DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on August 17, 2026, and any subsequent filings.
Claims 1-13 stand rejected. Claim 14 has been added. Claims 1-14 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Drawings
Applicant's arguments filed August 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first two arguments are moot as they relate to the drawings filed on August 17, 2026 (Remarks, Page 6 (“Pg”)) which have not been entered. Annotated sheets for Figures 5-12 have been filed but no annotations are present thus the changes made to the figure cannot be ascertained. Moreover, the drawings appear to have been altered to replace the original reference characters with new reference characters in a different font but no such annotations have been made. Whether other such omissions and alterations have occurred elsewhere cannot be readily determined such that the drawings do not comply with the required annotations. Thus, the drawings have not been entered and the objections remain.
As to Applicant’s argument that the drawings show the structure recited in Claim 8 (Remarks, Pg6), Applicant’s argument relies upon an annotated figure which shows an overlapping of the through channel inlets not the upper inlet of the downstream through channel lower than the upper inlet of the upstream through channel.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 has been amended and the objection withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, and 13 have been amended the rejections withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant presents several arguments directed towards the amended claims (Remarks, Pg8-10) and as such these will not be addressed other than in the rejections detailed below.
As to Applicant’s argument regarding flow in Roz (Remarks, Pg9,11), the argument is directed towards use of structure yet a device claim relates to the structure not the intended use.
In response to applicant's argument that the claimed angle results in certain advantages (Remarks, Pg11), the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument regarding the combination of Roz and Jarlow (Remarks, Pg11), the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Response to Amendment
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the reference characters do not meet the standard for size as required by 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the pair of reference characters "153" and "154 as well as the pair “163” and “164" have been used to designate a lower inlet. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the upper inlet of a downstream separation wall lower than the upper inlet of an upstream separation wall as recited in Claim 8 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 6 recites a height above the lowest point of the lower outlet of the through channel yet the specification as filed makes no reference to the lowest point of the lower outlet when disclosing the height (Spec., Pg12/L5-9).
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites shapes of the through channel and lower outlet dependent on a majority of the water exiting the through channel during steady-state laminar flow which means the shape depends on a flow rate such that the shape lacks definiteness. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as any shape.
Claim 1 recites a sedimentation volume yet whether this is the upstream or downstream sedimentation volume is unclear.
Claim 6 recites a release of water the through channel into the downstream sedimentation volume yet nothing in the through channel blocks water flow such that it can be released and thus the height of the lowest point of the lower outlet of the through channel is indeterminate. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as any height.
The dependent claims not specifically detailed above contain the limitations of the recited claims and thus are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarlow, et al., International Publication No. WO 2005/121495 A1 (“Jarlow”) in view of Rozkydalek, U.S. Patent No. 3,862,033 (“Roz”) and further in view of Briltz, U.S. Patent No. 4,710,290 (“Briltz”).
Applicant’s claims are directed towards a device.
Regarding Claims 1-12, Jarlow discloses a device for cleaning water accruing from drilling in the ground, said water containing particulate material (Page 2 / Lines 1-7 (“Pg/L”)), the device comprising a container (Fig. 1, item 1, Pg3/L3) in turn comprising a water entry (Figs. 1, 3, item 24, Pg4/L25); a water exit (Figs. 1, 2, item 23a, Pg4/L22); and a slanted separation wall (Figs. 2, 3, item 8, Pg3/L22) separating an upstream sedimentation volume (Fig. 2, item 6, Pg3/L2, Pg6/L2) of said container from a downstream sedimentation volume (Fig. 2, item 7, Pg3/L12) of said container, and the separation wall comprising a through channel (Fig. 1, item 12, Pg3/L22) having an upper inlet and a lower outlet (Figs. 2, 4, items 19, 20, Pg3/L28-29), via which water can flow, by gravity, from said upstream sedimentation volume to said downstream sedimentation volume (Pg3/L29-31), wherein the container further comprises adding a flocculant (Pg2/L14-15), wherein the through channel and the lower outlet are shaped so that at least a majority of the water exiting the through channel and into the sedimentation volume during a steady-flow state flows at the obliquely upwards angle in a laminar manner and not turbulently (Figs. 1-4 (note any shape will meet limitation as discussed supra regarding indefiniteness)).
