Claim Status
Applicant’s response filed 27 April 2026 amends claims 72, 79, 81, 83, 85, 88, 90 and 91; cancels claim 78; thereby providing claims 72-77 and 79-92 pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 72-77 and 89-92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2023/0015638) in view of Chang (US 2021/0314623).
For claims 72, 90, and 91, Lee discloses a method of processing video data, comprising:
during a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video ([0056] Encoder: means an apparatus performing encoding. That is, means an encoding apparatus. [0057] Decoder: means an apparatus performing decoding. That is, means an decoding apparatus.),
obtaining a geometric partitioning mode (GPM) block associated with the current video block ([0060] The unit may have various sizes and forms, and particularly, the form of the unit may be a two-dimensional geometrical figure such as a square shape, a rectangular shape, a trapezoid shape, a triangular shape, a pentagonal shape, etc.); and
wherein the method further comprises: applying a motion vector difference (MVD) to at least one portion of merge candidates of the GPM block ([0223] The decoding apparatus 200 may correct the derived motion information by itself. The decoding apparatus 200 may search the predetermined region on the basis of the reference block indicated by the derived motion information and derive the motion information having the minimum SAD as the corrected motion information).)
if the MVD is allowed to be used to the GPM block (GMVD) ([0293] The geometric partitioning mode may mean a mode in which each motion information is derived by partitioning a current block, each prediction sample is derived using the derived motion information and a prediction sample of the current block is derived by weighted-summing the derived predicted samples. Here, the geometric partitioning mode may mean a mode in which prediction is performed by partitioning a current block into asymmetric subblocks.)
Lee does not expressly disclose performing the conversion based on a motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process applied to the GPM block.
Chang teaches performing the conversion based on a motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process applied to the GPM block ([0130] e.g. sps_gpm_enabled_flag specifies whether geometric partition based motion compensation can be used for inter prediction.) It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the geometric partition based motion compensation teachings of Chang with the teaching of Lee for the predictable improvement providing an encoded representation of the video data conforming to a video coding standard.
For claim 73, Lee discloses wherein performing the conversion comprises: applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by at least one technique comprising: an overlapped block-based motion compensation, a multi-hypothesis prediction, a local illumination compensation, a combined inter-intra prediction, or a bi-directional optical-flow based motion refinement ([0209] The derivation method of the motion information may be different depending on the prediction mode of the current block. For example, a prediction mode applied for inter prediction includes an AMVP mode, a merge mode, a skip mode, a merge mode with a motion vector difference, a subblock merge mode, a geometric partitioning mode, an combined inter intra prediction mode, affine mode, and the like. Herein, the merge mode may be referred to as a motion merge mode.).
For claim 74, Lee discloses the wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the overlapped block-based motion compensation comprises:
refining the at least one prediction sample by using neighboring block's motion information with a weighted prediction, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the multi-hypothesis prediction comprises: weighting the at least one prediction sample from accumulating more than one prediction signals from multiple hypothetical motion data, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the local illumination compensation comprises:
compensating illumination change for the at least one prediction sample by using a linear model, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the combined inter-intra prediction comprises: refining the at least one prediction sample by an intra-prediction, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the bi-directional optical-flow based motion refinement comprises: in accordance with a determination that a bi-prediction is used, performing a pixel-wise motion refinement on top of a block-wise motion compensation, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the bi-directional optical-flow based motion refinement comprises: in accordance with a determination that two motion vectors of two parts of the GPM block are from two different directions, performing the bi-directional optical-flow based motion, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the overlapped block-based motion compensation comprises: performing the overlapped block-based motion compensation for all subblocks of the GPM block, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the overlapped block-based motion compensation comprises: performing the overlapped block-based motion compensation for a portion of subblocks of the GPM block or the at least one sample of the GPM block, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the overlapped block-based motion compensation comprises: performing the overlapped block-based motion compensation for at least one subblocks of the GPM block at block boundaries of the GPM block, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the overlapped block-based motion compensation comprises: performing the overlapped block-based motion compensation for the at least one prediction sample at block boundaries of the GPM block, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the overlapped block-based motion compensation comprises: applying the overlapped block-based motion compensation based on a reference subblock based motion data of the GPM block and a neighboring GPM block, or
wherein applying the motion-compensated prediction sample refinement process for the at least one prediction sample of the GPM block by the overlapped block-based motion compensation comprises: applying the overlapped block-based motion compensation based on motion data derived from GPM merge candidates ([0295] Whether the current block is a geometric partitioning mode may be determined depending on one or more inter prediction modes ([0296] For example, when at least one or all of a subblock merge mode, a regular merge mode or a combined intra inter mode is not performed with respect to the current block, the inter prediction mode of the current block may be determined as a geometric partitioning mode. That is, when all of a subblock merge flag, a regular merge flag and a combined intra inter prediction flag indicate not to perform (merge_subblock_flag=0 && regular_merge_flag=0 && ciip_flag=0), the inter prediction mode of the current block may be determined as a geometric partitioning mode, and at least one of a partitioning index, a merge list index or a weight may be signaled.).
