Response to Amendment / Status of the Claims
Applicant is thanked for their 8/28/26 response to the Office Action dated 4/28/26. The amendment has been entered and, accordingly:
Claims 1, 7, and 14 are amended.
Claims 4-5, 8-12, 18, 20, 28, and 34 are canceled.
Claims 22-27 and 29-33 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 13-17, 19, and 21 are pending.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's remarks filed 8/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pgs. 9-10 of the Remarks, Applicant disagrees with the interpretation of “retention mechanism”, “release mechanism”, and “biasing member” under 112(f). Applicant remarks that these terms, when construed in their full context, would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to have sufficient structure. In addition, Applicant identifies the structures associated with the retention mechanism in dependent claims 3 and 6 as species of the broader genus of claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes the recitation of these terms in the claims meets the three-prong test because the recitation uses a generic placeholder (i.e., “mechanism” or “member”) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function (i.e., at least “retention”, “release”, and “biasing”, see previous Office Action for more details) and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Therefore, the interpretation of these claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is maintained.
To help further prosecution, Examiner suggests Applicant explain how the limitations interpreted under 112(f) fail the 3 prong test. This would help the Examiner better understand the Applicant's position that these limitations should not be interpreted under 112(f).
Applicant’s remarks with respect to the claims on pgs. 10-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner notes fire and/or smoke dampers and blast dampers are analogous art at least because both are in the same field of endeavor (i.e., dampers).
Looking at Fig. 18 of the as-filed specification, it appears the release lever 316 and linkage 336 have a different engagement than the release lever and linkage of the prior art of record. Further amending the claims to include more details about the release lever and linkage may different the claims over the prior art of record, subject to further search and/or consideration.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “a release mechanism remote from the retention mechanism and operably coupled to the retention mechanism”. Par. 0060 of the as-filed specification discloses the retention mechanism 304 includes a striker 312, a latch mechanism 314, and a release lever 316. Par. 0068 of the as-filed specification discloses “The release mechanism 302 may include an actuator 338 connected to the release lever 316 of the retention mechanism 302 via the linkage 336”. It is unclear how the entire release mechanism 302 can be remote from the retention mechanism 304 when the linkage 336 of the release mechanism is connected to the release lever 316 of the retention mechanism. Given Par. 0058 discloses the release mechanism 302 is remote from the retention mechanism 304 so a user may actuate the release mechanism 302 from a remote location, it appears it is important for a portion, rather than the entire release mechanism, to be remote from the retention mechanism. Therefore, the Examiner is taking the interpretation that only a portion, rather than the entire structure, of the release mechanism is remote from the retention mechanism. This interpretation is consistent with the remainder of the claims.
The latch bolt and strike plate as recited in claim 6 are not shown in the drawings or labeled with element numbers in the specification. Based on Par. 0065, it appears the latch bolt and hole into which the latch bolt extends is an alternative embodiment for the striker 312 and latches 322. In light of Par. 0065 and conventional art, it appears the strike plate is a plate that contains the hole through which the latch bolt extends. Therefore, the Examiner is taking the interpretation that the latch bolt and strike plate comprise an alternative embodiment for the striker 312 and latches 322. This interpretation is consistent with the remainder of the claims.
Claim 7 recites “the release mechanism includes a lever”. However, the only lever with a corresponding element number is release lever 316, which is also positively recited in claim 7. Based on Par. 0068 of the as-filed specification, actuator 338 may be a lever, so it appears the recited lever is a specific example of actuator 338. To elaborate, Par. 0068 discloses “release mechanism 302 may include an actuator 338…The actuator 338 may be, as examples, a lever” and claim 7 recites “the release mechanism includes a lever”. Therefore, the Examiner is taking the interpretation that the lever and actuator share element number 338. This interpretation is consistent with the remainder of the claims.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1, lines 5-6: retention mechanism. The nonce term “mechanism” is modified by functional language “retention” and “configured to maintain the at least one blade in the closed
position when the at least one blade moves to the closed position”. The corresponding structure to achieve the claimed function is a striker, a latch, and a release lever, as specified in claims 14 and 19 and Pars. 0013 and 0060, and equivalents thereof.
The same interpretation applies to claims 3, 6.
