file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument: On page 2 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Zhou does not teach amended Claim 1 as recited “An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a network entity, an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs, wherein the common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication; receive an indication of a TCI state update based on the common TCI pool; and communicate with the network entity in a second BWP or second CC based on the TCI state update that is based on the common TCI pool RRC configured for the reference BWP or CC.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. The updated search was conducted and the new reference was found to disclose the amended Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7- 14, 16- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Zhou et al. (US 2020/0351039 A1) (hereafter “Zhou”) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0135802 A1) (for the purpose of clarity, Examiner uses the name “Khoshnevisan” for this reference. )
Regarding claim 1, An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Zhou, Fig. 9, Ref. 905), comprising: a memory (Zhou, Fig. 9, Ref. 930); and at least one processor (Zhou, Fig. 9, Ref. 940) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information store d in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a network entity, an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs;
Zhou Fig. 1, Step 510; [0115] At 510, base station 105-d may transmit a control message (e.g., MAC-CE) to UE 115-d. The control message may indicate the identified active TCI state, set of active TCI states, and/or spatial relation RS identifier to be used for multiple CCs (or BWP CC pairs) (reference CC) configured for UE 115-d.
Zhou Fig. 1 [0097]; UE 115 may determine a communication configuration for a CC of the plurality of CC based on the control message and optional shared command indication. Based on the determination, UE 115 may optionally apply a TCI state (common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool) to subset of CCs, apply a set of active TCI states to a set of BWP CCs pairs ( shared by a set of CCs) or configure an SRS for each BWP CCs pair.
and communicate with the network entity based on the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou Fig. 1, step 540, [0121]; At 540, UE 115-d may transmit to or receive communications from base station 105-d based on the determination at 520 and the optionally applied configurations.
Zhou [0117] At 520, UE 115-d may determine a communication configuration for a CC (or a BWP CC pair) of the multiple CCs (or BWP CC pairs) based on the control message (reference CC) and optional shared command indication.
Zhou does not teach wherein the common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication; receive an indication of a TCI state update based on the common TCI pool; and communicate with the network entity in a second BWP or second CC based on the TCI state update that is based on the common TCI pool RRC configured for the reference BWP or CC.
Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication;
Khoshnevisan [0099] In some aspects, UE 320 may configure the TCI states of respective BWPs in the group of CCs such that each respective BWP has the same TCI states (Common TCI). The TCI states of a particular BWP, from which the update TCI state number was selected, may be copied to the other BWPs of the group of CCs. For example, a first BWP may have three TCI states, and a second BWP may have five TCI states.
Khoshnevisan [0075]; The BS may provide radio resource control (RRC) signaling indicating a set of CCs and/or a set of BWPs corresponding to the set of CCs. The UE may define a group of CCs based at least in part on the set of CCs indicated by the RRC signaling. The UE may subsequently receive a signaling message, from the BS, indicating to which BWP and/or to which CC, of a plurality of candidate CCs, the UE is to apply an update of a TCI state.
receive an indication of a TCI state update based on the common TCI pool;
Khoshnevisan [0075] ABS may transmit signaling to a UE to update a beam configuration of the UE.
The UE may subsequently receive a signaling message, from the BS, indicating to which BWP and/or to which CC, of a plurality of candidate CCs, the UE is to apply an update of a TCI state.
Khoshnevisan [0095] There may be two scenarios for applying a TCI state update. A first scenario for the TCI state update may involve all BWPs, of a group of CCs to be updated, having a same number of TCI states per BWP.
and communicate with the network entity in a second BWP or second CC based on the TCI state update that is based on the common TCI pool RRC configured for the reference BWP or CC.
Khoshnevisan [0074]; For example, a UE may communicate with a BS on a first BWP in accordance with a first communication configuration and may communicate with the BS on a second BWP in accordance with a second communication configuration.
Khoshnevisan [0075]; The UE may apply the set of TCI states to update a set of TCI states of BWPs and/or CCs within a common band and/or sharing a common analog beamformer.
Khoshnevisan [0076]; In this way, when the UE receives a new MAC CE to apply an update of a TCI state, the UE may apply the update to all CCs in the group of CCs rather than to just a particular BWP and CC or may apply the update to all CCs of the plurality of candidate CCs.
