DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 14 recite “, as seen in the axial direction,” which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is not clear if the requirement of “as seen in the axial direction” is part of the claim limitation or not. It is not clear if the order of the structural elements will be the same order as it is currently claimed when are not seen in the axial direction or the structural elements will have a different order. Clarification is required. As a suggestion, if the phrase does not add further patentable weight to the claimed subject matter, it can be simply removed from the claimed subject matter.
Claims 4 and 5 recite “whose outer diameter enclosed inside the pitch in the radial direction” which renders the claim vague and indefinite because it is not clear if the term “whose” refers back to which of the previously cited structural elements.
Claim 9 recites the limitation of "the radial position" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation, none of claims 1, 7, and 9 disclose “a radial position”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation of “the radially outer part” in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation, none of claims 1, 7, 9, and 10 disclose “a radially outer part”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation of “the outside of the second end” in 2nd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation, claim 12 fails to disclose “an outside of the second end”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation of “the first arm” and “the second arm” in 2nd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation, claim 13 fails to disclose “a first arm” and “a second arm”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation of “the first arm” and “the second arm” in 2nd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation, claim 14 fails to disclose “a first arm” and “a second arm”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation of “the corresponding connection element” in 3rd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation, claim 14 fails to disclose “a corresponding connection element”.
Claim 24 recites the limitation of “the enclosure” in 2nd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because prior to the cited limitation, claim 24 fails to disclose “an enclosure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Christiaens et al. (WO 03/020499), the prior art submitted by Applicant.
Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose a rotary tablet press (1) comprising a housing (2) , a rotary die table (15) detachably connected to a drive shaft (10) arranged in the housing (2) for rotation of the die table (15) , a number of dies (16) arranged circumferentially in the die table (15) , each die (16) being associated with at least a first punch (17, 18) having a first end (21, 22) receivable in the die (16) through an opening of the die and ar- ranged for compression of a powder or granular material in the die by reciprocation of the punch (17, 18) , and at least a cam (25, 26) for cooperation with a second end (23, 24) of the punches (17, 18) in order to effect axial displacement of the punches by rotation of the die table (15) , whereby a compression unit (14) detachably mounted in the housing (2) comprises the die table (15) with punches (17, 18), a feeding device (48) for the supply of material to be compressed into the dies (16) , and a tablet discharge device (64) for removal of compressed material in the form of tablets, characterized in that the compression unit (14) encloses each die opening and its corresponding first punch end (21, 22) in a chamber, in that the feeding device (48) and the tab- let discharge device (64) are enclosed, in that the feeding device (48) communicates with an inlet (56) for detachable connection with an external supply channel (58), and in that the tablet discharge device (64) communicates with an outlet. (see claim 1)
As to claim 1, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose a rotary tablet press (1) comprising: a housing (2) including a compression section (6), a turret (12) including a die disc (15), a top punch guide (25), a bottom punch guide (26), and a plurality of punches (17, 18), wherein one or more of the die disc (15), the top punch guide (25), the bottom punch guide (26), and the plurality of punches (17, 18) are rotatable parts (see figures 1-4; page 6, lines 28-37), wherein the turret (12) defines an axial direction and a radial direction, the punches (17, 18) being arranged at a predefined radius defining a pitch of the turret (12), the turret (12) being positioned in the compression section (6) in a position of use of the rotary tablet press (1), wherein the rotary tablet press (1) further comprises a number of auxiliary components (see drive couplings 54 and 55, tablet chute 64, bottom wall 40 and sidewalls 41), wherein the rotary tablet press comprises a support assembly (37, 39, 56) for providing support to at least one of the auxiliary components (drive couplings 54 and 55, tablet chute 64, bottom wall 40 and sidewalls 41) of the rotary tablet press (1) in one or more of the axial or radial direction, wherein the support assembly (37, 39, 56) comprises a suspension device (37, 39, 56) positioned above the top punch guide (25) of the turret (12), wherein the suspension device (37, 39, 56) comprises a carrier plate (39) and at least one connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection) connecting the carrier plate (39) to at least one non-rotating part (57) of the turret (see description, page 19, lines 2-6 or page 20, lines 18-23 and fig. 3, 8), the at least one non-rotating part (57) being configured to be stationary relative to the rotatable parts when the rotatable parts rotate, and wherein a plurality of auxiliary components (see side walls 41 in connection with top wall 39, both elements of the casing 13; see also page 19, lines 11-13) is suspended from the carrier plate (39) of the suspension device (37, 39, 56). See pages 6, 16-19, and Figures.
As to claim 2, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the rotatable parts (see figures 1-4; page 6, lines 28-37) are configured to rotate about a rotational axis, the rotational axis extending in the axial direction.
