DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 40-42,47-55 and 57-60 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any citations of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-42,47-55 and 57-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. No support can be found in the specification that at least one zero motion candidate in the merge candidate list is not reordered. In [0421], the specification discloses that the zero padding affine candidates are not reordered, however, zero motion candidates are not zero padding affine candidates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40-42, 47-49, 57-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARK et al. (US 20210037238 A1).
Regarding claims 40, 58-59. PARK discloses A method for video processing (figure 1, figure 2), comprising:
constructing a merge candidate list for a target block of a video ([0082] The predictor (230) may construct a merge candidate list using motion information of available neighboring blocks and use information indicated by a merge index on the merge candidate list as a motion vector of the current block);
reordering the merge candidate list for the target block ([0092] there may be provided a method of reordering the merge candidate list in order to construct a merge candidate list effectively) based on a reordering scheme, the reordering scheme indicating that at least one zero motion candidate in the merge candidate list is not reordered ([0189] a zero vector may be added to the modified merge candidate list as the merge candidate; [0258] in a case where the number of the merge candidates of the modified merge candidate list is less than the maximum merge candidate number, the merge candidate representing a zero vector may be added to the modified merge candidate list; [0287] in a case where the number of the merge candidates of the modified merge candidate list is less than the maximum merge candidate number, the merge candidate representing a zero vector may be added to the modified merge candidate list (not reordered)); and
performing a conversion between the target block and a bitstream of the video based on the reordered list ([0267] the decoding device may obtain information on the inter-prediction of the current block through the bitstream (inherently include the reordered list information); [0288] the decoding device may obtain, through the bitstream, a merge index which indicates one merge candidate among the merge candidates included in the modified merge candidate list; [103] the modified merge candidate list may be derived through the reordering and the refinement of merge candidates of the current block),
wherein the merge candidate list is constructed in a template matching (TM) merge mode (figure 4, [0095] The encoding device/decoding device may calculate the cost for the merge candidate of the merge candidate list (S310). In one example, the cost may be calculated based on a template. That is, the cost may be derived through a template matching method; [0100] The encoding device/decoding device may reorder the merge candidates of the merge candidate list based on the costs for the merge candidates (S320)).
Regarding claim 41. PARK discloses The method of claim 40, wherein reordering the merge candidate list comprises:
applying a TM refinement process on merge candidates in the merge candidate list to obtain a refined merge candidate list ([0101] The encoding device/decoding device may derive a refine merge candidate for the reordered merge candidate of the merge candidate list (S330). Specifically, the encoding device/decoding device may derive a template which has a small cost with the template of the current block, from among templates of the reference blocks included in any neighboring region of the candidate block which the reordered merge candidate indicates); and
reordering at least a part of merge candidates in the refined merge candidate list ([0101] The encoding device/decoding device may cause the order of the refine merge candidate to come before the order of the reordered merge candidate. That is, the encoding device/decoding device may allocate a value that is less than a value of an index for the reordered merge candidate to a value of an index for the refine merge candidate).
Regarding claim 42. PARK discloses The method of claim 40, wherein the merge candidate list is reordered in a first reordering scheme, the first reordering scheme being different from a second reordering scheme for a further merge candidate list for the target block in a merge mode other than the TM merge mode, or
wherein reordering the merge candidate list comprises: reordering at least a part of merge candidates in the merge candidate list before a TM refinement process ([0101] The encoding device/decoding device may derive a refine merge candidate for the reordered merge candidate of the merge candidate list (S330)).
Regarding claim 47. PARK discloses The method of claim 40, wherein reordering the merge candidate list comprises:
selecting, from the merge candidate list, merge candidates to be reordered; and
reordering the selected merge candidates (figure 6).