Khoshnevisan [0095] There may be two scenarios for applying a TCI state update. A first scenario for the TCI state update may involve all BWPs, of a group of CCs to be updated, having a same number of TCI states per BWP.
Khoshnevisan [0075]; The BS may provide radio resource control (RRC) signaling indicating a set of CCs and/or a set of BWPs corresponding to the set of CCs (reference CC).
In view of Khoshnevisan, Zhou is modified such that common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication; receive an indication of a TCI state update based on the common TCI pool; and communicate with the network entity in a second BWP or second CC based on the TCI state update that is based on the common TCI pool RRC configured for the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou and Khoshnevisan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication based on common TCI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou in a manner described above to allow the communication on
the second BWP and updated TCI state to enable the UE to have more capability for updating a beam
configuration for the UE to improve the efficiency of the system (Khoshnevisan [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a common TCI state ID associated with the common TCI pool comprises quasi-colocation (QCL) information associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH-), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical uplink share d channel (PUSCH).
Zhou [0104]; In order to reduce the number of MAC-CEs 320 used to convey the set of active TCI states for the same active BWP 330 in each CC 325 spatially QCLed, a single MAC-CE 320 may be used to select a set of active TCI states for PDSCH that may be applied to multiple BWP 330 CC 325 pairs (e.g., uplink and downlink pair of CCs 325).
Zhou [0105]; For example, a same set of TCI state IDs (a common TCI state ID) may be activated for downlink data (e.g., PDSCH) in each of multiple BWP CC pairs.
Regarding claim 3, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each BWP or each CC that is associated with the reference BWP or CC in the set of BWPs or CCs is configured with an indicator to refer to the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou [0096] Base station 105 may identify an active TCI state, a set of active TCI states, and/or a spatial relation RS identifier to be used for multiple CCs configured for a UE 115.
Zhou [0100] For example, a same TCI state ID may be selected (e.g., by base station 105-a) for the same CORESET ID in each of multiple CCs 225 . In some cases, an indication of the TCI state ID may be implicit and may be based on MAC-CE 220. Base station 105-a may transmit an implicit MAC-CE 220 indication that may be a MAC-CE 220 that identifies a TCI state ID for a CORESET ID of a specified CC 225 (an indicator to refer to the reference BWP or CC) or of multiple CCs 225. UE 115-a may apply the indicated TCI state ID to the identified CC 225 (each BWP or each CC).
Regarding claim 4, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication comprises a list of BWPs or CCs associated with the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425 (associated with the reference BWP or CC).
Regarding claim 5, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each BWP or CC in the set of BWPs or CCs is associated with the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs (reference BWP) and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425.
Zhou [0112]; UE 115-c may then transmit uplink RSs (e.g., SRS on the PUCCH) to base station 105-c using the indicated spatial relation for the SRS resource(s) for one or more BWPs 430 ( each BWP or CC in the set of BWPs or CCs) of CCs 425 after applying the spatial relation indicated in the MAC-CE or via link 415.
Regarding claim 7, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication is associated with the BWP.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425.
Zhou [0112] UE 115-c may then transmit uplink RSs (e.g., SRS on the PUCCH) to base station 105-c using the indicated spatial relation for the SRS resource(s) for one or more BWPs 430 (indication is associated with the BWP) of CCs 425 after applying the spatial relation indicated in the MAC-CE or via link 415.
Regarding claim 8, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication is associated with the BWP.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425.
Zhou [0112] UE 115-c may then transmit uplink RSs (e.g., SRS on the PUCCH) to base station 105-c using the indicated spatial relation for the SRS resource(s) for one or more BWPs 430 (indication is associated with the BWP) of CCs 425 after applying the spatial relation indicated in the MAC-CE or via link 415.
Regarding claim 9, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication is associated with the set of BWPs.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425. In another example, the set of BWPs 430 of CCs 425 sharing same MAC-CE 420 (the indication is associated with the set of BWPs) command is indicated outside or separate from (e.g., by link 415) the MAC-CE 420 command.