Claim 1, lines 7-9: release mechanism. The nonce term “mechanism” is modified by functional language “release” and “operably coupled to the retention mechanism, wherein actuation of the release mechanism disengages the retention mechanism enabling the at least one blade to return to the open position”. The corresponding structure to achieve the claimed function is a lever and a linkage, as specified in claim 7 and Par. 0068, and equivalents thereof.
The same interpretation applies to claims 3, 7.
Claim 2, lines 1-2: biasing member. The nonce term “member” is modified by functional language “biasing” and “biasing the at least one blade toward the open position”. The corresponding structure to achieve the claimed function is a spring, as specified Par. 0049, and equivalents thereof.
Factors that will support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent are:
(A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Kemco Sales, Inc. v. Control Papers Co., 208 F.3d 1352, 1364, 54 USPQ2d 1308, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (An internal adhesive sealing the inner surfaces of an envelope pocket was not held to be equivalent to an adhesive on a flap which attached to the outside of the pocket. Both the claimed invention and the accused device performed the same function of closing the envelope, but the accused device performed the function in a substantially different way (by an internal adhesive on the inside of the pocket) with a substantially different result (the adhesive attached the inner surfaces of both sides of the pocket)); Odetics Inc. v. Storage Tech. Corp., 185 F.3d 1259, 1267, 51 USPQ2d 1225, 1229-30 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977). The concepts of equivalents as set forth in Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products, 339 U.S. 605, 85 USPQ 328 (1950) are relevant to any "equivalents" determination. Polumbo v. Don-Joy Co., 762 F.2d 969, 975 n.4, 226 USPQ 5, 8-9 n.4 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
(B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Al-Site Corp. v. VSI Int’ l, Inc., 174 F.3d 1308, 1316, 50 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Chiuminatta Concrete Concepts, Inc. v. Cardinal Indus. Inc., 145 F.3d 1303, 1309, 46 USPQ2d 1752, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 1998); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977); Data Line Corp. v. Micro Technologies, Inc., 813 F.2d 1196, 1 USPQ2d 2052 (Fed. Cir. 1987).
(C) There are insubstantial differences between the prior art element and the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. IMS Technology, Inc. v. Haas Automation, Inc., 206 F.3d 1422, 1436, 54 USPQ2d 1129, 1138 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (1997); Valmont Industries, Inc. v. Reinke Mfg. Co., 983 F.2d 1039, 25 USPQ2d 1451 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See also Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (A structure lacking several components of the overall structure corresponding to the claimed function and also differing in the number and size of the parts may be insubstantially different from the disclosed structure. The limitation in a means- (or step-) plus-function claim is the overall structure corresponding to the claimed function. The individual components of an overall structure that corresponds to the claimed function are not claim limitations. Also, potential advantages of a structure that do not relate to the claimed function should not be considered in an equivalents determination under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7, line 2, the first instance of “linkage” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 7, line 3 recites “the latch” (emphasis added) which lacks antecedent basis.
Amendments to the claims are kindly requested for clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
NOTE: See Karkkulainen for citations unless otherwise noted
Claims 1-2, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karkkulainen et al. (WO 2009136006 A1, hereafter Karkkulainen) in view of Yun et al. (CN 201796610 U, hereafter Yun).