Regarding claim 48. PARK discloses The method of claim 47, wherein the merge candidates to be reordered comprise at least one of:
adjacent spatial and temporal merge candidates (abstract, forming a merge candidate list based on neighbouring blocks of a current block; wherein the neighbouring blocks include spatial neighbouring blocks and temporal neighbouring blocks);
adjacent spatial, spatial temporal motion vector prediction (STMVP), and temporal merge candidates;
adjacent spatial, STMVP, temporal and non-adjacent spatial merge candidates;
adjacent spatial, STMVP, temporal, non-adjacent spatial and history-based motion vector prediction (HMVP) merge candidates;
adjacent spatial, STMVP, temporal, non-adjacent spatial, HMVP and pair-wise average merge candidates;
adjacent spatial, temporal, HMVP and pair-wise average merge candidates;
adjacent spatial, temporal, and HMVP merge candidates; or
adjacent spatial merge candidates, or
wherein the merge candidates to be reordered exclude at least one of:
uni-prediction subblock based merge candidates;
subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) merge candidates;
inherited affine merge candidates;
constructed affine merge candidates; or
zero padding affine merge candidates, or
wherein the merge candidates to be reordered comprise the first Q merge candidates in the list, Q being a positive integer.
Regarding claim 49. PARK discloses The method of claim 47, wherein orders of merge candidates other than the selected merge candidates are remained in the list (figure 6), or
wherein merge candidates other than the selected merge candidates are arranged behind or before the selected merge candidates in the list.
Regarding claim 57. PARK discloses The method of claim 40, wherein the conversion includes encoding the video into the bitstream or decoding the video from the bitstream ([0267] the decoding device may obtain information on the inter-prediction of the current block through the bitstream; [0288] the decoding device may obtain, through the bitstream, a merge index which indicates one merge candidate among the merge candidates included in the modified merge candidate list; [0068] When a bitstream including video information is input, the video decoding device (200) may reconstruct a video in relation to a process by which video information is processed in the video encoding device).
Regarding claim 60. (New) PARK discloses The method of claim 40, further comprising: storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([0261], [0262] The bitstream may be transmitted to the decoding device through a network or a storage medium; [0298] a bitstream generated by the encoding method may be stored in a computer-readable recording medium).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20210037238 A1) in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20220239899 A1).
Regarding claim 50. ZHANG discloses The method of claim 40, wherein reordering the merge candidate list comprises:
dividing the merge candidate list into one or more subgroups of merge candidates ([0144] the merge candidate list is divided into multiple subgroups); and
reordering at least one subgroup of the one or more subgroups of merge candidates ([0144] the candidates in each subgroup are to be reordered based on a template matching cost for each candidate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of PARK and ZHANG, to divide the merge candidate list into one or more subgroups of merge candidates and reordering at least one subgroup of the one or more subgroups of merge candidates, in order to improve the encoding of the index (ZHANG [0144]).
Regarding claim 51. ZHANG discloses The method of claim 50, wherein the least one subgroup of the one or more subgroups of merge candidates comprises the first subgroup of the one or more subgroups of merge candidates ([0144] the merge candidate list is divided into multiple subgroups, the candidates in each subgroup are to be reordered based on a template matching cost for each candidate) or,
wherein the least one subgroup of the one or more subgroups of merge candidates excludes the last subgroup of the one or more subgroups of merge candidates.
The same motivation has been stated in claim 50.
Regarding claim 52. ZHANG discloses The method of claim 51, wherein
the one or more subgroups of merge candidates comprise a plurality of subgroups of merge candidates ([0144] the merge candidate list is divided into multiple subgroups), and
the at least one subgroup of the one or more subgroups of merge candidates to be reordered comprise at least a first subgroup of merge candidates and a different second subgroup of merge candidates ([0144] the candidates in each subgroup are to be reordered based on a template matching cost for each candidate).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 50.
Regarding claim 53. ZHANG discloses The method of claim 52, wherein reordering the at least one subgroup of the one or more subgroups of merge candidates comprises:
reordering the first and second subgroups of merge candidates separately ([0144] the candidates in each subgroup are to be reordered based on a template matching cost for each candidate).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 50.
Regarding claim 54. ZHANG discloses The method of claim 53, wherein reordering the first and second subgroups of merge candidates separately comprises:
reordering the first subgroup of merge candidates without considering the second subgroup of merge candidates ([0144] the candidates in each subgroup are to be reordered based on a template matching cost for each candidate (inherently disclosed)).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 50.
Regarding claim 55. ZHANG discloses The method of claim 53, wherein the first and second subgroups of merge candidates are reordered separately while remaining the order of the first and second subgroups ([0144] the candidates in each subgroup are to be reordered based on a template matching cost for each candidate (inherently disclosed)).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 50.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488