DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed 10/27/25 have been fully considered and entered. Claims 1,5,11 and 12 have been amended. Claims 13-16 have been added. Applicant’s amendments are found sufficient to overcome the obviousness type rejections made over the cited CN 104480738A reference. Specifically, the cited CN 104480738A reference does not teach the limitation of whole or comminuted treated or untreated bamboo plant leaves. As such, these rejections are hereby withdrawn. With specific regard to the obvious double patenting rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Action dated 7/25/25, co-pending Application No. 17/286,594 has been issued as an allowance and the Examiner is of the position that there is not enough overlapping subject matter to raise double patenting issues. As such, the obvious double patenting rejections are hereby withdrawn. However, upon further consideration the following new ground of rejection is set forth herein below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013217006 A.
With regard to claim to claims 1 and 11, the published JP application teach a method for producing a leather material comprising the steps of: impregnating a fiber base material with a mixed liquid of (A) an aqueous polyurethane resin having an anionic group, (B) at least one inorganic acid ammonium salt selected from the group consisting of ammonium sulfate, ammonium phosphate, and ammonium chloride, (D) a nonionic surfactant having a weight average molecular weight of 2,000 to 10,000,000 and contains 75 mass% or more of an oxyalkylene group in the molecule, and (E) water; and then drying the impregnated fiber based material to obtain a leather material (see machine translation abstract). The mixed liquid according to the present invention preferably further comprises (C) a water-soluble organic polymer, and the (A) aqueous polyurethane resin, the (B) inorganic acid ammonium salt, and the (C) The compounding ratio (A: B: C: D) of the water-soluble organic polymer to the (D) nonionic surfactant is 100: 0.1 to 50: 0.1 to 50: 2 to 100 by mass ratio. (see machine translation). Examples of naturally occurring water-soluble organic polymers include starches such as potato starch, potato starch, wheat starch, rice starch, tapioca starch, corn starch, dextrin, etc .; gum arabic, gum tragacanth gum, gum karaya, resin polysaccharides such as gum loaray; guar gum, tara gum Seed polysaccharides such as locust bean gum and tamarind seed polysaccharides; Seaweed polysaccharides such as sodium alginate, carrageenan, agar (galactan) and fusori; Microbial fermented polysaccharides such as xanthan gum, pullulan, curdlan, dextran and levan; , Gelatin, albumin, glue, proteins such as collagen; pectin, chitin, chitosan and the like (see machine translation). The nonionic surfactant according to the present invention is a nonionic surfactant, and is a compound having an oxyalkylene group of 75% by mass or more with respect to its molecular weight in the molecule. The content of the oxyalkylene group is preferably 80% by mass or more, more preferably 90% by mass or more, and most preferably 100% by mass. When the oxyalkylene group in the molecular weight is less than the above lower limit, the resin is plasticized, and physical properties such as the fastness to rubbing of the obtained leather material tend to be lowered. In addition, content of the oxyalkylene group with respect to the molecular weight of the nonionic surfactant which concerns on this invention can be calculated | required from content of the oxyalkylene group with respect to the weight average molecular weight of this nonionic surfactant.
As such a compound, for example, homo- or co-addition polymers of alkylene oxides having 2 to 4 carbon atoms such as ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, butylene oxide, trimethylene oxide and tetramethylene oxide; methanol, ethanol, Alkylene oxide adducts of aliphatic alcohols having 1 to 22 carbon atoms, such as butanol, octanol, lauryl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, oleyl alcohol, behenyl alcohol; phenol, naphthol, cumylphenol, phenylphenol, methylphenol, butylphenol, octylphenol, nonylphenol , Dodecylphenol, methyl naphthol, butyl naphthol, octyl naphthol, nonyl naphthol, dodecyl naphthol, Zyl alcohol, phenylethanol, phenylpropanol, 1-benzyl-2-methylpropanol, diphenylmethanol, triphenylmethanol, p-methylbenzyl alcohol or their styrenes (styrene, α-methylstyrene, vinyl toluene) adducts, or Alkylene oxide adducts of aromatic hydroxy compounds having 6 to 50 carbon atoms such as benzyl chloride reactants; caprylic acid, lauric acid, stearic acid, behenic acid, oleic acid, linoleic acid, licinoleic acid, etc. There may be mentioned alkylene oxide adducts of fatty acids. Also, alkylene oxide adducts of trihydric alcohols such as trimethylolpropane and glycerin; alkylene oxide adducts of tetrahydric alcohols such as pentaerythritol, diglycerin, erythritol, sorbitan, ditrimethylolpropane, xylose; glucose, fructose Alkylene oxide adducts of pentavalent alcohols such as galactose, xylitol and triglycerin; hexavalent alcohols such as dipentaerythritol, sorbitol and mannitol; and octavalent alcohols such as tripentaerythritol, sucrose, lactose, maltose and trehalose Alkylene oxide adducts; Alkylene oxide adducts of a 10-hydric alcohol such as tetrapentaerythritol; raffinose, maltotriose, melysitol And alkylene oxide adducts of tetrahydric alcohols such as acarbose and stachyose; and alkylene oxide adducts of polyhydric alcohols such as polysaccharides such as starch, dextrin, cyclodextrin and glycogen. (see machine translation). Based on the JP disclosure, the Examiner is of the position that the limitations of claim 1 are met. The Examiner is of the position that an impregnating mixture comprising polysaccharide resin, an inorganic salt and polyhydric alcohol, glycerin and/or sorbitol sufficient to meet the claimed decorative layer. The Examiner considers (C) the water-soluble polymer comprising polysaccharide resin sufficient to meet the claimed polysaccharide binder. The claimed inorganic salt (B) is sufficient to meet the limitation of an inorganic salt filler and the nonionic surfactant (D) comprising sorbitol, glycerin or polyhydric alcohols is found sufficient to meet the claimed humectant. The published JP reference teach impregnating a fiber base material with claimed mixture above. As such, the Examiner considers the limitations of claims 1 and 11 are met.
