DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Hirakawa et al. (US20100255359).
As to claim 1, Hirakawa et al. discloses a battery cell holder (figure 5) comprising terminal electrodes (3) and a frame (2) configured to support a plurality of battery cells in contact with the terminal electrodes, the frame (2) comprising a base plate (bottom of 2), a top plate (top of 2), and at least one side support (2) extending from the base plate to the top plate, the frame (2) configured to support the plurality of battery cells between the base plate (bottom of 2) and top plate (top of 2) such that each battery cell has an end adjacent the base plate, an end adjacent the top plate and a side (2) extending between the ends and adjacent the at least one side support, wherein the terminal electrodes (3) comprise one or more strips of conductive material (12) that extend: - along the top plate (top of 2) for contacting an electric terminal of one of the ends of one of the battery cells, and - along the side support (2) for contacting a further electric terminal of the side of a further one of the battery cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 2-12,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakawa et al. in view of Lee et al. (US20190058183).
Hirakawa et al. discloses the battery cell holder described above. Hirakawa et al. fail to disclose, wherein a resiliently compressible element is provided between the strip of conductive material and the frame, and wherein the resiliently compressible element is provided with a magnet configured to magnetically attract the battery cell toward the strip of conductive material.
Lee et al. teaches wherein a resiliently compressible element is provided between the strip of conductive material and the frame, and wherein the resiliently compressible element is provided with a magnet configured to magnetically attract the battery cell toward the strip of conductive material for the purpose of to provide a magnetic force to push the lead and terminal holder so they are strongly pushed to closely contact each other (paragraph 0027-0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Hirakawa et al. with wherein a resiliently compressible element is provided between the strip of conductive material and the frame, and wherein the resiliently compressible element is provided with a magnet configured to magnetically attract the battery cell toward the strip of conductive material for the purpose of to provide a magnetic force to push the lead and terminal holder so they are strongly pushed to closely contact each other (paragraph 0027-0028).
As to claims 3-4, Hirakawa et al. fail to disclose wherein the magnet is embedded within a cavity defined by the resiliently compressible element and wherein the cavity positions the magnet inside the resiliently compressible element with the magnet closer to an external side of the resiliently compressible element that faces the conductive strip, than to an opposite external side of the resiliently compressible element that faces away from the conductive strip.
Lee et al. teaches wherein the magnet is embedded within a cavity defined by the resiliently compressible element and wherein the cavity positions the magnet inside the resiliently compressible element with the magnet closer to an external side of the resiliently compressible element that faces the conductive strip, than to an opposite external side of the resiliently compressible element that faces away from the conductive strip for the purpose of providing an electrical connection state that is maintained (paragraph 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Hirakawa et al. with wherein the magnet is embedded within a cavity defined by the resiliently compressible element and wherein the cavity positions the magnet inside the resiliently compressible element with the magnet closer to an external side of the resiliently compressible element that faces the conductive strip, than to an opposite external side of the resiliently compressible element that faces away from the conductive strip for the purpose of providing an electrical connection state that is maintained (paragraph 0031).
As to claim 5, Hirakawa et al. discloses wherein the strip of conductive material is sufficiently flexible to flex into contact with the electric terminal of the battery cell under the magnetic attraction exerted by the magnet (figure 5a number 12).
As to claim 6, Hirakawa et al. discloses wherein the frame (figure 5b number 2) is configured to support the plurality of battery cells (3) between the base plate (bottom of 2) and top plate (top of 2) such that each battery cell has an end adjacent the base plate, an end adjacent the top plate and a side (2) extending between the ends and adjacent the at least one side support (2).
As toc claims 7-9, Hirakawa et al. fail to disclose wherein the resiliently compressible element is positioned on the top plate and is configured to push the strip of conductive material into engagement with the electric terminal at the end of the battery cell, wherein the resiliently compressible element is positioned on the at least one side support and is configured to push the strip of conductive material into engagement with the electric terminal at the side of the battery cell, the battery cell holder comprising a further resiliently compressible element between the strip of conductive material and the frame, the further resiliently compressible element being positioned on the at least one side support and configured to push the strip of conductive material into engagement with the further electric terminal at the side of the further one of the battery cells.
Lee et al. teaches wherein the resiliently compressible element is positioned on the top plate and is configured to push the strip of conductive material into engagement with the electric terminal at the end of the battery cell, wherein the resiliently compressible element is positioned on the at least one side support and is configured to push the strip of conductive material into engagement with the electric terminal at the side of the battery cell, the battery cell holder comprising a further resiliently compressible element between the strip of conductive material and the frame, the further resiliently compressible element being positioned on the at least one side support and configured to push the strip of conductive material into engagement with the further electric terminal at the side of the further one of the battery cells for the purpose of providing an electrical connection state that is maintained (paragraph 0031, figure 3, 107,104).
As to claim 10, Hirakawa et al fail to disclose wherein the resiliently compressible element is an elastomeric element, for example rubber.
Lee et al. teaches elastic springs is the resiliently compressible element (paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Hirakawa et al. with wherein the resiliently compressible element is an elastomeric element, for example rubber since it is obvious to change materials for the purpose of providing optimal materials in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 11, Hirakawa et al. fail to disclose wherein the at least one side support comprises a channel configured to receive a respective ridge of the top plate, preferably wherein the channel comprises a chamfered side that is configured to engage a chamfered side of the ridge of the top plate.