Regarding claim 10, An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Zhou, Fig. 13, Ref. 1300), , comprising: a memory (Zhou, Fig. 13, Ref. 1335); and at least one processor (Zhou, Fig. 13, Ref. 1340) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
Transmit an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs;
Zhou Fig. 1, Step 510; [0115] At 510, base station 105-d may transmit a control message (e.g., MAC-CE) to UE 115-d. The control message may indicate the identified active TCI state, set of active TCI states, and/or spatial relation RS identifier to be used for multiple CCs (or BWP CC pairs) (reference CC) configured for UE 115-d.
Zhou Fig. 1 [0097]; UE 115 may determine a communication configuration for a CC of the plurality of CC based on the control message and optional shared command indication. Based on the determination, UE 115 may optionally apply a TCI state (common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool) to subset of CCs, apply a set of active TCI states to a set of BWP CCs pairs ( shared by a set of CCs) or configure an SRS for each BWP CCs pair.
and communicate with the network entity based on the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou Fig. 1, step 540, [0121]; At 540, UE 115-d may transmit to or receive communications from base station 105-d based on the determination at 520 and the optionally applied configurations.
Zhou [0117] At 520, UE 115-d may determine a communication configuration for a CC (or a BWP CC pair) of the multiple CCs (or BWP CC pairs) based on the control message (reference CC) and optional shared command indication.
Zhou does not teach wherein the common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication; receive an indication of a TCI state update based on the common TCI pool; and communicate with the network entity in a second BWP or second CC based on the TCI state update that is based on the common TCI pool RRC configured for the reference BWP or CC.
Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication;
Khoshnevisan [0099] In some aspects, UE 320 may configure the TCI states of respective BWPs in the group of CCs such that each respective BWP has the same TCI states (Common TCI). The TCI states of a particular BWP, from which the update TCI state number was selected, may be copied to the other BWPs of the group of CCs. For example, a first BWP may have three TCI states, and a second BWP may have five TCI states.
Khoshnevisan [0075]; The BS may provide radio resource control (RRC) signaling indicating a set of CCs and/or a set of BWPs corresponding to the set of CCs. The UE may define a group of CCs based at least in part on the set of CCs indicated by the RRC signaling. The UE may subsequently receive a signaling message, from the BS, indicating to which BWP and/or to which CC, of a plurality of candidate CCs, the UE is to apply an update of a TCI state.
receive an indication of a TCI state update based on the common TCI pool;
Khoshnevisan [0075] ABS may transmit signaling to a UE to update a beam configuration of the UE.
The UE may subsequently receive a signaling message, from the BS, indicating to which BWP and/or to which CC, of a plurality of candidate CCs, the UE is to apply an update of a TCI state.
Khoshnevisan [0095] There may be two scenarios for applying a TCI state update. A first scenario for the TCI state update may involve all BWPs, of a group of CCs to be updated, having a same number of TCI states per BWP.
and communicate with the network entity in a second BWP or second CC based on the TCI state update that is based on the common TCI pool RRC configured for the reference BWP or CC.
Khoshnevisan [0074]; For example, a UE may communicate with a BS on a first BWP in accordance with a first communication configuration and may communicate with the BS on a second BWP in accordance with a second communication configuration.
Khoshnevisan [0075]; The UE may apply the set of TCI states to update a set of TCI states of BWPs and/or CCs within a common band and/or sharing a common analog beamformer.
Khoshnevisan [0076]; In this way, when the UE receives a new MAC CE to apply an update of a TCI state, the UE may apply the update to all CCs in the group of CCs rather than to just a particular BWP and CC or may apply the update to all CCs of the plurality of candidate CCs.
Khoshnevisan [0095] There may be two scenarios for applying a TCI state update. A first scenario for the TCI state update may involve all BWPs, of a group of CCs to be updated, having a same number of TCI states per BWP.
Khoshnevisan [0075]; The BS may provide radio resource control (RRC) signaling indicating a set of CCs and/or a set of BWPs corresponding to the set of CCs (reference CC).
