DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostergren (US Pat No 10,486,654 B2) in view of Barton (US Pub No 2011/0079661 A1). All citations to Ostergren unless specified otherwise.
Re claim 1, Ostergren shows a fluid nozzle assembly (Figs. 2, 3, 11 & 12) for cleaning a LIDAR sensor comprising:
a nozzle manifold (400) including a plurality of pedestals (108, 110, 112) defining a respective one of a plurality of press-fit openings (118/130) on an exposed upper surface thereof, the plurality of press-fit openings (col. 5, lines 36-39 & lines 52-55) being serially arranged in a longitudinal array (140), and each of the plurality of pedestals including an arcuate ridge (see annotated figure) and a radial notch (see annotated figure) adjacent the respective press-fit opening; and
a plurality of spray nozzles (124, 132, 126) received within the plurality of press-fit openings of the nozzle manifold, wherein each of the plurality of spray nozzles includes a spray orifice (128/133) for discharging a cleaning fluid toward the LIDAR sensor in a desired spray pattern, and wherein the arcuate ridge (see annotated figure) and radial notch (see annotated figure) of the pedestal prevents misalignment of each spray nozzle inserted into its respective press-fit opening.
Ostergren does not teach keyed press-fit openings.
However, Barton shows a keyed press-fit opening (Fig. 8 – 108 into 110; paragraphs 0038 & 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the press-fit openings in Ostergren be keyed as taught by Barton to rotationally orient the nozzles (Barton – paragraph 0038).
Re claim 2, Ostergren as modified by Barton shows at least one of the plurality of spray nozzles includes a round spray orifice (128) for producing a solid stream of cleaning fluid.
Re claim 3, Ostergren as modified by Barton shows at least one of the plurality of spray nozzles includes an elongated spray orifice (133) for producing a flat fan spray pattern (col. 6, lines 9-16).
Re claim 4, Ostergren as modified by Barton shows the nozzle manifold includes a lower body (400) joined to an upper body (402).
Re claim 5, Ostergren as modified by Barton shows the lower body includes a fluid inlet (422) and an internal check valve (408).
Re claim 6, Ostergren as modified by Barton shows the upper body includes the plurality of pedestals (108, 110, 112).
Re claim 12, Ostergren as modified by Barton shows each of the plurality of spray nozzles (124, 132, 126) is keyed (Barton – Fig. 8, 108 into 110) to a respective one of the plurality of press-fit openings (118/130).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostergren (US Pat No 10,486,654 B2) in view of Barton (US Pub No 2011/0079661 A1) and further in view of Litvinov et al. (US Pub No 2012/0126031 A1).
Re claim 8, Ostergren as modified by Barton discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach the upper body is ultrasonically welded to the lower body along an upper periphery of the lower body.
However, Litvinov et al. disclose an upper body (134) that is ultrasonically welded (paragraph 0099) to a lower body (144).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ultrasonically weld together the upper and lower body, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Further, no criticality is apparent for the claimed limitation.
Claim 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostergren (US Pat No 10,486,654 B2) in view of Barton (US Pub No 2011/0079661 A1) and further in view of Baumgarten et al. (US Pat No 5,074,471).
Re claim 9, Ostergren as modified by Barton discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach each of the plurality of spray nozzles includes an upper portion, a lower portion, and a disc-shaped flange there between.
However, Baumgarten et al. show a plurality of spray nozzles (Fig. 7) including an upper portion (21), a lower portion (13), and a disc-shaped flange (61/62) therebetween.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the nozzles in Ostergren as modified by Barton include the elastic lips and associated attachment structure taught by Baumgarten et al. to provide a normally closed spray mouth which prevents the washing liquid from freezing (Baumgarten – abstract).
Re claim 10, Ostergren as modified by Barton and Baumgarten et al. show the disc-shaped flange defines an arcuate notch (Baumgarten - 62).
Re claim 11, Ostergren as modified by Barton and Baumgarten et al. show the disc-shaped flange includes a radial post (Baumgarten - 61) extending downwardly therefrom.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that Ostergren teaches away from keying the ball jet 124 into a single orientation, Ostergren does not in fact state that rotation of the ball jet is a requirement, merely that the ball jet may be rotated, emphasis added. Further, and contrary to this, Ostergren specifically stipulates the desire to “prevent, minimize, or reduce inadvertent rotation” (col. 5, lines 36-39) and thus provides reasoning to further rotationally orient the ball jet as is taught by Barton.
In light of these remarks, all prior art rejections shall be maintained.
Conclusion
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752