Reference is made to the attached Chinese to English machine translation of ‘610
Regarding claim 1, Karkkulainen discloses a resettable blast damper (Par. 0001, which discloses the invention relates to a pressure valve and Par. 0002, which discloses the pressure valve is also called a blast damper) comprising:
at least one blade (Fig. 1, closing blades 6) configured to (capable of) be mounted at a duct (Examiner notes “configured to” is a recitation of functional language so the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the blades are capable of being mounted in a duct. Note Par. 0002, “Ventilation systems are safeguarded against such pressure loads by installing in them pressure valves or blast dampers that close automatically when a pressure load of the above-mentioned type is directed to them”) and movable between an open position (Par. 0001, “an open position, in which the closing blades are at an angle to the flow channel of the pressure valve or essentially parallel to the flow channel allowing flow through the pressure valve”) and a closed position (Par. 0001, “closing blades arranged to be turned between a closed position, in which the closing blades are essentially transverse to the flow channel of the pressure valve essentially closing the flow channel and preventing flow through the pressure valve”), the at least one blade configured to move to the closed position responsive to a blast wave (Par. 0002, “it is necessary to safeguard against sudden and high pressure loads caused by explosions, sudden fires, or the like. Ventilation systems are safeguarded against such pressure loads by installing in them pressure valves or blast dampers that close automatically when a pressure load of the above-mentioned type is directed to them” and Par. 0011, “prestress the closing blades 6 into the open position and trigger them to turn to the closed position in response to a pressure increase in the flow channel 4 of the pressure valve”. A blast pressure is a pressure caused by an explosion, therefore the closing blades 6 are configured to move to the closed position responsive to a ‘blast wave’ because they are configured to move to the closed position in response to high pressure loads caused by explosions);
a retention mechanism configured to maintain the at least one blade in the closed position when the at least one blade moves to the closed position (Par. 0011, “when the pressure valve is triggered and the closing blades 6 turn into the closed position, the closing blades 6 also lock into this closed position”); and
a release mechanism operably coupled to the retention mechanism, wherein actuation of the release mechanism disengages the retention mechanism enabling the at least one blade to return to the open position (Par. 0011, “when the pressure valve is triggered and the closing blades 6 turn into the closed position, the closing blades 6 also lock into this closed position. Thus, the pressure valve is preferably furnished with a manual opening mechanism, by means of which the closing blades 6 may, when necessary, be turned manually back into the open position”).
NOTE: It’s the Examiner’s position that the lock is an equivalent of the retention mechanism as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as indicated above. Factors that support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent include: (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and (B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Regarding (A), the lock performs an identical function of maintaining the at least one blade in the closed position in substantially the same way as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and produces substantially the same result as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification of maintaining the blades in the closed position. Regarding (B), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification because both elements produce the predicable result of maintaining the blades in the closed position and are thus interchangeable).
NOTE: It’s the Examiner’s position that the manual opening mechanism is an equivalent of the release mechanism as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as indicated above. Factors that support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent include: (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and (B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Regarding (A), the manual opening mechanism performs an identical function of disengaging the retention mechanism in substantially the same way as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and produces substantially the same result as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification of enabling the at least one blade to return to the open position. Regarding (B), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification because both elements produce the predicable result of enabling the at least one blade to return to the open position and are thus interchangeable).
However, Karkkulainen does not disclose a remotely resettable blast damper and
a release mechanism where a portion of the release mechanism is remote from the retention mechanism.
Yun discloses a fireproof damper (Par. 0002) similar to the present invention and Yun further discloses it is known to have a remotely resettable damper (Par. 0005, “After a fireproof damper has been closed during testing or in the event of a fire, it needs to be reset to the open position”; Par. 0028, “a reset switch of a fireproof damper”; and Par. 0009, “remote opening of the reset switch”) and a release mechanism (Par. 0009, “a remote control device…which can effectively enable the remote opening of the reset switch to open the fireproof door” and Par. 0010, “a remote control device for resetting the fireproof air door of a nuclear power plant reactor building, which is used to open the reset switch of the fireproof air door, including a support rod fixed to the outside of the fireproof air door on the nuclear reactor building, a lever whose middle part is pivotally connected to the support rod and swings around the pivot, a movable rod movably connected to one end of the lever and can be connected to the reset switch of the fireproof air door, and a rope installed at the other end of the lever.” Note the corresponding structure for this limitation is a lever and a linkage, and equivalents thereof, as described in the Claim Interpretation section above. A linkage is a system of links or bars, therefore hinge rod 30 and connecting rod 40 comprise a ‘linkage’. The lever is lever 20) where a portion of the release mechanism is remote from a retention mechanism (Fig. 4, reset switch 70 and Par. 0039, “when it is necessary to open the fireproof air door to reset it, the operator can pull the rope from a distance. The lever 20 connected to the rope rotates around the pivot 80 connected to the support rod 10, which drives the movable rod at the other end of the lever 20 to move and pull the reset switch 70 connected to the movable rod to open it, so that the fireproof air door is opened in a controlled manner”. At least the operator end of the rope is remote from the reset switch 70).
