DETAILED ACTIONStatus of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Restriction Requirement
Applicant’s remarks filed 6/4/2026 in response to the restriction requirement has been fully considered and is persuasive. The restriction requirement mailed 4/8/2026 is withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 depends from claim 1, but should depend from claim 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15, the parenthetical phrase “a polysorbate (Polyoxyethylene Sorbitan Monooleate)” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) in the parentheses are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 6, and 8-10, the phrase "preferably" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 is indefinite because the claim contains the trademark “ENDECOTTS – OCTAGON 200”. Generally, trademarks are not appropriate claim language because the mark identifies the product but not its composition. The composition of trademarked products can change with no notice.
Claims 2, 5, 7, and 12-14 and 16-18 are included in the rejection because they do not correct for the claim from which they depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berndl et al. (US 20120225953 A1) hereinafter Berndl.
Regarding claims 1-20, Berndl is drawn to self-emulsifying formulations based on an active ingredient component and a formulation base with a lipid component and with a binder component and to the use of this formulation as dosage form in the life science sector. The invention also describes a process for producing self-emulsifying formulations by mixing the formulation components to form a plastic mixture and, where appropriate, to manufacture the formulations as dosage form advantageously by use of melt extrusion (abstract and claims 1-30).
Berndl discloses a solid, self-emulsifying formulation (claim 1). Berndl discloses molecular dispersion systems are solid, in which case they are referred to as solid solutions [0055]. Berndl discloses the lipids include olive oil, linseed oil, cocoa butter, medium chain-length triglycerides [0049], Carnauba wax [0093], Vitamin E [0098], and emulsifiers [0123].
Berndl discloses a process for producing dosage forms of formulations of the invention, where the formulation can be produced by the above process, and the formulation is converted into the required dosage form where appropriate with the addition of other excipients. This can be done by using shaping process measures such as shaping the plastic mixture, in particular by extrusion or melt extrusion, and shaping the plastic mixture, in particular the extrudate—where appropriate after cooling or solidification—for example by granulation, grinding, compression, casting, injection molding, tableting under pressure, tableting under pressure with heat. It is also possible to convert a formulation into a desired dosage form by introducing it into suitable vehicles [0154].
Berndl does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Berndl, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Berndl discloses all the required components in a solid self-emulsifying formulation (abstract and claims 1-30). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615