DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed on 10/10/2023.
Status of the Claims:
Claim(s) 1-17 has/have been amended.
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are pending in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8-10 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THORLABS Inc.; Copyright 199-2025; www.thorlabs.com; Optomechanical Components online catalog includes for sale the following components under Optical Rails:
XE25 RAIL; ITEM # XE25L09 (9 INCH LONG); DATED 24/AUG/15.
XE25 RAIL; ITEM # XE25L12 (12 INCH LONG); DATED 14/MAY/15
CONSTRUCTION CUBE WITH CBORES; PART NO. RM1G; DATED 06/20/02.
ENCLOSED HINGE; ITEM # XE25H; DATED 24/AUG/15.
(hereinafter THORLABS) in view of DE 202015006513 to JAEKER, THILO-ALEXANDER (hereinafter JAEKER).
Regarding independent claim 1, THORLABS teaches modular components including rail XE25L09, rail XE25L12, cube RM1G and hinge XE25H which may be combined into a variety of shapes, but does not teach “a modular hinging frame system, the modular hinging frame system comprising a base frame, wherein the base frame is a rectangular frame having a front side and a rear side, the base frame comprising a top profile, a bottom profile, a left profile and a right profile, wherein the base frame is attachable to another base frame by means of a hinge;
wherein each of the profiles of the base frame is provided with a coupling rail, and the modular hinging frame system comprises hinge parts, the hinge parts being provided with a hinge portion for forming the hinge by means of a hinge axis, the hinge part comprises a rail engagement portion, arranged for sliding engagement with the coupling rail of the base frame”.
JAEKER teaches “a modular hinging frame system, the modular hinging frame system comprising a base frame (lens adapter 1 is considered the base frame, see Figs. 1-2), wherein the base frame is a rectangular frame having a front side and a rear side (lens adapter 1 is a rectangular frame having a front side an a rear side, see Figs. 1-2), the base frame comprising a top profile, a bottom profile, a left profile and a right profile (lens adapter 1 has top, bottom left and right profiles, see Figs. 1-2), wherein the base frame is attachable to another base frame by means of a hinge (lens adapter 1 is attached to filter holder 2 via hinges 3, see Figs. 1-2)” which allows for a filter holder for a camera lens to be swung away as necessary (see JAEKER’s abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to from the modular components taught by THORLABS into a rectangular base frame shape with two XE25L09 rails and two XE25L12 rails and four corner cubes RM1G and attach a second rectangular base for similarly as the above frame with hinges XE25H as taught by JAEKER to allow for a filter holder for a camera lens to be swung away as necessary (see JAEKER’s abstract).
Note that by forming the components of THORLABS into a hinging frame system as taught by JAEKER, the combined system would teach “wherein each of the profiles of the base frame is provided with a coupling rail (each profile of the rail comprise a coupling rail, see side view drawing of rails XE25L09 and XE25L12), and the modular hinging frame system comprises hinge parts, the hinge parts being provided with a hinge portion for forming the hinge by means of a hinge axis, the hinge part comprises a rail engagement portion, arranged for sliding engagement with the coupling rail of the base frame (hinges XE25H have a hinge axis and engagement portions that slide in the coupling rails, see drawing showing two rails attached side by side)”.
Regarding claim 3, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1,
wherein the coupling rail is provided with a stop at an end of the coupling rail (corner cubes RM1G act as stops at the end of the coupling rails).
Regarding claim 6, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1,
wherein each of the profiles of the base frame is provided with a first coupling rail on the front side and a second coupling rail on the rear side (each of the four profiles of the base frame (XE25L09 and XE25L12) has a coupling rail).
Regarding claim 8, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches the modular hinging frame system according to claim 7, wherein a cross-section of each of the profiles has a shape of a symmetrical cross (symmetrical cross shape, see side view drawing of rails XE25L09 and XE25L12).
Regarding claim 9, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1,
wherein each of the four profiles of the base frame are each provided with coupling rails on the front side and the rear side (each of the four profiles of the base frame (XE25L09 and XE25L12) has a coupling rail).
Regarding claim 10, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1,
wherein the rail engagement portion of the hinge portion is a recess which in cross-section corresponds to a cross sectional shape of at least one of the profiles with couplings rails (the rail engagement portion of the hinge portion has recess formed between the base of the hinge, the attaching screw and the metal slide part, in cross-section to correspond to rail protrusions of the rails, see illustration below).
Regarding claim 13, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches the modular hinging frame system according to claim 10,
wherein the hinge portion of a first one of a hinge part mounted on a first one of a base frame is coupled to the hinge portion of a second one of a hinge part mounted on a second one of a base frame thereby forming the hinge between the base frames by means of an hinge axis and providing a flapping frame or flag (see illustration above where the hinge attaches two base rails).
Regarding claim 14, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches a base frame for use in the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1 (rectangular base frame can be made with two XE25L09 rails and two XE25L12 rails and four corner cubes RM1G).
Regarding claim 15, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches a hinge part for use in the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1 (hinges XE25H have a hinge axis and engagement portions that slide in the coupling rails).
Regarding claim 16, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches the hinge part according to claim 15, wherein a connection recess is provided for receiving an edge of object like an edge of an image accessory (between the base of the hinge, the screw and the metal slide part an image accessory can be connected).
Regarding claim 17, THORLABS in view of JAEKER teaches a method of using of the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1, interchangeably mounting one or more image accessories including at least one of a lens, filter, or a lens hood in front of or near an image receiving member of a camera, or in front or near an image display member of a monitor (the hinge engagement portion forms a recess between the base of the hinge, the screw and the metal slide part, and an image accessory can be connected by an edge, see claim 1 and 16 rejections above. JAEKER teaches the attachment of filters to a lens, see JAEKER Figs. 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1,
wherein the coupling rail is a projecting oblong body extending over the front side of a each of the profiles of the base frame.
Regarding claim 4, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1,
wherein each of the coupling rails of the left and right profiles is provided with a bevelled portion for introducing the rail engagement portion of the hinge portion onto each of the coupling rails of the left and right profiles.
Regarding claim 5, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1,
wherein two coupling rails are provided on the front side of a profile, each with a bevelled portion, so that a hinge part can be introduced upon both couplings rails from a position between the two coupling rails.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the modular hinging frame system according to claim 1,
wherein the each of the profiles has a thickness that corresponds to a thickness of the coupling rail.
Regarding claim 11, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the modular hinging frame system according to claim 10,
wherein the rail engagement portion of the hinge part comprises a first rectangular recess and a second rectangular recess extending at a right angle with respect to the first rectangular recess, in such a way that the rail engagement portion corresponds to the cross-sectional shape of at least one of the profiles having the coupling rail, and that the rail engagement portion has a half cross shape.
Regarding claim 12, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the modular hinging frame system according to claim 10,
wherein the rail engagement portion in cross-section comprises a first engagement arm and a second engagement arm, wherein in a mounted position on a profile the first engagement arm and the second engagement arm enclose a neighbouring set of protrusions comprising a coupling rail and an edge of a profile.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0382373 to Zeng et al. discloses a camera matte box with electrically controlled filter.
US 20150110483 to Koshkin discloses a filter holder and sunshade for a camera.
US 2013/0094846 to APTER discloses a frame and insert for mounting mobile device to a tripod.
US 2012/0222273 to Abbott et al. discloses a phovoltaic mounting system with locking connectors, adjustable rail height and hinge lock.
US 2010/0266273 to Wood discloses a matte box assembly.
Conclusion
/ANGEL L GARCES-RIVERA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2637
/Timothy J Henn/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639