As to claim 3, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the turret (12) further comprises a shaft configured to drive the rotatable parts (see figures 1-4; page 6, lines 28-37) into rotation.
As to claim 4, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach at least one non-rotating part (57) comprises a spacer, whose outer diameter enclosed inside the pitch (p) in the radial direction (r), the spacer being interposed between a bearing assembly and the at least one connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection).
As to claim 5, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the spacer comprises a stationary disc, whose outer diameter is enclosed inside the pitch in the radial direction, the disc being interposed between a bearing assembly and the connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection).
As to claim 6, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the bearing assembly comprises a bearing with a radially inner part and a radially outer part, wherein the radially inner part of the bearing is connected to the spacer or stationary disc and the radially outer part is configured to cooperate with the top punch guide (25).
As to claim 7, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the at least one non-rotating part (57) of the turret (12) comprises a non-rotating part (57) of a bearing assembly, which is positioned to interact with at least one rotating part of the turret inside the pitch (p) in the radial direction.
As to claim 8, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the bearing assembly comprises a bearing with a radially inner part and a radially outer part, wherein the non-rotating part (57) of the bearing assembly comprises the radially outer part.
As to claim 9, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the at least one connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection) includes at least one arm extending in the radial direction and having a first end and a second end, and wherein the first end of the at least one arm is positioned substantially at a radial position of the bearing assembly.
As to claim 10, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the first end of the at least one arm is connected to the radially outer part of the bearing via a spacer or directly.
As to claim 11, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the at least one arm includes a first arm and a second arm positioned radially opposite relative to each other, wherein the first arm and the second arm are connected to each other at a transition portion comprising an aperture, and wherein the aperture is co-axial with the axial direction of the turret (12).
As to claim 12, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the carrier plate (39) extends to the outside of the second end of the at least one arm.
As to claim 13, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the carrier plate (39) is connected to the first arm and to the second arm at the second end of the first arm and the second arm, respectively.
As to claim 14, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the carrier plate (39) is formed integrally with the first arm and the second arm of the corresponding connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection) of the suspension device (37, 39, 56), and wherein an outer connection portion is provided, respectively, such that the carrier plate (39) is located below the connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection), the carrier plate (39) being provided at a distance from a lower face of an intermediate portion of each arm of the corresponding connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection) such that an axial gap is formed between an upper face of the carrier plate (39) and the lower face of the intermediate portion of each arm.
As to claim 15, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the suspension device (37, 39, 56) comprises a clamping plate configured to cooperate with the carrier plate (39).
As to claim 16, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the at least one non-rotating part (57) comprises a top cam of the turret (12).
As to claim 17, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the carrier plate (39) and the at least one connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection), the element comprising a stepped inner ring, form a one-piece element.
As to claim 18, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the suspension device (37, 39, 56) comprises one or more level adjustment devices configured to adjust a position of at least one of the auxiliary components in one or more of the axial direction or the radial direction.
As to claim 19, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the one or more level adjustment devices comprise one or more threaded portions configured to adjust a level of the at least one of the auxiliary components (see drive couplings 54 and 55, tablet chute 64, bottom wall 40 and sidewalls 41) in the axial direction.
As to claim 20, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the one or more level adjustment devices are arranged in the at least one connection element (56 or a not shown releasable connection) of the suspension device (37, 39, 56).
As to claim 21, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the plurality of auxiliary components (see drive couplings 54 and 55, tablet chute 64, bottom wall 40 and sidewalls 41) suspended from the suspension device (37, 39, 56) comprises any combination of the following components: a tablet chute; at least one feeder; a powder inlet tube; a scraper; an extraction nozzle; an ejection finger; a recuperation finger; and a top cam.
As to claim 22, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach an enclosure is connected to the suspension device (37, 39, 56), the enclosure surrounding at least one of the top punch guide (25), the die disc (15), or the bottom punch guide (26).
As to claim 23, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) disclose the enclosure connected to the suspension device is a one-piece element.
As to claim 24, Christiaens et al. (WO ‘499) teach the enclosure comprises a bottom, the bottom comprising an aperture encircling the bottom punch guide (26).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vogeleer et al. (US 2018/0178474 and US 10,052,836) disclose a rotary tablet press has a housing including a compression section (6) with a turret (10) including a die disc (40), a top punch guide (20), a bottom punch guide (30), and a plurality of punches (25, 35). The turret (10) defines an axial direction (a) and a radial direction (r), the punches being arranged at a predefined radius defining a pitch (p) of the turret. The rotary tablet press comprises a bearing assembly (50) connected to the turret (10) and providing support to at least one auxiliary component of the rotary tablet press and the bearing assembly comprises a bearing (51) and a support means (60) for the at least one auxiliary component, and the bearing (51) is positioned outside the pitch (p) of the turret in the radial direction (r).
Correspondence Information
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 09/06/2025