DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17, an alkylene glycol of claim 3, and an amino-functionalized silicone polymer of claim 12, in reply filed on 11/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 5, 13 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kao (Database GNPD [online], Mintel, Koa, “Powder Foundation Long Keep SP Refill”, 09/19/2018; cited in IDS 10/10/23).
Koa discloses a composition comprising PEG-8, amodimethicone, and titanium oxide [page 2, ingredients]. Koa does not disclose water as an ingredient.
The prior art anticipates instant claim 1-3 and 8 because it discloses an anhydrous composition comprising a polymer according instant claim 1-3 and 19 wherein x is 8 (PEG-8), an amino-functionalized silicone polymer (amodimethicone) and a metal oxide pigment (titanium oxide). The prior art anticipates instant claims 11 and 12 because the amodimethicone would have been expected to comprise the structure of instant claim 12, as evidenced by the instant specification. The instant specification at page 37, paragraphs 122-123 reads: “In another preferred embodiment, an agent according to the invention is characterized in that it contains at least one amino-functional silicone polymer of the formula (Si-Vllb)” [0122]. Formula Si-VIIb reads on instant claim 12 where ALK1 and ALK 2 are C2 alkanes, as shown below:
“According to the INCI Declaration, these amino-functionalized silicone polymers are called amodimethicones” [0123]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the disclosure of amodimethicone in the prior art to fall entirely within the scope of instant claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claims 1-3, 6-12, 14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liard et al. (WO 2020/260097 A1, publication date 12/30/2020; cited in IDS 10/10/23), Nguyen et al. (US 2013/0129648 A1, publication date 05/23/2013) and Goutsis (US 2018/0235856 A1, publication date 08/23/2018), as evidenced by SpecialChem (CI 15850, SpecialChem, 10/06/2022 [02/04/2026], https://www.specialchem.com/cosmetics/inci-ingredients/ci-15850).
Regarding instant claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-11 and 19-20, Liard “relates to an anhydrous composition comprising at least one amino silicone, at least one alkoxysilane of formula (VIII), and at least one coloring agent chosen from pigments, direct dyes and mixtures thereof” [abstract]. According to Liard, “[t]hrough the use of this composition, colored coatings are obtained on the hair that make it possible to obtain a coloring that is visible on all types of hair in a manner that is persistent with respect to shampoo washing, while at the same time preserving the physical qualities of the keratin fibers” [0017]. Liard discloses an exemplary dye composition on page 45 at [00307]:
Liard discloses that “the colored coating of the keratin fibers obtained with the anhydrous composition I according to the invention shows good persistence with respect to shampoo washing. Specifically, the locks of hair dyed with the anhydrous composition I according to the invention and washed with three shampoo washes have better persistence of the color than the locks of hair dyed with the comparative compositions J and K” [00323]. The persistence is measured by the color intensity before and after washes (see formula at [00319] and Table 6 at [00321]). Liard also discloses the carrier oil may be linear or branched C6-C8 alkanes [00208], for example the isoparaffin, isododecane [00209] of Example I.
Red 7 lake has a color index of CI 15850 (i.e., instant claim 9), as evidenced by SpecialChem.
Liard does not discloses a polymer according to the elected species of formula (AG).
Nguyen “relates to silicone based hair coloring compositions comprising at least one silicone amine, at least one anionic silicone, at least one colorant, a cosmetically acceptable carrier” which is useful for coloring hair [abstract]. Nguyen discloses the silicone amine may be amodimethicone [0026], the colorant may be a pigment [0032] and the composition may additionally comprise alkoxylated silicones [0048]. According to Nguyen “cosmetically acceptable solvents such as lower alcohols, polyols such as glycerol, glycols such as butylene glycol, isoprene glycol, propylene glycol, or polyethylene glycols such as PEG-8, Sorbitol, Sugars such as glucose, fructose, maltose, lactose or Sucrose, and mixtures thereof. Other cosmetically acceptable carriers may include mineral oils, paraffin, silicone oils, synthetic or natural esters, and waxes” [0035].
