DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14, and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims recite, “A non-volatile or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”. However, the claims do not exclude non-statutory subject matter. That is, the computer-readable storage medium is not strictly non-transitory (statutory subject matter) because it is claimed in an alternate way.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-16, 20, 24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merlin et al. (US 2018/0205502 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Merlin discloses a non-volatile or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by a processor (paragraph [0011]-[0012]; [0029]-[0030]; [0116]; [0142]-[0145]; and so on), cause the processor to: establish a dynamic bandwidth expansion element, wherein the dynamic bandwidth expansion element comprises at least two different network links (Link 1, Link 2, and Link 3) (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on, explaining signaling or establishing dynamic bandwidth control (e.g. expansion) including plurality of links); and configure an external interface for the dynamic bandwidth expansion element (figs. 3-5, illustrating configuring external interfaces such as PHY for the dynamic bandwidth expansion).
Regarding claim 15, Merlin discloses an electronic device, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: establish a dynamic bandwidth expansion element, wherein the dynamic bandwidth expansion element comprises at least two different network links (Link 1, Link 2, and Link 3) (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on); and configure an external interface for the dynamic bandwidth expansion element (figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 16, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: establish the dynamic bandwidth expansion element on a device with a multi-link aggregation function (figs. 3-5; [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on).
Regarding claim 20, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: enable a wireless connection interface of the device with the multi-link aggregation function (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on).
Regarding claim 24, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: establish the dynamic bandwidth expansion element on a device with a multi-link aggregation function (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on).
Regarding claim 26, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: connect the device with the multi-link aggregation function to a network through the at least two different network links respectively (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on); and enable an aggregation and forwarding function of the device (figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 27, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: connect the device with the multi-link aggregation function to a network through the at least two different network links respectively (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on); and enable an aggregation and forwarding function of the device (figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 28, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: enable a wireless connection interface of the device with the multi-link aggregation function (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 17-19, 21-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin in view of Zhu et al. (US 2024/0259857 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Merlin discloses a dynamic bandwidth expansion method (paragraph [0078]), comprising: establishing a dynamic bandwidth expansion element, wherein the dynamic bandwidth expansion element comprises at least two different network links (Link 1, Link 2, and Link 3) (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on); configuring an external interface for the dynamic bandwidth expansion element (figs. 3-5).
Merlin doesn’t disclose connecting with the external interface and communicating with a server through the at least two different network links.
Zhu teaches connecting with the external interface and communicating with a server through the at least two different network links (fig. 1-3; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use connecting with the external interface and communicating with a server through the at least two different network links as taught by Zhu into Merlin in order to improve efficiency and resource utilization.
Regarding claim 2, Merlin discloses wherein said establishing the dynamic bandwidth expansion element comprises: establishing the dynamic bandwidth expansion element on a device with a multi-link aggregation function (figs. 3-5; [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on).
Regarding claim 3, Merlin discloses wherein the device with the multi-link aggregation function, and the at least two different network links (e.g. figs. 3-5). Merlin doesn’t disclose comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link.
Zhu teaches comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE) (e.g. paragraph [0246]); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link (paragraph [0253]; [0267]; [0323]; [0341]; [0179]; [0183]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link as taught by Zhu into Merlin in order to improve efficiency and resource utilization, and to reduce delay.
Regarding claim 4, Merlin discloses wherein said establishing the dynamic bandwidth expansion element on the device with the multi-link aggregation function comprises: connecting the device with the multi-link aggregation function to a network through the at least two different network links respectively (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on); and enabling an aggregation and forwarding function of the device (figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, Merlin discloses wherein said configuring the external interface for the dynamic bandwidth expansion element comprises: enabling a wireless connection interface of the device with the multi-link aggregation function (figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 17, Merlin discloses wherein the device with the multi-link aggregation function, and the at least two different network links (e.g. figs. 3-5). Merlin doesn’t disclose comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link.
Zhu teaches comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE) (e.g. paragraph [0246]); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link (paragraph [0253]; [0267]; [0323]; [0341]; [0179]; [0183]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link as taught by Zhu into Merlin in order to improve efficiency and resource utilization, and to reduce delay.
Regarding claim 18, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: connect the device with the multi-link aggregation function to a network through the at least two different network links respectively (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on); and enable an aggregation and forwarding function of the device (figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 19, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: connect the device with the multi-link aggregation function to a network through the at least two different network links respectively (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on); and enable an aggregation and forwarding function of the device (figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 21, Merlin discloses wherein the processor is further caused to: enable a wireless connection interface of the device with the multi-link aggregation function (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on).
Regarding claim 22, Merlin discloses wherein said establishing the dynamic bandwidth expansion element on the device with the multi-link aggregation function comprises: connecting the device with the multi-link aggregation function to a network through the at least two different network links respectively (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on); and enabling an aggregation and forwarding function of the device (figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 23, Merlin discloses wherein said configuring the external interface for the dynamic bandwidth expansion element comprises: enabling a wireless connection interface of the device with the multi-link aggregation function (figs. 3-5; paragraph [0078]; [0084]; [0090]; and so on).
Regarding claim 25, Merlin discloses wherein the device with the multi-link aggregation function, and the at least two different network links (e.g. figs. 3-5). Merlin doesn’t disclose comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link.
Zhu teaches comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE) (e.g. paragraph [0246]); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link (paragraph [0253]; [0267]; [0323]; [0341]; [0179]; [0183]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use comprises a smartphone or a Customer Premise Equipment (CPE); and the at least two different network links comprise two or more selected from a group consisting of a 4G network link, a 5G network link, and a Wi-Fi network link as taught by Zhu into Merlin in order to improve efficiency and resource utilization, and to reduce delay.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461