In view of Khoshnevisan, Zhou is modified such that common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication; receive an indication of a TCI state update based on the common TCI pool; and communicate with the network entity in a second BWP or second CC based on the TCI state update that is based on the common TCI pool RRC configured for the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou and Khoshnevisan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication based on common TCI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou in a manner described above to allow the communication on
the second BWP and updated TCI state to enable the UE to have more capability for updating a beam
configuration for the UE to improve the efficiency of the system (Khoshnevisan [0007]).
Regarding claim 11, The apparatus of claim 10, wherein a common TCI state ID associated with the common TCI pool comprises quasi-colocation (QCL) information associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH-), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical uplink share d channel (PUSCH).
Zhou [0104]; In order to reduce the number of MAC-CEs 320 used to convey the set of active TCI states for the same active BWP 330 in each CC 325 spatially QCLed, a single MAC-CE 320 may be used to select a set of active TCI states for PDSCH that may be applied to multiple BWP 330 CC 325 pairs (e.g., uplink and downlink pair of CCs 325).
Zhou [0105]; For example, a same set of TCI state IDs (a common TCI state ID) may be activated for downlink data (e.g., PDSCH) in each of multiple BWP CC pairs.
Regarding claim 12, The apparatus of claim 10, wherein each BWP or each CC that is associated with the reference BWP or CC in the set of BWPs or CCs is configured with an indicator to refer to the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou [0096] Base station 105 may identify an active TCI state, a set of active TCI states, and/or a spatial relation RS identifier to be used for multiple CCs configured for a UE 115.
Zhou [0100] For example, a same TCI state ID may be selected (e.g., by base station 105-a) for the same CORESET ID in each of multiple CCs 225 . In some cases, an indication of the TCI state ID may be implicit and may be based on MAC-CE 220. Base station 105-a may transmit an implicit MAC-CE 220 indication that may be a MAC-CE 220 that identifies a TCI state ID for a CORESET ID of a specified CC 225 (an indicator to refer to the reference BWP or CC) or of multiple CCs 225. UE 115-a may apply the indicated TCI state ID to the identified CC 225 (each BWP or each CC).
Regarding claim 13, The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the indication comprises a list of BWPs or CCs associated with the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425 (associated with the reference BWP or CC).
Regarding claim 14, The apparatus of claim 10, wherein each BWP or CC in the set of BWPs or CCs is associated with the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs (reference BWP) and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425.
Zhou [0112]; UE 115-c may then transmit uplink RSs (e.g., SRS on the PUCCH) to base station 105-c using the indicated spatial relation for the SRS resource(s) for one or more BWPs 430 ( each BWP or CC in the set of BWPs or CCs) of CCs 425 after applying the spatial relation indicated in the MAC-CE or via link 415.
Regarding claim 16, The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the indication is associated with the BWP.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425.
Zhou [0112] UE 115-c may then transmit uplink RSs (e.g., SRS on the PUCCH) to base station 105-c using the indicated spatial relation for the SRS resource(s) for one or more BWPs 430 (indication is associated with the BWP) of CCs 425 after applying the spatial relation indicated in the MAC-CE or via link 415.
Regarding claim 17, The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the indication is associated with the set of BWPs.
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425. In another example, the set of BWPs 430 of CCs 425 sharing same MAC-CE 420 (the indication is associated with the set of BWPs) command is indicated outside or separate from (e.g., by link 415) the MAC-CE 420 command.
Regarding claim 18, The apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a transceiver or an antenna (Zhou, Fig. 13, Ref. 1320) coupled to the at least one processor (Zhou, Fig. 13, Ref. 1340).
Claims 6, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Khoshnevisan in further view of Zhou et al. (US 2020/0137741 A1) (hereafter “Tao”).
Regarding claim 6, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication is a BWP identifier (ID) or a cell ID,
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425.
Zhou does not teach wherein the reference BWP or CC is a BWP or CC with a lowest BWP ID or a lowest cell ID in a frequency band.
Tao teaches wherein the reference BWP or CC is a BWP or CC with a lowest BWP ID or a lowest cell ID in a frequency band.
Tao [0124]; In some cases, the reference DL BWP may be a DL BWP with the lowest BWP ID (lowest BWP ID in a frequency band) that has a PDSCH-Config.
