DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, 19, 22 in the reply filed on 2/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that JP 2000043006 A does not disclose the invention as amended and thus unity of invention requirement should be withdrawn. This is not found persuasive because rejection below using a different reference discloses the invention as amended and thus maintains that special technical feature is known and thus unity of invention requirement is upheld. Note that if claims are found allowable during prosecution then rejoinder may occur for qualifying inventions dependent on any allowable claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-17, 20-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " the offset (V)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3 introduces an offset but does not have a reference V so it is unclear if this is the same element.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “which is measured”. It is unclear what element the “which” is referring to.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “two stacked columns, wherein the cutting head blank elements each have a semi-cylindrical shape and are disposed such that the cutting head blank has a cylindrical shape”. However, the scope is not clear since the language does not clarify that the two stacked columns are comprised of the cutting head blank elements and seems to introduce them as additional components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 10, 19, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Glimpel (DE 102005042410 A1, from IDS, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 1, Glimpel discloses a tool blank for a cutting tool 2, including: a tool shank 3 [configured to be received in a rotating tool holder of a processing machine], and a cutting head blank 21-25 fixedly connected to the tool shank, the cutting head blank comprising multiple cutting head blank elements 21-25 that are fixedly connected to one another by solder, and are made of a high-hardness material having a hardness (HV) in the range of 2000-10000 kg/mm.sup.2 (Fig. 1-4, 11-15; para. 42-48, 52-56). The recitation in brackets [ ] is considered functional language. The reference discloses all the structural components of the tool, which read on those of the instant invention. Therefore, the device is capable of performing the same desired functions as the instant invention as claimed.
Re Claim 2, Glimpel discloses the multiple cutting head blank elements are stacked on each other in multiple stacked columns that extend in parallel in the direction of an axis of rotation (R) of the tool blank and are disposed adjacent to each other around the axis of rotation (R) (para. 30).
Re Claim 7, as best understood, Glimpel discloses two stacked columns, wherein the cutting head blank elements each have a semi-cylindrical shape and are disposed such that the cutting head blank has a cylindrical shape (Fig. 15; para. 55).
Re Claim 8, Glimpel discloses the multiple cutting head blank elements are disposed in a single stacked column and have a cylindrical shape, and adjacent ones of the cutting head blank elements of the single stacked column abut against each other at respective abutment surfaces and are connected to each other at these abutment surfaces (Fig. 1-4, 11-15; para. 42-48, 52-56).
Re Claim 10, Glimpel discloses a pin 5 projecting from an end face of the tool shank to which the cutting head blank is attached, wherein a bore or recess is formed in at least one of the cutting head blank elements such that the at least one of the cutting head blank elements having the bore or recess is attached to the pin of the tool shank in a form-fit manner (Fig. 1-4, 11-15; para. 42-48, 52-56).
Re Claims 19, 22, Glimpel discloses the high-hardness material is polycrystalline diamond (para. 56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glimpel.
Re Claim 3, 5, Glimpel discloses multiple stacked columns (para. 30) as discussed for claim 2 above. Further, Glimpel discloses another embodiment where a first one of the cutting head blank elements is disposed in an offset manner with respect to an adjacent second one of the cutting head blank elements with an offset in the direction of the axis of rotation (R) (Fig. 13-14; para. 54) and a third one of the cutting head blank elements is disposed at a rotational offset angle (β) about the axis of rotation (R) with respect to an adjacent fourth one of cutting head blank elements (Fig. 13-14; para. 54). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these configurations to meet the claim limitations since it would be straightforward and could easily be implemented together and in order to obtain a desired final geometry.
Re Claim 4, as best understood, Glimpel discloses the offset (V) is in the range of 20% to 80% of a height (x1), which is measured in the direction of the axis of rotation, of the first one of the cutting head blank elements or of the second one of the cutting head blank elements (Fig. 13-14; para. 54).
Re Claim 6, Glimpel discloses the rotational offset angle (β) is in the range of 10° to 80° (Fig. 13-14; para. 54).
Re Claim 11, Glimpel discloses the cutting head blank elements each have a height (x1), which is measured in the direction of an axis of rotation of the tool blank, and the cutting head blank has a length (x2), which is measured in the direction of the axis of rotation (Fig. 1-4, 11-15; para. 42-48, 52-56)., but does not explicitly disclose height (x1) in the range from 0.2 mm to 2 mm and length (x2) in the range from 0.2 mm to 15 mm. However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have these specific dimensions since these are common sizes of such components and it would be straightforward to make the tool of proper size for forming holes of desired size and also since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and also since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glimpel in view of Hiroyasu (US 6,663,326).
Re Claim 9, Glimpel discloses at least one abutment surface between two of the cutting head blank elements, which abut on each other in the direction of an axis of rotation (R) of the tool blank, has an angle of 90 degrees with respect to the axis of rotation (R) in at least one region of the tool blank (Fig. 1-4, 11-15; para. 42-48, 52-56) but not specifically an angle in the range of 75°-89°. Hiroyasu teaches adjusting angle of adjoining cutting head blank elements (Fig. 13C). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have an angle in the range of 75°-89° (which could be merely a 1 degree difference) in order to obtain a desired optimal configuration of the tool for forming desired components and also since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799