NOTE: It’s the Examiner’s position that the reset switch 70 is an equivalent of the retention mechanism as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as indicated above. Factors that support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent include: (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and (B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Regarding (A), the lock performs an identical function of maintaining the damper in the closed position in substantially the same way as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and produces substantially the same result as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification of maintaining the damper in the closed position. Regarding (B), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification because both elements produce the predicable result of maintaining the damper in the closed position and are thus interchangeable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Karkkulainen in view of the teachings of Yun in order to have a remotely resettable blast damper and a release mechanism where a portion of the release mechanism is remote from the retention mechanism for easy operation and thereby increase the ease of operation (As suggested by Par. 0049 of Yun: “Because fireproof air dampers are generally installed at a high position, a manual pull cable 7 is provided for easy operation”) of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Karkkulainen discloses the blast damper of claim 1 further comprising a biasing member (Par. 0011, “The prestressing means 10, 12, 14 are further operationally connected to the linkage 16 for turning the axles 9 simultaneously and thus also for turning the closing blades 6 simultaneously to the closed position”. Note the corresponding structure for this limitation is a spring, and equivalents thereof, as described in the Claim Interpretation section above. Prestressing means 10, 12, 14 comprises spring 10) coupled to the at least one blade (Fig. 1, closing blades 6. Par. 0011, as quoted above, which discloses the prestressing means are coupled to the closing blades via the axles 9) and biasing the at least one blade toward the open position (Par. 0011, “The pressure valve is also furnished with prestressing means 10, 12, 14 that prestress the closing blades 6 into the open position”).
Regarding claim 7, Karkkulainen, as modified above, discloses the blast damper of claim 1 wherein the release mechanism (Yun: Par. 0009, “a remote control device…which can effectively enable the remote opening of the reset switch to open the fireproof door” and Par. 0010, “a remote control device for resetting the fireproof air door of a nuclear power plant reactor building, which is used to open the reset switch of the fireproof air door, including a support rod fixed to the outside of the fireproof air door on the nuclear reactor building, a lever whose middle part is pivotally connected to the support rod and swings around the pivot, a movable rod movably connected to one end of the lever and can be connected to the reset switch of the fireproof air door, and a rope installed at the other end of the lever.”) includes an actuator (Yun: Fig. 4 and Par. 0039, “when it is necessary to open the fireproof air door to reset it, the operator can pull the rope from a distance. The lever 20 connected to the rope rotates around the pivot 80 connected to the support rod 10, which drives the movable rod at the other end of the lever 20 to move and pull the reset switch 70 connected to the movable rod to open it, so that the fireproof air door is opened in a controlled manner”. An actuator is a device for moving something, therefore the rope is an ‘actuator’ because it moves lever 20) and linkage (Yun: Fig. 4, hinge rod 30 and connecting rod 40, as explained in claim 1), the linkage including a rod (Yun: Fig. 4, hinge rod 30) and being coupled to the actuator (Yun: Par. 0037, “a through hole 210, through which the rope passes and is fixed” and Fig. 4, which shows hinge rod 30 is indirectly connected to the rope via lever 20) and a release lever of the latch (Yun: Par. 0036, “The switch connecting rod 40 has an internal thread that engages with the pin thread of the reset switch 70, thereby fixing it in place with the reset switch 70”. A release lever is a projecting piece by which a mechanism is operated or adjusted to release a structure, therefore the pin thread of the reset switch 70 is a ‘release lever’ because it transmits force or motion from the connecting rod 40 to release reset switch 70. A latch is designed to fasten two mating, mechanical parts, therefore the internal thread of connecting rod 40 and pin thread of reset switch 70 comprise a ‘latch’ because they fasten the connecting rod 40 and reset switch 70 together).
Regarding claim 13, Karkkulainen discloses the blast damper of claim 1 where the at least one blade (Fig. 1, closing blades 6) is mounted to a frame (Figs. 1-2, body 2) configured to (capable of) be placed within the duct and/ or at an end of the duct (Examiner notes “configured to” is a recitation of functional language so the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the frame is being capable of being places within the duct or at an end of the duct. Note Par. 0002, “Ventilation systems are safeguarded against such pressure loads by installing in them pressure valves or blast dampers that close automatically when a pressure load of the above-mentioned type is directed to them”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karkkulainen et al. (WO 2009136006 A1, hereafter Karkkulainen) in view of Yun et al. (CN 201796610 U, hereafter Yun) and further in view of Carabalona (US 2008252083 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Karkkulainen discloses the blast damper of claim 1.