In view of Tao, Zhou is modified such that the reference BWP a BWP with a lowest BWP ID or a lowest cell ID in a frequency band.
Zhou and Tao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
Indication of reference BWP via the higher layer signaling.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Zhou in the manner described above to allow rank the reference BWP with the lowest ID to use it as an initial BWP to transmit information using the determined beam (Tao [0009]).
Regarding claim 15, The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the indication is a BWP identifier (ID) or a cell ID,
Zhou [0111]; UE 115-c may receive the list of BWP IDs and/or CC IDs in MAC-CE 420 and apply the indicated spatial relation for an SRS resource to the corresponding BWPs 430 of CCs 425.
Zhou does not teach wherein the reference BWP or CC is a BWP or CC with a lowest BWP ID or a lowest cell ID in a frequency band.
Tao teaches wherein the reference BWP or CC is a BWP or CC with a lowest BWP ID or a lowest cell ID in a frequency band.
Tao [0124]; In some cases, the reference DL BWP may be a DL BWP with the lowest BWP ID (lowest BWP ID in a frequency band) that has a PDSCH-Config.
In view of Tao, Zhou is modified such that the reference BWP a BWP with a lowest BWP ID or a lowest cell ID in a frequency band.
Zhou and Tao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
Indication of reference BWP via the higher layer signaling.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Zhou in the manner described above to allow rank the reference BWP with the lowest ID to use it as an initial BWP to transmit information using the determined beam (Tao [0009]).
Claims 19- 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US 2024/0064649 A1) in view of Zhou in further view of Khoshnevisan.
Regarding claim 19, An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Go, Fig. 16, Ref. 100), comprising: a memory (Go, Fig. 16, Ref. 130) ; and at least one processor (Go, Fig. 16, Ref. 130) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from the network entity, one or more candidate sets of power control (PC) parameters associated with the set of BWPs or CCs;
Go, Fig. 11 [0441]; According to the step S1110, an operation of the UE (100/200 of FIGS. 13 to 17) to receive the configuration information related to the plurality of TCI states from the base station (100/200 of FIGS. 13 to 17)
Go, [0277] Or/and, the PC parameters may be configured via RRC in the form of a parameter set, in which all the open-loop/closed-loop PC parameter(s) {P0, alpha, PL RS, closed-loop index} are included.
Go, [0318]; In this case, the power control behavior of the UE across the multiple CC may be performed as follows. [0319] i) The TCI state pool may be configured for each specific frequency resource domain (e.g., CC/BWP) via RRC. The UE may use a PC parameter set configured/connected to the configured/activated/indicated TCI state in each CC/BWP as a PC input parameter of each CC/BWP. That is, the UE behavior may be interpreted as an operation when a TCI state pool is configured for each CC among the multiple CCs. [0320] ii) The UE may use a PC parameter set configured/connected to the TCI state (of CC/BWP), that is a source of common beam update for the multiple CCs, as an integrated PC input parameter in all the target CCs (set of CCs). That is, the UE behavior may be interpreted as an operation when a TCI state pool that is common for the multiple CCs is configured.
and communicate with the network entity based on the one or more candidate sets of PCs parameters.
Go [0442]; In the step S1120, the UE transmits the uplink signal to the base station based on a specific TCI state among the plurality of TCI states (communicate with the network).
Go [0320] ii) The UE may use a PC parameter set (Candidate set of PCs)configured/connected to the TCI state (of CC/BWP), that is a source of common beam update for the multiple CCs, as an integrated PC input parameter in all the target CCs (set of CCs) (based on the one or more candidate sets of PCs).
Go [0277]; Or/and, the PC parameters may be configured via RRC in the form of a parameter set, in which all the open-loop/closed-loop PC parameter(s) {P0, alpha, PL RS, closed-loop index} are included.
Go does not teach receive, from a network entity, a configuration of a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs;
Zhou teaches receive, from a network entity, a configuration a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs;
Zhou Fig. 1, Step 510; [0115] At 510, base station 105-d may transmit a control message (e.g., MAC-CE) to UE 115-d. The control message may indicate the identified active TCI state, set of active TCI states, and/or spatial relation RS identifier to be used for multiple CCs (or BWP CC pairs) (reference CC) configured for UE 115-d.
