DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 5, and 10-15 have been amended. Claims 3-4, 6-9, and 16-20 are as previously presented. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/28/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendment overcomes the claim objections. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b), are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10, 12-13, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Culp et al. (US 2021/0045854), hereinafter Culp, in view of Culp (US 2013/0073071), hereinafter Culp ‘071.
Regarding claim 1, Culp discloses a device for trimming a dental splint (“Systems and methods for laser trimming dental aligners” [Title]), said device comprising:
a spatially movable holder configured to hold the dental splint (Fig. 5, “fixture stage 332 includes a fixture plate 500 configured to receive and retain the dental model 102” [0047]);
a laser (Figs. 4 and 6, “laser 334” [0048]) that is supported so as to be stationary in the device (the laser can be moved, or can be stationary while holder / fixture stage 332 moves: “fixture stage 332 manipulates/rotates/moves/etc. the dental model 102 during laser trimming by the laser 334” [0064]);
a camera (Fig. 4, “camera 122” [0029]) that transmits data indicative of a position of the dental splint to a computation unit (“orientation determination system 108” [0021]-[0024]) that causes relative movement of the holder with respect to the laser so as to cut the dental splint (“Since the orientation/position of the camera 122 is known, the orientation determination system 108 determines the orientation of the dental model 102 based on the orientation of the reference point 216 within the image (e.g., the perspective of the dental model 102 from the camera 122)” [0029]; “the first and second cutting rotary stage 338, 340 are configured to provide two axes of movement by which the dental model 102 may be cut. In some implementations, further stages may be provided for different forms of movement (e.g., a linear stage by which the fixture stage 332 is moved along an X axis, a liner stage by which the fixture stage 332 is moved along a Y axis, etc.). In such implementations, the fixture stage 332 may be configured to move in more than two axes” [0047]); and
wherein the holder comprises a platform (Fig. 5, “fixture plate 500” [0063]) at least sections of which are thermostable (the platform is understood to be thermostable, such that when the laser is applied to dental model 102, the platform does not melt), and a stop configured to engage a free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint and to provide fixed and play-free mounting of the dental splint (“a fixture plate 500 having geometry allowing for the work piece to remain in contact with the fixture plate 500 via interfacing complimentary geometrical components (such as pins and bores, for example) of the fixture plate 500 and the dental model 102” [0063]; this structure is capable of engaging a free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint and providing fixed and play-free mounting of the dental splint with the dental splint free from the deep-drawing mold).
Claim 1 recites, “[a] device for trimming a dental splint formed with a deep-drawing mold,” “a spatially movable holder configured to hold the dental splint separated from the deep-drawing mold,” “a stop configured to engage a free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint and to provide fixed and play-free mounting of the dental splint with the dental splint free from the deep-drawing mold.” “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, ‘[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.’ In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” MPEP § 2115. The device of Culp is capable of trimming and holding a dental splint that is free from a deep-drawing mold.
Culp does not expressly disclose a suction device operatively associated with the holder so as to aid in holding the dental splint.
Culp ‘071 is directed to laser cutting systems and methods [Abstract]. Culp ‘071 discloses a suction device operatively associated with a holder so as to aid in holding a dental splint (“the fixture for handling the part can, for example, include a robot suction and/or pincher mechanism to secure and/or move the support and/or part during the laser cutting process” [0048]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a suction device operatively associated with the holder so as to aid in holding the dental splint. This advantageously aids in securing the dental splint to the holder.
Regarding claim 2, Culp discloses wherein the camera is supported in a region of the laser such that the dental splint is oriented in a capture position transverse to an optical axis of the camera (“Since the orientation/position of the camera 122 is known, the orientation determination system 108 determines the orientation of the dental model 102 based on the orientation of the reference point 216 within the image (e.g., the perspective of the dental model 102 from the camera 122)” [0029]; see also Fig. 4, showing camera 122 and laser 334).
