Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the reply filed on 19 Feb 2026.
Status
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-11, 16, 24, 31-33, and 76-77 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Claims 7-9, 18-19, 36-38, 41-45, 65, 72, and 78 are withdrawn (see “Response to Applicant Election” below). Acknowledgement is made of the amendments filed 03 May 2024. Acknowledgement is made of the cancellation of claims 4-5, 12-15, 17, 20-23, 25-30, 34-35, 39-40, 46-64, 66-71, and 73-75
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 18/286,399, filed 11 Oct 2023, as a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application #: PCT/US2022/024942, filed 15 Apr 2022, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Application #: 63/175,641, filed 16 Apr 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11 Oct 2023 and 19 Feb 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant Election
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 6-11, 16, 18-19, 24, 31-33, and 76, in the reply filed on 19 Feb 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 77 was incorrectly classified in Group II instead of Group I. Applicant argues that because claim 77 properly depends on claim 76, claim 77 should be put into Group I. Applicant arguments are persuasive and claim 77 is now reclassified as part of Group I.
Applicant’s election without traverse of dronabinol as the species of cannabinoid and atomoxetine as the species of norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor in the reply filed on 19 Feb 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 36-38, 41-45, 65, 72, and 78 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 19 Feb 2026.
Claims 7-9 and 18-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species of cannabinoid, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 Feb 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-11, 16, 24, 31-33, and 76-77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Carley et al. (Sleep, 2018, 41:zsx184), hereinafter Carley, further in view of Taranto-Montemurro et al. (Am J Respir Crit Care Med, 2019, 199:1267-1276), hereinafter Taranto-Montemurro, and Stadelmann et al. (PLoS One, 2014, 9:e93931), hereinafter Stadelmann.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating a condition associated pharyngeal airway collapse by administering a cannabinoid and a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor (claims 1-3, 6, 16, and 76). Applicant elected dronabinol as the species of cannabinoid and atomoxetine as the species of norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor in the response filed 19 Feb 2026. The claims further limit the dose of atomoxetine to between 20 mg and 200 mg (claim 16). Additionally, the disclosure claims administering a muscarinic receptor antagonist (claim 11) or a carbonic anhydrase inhibitor (claim 24) in addition to the cannabinoid and the norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor. The claims limit the pharyngeal airway collapse-associated conditions to sleep apnea (claim 31), obstructive sleep apnea (claim 32 and 77), and snoring (claim 33).
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring. However, Carley does not teach the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea by administering a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor, a muscarinic receptor antagonist, or a carbonic anhydrase inhibitor.
Taranto-Montemurro teaches treatment of obstructive sleep apnea by a combination of the norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor atomoxetine and oxybutynin, a muscarinic receptor antagonist (pg. 1267, Abstract). Atomoxetine was administered at 80 mg and oxybutynin was administered at 5 mg (pg. 1267, Abstract). Taranto-Montemurro teaches that the combination greatly reduced obstructive sleep apnea severity (pg. 1267, Abstract).
Stadelmann teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea by administering 500 mg of acetazolamide and a CPAP machine (Abstract). Stadelmann teaches acetazolamide is a carbonic anhydrase inhibitor (pg. 1, column 2). Stadelmann teaches this treatment had beneficial effects on oxygen saturation and sleep quality (Abstract).
Based on the teachings of Carley and Taranto-Montemurro, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol with the composition of 80 mg of atomoxetine and 5 mg of oxybutynin to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea and snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Based on the teachings of Carley, Taranto-Montemurro, and Stadelmann it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol, 80 mg/day of atomoxetine, and 5 mg/day of oxybutynin, as taught by Carley and Taranoto-Montemurro, with the composition of 500 mg of acetazolamide and a CPAP machine, as taught by Stadelmann, to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea and snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-11, 31-33, and 76-77 rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,351, hereinafter ‘351, in view of Carley.
‘351 teaches a method of treating a subject having a condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse by administering a combination of atomoxetine and pure (R)-oxybutynin (claim 1). The reference further claims administering atomoxetine at a dosage of 20-100 mg (claim 2) and claims obstructive sleep apnea (claim 5) or simple snoring (claim 4) as the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse. However, ‘351 does not claim administering a cannabinoid to treat the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse.
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring.
Based on the teachings of ‘351 and Carley, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of atomoxetine and pure (R)-oxybutynin with the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea or snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-11, 16, 31-33, and 76-77 are provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 8-12, 15, 18, and 28-29 of copending Application No. 18/271,716, hereinafter ‘716, in view of Carley.
‘716 teaches a method of treating a subject having a condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse by administering a combination of atomoxetine and Lemborexant (claim 1). The reference further claims administering atomoxetine at a dosage of 25-150 mg (claim 2) and claims obstructive sleep apnea (claim 29) or simple snoring (claim 28) as the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse. ‘716 claims further administering a muscarinic receptor antagonist (claims 15 and 18). However, ‘716 does not claim administering a cannabinoid to treat the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse.