Zhou Fig. 1 [0097]; UE 115 may determine a communication configuration for a CC of the plurality of CC based on the control message and optional shared command indication. Based on the determination, UE 115 may optionally apply a TCI state (common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool) to subset of CCs, apply a set of active TCI states to a set of BWP CCs pairs ( shared by a set of CCs) or configure an SRS for each BWP CCs pair.
In view of Zhou, Go is modified such that the UE receives, from a network entity, an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs;
Zhou and Go are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
Transmission of TCI state for the set of CC or BWP.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Go in the manner described above for the UE to receive an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool to support the simultaneous communication for multiple communication devices (Zhou [0003]).
Go in view of Zhou does not teach wherein the common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication;
Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication;
Khoshnevisan [0099] In some aspects, UE 320 may configure the TCI states of respective BWPs in the group of CCs such that each respective BWP has the same TCI states (Common TCI). The TCI states of a particular BWP, from which the update TCI state number was selected, may be copied to the other BWPs of the group of CCs. For example, a first BWP may have three TCI states, and a second BWP may have five TCI states.
Khoshnevisan [0075]; The BS may provide radio resource control (RRC) signaling indicating a set of CCs and/or a set of BWPs corresponding to the set of CCs. The UE may define a group of CCs based at least in part on the set of CCs indicated by the RRC signaling. The UE may subsequently receive a signaling message, from the BS, indicating to which BWP and/or to which CC, of a plurality of candidate CCs, the UE is to apply an update of a TCI state.
In view of Khoshnevisan, Zhou is modified such that common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states and is radio resource control (RRC) configured before the indication;
Zhou and Khoshnevisan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication based on common TCI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou in a manner described above to allow the communication on
the second BWP and updated TCI state to enable the UE to have more capability for updating a beam
configuration for the UE to improve the efficiency of the system (Khoshnevisan [0007]).
Regarding claim 20, Go in view of Zhou teaches The apparatus of claim 19.
Zhou teaches wherein a common TCI state ID associated with the common TCI pool comprises quasi-colocation (QCL) information associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Zhou [0104]; In order to reduce the number of MAC-CEs 320 used to convey the set of active TCI states for the same active BWP 330 in each CC 325 spatially QCLed, a single MAC-CE 320 may be used to select a set of active TCI states for PDSCH that may be applied to multiple BWP 330 CC 325 pairs (e.g., uplink and downlink pair of CCs 325).
Zhou [0105]; For example, a same set of TCI state IDs (a common TCI state ID) may be activated for downlink data (e.g., PDSCH) in each of multiple BWP CC pairs.
In view of Zhou, Go is modified such that a common TCI state ID associated with the common TCI pool comprises quasi-colocation (QCL) information associated with PDSCH.
Zhou and Go are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
Transmission of TCI state for the set of CC or BWP.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Go in the manner described above for the UE to receive an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool associated with PDSCH to support the simultaneous communication for multiple communication devices (Zhou [0003]).
Regarding claim 21, The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more candidate sets of PC parameters are common and shared by one or more BWPs or CCs in the set of BWPs or CCs.
Go [0320]; ii) The UE may use a PC parameter set configured/connected to the TCI state (of CC/BWP), that is a source of common beam update for the multiple CCs, as an integrated PC input parameter in all the target CCs. That is, the UE behavior may be interpreted as an operation when a TCI state pool that is common for the multiple CCs is configured.
Regarding claim 22, The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the one or more candidate sets of PC parameters comprises one common set of PC parameters per each TCI in the common TCI pool.
Go [0321]; For example, all the PC parameters may be configured/connected to a specific TCI state (ID) (parameters per each TCI) as in the option 1, and the remaining PC parameters except for the first specific PC parameter may be configured/connected to another TCI state (ID) as in the option 2.
Go [0320]; That is, the UE behavior may be interpreted as an operation when a TCI state pool that is common for the multiple CCs is configured (common TCI pool).
Regarding claim 23, The apparatus of claim 22, wherein the one common set of PC parameters per each TCI in the common TCI pool is included in the configuration.