Regarding claim 4, Culp discloses wherein the platform is displaceable at least in sections in five spatial directions (“fixture stage 332 is configured to move along two axes 344, 346. The fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340. Together, the first and second cutting rotary stage 338, 340 are configured to provide two axes of movement by which the dental model 102 may be cut. In some implementations, further stages may be provided for different forms of movement (e.g., a linear stage by which the fixture stage 332 is moved along an X axis, a liner stage by which the fixture stage 332 is moved along a Y axis, etc.). In such implementations, the fixture stage 332 may be configured to move in more than two axes. For example, the fixture stage 332 can be configured to move in two axes, three axes, four axes, five axes, six axes, seven axes, eight axes, nine axes, ten axes, and so on” [0047]).
Regarding claim 5, Culp discloses wherein the stop is annular and forms a receptacle with the platform that receives the free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint (Fig. 5 shows wherein fixture plate 500 has an annular portion and receptacle in which dental model 102 is positioned).
Regarding claim 7, Culp discloses wherein the holder comprises a turntable with which the at least sectionally thermostable platform is associated (Fig. 5, turntable / rotary stage 340; “fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340” [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Culp discloses wherein the platform is displaceable at least in sections in five spatial directions (“fixture stage 332 is configured to move along two axes 344, 346. The fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340. Together, the first and second cutting rotary stage 338, 340 are configured to provide two axes of movement by which the dental model 102 may be cut. In some implementations, further stages may be provided for different forms of movement (e.g., a linear stage by which the fixture stage 332 is moved along an X axis, a liner stage by which the fixture stage 332 is moved along a Y axis, etc.). In such implementations, the fixture stage 332 may be configured to move in more than two axes. For example, the fixture stage 332 can be configured to move in two axes, three axes, four axes, five axes, six axes, seven axes, eight axes, nine axes, ten axes, and so on” [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Culp discloses wherein the stop is annular and forms a receptacle with the platform that receives the free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint (Fig. 5 shows wherein fixture plate 500 has an annular portion and receptacle in which dental model 102 is positioned).
Regarding claim 12, Culp discloses wherein the stop is annular and forms a receptacle with the platform that receives the free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint (Fig. 5 shows wherein fixture plate 500 has an annular portion and receptacle in which dental model 102 is positioned).
Regarding claim 13, Culp discloses wherein the stop is annular and forms a receptacle with the platform that receives the free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint (Fig. 5 shows wherein fixture plate 500 has an annular portion and receptacle in which dental model 102 is positioned).
Regarding claim 16, Culp discloses wherein the holder comprises a turntable with which the at least sectionally thermostable platform is associated (Fig. 5, turntable / rotary stage 340; “fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340” [0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Culp discloses wherein the holder comprises a turntable with which the at least sectionally thermostable platform is associated (Fig. 5, turntable / rotary stage 340; “fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340” [0047]).
Regarding claim 19, Culp discloses wherein the holder comprises a turntable with which the at least sectionally thermostable platform is associated (Fig. 5, turntable / rotary stage 340; “fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340” [0047]).
Claims 3, 9, 11, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Culp et al. (US 2021/0045854), hereinafter Culp, in view of Culp (US 2013/0073071), hereinafter Culp ‘071, further in view of Fukunaga et al. (US 2020/0061742).
Regarding claim 3, Culp does not expressly disclose wherein the platform has at least one aperture that is fluid-connected to an inlet of the suction device, wherein the inlet is attached to a side of the platform facing away from the laser.
Fukunaga is directed to a laser processing apparatus [Abstract]. Fukunaga discloses wherein a platform has at least one aperture that is fluid-connected to an inlet of a suction device, wherein the inlet is attached to a side of the platform facing away from a laser (Fig. 1 shows laser head 50 [0052] and platform / “holder 10” comprising “plurality of second holding sub-portions 12” and “plurality of first arms 13” [0049]; Fig. 4 shows wherein “Second holding sub-portions 12 have second suction holes 22. Second suction holes 22 communicate with vacuum pumps 23. By actuating vacuum pumps 23, outer circumferential region 6 of workpiece 2 sticks to second holding sub-portions 12” [0051]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the platform has at least one aperture that is fluid-connected to an inlet of the suction device, wherein the inlet is attached to a side of the platform facing away from the laser. This allows for more securely holding the workpiece to the platform.
