DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
The Amendment filed on 13Jul2026 is acknowledged in which claim(s) 28, 32, 34, 42, and 54-55 were canceled by Applicant.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III (claims 33, 35-41, 43-50) and species election of a modified cell populations wherein: (a) the gdT cells express at least 14000 DNAM-1 molecules per cell on average; (b) at least 80% of the gdT cells are CD69+; (c) at least 30% of the gdT cells are terminally differentiated effector (TDEM) cells; and (d) the gdT cells express at least 400 CD56 molecules per cell on average, in the reply filed on 13Jul2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “there is would be no serious burden if Groups I-III were searched and examined together”. This is not found persuasive because the instant application was submitted under 35 USC 371, therefore the requirement for restriction between groups was based on breaking of unity of invention (see MPEP 1893.03(d), MPEP 1850, MPEP 801), and search burden is not an factor considered under unity of invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-27,29-31,42, 51-53 and 56-59 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 13Jul2026.
Claim(s) 33, 35-41, and 43-50 is/are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figs. 6, 9 all four quadrants of each dot plot recite “CD45RA-…” but the x-axis for each dot plot is CD45RA, and therefore two of the four quadrants should be “CD45RA+…”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph numbers have 4 digits for [0001]-[0099], and 5 digits for [00100]-[00355]. The number of digits for paragraph numbers should remain consistent throughout the document. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Objections
Claims 33, 35-41, 43-50 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 33, line 2 recites “…at least one targeting moiety complexed to surface thereof…” but should be “…at least one targeting moiety complexed to the surface thereof…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…are capable of being obtained by culturing a source cell population…” in lines 2-3 should be “…are cultured from a source cell population…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 33, 35-41 and 43 are drawn to a modified cell population “…having at least one targeting moiety complexed to the surface thereof…”. The instant specification provides “In some embodiments, the targeting moiety is not a nucleic acid… is an antibody or antigen binding unit…” [e.g., ¶ 0030] and provides multiple open-ended (e.g., not a closed definition) examples of “complexed” to the surface [e.g., ¶ 0029, 0032, 0079, 00108, etc.]. The broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘not a nucleic acid’ is considered to include amino acids (e.g., proteins), and the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘complexed to the surface’ is considered to be attached to the surface by any means. Dorfman et al. (Human Pathology, Vol 33, Issue 3, Mar 2002, Pgs. 330-334; hereinafter “Dorfman”) teaches CD69 is a surface antigen expressed on multiple T cell cancers [e.g., tbl. 1]. Given the above, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the phrase “having at least one targeting moiety complexed to the surface thereof” is considered to include but not be limited to any cell (1) expressing CD69 surface antigen, a CAR, a TCR, a synthetic antigen receptor (SAR), a fusion protein; or (2) bound by a molecule (e.g., an antibody, etc.) either covalently or non-covalently on the cell surface.
Claims 47 recites “…the targeting moiety is not produced by the gdT cells…” in line 2. A skilled artisan would understand the definition of targeting moieties not produced by the gdT cells would include anything that binds the outer surface of the gdT cell that is not made by the gdT cells (e.g., antibodies, ligands, nucleotides, soluble factors, etc.).
Claims 50 recites “…the first polynucleotide and the second polynucleotide independently comprise a sequence selected from…” in lines 1-2. The phrase is considered to mean that first polynucleotide comprises any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1-26, and the second polynucleotide comprises any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "…the ACE-gdT cells…" in line1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, claim 47 is considered to recite “the gdT cells”. This rejection may be overcome by amending claim 47 to provide proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 33, 35-41, 43-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature (natural phenomenon) without significantly more.
Claims 33, 35-41, 43-50 are evaluated using the “Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes” flow chart as shown in MPEP § 2106 (III).
