DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/29/23 and 2/27/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 and 13-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muruganathan et al. (US 2024/0080843 A1).
Consider claim 1, Muruganathan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (abstract and Fig. 7), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (paragraph 7, an UE and a BS would have a memory and a processor) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) updating a mapping of multiple transmission configuration indication (TCI) codepoints and one or more associated TCI states (paragraph 2, 28-29 and 58, the UE receives MAC CE from the BS for updating the TCI codepoint and TCI state),
each TCI codepoint associated with one uplink (UL) TCI state or one downlink (DL) TCI state or both one DL TCI state and one UL TCI state (paragraph 43-49 and 118).
Consider claims 7, 13 and 18, claims 7, 13 and 18 having similar limitation as claim 1, therefore, claims 7, 13 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons claim 1 is rejected.
Consider claims 2, 8, 14 and 19, Muruganathan also teaches wherein the MAC CE includes multiple TCI state identity (ID) fields each of which is associated with a one-bit indication field, the one-bit indication field indicating whether the associated TCI state ID field identifies an UL TCI state or a DL TCI state (paragraph 29, 48 and 128-137).
Consider claims 3, 9, 15 and 20, Muruganathan also teaches wherein one of the multiple TCI codepoints is associated with one DL TCI state or both one DL TCI state and one UL TCI state (paragraph 132-138).
Consider claims 4, 10, 16 and 21, Muruganathan also teaches wherein the MAC CE includes multiple DL TCI state identity (ID) fields each of which is associated with one TCI codepoint and is associated with a one-bit indication field, the one-bit indication field indicating whether the one TCI codepoint is further associated with an UL TCI state identified by an UL TCI state ID field (paragraph 128-138).
Consider claims 5, 11, 17 and 22, Muruganathan also teaches wherein the MAC CE includes multiple two-bits indication fields each of which is associated with one TCI codepoint, one bit of each two-bits indication field indicating whether the one TCI codepoint is associated with a DL TCI state identified by a DL TCI state ID field, and an other bit of the each two-bits indication field indicating whether the one TCI codepoint is associated with an UL TCI state identified by an UL TCI state ID field (paragraph 128-138).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 1/28/26