches the inner coating having 20-30% by volume of 1% (w/v) soapnuts extract, the references teach the general conditions of the claim and it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amount of extract of soapnuts by way of routine optimization with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) states, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because it is the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known and determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding instant claim 11, The references teach the elements discussed above.
Hamman also teaches the particular elastomer materials, natural rubber, a synthetic polyisoprene, a chloroprene, a polyurethane (PU), a polyvinyl chloride (PVC), a styrene butadiene styrene (SBS), a styrene isoprene styrene (SIS), a silicone, a butadiene methylmethacrylate, an acrylonitrile, a styrene ethylene butylene styrene (SEBS), an acrylate-based hydrogel ([0007]).
Thus, the combined teachings of Hamman, Silberstein and Liu render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamann (US 2004/0091557 A1, May 13, 2004, hereafter as “Hamann” in view of Silberstein et al. (WO 2017/191629 A1, Nov. 9, 2017, hereafter as “Silberstein”) and Liu (CN 111450023 A, Jul. 28, 2020, machine translation, hereafter as “Liu”), as applied claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Foo et al. (WO 2018/119491 A1, Jul. 5, 2018, hereafter as “Foo”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Hamman, Silberstein and Liu teach the elements discussed above.
Hamman, Silberstein and Liu are silent to the combination of Aloe vera and ginseng (instant claim 5).
Foo teaches elastomeric articles such as gloves comprising a coating having skin care properties (abstract; page 1, lines 4-7). Foo teaches that the coatings can contain skin care components such as Aloe vera and ginseng, and general amounts thereof (page 12, last paragraph - page 13, 2nd paragraph).
The references are all drawn to compositions for application to the skin, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ginseng in a coating layer of Hamman/Silberstein/Liu, as suggested by Foo, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because the Foo teaches that ginseng and Aloe vera are suitable skin care components of a coating composition for an elastomeric article such as glove. MPEP 2144.06(I) states, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art”.
Hamman, Silberstein and Liu are silent to a first intermediate coating comprising Aloe vera and a second intermediate coating comprising ginseng (instant claim 8).
The references are all drawn to compositions for application to the skin, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ginseng in a first intermediate coating layer and Aloe vera in a second intermediate coating layer of Hamman/Silberstein/Liu/Foo with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Hamman teaches various multi-layer coating embodiments, wherein the surface coating layer is a non-Aloe coating layer and optimizing the number of layers and the arrangement of active ingredients in the layers by routine experimentation is within the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known.
Hamman, Silberstein and Liu are silent to the claimed percentage of Aloe vera and ginseng (instant claim 9).
The references are all drawn to compositions for application to the skin, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amounts of ginseng and Aloe vera in Hamman/Silberstein/Liu/Foo by way of routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because the references teach various amounts of the active ingredients and it is within the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known.
Thus, the combined teachings of Hamman, Silberstein, Liu and Foo render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamann (US 2004/0091557 A1, May 13, 2004, hereafter as “Hamann” in view of Silberstein et al. (WO 2017/191629 A1, Nov. 9, 2017, hereafter as “Silberstein”) and Liu (CN 111450023 A, Jul. 28, 2020, machine translation, hereafter as “Liu”), as applied claim 1 above, and further in view of Leong (US 2002/0114825 A1 Aug. 22, 2002, hereafter as “Leong”).
The claimed invention is described above.
Hamman, Silberstein and Liu teach the elements discussed above.
Hamman, Silberstein and Liu are silent to the particular preservatives, sodium benzoate or potassium benzoate.
Leong teaches an elastomeric article such as a glove comprising an Aloe vera coating (Abstract; [0001]). Said coating comprising Aloe vera extract and sodium benzoate as a preservative ([0011] and [0022]).
The references are all drawn to compositions for application to the skin, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the particular preservative, sodium benzoate in the invention of Hamman/Silberstein/Liu, as suggested by Leong, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Leong teaches that sodium benzoate is an effective preservative in a skin care composition comprising Aloe vera for coating an elastomeric article such as a glove.
Thus, the combined teachings of Hamman, Silberstein, Liu and Leong render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/CASEY S HAGOPIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1617