Goutsis relates to “colouring agent for keratin fibres, comprising a selected dye and a polyol” [title]. Goutsis discloses that “[t]he shine of the colors produced by these methods should be long-lasting and last several washes” [0011]. According to Goutsis “even small volumes of 0.1 wt.% polyol lead to a more intense color, increased shine and improved gray coverage, the effects of a total volume of polyol(s) of at least 1.0 wt. % is particularly clear” [0031]. “Preferred polyols are multivalent C2 -C9 alkanols with two to six hydroxyl groups and polyethylenglycole with from 3 to 20 ethylene oxide units” [0027], for examples PEG-8 (i.e., 8 ethylene oxide units; instant claim 3 and 19) [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have substituted the PEG-8 of Nguyen in place of the isoparaffin (isododecane) of Liard. One would have been motivated to make this substitution because Goutsis discloses polyethylene glycols, such as PEG-8, improve color intensity, as desired by Liard. Additionally, Goutsis discloses polyethylene glycols, such as PEG-8, have the desirable effect of improving coverage and shine. One would have had an expectation of success in making this substitution because Nguyen discloses polyethylene glycols, such as PEG-8, and paraffins are both suitable carriers for hair coloring compositions comprising, for example, amodimethicone, an alkoxylated silicone and a pigment. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have substituted the PEG-8 of Nguyen in place of the isoparaffin (isododecane) of Liard as an anhydrous cosmetic carrier with a reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element (e.g., the PEG-8 of Nguyen) in place of another (e.g., the isododecane of Liard) in order to achieve predictable results (anhydrous cosmetic carrier) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale B.
Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed
In making this substitution, the prior art teaches an amount of PEG-8 (i.e., a polymer of the instant formula (AG)) which overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges. The prior art teaches, for example 84% w/w carrier (PEG-8) which overlaps with the ranges of instant claims 6, 7 and 20 (10-99% w/w, 20-99% w/w and 50-99% w/w, respectively) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists for each range.
Similarly, the prior art discloses 5% w/w of at least on pigment and 8% w/w amodimethicone (i.e., amino-functionalized silicone polymer). These amounts of the prior art overlap with the ranges of instant claims 10 and 14 (0.01-10% w/w pigment and 0.1-8% w/w, respectively) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists for each range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated a composition comprising a polymer according to claims 1-3 and 19 (PEG-8), a pigment with a Color Index of CI 15850 (Red 7 lake) and an amino-functionalized silicone polymer, wherein the amino-functionalized silicone polymer comprises at least on secondary amino group (amodimethicone). Wherein each component is present within the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding instant claim 8, Liard discloses other suitable pigments include metal oxides, such as red iron oxide [00105].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have simply substituted the pigments of Example I for the red iron oxide discloses by Liard because Liard discloses red iron oxide is also a suitable pigment for the compositions. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have substituted the red iron oxide of Liard in place of the pigments of Example I for red pigment with a reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element (e.g., red iron oxide of Liard) in place of another (e.g., the pigments of Example I) in order to achieve predictable results (red pigment) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale B.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated a composition comprising a polymer of instant formula (AG), an amino-functionalized polymer and a pigment consisting of a metal oxide (iron oxide).
Regarding instant claim 12, Liard does not disclose the exact structure of the amodimethicone. However, Liard does discloses suitable amino modified silicone polymer include those disclosed as Formula (V) [0051]:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have simply substituted the amino modified (functionalized) silicone polymer of Formula (V) for the amodimethicone of Example I because Liard discloses they are both suitable amino modified silicone polymers for the inventive composition. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have substituted the Formula (V) in place of the amodimethicone of Example I as the amino-functionalized silicone polymers with a reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element (e.g., the Formula (V)) in place of another (e.g., the amodimethicone of Example I) in order to achieve predictable results (amino-modified silicone polymer) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale B.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to formulated a composition comprising a polymer of instant formula (AG), a pigment and an amino-functionalized polymer. Wherein the amino-functionalized silicone polymer comprises at least one structural unit according to instant claims 12, wherein ALK1 and ALK 2 are C2 groups.
2) Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liard et al. (WO 2020/260097 A1, publication date 12/30/2020), Nguyen et al. (US 2013/0129648 A1, publication date 05/23/2013; cited in IDS 10/10/23) and Goutsis (US 2018/0235856 A1, publication date 08/23/2018), as evidenced by SpecialChem (CI 15850, SpecialChem, 10/06/2022 [02/04/2026], https://www.specialchem.com/cosmetics/inci-ingredients/ci-15850) as applied to claims 1-3, 6-12, 14 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (International Journal of Cosmetic Science, 2005, vol. 27, p. 139).
Liard, Nguyen and Goutsis, which are taught above, differ from the instant claims insofar as they do not teach an addition product of C1-C6 alkylene oxide(s) to the esters of C12-C30 fatty acids and aromatic C1-C12 alcohols.
Nguyen desires shine agents and emollients [0047].
Goutsis desires a composition that imparts high shine: “The task of the present disclosure was therefore to prepare new dyeing agents based on direct dyes, which intensively dye the hair, provide good gray coverage and at the same time give it a lot of shine” [0011].
Gao discloses PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate as a multifunctional, shine enhancing emollient with good pigment wetting behavior and hair shine enhancement [abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have to have combine the PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate of Gao with the composition taught by Liard, Nguyen and Goutsis. One would have been motivated to motivated to combine these elements because Gao discloses PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate imparts the desirable properties of enhanced hair shine and good pigment wetting behavior. Furthermore, Nguyen and Goutsis both desire hair shine and Nguyen teaches emollients are appropriate for hair dye compositions. One would have had an expectation of success because PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate was specifically known for hair care compositions. Additionally, in combining these elements one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Instant claim 15 and 16 appear to recite a product by process. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (See MPEP 2113.). In the present case the PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate is structurally the same as the addition product recited in the claims. Therefore the prior art compound has the same chemical properties and impart the same behaviors in composition, as the compound made by the instantly claimed process. Support is found in the specification which discloses PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate as a preferred embodiment of the addition products produced as instantly claimed (see instant specification at paragraphs 154-155 and 173).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to formulated a composition comprising a polymer of instant formula (AG), a pigment, an amino-functionalized polymer and C1-C6 (i.e., C3) alkylene oxide(s) to the esters of C12-C30 (i.e., C13) fatty acids and aromatic C1-C12 (benzyl alcohol) alcohols, i.e., PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate.
Regarding instant claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the composition taught above comprising PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate within the instantly claimed amounts through routine optimization. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable ranges by routine experimentation where, as is here, the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the composition disclosed by Liard, Nguyen, Goutsis and Gao to improve the shine and pigment wetting behavior of PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate. One would have had an expectation of success because PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate was discloses specifically to improve the shine effect of hair care composition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to formulated a composition comprising a polymer of instant formula (AG), a pigment, an amino-functionalized polymer and C1-C6 (i.e., C3) alkylene oxide(s) to the esters of C12-C30 (i.e., C13) fatty acids and aromatic C1-C12 (benzyl alcohol) alcohols, i.e., PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate. Wherein the PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate is present within the instantly claimed range.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 14-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/284,886 in view of Gao et al. (International Journal of Cosmetic Science, 2005, vol. 27, p. 139).
The instant claims and the copending claims both disclose an agent comprising an alkylene glycol with the same formula, at least on pigment and at least on amino-functionalized silicone polymer [instant claim 1; copending claim 1]. Wherein the agent may comprise the same pigments [instant claim 9; copending claim 7] and the amino-functionalized silicone polymers of the copending claims have the same structure as the instant claims [instant claim 12; copending claim 10].
The copending claims do not discloses an anhydrous composition.
However, because the independent claim does not recited water, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the composition wherein the components are only those recited in the independent claim, i.e., no water.
The copending claims do not disclose a compound according to instant claims 15 and 16.
Gao discloses PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate as a multifunctional, shine enhancing emollient with good pigment wetting behavior and hair shine enhancement [abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have combined the PPG-3 benzyl ether myristate and the composition of the copending claims to obtain the shine and pigment wetting behavior disclosed by Gao. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/C.T.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/WALTER E WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612