Go [0306]; A joint and/or separate TCI state (for common beam update) may include only second specific PC parameter(s) (or configuration for the corresponding parameters). The second specific PC parameter(s) may be based on a PC parameter that is commonly required for each UL channel/RS.
Regarding claim 24, The apparatus of claim 22, wherein the one common set of PC parameters per each TCI in the common TCI pool is associated with medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE).
Go [0306]; A joint and/or separate TCI state (for common beam update) may include only second
specific PC parameter(s) (or configuration for the corresponding parameters). The second specific PC
parameter(s) may be based on a PC parameter that is commonly (one common set of PC parameters)
required for each UL channel/RS.
Go [0307]; Or/and, the second specific PC parameter(s) for determining UL channel/RS transmission
power may be connected/associated to a specific TCI state/TCI state ID via RRC/MAC-CE.
Regarding claim 25, The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the one or more candidate sets of PC parameters comprises one common set of PC parameters per each sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set.
Go [0259]; In NR Rel-15/Rel-16, power control configuration/indication for the UE of the base station is performed by configuration for each UL channel/RS (i.e., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS)
Go [0277] Or/and, the PC parameters may be configured via RRC in the form of a parameter set, in which all the open-loop/closed-loop PC parameter(s) {P0, alpha, PL RS, closed-loop index} are included.
Go [0474]; According to an embodiment, a first specific power control parameter applied as a different value based on the type of the uplink signal (e.g., PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS) may be excluded from the one or more power control parameters, and the first specific power control parameter may be the P0 (P0= common set of PC parameters per each sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set.)
Regarding claim 26, The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more candidate sets of PC parameters.
[0454] For example, the one or more power control parameters may be applied for power control for the plurality of CCs. That is, the one or more power control parameters related to the specific TCI state (associated/connected to the specific CC) may be used for power control for all the CCs as well as one CC among the plurality of CCs.
Go does no teach reference BWP or CC.
Zhou teaches reference BWP or CC.
Zhou Fig. 1, Step 510; [0115] At 510, base station 105-d may transmit a control message (e.g., MAC-CE) to UE 115-d. The control message may indicate the identified active TCI state, set of active TCI states, and/or spatial relation RS identifier to be used for multiple CCs (or BWP CC pairs) (reference CC) configured for UE 115-d.
In view of Zhou, Go is modified such that a common TCI state ID associated with the set of PC set which is associate with the reference BWP or CC.
Zhou and Go are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
transmission of TCI state for the set of CC or BWP.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Go in the manner described above for the UE to receive an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool associated to support the simultaneous communication for multiple communication devices (Zhou [0003]).
Regarding claim 27, The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more candidate sets of PC parameters are configured per BWP or CC.
Go [0454]; That is, the one or more power control parameters related to the specific TCI state (associated/connected to the specific CC) may be used for power control for all the CCs as well as one CC among the plurality of CCs.
Regarding claim 28, The apparatus of claim 19, wherein each candidate set of the one or more candidate sets of PC parameters is associated with a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set.
Go [0241]; In Equation 5, q.sub.s may represent an index for an open-loop power control parameter (e.g., Po, alpha (α), DL RS resource for pathloss (PL) measurements (e.g., PL.sub.b,f,c(q.sub.d) etc.), and may [0277] Or/and, the PC parameters may be configured via RRC in the form of a parameter set, in which all the open-loop/closed-loop PC parameter(s) {P0, alpha, PL RS, closed-loop index} are included.
Regarding claim 29, The apparatus of claim 19, wherein each candidate set of the one or more candidate sets of PC parameters is associated with a TCI in the common TCI pool.
Go [0321] ; For example, all the PC parameters (each candidate set of the one or more candidate sets of PC parameters) may be configured/connected to a specific TCI state (ID) (parameters per each TCI) as in the option 1, and the remaining PC parameters except for the first specific PC parameter may be configured/connected to another TCI state (ID) as in the option 2.
Go [0320]; That is, the UE behavior may be interpreted as an operation when a TCI state pool that is common for the multiple CCs is configured (common TCI pool).
