DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4,11-13 in the reply filed on 7/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-4,11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (WO2021133119) using US20230047820 as translation.
As to claim 1, Sun et al. discloses a high-nickel positive electrode material, wherein a general chemical formula of the high-nickel positive electrode material is represented by formula (1):LixNi1-(a+b+pc+d+e+f)CoaM1bM2cM3aM4eM5fO2 (1) where 0.955x:1.2,Oa:0.15,05b50.10,0Cc:0.05,0<d:0.05,O:e:0.05,0:5f0.05, and0<a+b+c+d+e+f≤0.2 (paragraph 0078-0079); and the high-nickel positive electrode material is subjected to powder XPS measurement using AIKa rays, and after peak separation and fitting are performed on Ni2P3/2 peak appearing when a binding energy is in a range of 850 eV-870 eV, a peak area of Ni2+ is set to be S 1, a peak area of Ni3+ is set to be S2, a peak width at half height of Ni2+ is set to be a, a peak width at half height of Ni3+ is set to be P, and SS2, a, and P satisfy a following relationship:S1/(S1-+S2)>0.5 and 0.9<a/p<1.5 (2) (paragraph 0016-0017).
As to claim 2, Sun et al. discloses wherein the positive electrode material comprises a secondary particle and/or a primary particle, at least a part of surface of the primary particle is coated with a coating layer, and the secondary particle comprises a plurality of primary particles with the coating layer (paragraph 0085).
As to claim 3, Sun et al. discloses wherein the coating layer comprises the coating layer comprises a first coating layer, and the first coating layer is formed on the surface of the primary particle (paragraph 0068).
As to claim 4,12,13, Sun et al. discloses wherein the material comprises wherein the M I comprises Mn and/or Al (paragraph 0079).
As to claim 11, Sun et al. discloses a lithium ion battery, wherein the lithium ion battery comprises the high- nickel positive electrode material according to claim 1 (paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724