However, Karkkulainen, as modified above, does not disclose wherein the retention mechanism includes a latch and a striker coupled to the at least one blade, the latch engaging the striker when the at least one blade is in the closed position and inhibiting the at least one blade from returning to the open position, wherein when at least one blade moves to the closed position the striker is brought into contact with the latch and drives the latch to the locked configuration and actuation of the release mechanism disengages the latch.
Carabalona discloses a solution to the problem of how to releasably secure panels, covers, doors, electronic modules, and the like to other structures such as compartments, cabinets, containers, doorframes, other panels, frames, racks, etc. in a closed position (Pars. 0005 and 0010), similar to the problem of how to secure the blades in the closed position in the present invention (Par. 0060). Chinchillas further discloses it is known for a retention mechanism (Par. 0008, latch 200) to include a latch (Figs. 1-3, pawl 204. A latch is designed to fasten something, therefore pawl 204 is a ‘latch’ because it fastens striker 308 when latch 200 is in a closed position) and a striker (Figs. 1-3, striker 308) coupled to a trunk lid (Figs 1-3, trunk lid 300. Note the pawl 204 and striker 308 are coupled to the trunk lid 300 at least in Fig. 3. Also note Par. 0009 discloses “latch 200 is generally applicable wherever one or more closure members need to be secured in a certain position”), the latch engaging the striker when the trunk lid is in the closed position and inhibiting the trunk lid from returning to the open position, wherein when the trunk lid moves to the closed position the striker is brought into contact with the latch and drives the latch to the locked configuration (Fig. 3 and Pars. 0010, 0016) and actuation of a release mechanism disengages the latch (Par. 0026, which discloses that a lever inside the vehicle can be used to disengage pawl 204 and thereby release striker 308 via Bowden cable 350).
NOTE: It’s the Examiner’s position that latch 200 is an equivalent of the retention mechanism as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as indicated above. Factors that support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent include: (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and (B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Regarding (A), latch 200 performs an identical function of moving a structure to a closed position in substantially the same way as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification of maintaining the structure in the closed position. Regarding (B), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification because both elements produce the predicable result of maintaining a structure in the closed position and are thus interchangeable).
NOTE: It’s the Examiner’s position that the lever and the Bowden cable 350 comprise an equivalent of the release mechanism as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as indicated above. Factors that support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent include: (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and (B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Regarding (A), the lever and Bowden cable 350 perform an identical function of disengaging the retention mechanism in substantially the same way as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification of enabling the previously latched structure to return to the open position. Regarding (B), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification because both elements produce the predicable result of enabling the previously latched structure to return to the open position and are thus interchangeable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the retention mechanism of Karkkulainen, as modified above, in view of the teachings of Carabalona so the retention mechanism includes a latch and a striker coupled to the at least one blade, the latch engaging the striker when the at least one blade is in the closed position and inhibiting the at least one blade from returning to the open position, wherein when at least one blade moves to the closed position the striker is brought into contact with the latch and drives the latch to the locked configuration and actuation of the release mechanism disengages the latch. This would beneficially mitigate failures (As suggested by Par. 0027 of Carabalona: “If the trunk lid 300 is closed on the inoperable latch 200, the striker 308 can engage and move the pawl 204 to the second latched position where the pawl 204 is held by the trigger 206 and the striker 308 is captured by the pawl slot 258. This second or back-up latched configuration is illustrated in FIGS. 28 and 29. This arrangement allows the trunk lid 300 to be secured in a near closed position until the vehicle can be taken in for service”) for increased reliability of the device.