Regarding claim 30, An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Go, Fig. 16, Ref. 200), comprising: a memory (Go, Fig. 16, Ref. 130); and at least one processor (Go, Fig. 16, Ref. 120) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit one or more candidate sets of power control (PC) parameters associated with the set of BWPs or CCs;
Go, Fig. 11 [0441]; According to the step S1110, an operation of the UE (100/200 of FIGS. 13 to 17) to receive the configuration information related to the plurality of TCI states from the base station (100/200 of FIGS. 13 to 17).
Go, [0277]; Or/and, the PC parameters may be configured via RRC in the form of a parameter set, in which all the open-loop/closed-loop PC parameter(s) {P0, alpha, PL RS, closed-loop index} are included.
Go, [0318]; In this case, the power control behavior of the UE across the multiple CC may be performed as follows. [0319] i) The TCI state pool may be configured for each specific frequency resource domain (e.g., CC/BWP) via RRC. The UE may use a PC parameter set configured/connected to the configured/activated/indicated TCI state in each CC/BWP as a PC input parameter of each CC/BWP. That is, the UE behavior may be interpreted as an operation when a TCI state pool is configured for each CC among the multiple CCs. [0320] ii) The UE may use a PC parameter set configured/connected to the TCI state (of CC/BWP), that is a source of common beam update for the multiple CCs, as an integrated PC input parameter in all the target CCs (set of CCs). That is, the UE behavior may be interpreted as an operation when a TCI state pool that is common for the multiple CCs is configured.
and communicate with the network entity based on the one or more candidate sets of PCs parameters.
Go [0442]; In the step S1120, the UE transmits the uplink signal to the base station based on a specific TCI state among the plurality of TCI states (communicate with the network).
Go [0320] ii) The UE may use a PC parameter set (Candidate set of PCs)configured/connected to the TCI state (of CC/BWP), that is a source of common beam update for the multiple CCs, as an integrated PC input parameter in all the target CCs (set of CCs) (based on the one or more candidate sets of PCs).
Go [0277]; Or/and, the PC parameters may be configured via RRC in the form of a parameter set, in which all the open-loop/closed-loop PC parameter(s) {P0, alpha, PL RS, closed-loop index} are included.
Go does not teach transmit a configuration of a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs;
Zhou teaches transmit a configuration of a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs;
Zhou Fig. 1, Step 510; [0115] At 510, base station 105-d may transmit a control message (e.g., MAC-CE) to UE 115-d. The control message may indicate the identified active TCI state, set of active TCI states, and/or spatial relation RS identifier to be used for multiple CCs (or BWP CC pairs) (reference CC) configured for UE 115-d.
Zhou Fig. 1 [0097]; UE 115 may determine a communication configuration for a CC of the plurality of CC based on the control message and optional shared command indication. Based on the determination, UE 115 may optionally apply a TCI state (common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool) to subset of CCs, apply a set of active TCI states to a set of BWP CCs pairs ( shared by a set of CCs) or configure an SRS for each BWP CCs pair.
In view of Zhou, Go is modified such that the UE receives, from a network entity, an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool shared by a set of BWPs or CCs;
Zhou and Go are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
Transmission of TCI state for the set of CC or BWP.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Go in the manner described above for the UE to receive an indication indicating a reference bandwidth part (BWP) or component carrier (CC) for a common transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool to support the simultaneous communication for multiple communication devices (Zhou [0003]).
Go in view of Zhou does not teach wherein the TCI pool includes multiple TCI states.
Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the TCI pool includes multiple TCI states.
Khoshnevisan [0099] In some aspects, UE 320 may configure the TCI states of respective BWPs in the group of CCs such that each respective BWP has the same TCI states (Common TCI). The TCI states of a particular BWP, from which the update TCI state number was selected, may be copied to the other BWPs of the group of CCs. For example, a first BWP may have three TCI states, and a second BWP may have five TCI states.
In view of Khoshnevisan, Zhou is modified such that common TCI pool includes multiple TCI states.
Zhou and Khoshnevisan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, communication based on common TCI.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou in a manner described above to allow the communication on
the second BWP and updated TCI state to enable the UE to have more capability for updating a beam
configuration for the UE to improve the efficiency of the system (Khoshnevisan [0007]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478