For claim 75, Lee discloses the wherein applying the overlapped block-based motion compensation based on the reference subblock based motion data comprises: determining blending weights of the overlapped block-based motion compensation based on motion similarities between the reference subblock based motion of a GPM subblock of the GPM block and motion of neighbor subblocks of the neighboring GPM block ([0134] In general, mode selection unit 202 also controls the components thereof (e.g., motion estimation unit 222, motion compensation unit 224, and intra-prediction unit 226) to generate a prediction block for a current block (e.g., a current CU, or in HEVC, the overlapping portion of a PU and a TU).).
For claim 76, Lee discloses the method of claim 72, wherein the method further comprises: determining whether a feature or tool is to be applied on top of the GPM block based on a temporal layer identifier (ID) of a current picture among a structure of a group of pictures (GOP) ([0347] The above embodiments of the present invention may be applied depending on a temporal layer. In order to identify a temporal layer to which the above embodiments may be applied, a corresponding identifier may be signaled, and the above embodiments may be applied to a specified temporal layer identified by the corresponding identifier); and
in accordance with a determination that a current picture locates at pre-defined layer identifiers, applying the feature or tool to the GPM block without an additional signalling, or wherein the method further comprises:determining whether a feature or tool is to be applied on top of the GPM block based on a temporal layer identifier (ID) of a current picture among a structure of a group of pictures (GOP); and in accordance with a determination that a signalling indicating layer identifiers of pictures associated with the GPM block to be applied with the feature or tool is obtained, applying the feature or tool on the GPM block ([0347] Herein, the identifier may be defined as the lowest layer or the highest layer or both to which the above embodiment may be applied, or may be defined to indicate a specific layer to which the embodiment is applied. In addition, a fixed temporal layer to which the embodiment is applied may be defined.).
For claim 77, Lee discloses the method of claim 76, wherein the feature or tool is applied based on one of technique comprises:
a merge mode with motion vector differences, an overlapped block-based motion compensation, a multi-hypothesis prediction, a local illumination compensation a combined inter-intra prediction, a non-adjacent spatial merge candidate, or a decoder side motion refinement or derivation ([0296] For example, when at least one or all of a subblock merge mode, a regular merge mode or a combined intra inter mode is not performed with respect to the current block, the inter prediction mode of the current block may be determined as a geometric partitioning mode).
For claim 89, Lee discloses the method of claim 72, wherein the conversion comprises decoding the current video block from the bitstream of the video, or wherein the conversion comprises encoding the current video block into the bitstream of the video ([0307] FIG. 13 is a view illustrating an image decoding method according to an embodiment of the present invention.).
For claim 92, Lee discloses the method of claim 72, further comprising: storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([0307] FIG. 13 is a view illustrating an image decoding method according to an embodiment of the present invention.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 79-88 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Lee fails to disclose or suggest the claimed limitation of a “applying a motion vector difference (MVD) to at least one portion of merge candidates of the GPM block if the MVD is allowed to be used to the GPM block (GMVD)” because Lee “. . . merely discloses that the decoding apparatus may correct derived motion information by searching a predetermined region based on a reference block indicated by the derived motion information and deriving motion information having a minimum SAD as corrected motion information.”
However, the amended claim “applying a motion vector difference (MVD) to at least one portion of merge candidates of the GPM block if the MVD is allowed to be used to the GPM block (GMVD)” does not exclude Lee teachings of a mode in which each motion information is derived by partitioning a current block, each prediction sample is derived using the derived motion information and a prediction sample of the current block is derived by weighted-summing the derived predicted samples. ([0293] The geometric partitioning mode may mean a mode in which each motion information is derived by partitioning a current block, each prediction sample is derived using the derived motion information and a prediction sample of the current block is derived by weighted-summing the derived predicted samples. Here, the geometric partitioning mode may mean a mode in which prediction is performed by partitioning a current block into asymmetric subblocks.)
Accordingly, Lee teaches the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deshpande; Sachin G. US 20210329303 A1 SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR SIGNALING DECODING CAPABILITY INFORMATION IN VIDEO CODING
SAMUELSSON; Jonatan et al. US 20210321138 A1 SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR SIGNALING SCALING WINDOW INFORMATION IN VIDEO CODING
LIAO; Ruling et al. US 20210051335 A1 BLOCK PARTITIONING METHODS FOR VIDEO CODING
BORDES; Philippe et al. US 20220060701 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DEBLOCKING AN IMAGE
LEE; Ha Hyun et al. US 20220174286 A1 IMAGE ENCODING/DECODING METHOD AND APPARATUS, AND RECORDING MEDIUM FOR STORING BITSTREAM
Huang; Han et al. US 20200344486 A1 SIZE CONSTRAINT FOR TRIANGULAR PREDICTION UNIT MODE
Chen; Chun-Chia et al. US 20210160528 A1 Selective Switch For Parallel Processing
Chang; Yao-Jen et al. US 20210314623 A1 GENERAL CONSTRAINT INFORMATION SYNTAX IN VIDEO CODING
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEIL R MIKESKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485