NOTE: It’s understood that the limitation “a retention mechanism to include a latch and a striker coupled to the at least one blade, the latch engaging the striker when the at least one blade is in the closed position and inhibiting the at least one blade from returning to the open position, wherein when at least one blade moves to the closed position the striker is brought into contact with the latch and drives the latch to the locked configuration and actuation of the release mechanism disengages the latch” (emphasis added) is necessarily met by modified Karkkulainen. To elaborate, Karkkulainen teaches a retention mechanism coupled to the blades that functions to maintain the blades in a closed position and Yun teaches a release mechanism that disengages the retention mechanism enabling the blades to return to the open position so modifying the retention mechanism to include a latch and a striker as disclosed by Carabalona necessarily means modified Karkkulainen reads on the claimed limitations.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karkkulainen et al. (WO 2009136006 A1, hereafter Karkkulainen) in view of Yun et al. (CN 201796610 U, hereafter Yun) and further in view of Jacobi (US 2208003 A).
Regarding claim 6, Karkkulainen discloses the blast damper of claim 1.
However, Karkkulainen, as modified above, does not disclose the retention mechanism includes a latch bolt and a strike plate, one of the latch bolt and the strike plate coupled to the at least one blade.
Jacobi discloses a solution to the problem of how to secure a door in the closed position (Pg. 1, left col, lines 24-25), similar to the problem of how to secure the blades in the closed position in the present invention (Par. 0060). Jacobi further discloses it is known for a retention mechanism (Pg. 1, right col, lines 22-25, lock device) to include a latch bolt (Pg. 1, right col, lines 22-25, latch bolt) and a strike plate (Pg. 1, right col, lines 22-25, striker plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the retention mechanism of Karkkulainen, as modified above, with the teachings of Jacobi so the retention mechanism includes a latch bolt and a strike plate and thereby have a more compact construction (As suggested by Pg. 1, left col, line 31 of Jacobi: “a more compact construction”).
NOTE: It’s the Examiner’s position that the lock is an equivalent of the retention mechanism as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as indicated above. Factors that support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent include: (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and (B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Regarding (A), the lock performs an identical function of moving a structure to a closed position in substantially the same way as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification of maintaining the structure in the closed position. Regarding (B), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification because both elements produce the predicable result of maintaining a structure in the closed position and are thus interchangeable).
NOTE: It’s understood that the limitation “the retention mechanism includes a latch bolt and a strike plate, one of the latch bolt and the strike plate coupled to the at least one blade” (emphasis added) is necessarily met by modified Karkkulainen. To elaborate, Karkkulainen teaches a retention mechanism coupled to the blades so modifying the retention mechanism to include latch bolt and strike plate as disclosed by Jacobi necessarily means modified Karkkulainen reads on one of the latch bolt and the strike plate coupled to the at least one blade as claimed.
Claims 14-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karkkulainen et al. (WO 2009136006 A1, hereafter Karkkulainen) in view of Carabalona (US 2008252083 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Karkkulainen discloses a blast damper (Par. 0001, which discloses the invention relates to a pressure valve and Par. 0002, which discloses the pressure valve is also called a blast damper) comprising:
at least one blade (Fig. 1, closing blades 6) pivotably configured to (capable of) be mounted at a duct (Examiner notes “configured to” is a recitation of functional language so the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the blades are capable of being mounted in a duct. Note Par. 0002, “Ventilation systems are safeguarded against such pressure loads by installing in them pressure valves or blast dampers that close automatically when a pressure load of the above-mentioned type is directed to them”) and movable between an open position (Par. 0001, “an open position, in which the closing blades are at an angle to the flow channel of the pressure valve or essentially parallel to the flow channel allowing flow through the pressure valve”) and a closed position (Par. 0001, “closing blades arranged to be turned between a closed position, in which the closing blades are essentially transverse to the flow channel of the pressure valve essentially closing the flow channel and preventing flow through the pressure valve”);
a biasing member (Par. 0011, “The prestressing means 10, 12, 14 are further operationally connected to the linkage 16 for turning the axles 9 simultaneously and thus also for turning the closing blades 6 simultaneously to the closed position”. Note the corresponding structure for this limitation is a spring, and equivalents thereof, as described in the Claim Interpretation section above. Prestressing means 10, 12, 14 comprises spring 10) coupled to the at least one blade (Fig. 1, closing blades 6. Par. 0011, as quoted above, which discloses the prestressing means are coupled to the closing blades via the axles 9) and biasing the at least one blade toward the open position (Par. 0011, “The pressure valve is also furnished with prestressing means 10, 12, 14 that prestress the closing blades 6 into the open position”); and
a retention mechanism maintaining the at least one blade in the closed position (Par. 0011, “when the pressure valve is triggered and the closing blades 6 turn into the closed position, the closing blades 6 also lock into this closed position”), wherein the biasing member biases the at least one blade toward the open position when the retention mechanism is in the locked configuration (Par. 0011, “The pressure valve is also furnished with prestressing means 10, 12, 14 that prestress the closing blades 6 into the open position… The linkage 16, axles 9, closing blades 6, and prestressing means 10, 12, 14 are designed and implemented in such a manner that when the pressure valve is triggered and the closing blades 6 turn into the closed position, the closing blades 6 also lock into this closed position”).