Lee et al. teaches wherein the at least one side support (figure 3 number 102) comprises a channel configured to receive a respective ridge of the top plate (104), preferably wherein the channel comprises a chamfered side that is configured to engage a chamfered side of the ridge of the top plate for the purpose of providing insulation covers to support the spring members (paragraph 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Hirakawa et al. with wherein the at least one side support comprises a channel configured to receive a respective ridge of the top plate preferably wherein the channel comprises a chamfered side that is configured to engage a chamfered side of the ridge of the top plate for the purpose of providing insulation covers to support the spring members (paragraph 0029).
Hirakawa et al. teaches wherein the at least one side support (figure 5a number 2) comprises one or more outer side supports (2) at the periphery of the battery cell holder, and one or more inner side supports (4b) between the outer side supports, the outer and inner side supports together defining a plurality of cavities for receiving the battery cells (3).
As to claim 21, Hirakawa et al. fail to disclose wherein a resiliently compressible element is provided between the strip of conductive material and the frame, wherein the top plate is bolted or screwed to the at least one side support using a bolt or screw, and wherein a longitudinal axis of the bolt or screw is perpendicular to a direction extending through the resiliently compressible element from the frame to the strip of conductive material.
Lee et al. teaches wherein a resiliently compressible element is provided between the strip of conductive material and the frame, wherein the top plate is bolted or screwed to the at least one side support using a bolt or screw, and wherein a longitudinal axis of the bolt or screw is perpendicular to a direction extending through the resiliently compressible element from the frame to the strip of conductive material for the purpose of providing a cover plate that provides mechanical rigidity for the cell assembly and to protect the cell assembly from external impact (paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Hirakawa et al. with wherein a resiliently compressible element is provided between the strip of conductive material and the frame, wherein the top plate is bolted or screwed to the at least one side support using a bolt or screw, and wherein a longitudinal axis of the bolt or screw is perpendicular to a direction extending through the resiliently compressible element from the frame to the strip of conductive material for the purpose of providing a cover plate that provides mechanical rigidity for the cell assembly and to protect the cell assembly from external impact (paragraph 0024).
3. Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakawa et al. in view of Kwag (US20210167346).
Hirakawa et al. discloses the battery cell holder described above. Hirakawa et al. fail to disclose wherein a thermistor is mounted on the strip of conductive material at the top plate. Kwag et al. teaches wherein a thermistor is mounted on the strip of conductive material at the top plate for the purpose of measuring a temperature of the battery cell (paragraph 0139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Hirakawa et al. with wherein a thermistor is mounted on the strip of conductive material at the top plate for the purpose of measuring a temperature of the battery cell (paragraph 0139).
As to claim 14, Hirakawa et al. discloses wherein the strip of conductive material comprises a first portion of the strip of conductive material having a first width and a second portion of the strip of conductive material having a second width, the first width being wider than the second width, wherein the contact with the electric terminal and the mounted thermistor are within the first portion of the strip of conductive material (figure 5b number 12).
As to claim 15, Hirakawa et al. fail to disclose wherein a portion of the strip of conductive material on the top plate defines an electrical pad that is configured to connect to further electrical circuitry.
Kwag teaches wherein a portion of the strip of conductive material on the top plate defines an electrical pad that is configured to connect to further electrical circuitry for the purpose of electrically connecting the battery cells with the circuit board (paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Hirakawa et al. with wherein a portion of the strip of conductive material on the top plate defines an electrical pad that is configured to connect to further electrical circuitry for the purpose of electrically connecting the battery cells with the circuit board (paragraph 0013).
As to claims 16-17, Hirakawa et fail to disclose wherein the battery cell holder comprises a flex circuit substrate supporting the further electrical circuitry, the flex circuit substrate configured to overlay the top plate and to connect to the electrical pad of the strip of conductive material and to also connect to electrical pads of further ones of the strip of conductive material and wherein the flex circuit substrate electrically connects the strips of conductive material to a battery management system that is configured to monitor the states of the battery cells.
Kwag teaches wherein the battery cell holder comprises a flex circuit substrate supporting the further electrical circuitry, the flex circuit substrate configured to overlay the top plate and to connect to the electrical pad of the strip of conductive material and to also connect to electrical pads of further ones of the strip of conductive material and wherein the flex circuit substrate electrically connects the strips of conductive material to a battery management system that is configured to monitor the states of the battery cells for the purpose of providing a pin map corresponding to the position of the battery cells (paragraph 0091).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Hirakawa et al. with wherein the battery cell holder comprises a flex circuit substrate supporting the further electrical circuitry, the flex circuit substrate configured to overlay the top plate and to connect to the electrical pad of the strip of conductive material and to also connect to electrical pads of further ones of the strip of conductive material and wherein the flex circuit substrate electrically connects the strips of conductive material to a battery management system that is configured to monitor the states of the battery cells for the purpose of providing a pin map corresponding to the position of the battery cells (paragraph 0091).
As to claim 18, Hirakawa et al. fail disclose wherein the strip of conductive material comprises a portion of reduced cross-sectional area that is configured to act as a fuse in the event of excess electrical current flowing between the two battery cells.
Kwag teaches wherein the strip of conductive material comprises a portion of reduced cross-sectional area that is configured to act as a fuse in the event of excess electrical current flowing between the two battery cells for the purpose of blocking an overcurrent (paragraph 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Hirakawa et al. with wherein the strip of conductive material comprises a portion of reduced cross-sectional area that is configured to act as a fuse in the event of excess electrical current flowing between the two battery cells for the purpose of blocking an overcurrent (paragraph 0064).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724