With regard to claim 2, the published JP reference teach the claimed sorbitol or polyhydric alcohols (see above and machine translation).
With regard to claim 3, the published JP reference does not specifically teach the claimed inorganic salt filler materials; however, absent unexpected results it would be within the skill of an ordinary worker in the art to further incorporate fillers such as those claimed as a function of cost, availability, desired coating properties, etc. The published JP reference teach that an additive may be further added to the mixed solution for the purpose of imparting processability to the obtained leather material within a range not impairing the effects of the present invention. Examples of such additives include lower alcohols, glycol-based solvents, alcohol-based nonionic surfactants, acetylene glycol-based special surfactants, silicone-based surfactants, fluorine-based surfactants, anions Surfactants, cationic surfactants, various penetrants such as surfactants other than the nonionic surfactant according to the present invention; various stabilizers such as antioxidants, light-resistant stabilizers, UV inhibitors; mineral oils And various antifoaming agents such as silicones; urethanization catalysts; plasticizers; colorants such as pigments; pot life extenders; and fillers such as acrylic resin beads and urethane resin beads. Such additives may be used alone or in combination of two or more. The Examiner is of the position that titanium dioxide or iron oxide are often used as pigments. As such, the Examiner if of the position that JP reference renders claim 3 obvious.
With regard to claim 4, the published JP reference teach the claimed starch gums (see above and machine translations. Examples include gum arabic, gum tragacanth gum, gum karaya, resin polysaccharides such as gum loaray; guar gum, tara gum (see above and machine translation).
With regard to claims 5 and 14, the JP reference teach the claimed polysaccharides. Examples include seaweed polysaccharides such as sodium alginate, carrageenan, agar (galactan) and fusori; Microbial fermented polysaccharides such as xanthan gum, pullulan, curdlan, dextran and levan; , Gelatin, albumin, glue, proteins such as collagen; pectin, chitin, chitosan and the like (see above and machine translation).
With regard to claims 6-7, the published JP reference does not teach the claimed ratios of filler to binder. The Examiner is of the position that it would be obvious to optimize the ratios of the individual constituents based on desired binding, moisture and/or decorative properties. It has been held that the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable that might be characterized as routine experimentation is not patentable. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regard to claim 8, the published JP reference teach the claimed non-woven material (see machine translation). Examples include a nonwoven fabric made of polyester fiber (see machine translation).
With regard to claim 9, the published JP reference teach the claimed adhesive layer (see machine translation). Specifically, the published JP reference teach that the leather material of the present invention can form a skin layer and can be used as a leather material with a silver face. As a method of forming such a skin layer, any conventionally known method may be used, and it is not particularly limited. For example, the skin material is applied to a release paper, and the skin of the skin material is evaporated After the layer is formed, an adhesive is applied to the surface of the skin layer and bonded to the leather material of the present invention, and the adhesive is formed by evaporating the moisture of the adhesive or evaporating the moisture to form an adhesive layer (see machine translation).
With regard to claim 10, the published JP application teach using the impregnated fabric as an imitation leather that be further made into garments and accessories. The leather material of the present invention can be used in the fields of vehicles, furniture, clothes, shoes, bags, sandals, sundries, polishing and the like (see machine translation).
With regard to the method of claims 12 and 15, the published JP application teach dissolving the inorganic salt and removing the solvent under reduced pressure (see machine translation).
With regard to claim 13, it appears that the entire fiber base non-woven material is completely impregnated with the mixture. As such, the Examiner is of the position that limitations of claim 13 are met.
With regard to claim 16, the published JP application does not explicitly teach providing decorative surface features or embossing the surface of the impregnated fabric; however the Examiner is of the position that since the impregnated fabric is specifically used as an imitation leather that can be further used to form clothing, shoes and bags it would be within the skill of an ordinary worker in the art to provide the imitation leather product of the JP reference with a decorative surface and/or to emboss the surface with patterned embossing rollers. Motivation to pattern emboss the surface of the imitation leather is found in the desire to provide a decorative design, a logo and/or surface properties.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LYNDA SALVATORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789