However, Karkkulainen, as modified above, does not disclose a retention mechanism including a striker and a latch, one of the striker and the latch coupled to the at least one blade, wherein the striker contacts a portion of the latch as the at least one blade moves into the closed position driving the latch from an unlocked configuration to a locked configuration securing the striker within the latch.
Carabalona discloses a solution to the problem of how to releasably secure panels, covers, doors, electronic modules, and the like to other structures such as compartments, cabinets, containers, doorframes, other panels, frames, racks, etc. in a closed position (Pars. 0005 and 0010), similar to the problem of how to secure the blades in the closed position in the present invention (Par. 0060). Carabalona further discloses it is known for a retention mechanism (Par. 0008, latch 200) to include a striker (Figs. 1-3, striker 308) and a latch (Figs. 1-3, pawl 204. A latch is designed to fasten something, therefore pawl 204 is a ‘latch’ because it fastens striker 308 when latch 200 is in a closed position) coupled to a trunk lid (Figs 1-3, trunk lid 300. Note the pawl 204 and striker 308 are coupled to the trunk lid 300 at least in Fig. 3. Also note Par. 0009 discloses “latch 200 is generally applicable wherever one or more closure members need to be secured in a certain position”), wherein the striker contacts a portion of the latch as the lid moves into the closed position (Fig. 3) driving the latch from an unlocked configuration to a locked configuration (Driving pawl 204 from the unlocked configuration shown in Fig. 1 to the locked configuration shown in Fig. 3) securing the striker within the latch and maintaining the trunk lid in the closed position (Fig. 3 and Par. 0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the retention mechanism of Hill to be a latch and a striker. Hill discloses the claimed invention except Hill is silent regarding the retention mechanism including a latch and a striker. Carabalona shows that a retention mechanism with a latch and striker is an equivalent retention mechanism known in the art. Therefore, because the retention mechanisms were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the retention mechanism of Hill with the retention mechanism of Carabalona. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predicable result, namely locking a structure, renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the invention. See MPEP 2143 B. Furthermore, it’s noted that the retention mechanism of Carabalona would have the benefit of mitigating failures (As suggested by Par. 0027 of Carabalona: “If the trunk lid 300 is closed on the inoperable latch 200, the striker 308 can engage and move the pawl 204 to the second latched position where the pawl 204 is held by the trigger 206 and the striker 308 is captured by the pawl slot 258. This second or back-up latched configuration is illustrated in FIGS. 28 and 29. This arrangement allows the trunk lid 300 to be secured in a near closed position until the vehicle can be taken in for service”).
NOTE: It’s understood that the limitation “a the retention mechanism includes a striker and a latch, one of the striker and the latch coupled to the at least one blade, wherein the striker contacts a portion of the latch as the at least one blade moves into the closed position driving the latch from an unlocked configuration to a locked configuration securing the striker within the latch and maintaining the at least one blade in the closed position” (emphasis added) is necessarily met by modified Karkkulainen. To elaborate, Karkkulainen teaches a retention mechanism coupled to the blades that functions to maintain the blades in a closed position so modifying the retention mechanism to include a latch and a striker as disclosed by Carabalona necessarily means modified Hill reads on the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, Karkkulainen, as modified above, discloses the blast damper of claim 14 wherein the retention mechanism (Carabalona: Par. 0008, latch 200) includes a body (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, housing 202) to which the latch (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, pawl 204, as explained in claim 14) is mounted (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3), the body having a recessed portion for receiving the striker (Carabalona: Fig. 6, slot 212 and Par. 0010, which discloses slot 212 receives striker 308), wherein the latch and the body inhibit the striker from exiting the recessed portion when the latch is in the locked configuration (Carabalona: Fig. 3 and Par. 0016. Reference Fig. 6 for location of slot 212).