Jarlow does not disclose a flocculant provision means, arranged to add a flocculant to water entering via the water entry, so that water having entered said upstream sedimentation volume after such adding contains said flocculant, wherein said lower outlet of the through channel is shaped to direct a flow of water flowing downwards through the through channel obliquely upwards upon entry into the downstream sedimentation volume, or wherein the separation wall slants such that an angle between the separation wall and horizontal is larger on a downstream side of the separation wall than an angle between the separation wall and horizontal on an upstream side of the separation wall.
Roz also relates to a device for separating solids from liquids using sedimentation and discloses a flocculant provision means, arranged to add a flocculant to water entering via the water entry, so that water having entered said upstream sedimentation volume after such adding contains said flocculant (Figs. 1, 5, 8 (note space defined by distributor 20 having turbulent flow), C4/L54-60, C7/L25-30,38-43, C9/L9-16), and wherein said lower outlet of the through channel is shaped to direct a flow of water flowing downwards through the through channel obliquely upwards upon entry into the downstream sedimentation volume (Fig. 1, item 14, C4/L11-14, C6/L3-7).
Briltz also relates to a device for separating solids from liquids using sedimentation and discloses wherein the separation wall slants such that an angle between the separation wall and horizontal is larger on a downstream side of the separation wall than an angle between the separation wall and horizontal on an upstream side of the separation wall (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the flocculant disclosed by Jarlow in the position disclosed by Roz because, according to Roz, adding flocculants at the entrance increases separation efficiency and flow rates (C7/L25-30), allows smaller particles to agglomerate and thereby allow sedimentation (C7/L33-36,43-45), and provides better distribution across the entire settling area (C7/L38-43). It would have also been obvious to use the lower channel outlet shape disclosed by Roz to allow for liquid flow obliquely upwards because, according to Roz, this allows particles to sink and clarified liquid to rise allowing for separation (C6/L7-11). It would have been further obvious to combine the device disclosed by the combination of Jarlow and Roz with the angles disclosed by Briltz because, according to Briltz, this allows for integral construction (C3/L28-38) and the choice of which angle to make larger is one of two choices leading to predictable solutions having a reasonable expectation of success.
Additional Disclosures Included: Claim 2: wherein the flocculant provision means comprises a flocculant adding space containing said flocculant, said flocculant being in a solid state and past which water entering via the water entry flows in direct contact with said flocculant before entering said upstream sedimentation volume (Roz, Fig. 1, 5, 8; Briltz, C1/L37-42, C5/L33-36, C7/L1-9,15-21 (noting use of various flocculants including solids)). Claim 3: wherein said through channel comprises a flange constituting a lower exit part of the lower outlet, the flange extending from said separation wall into the downstream sedimentation volume obliquely upwards from the separation wall (Jarlow, Figs. 2, 4 (note under broadest reasonable interpretation opening of lower outlet 20 is consistent with the flange disclosed in the application’s specification and drawings); Roz, Fig. 1, item 14, C4/L11-14, C6/L3-7). Claim 4: wherein the flange protrudes at least 10 cm from the separation wall (Jarlow, Figs. 2, 4; Roz, Fig. 1 (note that dimensions have not been noted as critical and do no produce any unexpected result such that sizes are an obvious matter of design choice); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) (noting changes in dimensions obvious)). Claim 5: wherein the separation wall constitutes a limiting wall of the through channel (Jarlow, Figs. 2, 4, item 13, Pg3/L23), and wherein the through channel passes through a through hole in the separation wall at the lower outlet (Jarlow, Figs. 2, 4). Claim 6: wherein a lowest point of the lower outlet of said through channel from which the water is released into said downstream sedimentation volume at a height from a bottom of said downstream sedimentation volume of at least 0.8 m (Jarlow, Fig. 2; Roz, Fig. 1 (note