Regarding claim 9, Culp discloses wherein the platform is displaceable at least in sections in five spatial directions (“fixture stage 332 is configured to move along two axes 344, 346. The fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340. Together, the first and second cutting rotary stage 338, 340 are configured to provide two axes of movement by which the dental model 102 may be cut. In some implementations, further stages may be provided for different forms of movement (e.g., a linear stage by which the fixture stage 332 is moved along an X axis, a liner stage by which the fixture stage 332 is moved along a Y axis, etc.). In such implementations, the fixture stage 332 may be configured to move in more than two axes. For example, the fixture stage 332 can be configured to move in two axes, three axes, four axes, five axes, six axes, seven axes, eight axes, nine axes, ten axes, and so on” [0047]).
Regarding claim 11, Culp discloses wherein the stop is annular and forms a receptacle with the platform that receives the free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint (Fig. 5 shows wherein fixture plate 500 has an annular portion and receptacle in which dental model 102 is positioned).
Regarding claim 14, Culp discloses wherein the stop is annular and forms a receptacle with the platform that receives the free deep-drawing edge of the dental splint (Fig. 5 shows wherein fixture plate 500 has an annular portion and receptacle in which dental model 102 is positioned).
Regarding claim 15, Culp discloses wherein the holder comprises a turntable with which the at least sectionally thermostable platform is associated (Fig. 5, turntable / rotary stage 340; “fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340” [0047]).
Regarding claim 17, Culp discloses wherein the holder comprises a turntable with which the at least sectionally thermostable platform is associated (Fig. 5, turntable / rotary stage 340; “fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340” [0047]).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Culp et al. (US 2021/0045854), hereinafter Culp, in view of Culp (US 2013/0073071), hereinafter Culp ‘071, further in view of Hilliard (US 2008/0141534).
Regarding claim 6, Culp discloses does not expressly disclose wherein the holder comprises a cross slide.
Hilliard is directed to a robotic system for forming features in orthodontic aligners [Title]. Hilliard discloses wherein a holder comprises a cross slide (Fig. 7, the elements that slide in “tracks 148”; “ the Y-axis position of the thermoforming dies 143, 144 is controlled by a stepper motor 147 (see FIG. 8) that causes the thermoforming station 14 to slide in a series of tracks 148 in the base of the station” [0099]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the holder comprises a cross slide. This is a known means for providing translational movement of a holder, applied to a known device, to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, Culp discloses wherein the holder comprises a turntable with which the at least sectionally thermostable platform is associated (Fig. 5, turntable / rotary stage 340; “fixture stage 332 is configured to rotate along or about a first axis 344 via first cutting rotary stage 338 and along or about a second axis 346 (perpendicular to the first axis 344) via a second cutting rotary stage 340” [0047]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the suction device, on page 8, are persuasive, in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, new ground of rejection are made in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the wherein the dental splint is separated from the deep-drawing mold, on page 8, are not persuasive. The claimed invention is the device itself, and not the workpiece upon which the device operates. In this case, the workpiece upon which the device operates is the dental splint formed with a deep-drawing mold that has been separated from the deep-drawing mold. Per MPEP § 2115, a claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.’ The prior art combination of Culp in view of Culp ‘071 is capable of working upon a dental formed with a deep-drawing mold that has been separated from the deep-drawing mold. Accordingly, the claimed device is unpatentable over Culp in view of Culp ‘017.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the Fukunaga reference, on pages 8-9, are not persuasive. Fukunaga is considered to be analogous art, because Fukunaga is directed to a laser processing apparatus, and thus is in the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention. Applicant also argues that “suction could at most be used to attach the Culp dental mold to a support, and not to aid in holding of the dental splint separated from it’s deep-drawing mold on a holder.” However, this argument is not persuasive, because the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761