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes. The claim is drawn to a modified cell population (composition of matter) which is one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes. The claims are directed towards a natural phenomenon (e.g., product of nature) of “gdT cells, wherein the gdT cells express at least 140,000 DNAM-1 molecules per cell on average, and wherein at least 30% of the gdT cells are CD69+”. Specifically, the natural phenomenon is the level of expression DNAM-1 and CD69 on gdT cells of the elected species.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No. It is noted that the instant specification provides the methods of making said cell population comprise culturing a source cell population comprising gdT cells in a medium supplemented with (i) phosphoantigen, (ii) a cytokine, and (iii) human platelet lysate [e.g., ¶ 0004]; wherein the subject is human [e.g., ¶ 0039], the source cells are PBMCs [e.g., ¶ 0017, 0096], the phosphoantigen is isopentenyl pyrophosphate (IPP) [e.g., ¶ 0012, 0073], and the cytokine is IL2 [e.g., ¶ 0009]. Briefly, blood (e.g., comprising PBMCs) of a human subject infected with Dengue virus (DENV) would be considered to necessarily comprise the instant-claimed gdT cell population because: (1) Assinger (Frontiers in Immunology, Dec 2014, vol 5, article 649; hereinafter “Assinger”) teaches that DENV NS1 protein incudes platelet lysis [e.g., pg. 5, col. 1, ¶ 1], (2) Arruda et al (Pathogens 2023, 12, 1362; hereinafter “Arruda”) teaches that DENV infection increases IL2 in subjects [e.g., fig. 2], and (3) Allison et al. (Molecular Immunology, 38(2001) 1051-1061; hereinafter “Allison”) teaches that IPP is a naturally occurring molecule in human peripheral blood [e.g., pg. 1056, col. 1, ¶ 2]. In summary, the recitation of a naturally occurring cell population and any markers thereof is not considered to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No. The judicial exception is recited without additional limitations amounting to significantly more than the exception. A claim that focuses on judicial exception(s) can be shown to recite something “significantly more” than the judicial exception(s) by reciting a meaningful limitation beyond the judicial exceptions. However, in the instant case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements (when considered both individually and as an ordered combination) are limited to well-understood, routine and conventional limitations of a population of cells characterized by the surface marker expression on gdT cells. Specifically, the methods of determining both surface marker expression and/or average number of surface marker molecules on a cell are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)), as evidenced by the Applicant’s use of a commercially available QuantumTM Simply Cellular® kit [e.g., ¶ 0044, 00297-00298]. Well-understood, routine and conventional limitations are not meaningful limitations and are not enough to qualify the claimed method as reciting something “significantly more” than the judicial exception(s) (see Part I.B.1 of the interim Guidance). The claims do not recite something significantly more than the judicial exceptions, rather they simply describe the natural phenomenon to a skilled artisan and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim(s) 35-41, 43-50, which depend from claim 33, act to further limit the gdT cell population characteristics. However, the limitations do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As the instant claims 33, 35-41, 43-50 recite judicial exceptions and claim a population of cells for which the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, and no elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception are recited, the claims were found not to be drawn to eligible subject matter under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 33, 35-41, 43-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2018/0125889 A1 (hereinafter “US889”).
Regarding instant claim(s) 33, 35-41, 43-47, While US889 is silent on a modified cell population comprising at least 70% gdT cells, wherein the gdT cells express at least 140,000 DNAM-1 molecules per cell on average, at least 400 CD56 molecules per cell on average, and at least 80% of gdT cells are CD69+; and at least one targeting moiety complexed to the surface thereof, US889 teaches a method of making enriched gdT cells that is considered to be substantially identical to the process disclosed by the instant specification for generating the instant claimed modified cell population.
Briefly, the instant specification teaches that the methods of making said cell population comprise culturing a source cell population comprising gdT cells in a medium supplemented with (i) phosphoantigen, (ii) a cytokine, and (iii) human platelet lysate [e.g., ¶ 0004]; wherein the subject is human [e.g., ¶ 0039], the source cells are PBMCs [e.g., ¶ 0017, 0096], the phosphoantigen is isopentenyl pyrophosphate (IPP) [e.g., ¶ 0012, 0073], and the cytokine is IL2 [e.g., ¶ 0009].