that dimensions have not been noted as critical and do no produce any unexpected result such that sizes are an obvious matter of design choice); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) (noting changes in dimensions obvious); see also 112(b) analysis above). Claim 7: wherein the container comprises at least three sedimentation volumes (Jarlow, Pg4/L14-18, Pg6/L28-29; Roz, Fig. 1 (note volumes I-V) C3/L51-53), each pairwise separated by a respective separation wall of said type, and wherein the container is arranged to convey the water, via gravity, through said sedimentation volumes in series (Roz, Fig. 1, Claim 1). Claim 8: wherein a respective through channel upper inlet of a downstream-arranged one of said separation walls is lower than a respective through channel upper inlet of an upstream-arranged one of said separation walls (Jarlow, Pg3/L29-31 (note height differences obvious to arrange for flow)). Claim 9: wherein said separation wall is inclined at an angle of between 10° and 45° in relation to the vertical (Roz, C7/L5-7). Claim 10: wherein said separation wall slants away from the water exit (Jarlow, Fig. 2, item 8; Roz, Fig. 1). Claim 11: wherein the container has an open or openable top (Jarlow, Figs. 1, 2, item 4, Pg3/L7-9, Pg4/L23-28), via which sedimented particulate material can be evacuated by tipping the container (note intended use does not structurally distinguish device claims over the prior art). Claim 12: wherein the container has a volume of between 8 m3 and 20 m3 (Jarlow, Pg7/L21-23; see also MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarlow, et al., International Publication No. WO 2005/121495 A1 (“Jarlow”) in view of Rozkydalek, U.S. Patent No. 3,862,033 (“Roz”) and Briltz, U.S. Patent No. 4,710,290 (“Briltz”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Preisser, et al., U.S. Publication No. 2004/0094462 (“Preisser”).
Applicant’s claim is directed towards a method.
The combination of Jarlow, Roz, and Briltz discloses a method for cleaning water accruing from drilling in the ground (see Claim 1 analysis above), said water containing particulate material, the method comprising the following steps: a) providing a device according to Claim 1 (see Claim 1 analysis above), including the container and the flocculant (see Claim 1 analysis above); b) providing water to said water entry and allowing the water to pass via said sedimentation volumes in order, the particulate material settling on a bottom of said upstream sedimentation volume and on a bottom of said downstream sedimentation volume (see Claim 1 analysis above); and c) evacuating cleansed water via said water exit (see Claim 1 analysis above).
The combination of Jarlow and Roz does not disclose tipping the container to empty the container of sedimented particulate material via an open or openable top of said container.
Preisser also relates toa container containing solids settled from water and discloses tipping the container to empty the container of sedimented particulate material via an open or openable top of said container (Figs. 5, 6, item 51, Abstract, Paragraph 35 (“Pr”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method disclosed by the combination of Jarlow, Roz, and Briltz with the container tipping step disclosed by Preisser because, according to Preisser, the tipping step allow the solids to be emptied from the container (Pr35).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarlow, et al., International Publication No. WO 2005/121495 A1 (“Jarlow”) in view of Rozkydalek, U.S. Patent No. 3,862,033 (“Roz”) and Briltz, U.S. Patent No. 4,710,290 (“Briltz”) as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Chilibeck, et al., U.S. Publication No. 2001/0004060 (“Chilibeck”).
Applicant’s claim is directed towards a method.
The combination of Jarlow, Roz, and Briltz discloses the device according to Claim 2 except wherein the flocculant is aluminum sulphate.
Chilibeck also relates to the use of flocculants and discloses aluminum sulphate is a flocculant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device disclosed by the combination of Jarlow, Roz, and Briltz with the aluminum sulphate flocculant disclosed by Chilibeck because, according to Chilibeck, the aluminum sulphate is suitable (Pr66) and, according to Briltz, various flocculants are known and may be used depending on need (C1/L37-42, C5/L33-36).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK ORME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779