Regarding claim 16, Karkkulainen, as modified above, discloses the blast damper of claim 15 wherein the body of the retention mechanism (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, housing 202) is a stop (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, which show the striker 308 cannot travel further than slot 212. Therefore, the housing 202 functions as a ‘stop’ because it ceases or stops the movement of striker 308 past slot 212) preventing the striker (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, striker 308) from traveling beyond the body of the retention mechanism as the at least one blade (Fig. 1, closing blades 6) moves to the closed position (Par. 0001, “closing blades arranged to be turned between a closed position, in which the closing blades are essentially transverse to the flow channel of the pressure valve essentially closing the flow channel and preventing flow through the pressure valve”).
Regarding claim 17, Karkkulainen, as modified above, discloses the blast damper of claim 14 wherein as at least one blade (Fig. 1, closing blades 6) moves to the closed position (Par. 0001, “closing blades arranged to be turned between a closed position, in which the closing blades are essentially transverse to the flow channel of the pressure valve essentially closing the flow channel and preventing flow through the pressure valve”) the striker (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, striker 308) is brought into contact with the latch (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, pawl 204, as explained in claim 14) and drives the latch to the locked configuration (Carabalona: Fig. 3 and Par. 0016. Reference Fig. 6 for location of slot 212) and the latch engages the striker (Carabalona: Fig. 3 and Par. 0016) when the at least one blade is in the closed position (Par. 0001, “closing blades arranged to be turned between a closed position, in which the closing blades are essentially transverse to the flow channel of the pressure valve essentially closing the flow channel and preventing flow through the pressure valve”) inhibiting the at least one blade from returning (Par. 0011, “when the pressure valve is triggered and the closing blades 6 turn into the closed position, the closing blades 6 also lock into this closed position”) to the open position (Par. 0001, “an open position, in which the closing blades are at an angle to the flow channel of the pressure valve or essentially parallel to the flow channel allowing flow through the pressure valve”).
Regarding claim 19, Karkkulainen, as modified above, discloses the blast damper of claim 14 wherein the retention mechanism (Carabalona: Par. 0008, latch 200) has a release lever (Carabalona: Par. 0026, second lever arm 286) actuatable to change the configuration of the latch (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, pawl 204, as explained in claim 14) from the locked configuration to the unlocked configuration (Carabalona: Figs. 1, 3, and Par. 0026, which discloses second lever arm 286 trips trigger 206 which releases pawl 204 and consequently striker 308 to move from the locked configuration shown in Fig. 3 to the unlocked configuration shown in Fig. 1) and wherein actuation of a release mechanism (Carabalona: Par. 0026, which discloses that a lever inside the vehicle can be used to disengage pawl 204 and thereby release striker 308 via Bowden cable 350) remote from the retention mechanism (Carabalona: Par. 0026, which discloses the lever is inside the vehicle and not shown in the drawings, which necessarily means it is remote from latch 200) moves the release lever to change the latch to the unlocked configuration (Carabalona: Par. 0026, which discloses second lever arm 286 trips trigger 206 which releases pawl 204 and consequently striker 308 to move from the locked configuration shown in Fig. 3 to the unlocked configuration shown in Fig. 1).
NOTE: It’s the Examiner’s position that the lever and the Bowden cable 350 comprise an equivalent of the release mechanism as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as indicated above. Factors that support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent include: (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and (B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Regarding (A), the lever and Bowden cable 350 perform an identical function of disengaging the retention mechanism in substantially the same way as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification of enabling the previously latched structure to return to the open position. Regarding (B), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification because both elements produce the predicable result of enabling the previously latched structure to return to the open position and are thus interchangeable).
Regarding claim 21, Karkkulainen, as modified above, discloses the blast damper of claim 14 wherein the striker (Carabalona: Figs. 1-3, striker 308) is coupled to the at least one blade (Fig. 1, closing blades 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ye (CN211475037U) discloses a fire damper that is capable of being reset remotely.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762