Similarly, US889 teaches a method of manufacturing a cell population enriched in gdT cells [e.g., title, abstract; ¶ 0001-0013]. US889 teaches the method comprises culturing PBMCs comprising gdT cells [e.g., ¶ 0056-0057, 0062, 0065, 0077, 0097, 0167, etc.] for 14 days [e.g., ¶ 0062, 0077, 0096, etc.]in a medium with (i) IPP phosphoantigen [e.g., ¶ 0002, 0006, 0022, 0060, 0083, 0115, etc.]; (ii) IL2 cytokine [e.g., ¶ 0057, 0059, 0077, 0108, 0167, etc.]; and (iii) human platelet lysate [e.g., ¶ 0056]. US889 teaches (1) the gdT cells further comprise (i) a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) that binds CD20 (e.g., an anti-CD20 antibody domain) [e.g., abstract; ¶ 0001, 0005-0017, 0024, 0026, 0050]; (ii) a Vδ2 T cell; and (2) addition of anti-PDL1 antibodies (e.g., a targeting moiety not produced by gdT cells) to the medium [e.g., ¶ 0109].
The above recited methods of manufacturing an enriched gdT cell populations as taught by US889, and the methods of producing the cell composition of the instant invention are considered substantially identical for due to the overlapping steps as outlined above. Further, MPEP 2112.01(I) teaches “Wherein the claimed and prior art products are…produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)….”.
Given the substantially identical methods of making cell compositions comprising gdT cells as disclosed by US889 relative to the instant claimed invention and MPEP guidance, the disclosure of the method of manufacturing gdT cells as taught by US889 is considered to anticipate or otherwise make obvious the composition(s) comprising the gdT cells of the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/ 0125889 A1 (hereinafter “US889”) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of WO 2021/081466 A1 (hereinafter “WO466”).
The teachings of US889 as recited above are applied.
US889 does not expressly teach that the targeting moiety is complexed to the cell surface of gdT cells via an interaction between a first linker comprising a 20mer polyA polynucleotide and a second linker comprising a 20mer polyT polynucleotide conjugated to the gdT cell surface.
Regarding instant claim(s) 48-50, WO466 teaches polynucleotide linked bioconjugates, methods for creating stable bioconjugates that are not chemically, and uses thereof including cell labeling [e.g., title, abstract; ¶ 0009]. WO466 teaches the bioconjugate comprises an antibody (e.g., a targeting moiety) with a polynucleotide linker (e.g., a first linker) that binds to (e.g., complexes with) the complementary polynucleotide linker (e.g., a second linker) that is attached to the target cell [e.g., ¶ 0009, 0022-0023; figs. 1, 11-12]. WO466 further teaches that linkers comprise 20 residues [e.g., ¶ 0070], wherein one linker comprises a polyA sequence (e.g., same as instant SEQ ID NO: 7), and the second comprises a complimentary strand (e.g., polyT) sequence (e.gl, same as instant SEQ ID NO: 8) [e.g., ¶ 0071]. WO466 teaches that the disclosed methods of labeling a cell allows quantitative measurements of the degree of labeling to be made [e.g., ¶ 0009-0010, 0075], and further that the disclosed methods and bioconjugates do not alter biological activity of the attached antibody or the bound cell, and reduce costs [e.g., ¶ 0001].
Further, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to modify the modified cells comprising gdT cells as taught by US889 (see above) to include that the targeting moiety is complexed to the cell surface of gdT cells via an interaction between a first linker comprising a 20mer polyA polynucleotide and a second linker comprising a 20mer polyT polynucleotide conjugated to the gdT cell surface as taught by WO466 (see above). A PHOSITA would have been motivated to combine the teachings of US889’s enriched gdT cell composition with the methods of conjugating a targeting binding domain comprising an antibody binding domain as taught by WO466, because WO466 teaches that such bioconjugates do not alter the biological activity of the attached antibody or the bound cell, and further that uses for such bioconjugates include but are not limited to biomarker assays, rapid diagnostics, imaging, prophylactic and therapeutic purposes [e.g., ¶ 0076]. There is an expectation of success for a PHOPSITA to combine the teachings of US889’s enriched gdT cell composition with the methods of conjugating a targeting binding domain comprising an antibody binding domain as taught by WO466, because US889 teaches the base composition comprising enriched gdT cells and methods of manufacturing said cells, and WO466 teaches methods of complexing antibodies (e.g., therapeutics) to a target cell (e.g., gdT cells) without altering the function of said antibody. This rationale aligns with the principle of applying a known technique to a known method to yield predictable results, supporting a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP § 2143).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
/AMY M. CHATTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/GARY B NICKOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643