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring.
Based on the teachings of ‘716 and Carley, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of atomoxetine, Lemborexant, and a muscarinic receptor antagonist with the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea or snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 10-11, and 31-33 provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 10-19, and 21 of copending Application No. 18/548,604, hereinafter ‘604, in view of Carley.
‘604 teaches a method of treating a subject having a condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse by administering a combination of reboxetine, a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor, and a muscarinic receptor antagonist (claim 1). The reference further claims obstructive sleep apnea (claim 18) or simple snoring (claim 19) as the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse. However, ‘604 does not claim administering a cannabinoid to treat the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse.
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring.
Based on the teachings of ‘604 and Carley, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of reboxetine and a muscarinic receptor antagonist with the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea or snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-11, 16, 31-33, and 76-77 are provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-10, 17-18, 29-34, and 74 of copending Application No. 18/283,303, hereinafter ‘303, in view of Carley.
‘303 teaches a method of treating a subject having a condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse by administering a combination of a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor and a mineralocorticoid antagonist (claim 1). The reference further claims administering the norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor as atomoxetine (claim 6) at a dosage of 20-100 mg (claim 17) and claims obstructive sleep apnea (claim 30) or snoring (claim 31) as the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse. Additionally, ‘303 claims further administering a muscarinic receptor antagonist (claim 10). However, ‘351 does not claim administering a cannabinoid to treat the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse.
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring.
Based on the teachings of ‘303 and Carley, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of a norepinephrine inhibitor, a mineralocorticoid antagonist, and a muscarinic receptor antagonist with the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea or snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 10, and 31-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6, 8-14, and 16-19 of copending Application No. 18/570,673, hereinafter ‘673, in view of Carley.
‘673 teaches a method of treating a subject having a condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse by administering a combination of a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor selected from reboxetine, edivoxetine, and viloxazine, in the absence of antimuscarinic therapy (claim 1). The reference further claims obstructive sleep apnea (claim 17) or simple snoring (claim 19) as the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse. However, ‘673 does not claim administering a cannabinoid to treat the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse.
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring.
Based on the teachings of ‘673 and Carley, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of a norepinephrine inhibitor with the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea or snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-11, 16, 31-33, and 76-77 are provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-19, and 35-39 of copending Application No. 18/687,660, hereinafter ‘660, in view of Carley.
‘660 teaches a method of treating a subject having a condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse by administering a combination of a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor and MAD therapy (claim 1). The reference further claims administering atomoxetine as the norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor at a dosage of 20-150 mg (claim 12) and claims obstructive sleep apnea (claim 38) or simple snoring (claim 39) as the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse. The reference further claims administering a muscarinic receptor antagonist (claim 7). However, ‘660 does not claim administering a cannabinoid to treat the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse.
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring.
Based on the teachings of ‘660 and Carley, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor and MAD therapy with the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea or snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 6, 10, 16, 24, 31-33, and 76-77 are provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-9, 11, 13, 17-19, and 21 of copending Application No. 18/708,616, hereinafter ‘616, in view of Carley.
‘616 teaches a method of treating a subject having a condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse by administering a combination of a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor and a carbonic anhydrase inhibitor in the absence of antimuscarinic therapy (claim 1). The reference further claims atomoxetine as the norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor and administering atomoxetine at a dosage of 20-200 mg (claims 6 and 9) and claims obstructive sleep apnea (claim 18) or simple snoring (claim 19) as the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse. However, ‘616 does not claim administering a cannabinoid to treat the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse.
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring.
Based on the teachings of ‘616 and Carley, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of a norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor and a carbonic anhydrase inhibitor with the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea or snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 10-11, and 31-33 provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-4, 8, 10-14, and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/865,115, hereinafter ‘115 in view of Carley.
‘115 teaches a method of treating a subject having a condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse by administering the norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor, ampreloxetine (claim 1). The reference further claims administering a muscarinic receptor antagonist (claim 3) and claims obstructive sleep apnea (claim 18) or snoring (claim 19) as the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse. However, ‘115 does not claim administering a cannabinoid to treat the condition associated with pharyngeal airway collapse.
Carley teaches treating obstructive sleep apnea with dronabinol (pg. 1, Methods). Carley teaches that treatment with 10 mg/day of dronabinol reduced the overall apnea-hypopnea index and that between the placebo, 2.5 mg/day of dronabinol, and 10 mg/day of dronabinol, participants reported the highest satisfaction with the 10 mg/day dose (pg. 1, Results). Carley teaches tracking snoring as part of the measurements (pg. 3, column 1). Thus, by treating obstructive sleep apnea Carley necessarily teaches treatment of snoring.
Based on the teachings of ‘115 and Carley, it would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of ampreloxetine with the composition of 10 mg/day of dronabinol to create a third composition for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea or snoring with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625